BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/2003

Mid City Subaru

Phone: (773) 286-6000Fax: (773) 282-2959

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service8
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
11/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I visited the dealership about three weeks ago and since that point receive one to three phone calls and messages a day from the dealership. I've called several times to get removed from their call list and left two messages with a manager. I continue to get calls and have yet to hear back from a manager regarding the problem.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be removed from their call list and never receive a call or communication from them again.

Business Response
I sincerely apologize. That should not be happening. However, we maintain a digital record of customer contacts and we only show that you were called twice.
Once on 9/25 and a second time on 9/29 when you told us you decided on a Honda. I have copied and pasted a copy of our internal files.
You marked as a Lost Lead on 9/29
Nevertheless, if this continues...next time get the persons name and phone number so that I can handle it personally.
Feel free to email me at *******@******.com
Thank You,
******* ******
President




This lead is currently marked lost. To reactivate this lead for this customer click here. You can alternately create a new lead by clicking the new lead icon on the toolbar above.
View Picture





Status:

Status Not Set Configure Status List











Lead Info

Status: Lost
Sales Rep: *********** ******
BD Agent: **** *****
Manager: ****** ******
Created: 9/20/XX XX:XXa (26d)
Source: Dealers WebSite (Walk-in)
Contacted: Yes (0:00)










Vehicle Info


2015 Subaru Forester 2.5i Limited (New)
AWD SUV (4 Door)
Stock #:SU7295
JF2SJAHC2FHXXXXXX
2.5L 4 cyls
CVT (Continuously Variable)
Odom: 5
Color: Dark Gray Metallic
Mfr code: FFI
Location: Mid City Subaru
Protection Package #2, Int. & Ext. Auto Dim Mirror w/Approach Lighting, Auto Dim Mirror w/Compass * Homelink, Luggage Compartment Cover, Splash Guard Kit, Rear Bumper Cover, Rear Seat Back Protector, All Weather Floor Mats, Seat Back Cargo Net
Warning: This vehicle is no longer in your active inventory


Vehicle(s) of Interest

Click to add additional vehicles of interest

Trade-in Info


2007 Toyota Prius
40,916 miles - CVT (Continuously Variable)
$8,020 value


Buyer and Co-buyer Information:

Buyer
******* *******
Alt: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
436 W Belmont Ave Apt 203
Chicago, IL XXXXX








Co-buyer
(none entered)




Notes & History


Click to View 9/29/XX XX:XXa Outbound phone call (Contacted)
By: Christopher Thomas
purchased a Honda
Click to View 9/29/XX XX:XXa Lost Lead
By: Christopher Thomas
purchased a Honda because they gave them more for their trade.
Click to View 9/25/XX X:XXp Outbound phone call (Contacted)
By: Christopher Thomas
they purchased a Honda . Honda was able to give them 10k for their prius
Click to View 9/23/XX X:XXp Lead Log
By: System
BD Agent Changed From (None) to Dana Wiora
9/20/XX XX:XXa Showroom Visit
By: Christopher Thomas

Showroom visit started at 9/20/XX XX:XXa lasting 4.5 hours
Walkaround Demo - Test Drive Desking
Manager Turnover: ****** ******
Edit Visit
Click to View 9/20/XX XX:XXa
By: Christopher Thomas
looking to trade in prius for forester

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I received a call from the dealership as late as 10/17 at 5:12pm. At this time I blocked the caller, on my end. I also received two phone calls on 10/16 @ 2:52pm, 10/14 @ 3:56 and 7:06pm and 10/13 @ 3:26pm. From your information above, it looks as though none of these calls were recorded in your call log.

Final Business Response
I personally removed your number from our system.
I ask that if you get a call, find out the persons name and the number they are calling from.

03/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Went to dealership 1/15/14 Settled on Subaru Crosstrek in Silver for $24,700 plus $500 for remote start to be added to vehicle. Left deposit of $500 for vehicle with manager **** ***** to car expected 1/29. Signed paperwork but did not receive a copy. I inquired about if this was refundable if date of delivery was not met I did not get a straight answer. I was told by **** we would discuss when and if the time came. I went to dealership the following day 1/16/14 informed **** in person that I was not sure about the color of the car & I wanted to change it. I inquired about my deposit. Again did not get a straight answer just a mention that I did sign "paperwork". I said well I did not get a copy can I see what I signed. He just said let him know when I've made up my mind as he was getting several colors in that it wouldn't be a problem. A couple of days later I told him the color I decided dark grey. Originally it was silver when I left the deposit. On 1/28/14 around 11am **** called to inform me that the car was in and we agreed to meet at 4:30 since he had a meeting to attend first. Throughout this entire time we (**** & I also my friend ***** had been in communication negotiating a better deal on the car since this was not the only dealership I had visited. Another salesmen from a different Subaru dealership contacted me and made a lower offer for the car with the same feature. I mentioned to him that I did leave a deposit he said I was entitled to it back. I mentioned to **** that I emailed him the day before with the other dealership's offer. He said he did not have a chance to view email. so I told him we can discuss when I came in. That same day About 3;30 someone else from the dealership called to say the car was not there so not to come in and **** would call when it arrived. I called to the next day 1/30 left message & on again 1/31. My friend **** also called. I did receive a call @ 9:15 pm 1/31 from **** saying my car was available. I expressed to him that I was undecided to make this purchase and wanted my deposit back, He said it was non refundable. I expressed to him that I did not want to be forced or obligated to purchase a car because he was stating that it was non refundable. He sensed that I was upset and since it was late we should continue the conversation another time. I really wasn't that comfortable calling **** the following day so I asked my friend **** to call. He stated to him that they (**** and the Dealership) went through many efforts to secure the vehicle had 2 different colors "just for me " to choose from. **** set up a time to meet on 2/3. I had not been able to go that day. At that point I was no longer interested in purchasing this vehicle & had **** call **** on several occasions to request my deposit back. On 2/7 a Friday, he told **** that I could not get a refund as he had already installed the remote starter on the vehicle so had incurred a charge for labor & he would see what he can do. When **** informed me of this I told him that didn't make sense since **** told him he had a couple of colors for me to choose from "why would he install it prematurely?" Finally on 2/12 I spoke to **** he made an offer to settle in the $200 range claiming that I should be charged for the the installation of the remote starter and this was reasonable since I wasn't entitled to my refund anyway. I asked why he installed it to begin with. He said since I decided on a color. I told him I wanted to go to the dealership to see for myself that it had in fact been installed. He said it wasn't a good idea since I was upset it would further escalate the conversation since that was all he was going to do. I mentioned I still had not received the copy of my signed paperwork he said he emailed it. I requested him to resend it. Bottom line I would like a full refund. They do not want to show me paperwork also they are using the so called installation of the remote starter to get away with it. Thanks!!!

Desired Settlement
$500

Business Response
After looking at the file, it appears that Ms ****** purchased an incoming Silver Cross Trek.
Shortly thereafter, Ms ****** told us she changed her mind about the color and wanted a grey vehicle.
When we discovered that we would have to purchase the vehicle from another dealer and the install a remote starter on her behalf...her $500 deposit would be non refundable.
The sales manager has Ms ****** agree and sign that it would be a non refundable deposit.
We purchased the vehicle, install the starter and contacted Ms ******.
We were then told that she had found the vehicle elsewhere at a lower price.
Please let us know if these facts are not accurate, and while we should have to absorb the cost of the remote starter.
I will be happy to come up with a reasonable resolution.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I've made repeated requests to view what they say is an agreement signed by me that states the deposit was nonrefundable. If the have a "file" it should be easy to produce the document. There are many inaccuracies, so I would not call the statements/reply fact. I did not "purchase" a Silver CrossTrek. I did change my mind on the color I was interested in purchasing. I was not informed nor did I agree that it (grey) was coming from another dealership and then they would install remote starter so my deposit was non refundable. I was told there would be a shipment of numerous colors scheduled to arrive. I even got a call one morning stating the shipment has arrived. Then later the same day a call stating it was not on that shipment. So based on that I would question the "fact" they "purchased" the vehicle from another dealership. I did inform the dealership I found it for a lower price at other dealerships but it was in order to encourage negotiations at Mid-City Subaru. I expressed to the manager my indecision on making the purchase and made numerous request for my deposit, which is why I do not understand the dealership prematurely installing
the remote starter on a vehicle. Then refusing to return my deposit. While I can understand they dealership's desire to have a vehicle ready for me to purchase, I cannot be responsible for the fact they took the liberty to install a remote starter before a purchase has even been made.

Final Business Response
I have attached the signed document that states deposit not refundable.
Let me know if it does not come through.
If so , what number can I fax it to...or what email can I send it as a PDF

02/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought the car in march of 2013. Took them until August 2013 to get us our license plates. We then foud out in August that they had registered our plates and financing info to the wrong vehicle. We were told this would take one month. It has now been 3 months and they have not resolved the issue.

Desired Settlement
We want compensation for all the trouble and stress this has and is still causing us as well as all the paperwork and license plates to be submitted correctly.

Business Response
Unfortunately Ms ******* is correct. There were two identical cars with almost similar VIN numbers. We are working on it every day and guarantee we will have it resolved shortly.
Nevertheless, as goodwill gesture we would like to offer Ms ******* a 2 year maintenance program offer by Subaru at a retail value of $475.
Please let me know if that is acceptable and I will have our office process it.
I will await your reply.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I will consider this case resolved, however if we do not get our proper paperwork and license plates in one month from today, we will reopen the case and contact an attorney.

Final Business Response
The maintenance package is a genuine Subaru program, therefore good at any Subaru dealer
Consequently , moving is no longer an issue.

Consumer Response
We are still waiting on our license plates. It should take 6 weeks. This was filed in November. The dealership learned of their mistake in August. It should not take this long. ******* in the title department told me she never even received the paperwork from **** until December 3rd.

Also, the manager, ******, offered us a "two year maintenance warranty" in his response to this complaint, however when I went to pick up the warranty, it said it was good for 2 years OR 20,000 miles. We already have 19,350 miles so this warranty is of very little help. He never stated in his offer thru the BBB that it was good for 2 years OR 20k miles, whichever came first.


Business Response
When we offered the 24/24 Maintenance contract we had no Idea that this customer had put so many miles on in such a short period of time.
Therefore, we have authorized the manager of that facility to cancel that contract and issue another good for 24 months or 24,000 miles from todays date.
Please have the consumer contact him directly.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

05/25/2015Problems with Product / Service
12/16/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
10/03/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions - Automobile, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Engines - Gasoline, Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Power Steering, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Shock Absorbers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.