Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mid City Nissan, Inc.

Phone: (773) 282-6200 Fax: (773) 282-2959 View Additional Phone Numbers 4444 W. Irving Park Rd., Chicago, IL 60641 http://www.midcitynissan.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mid City Nissan, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mid City Nissan, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Mid City Nissan, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 26, 1988 Business started: 05/01/1983 Business started locally: 05/01/1983
Business Management
Mr. Michael Berman, President Mr. Ross Berman Mr. George Katsikas, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Berman, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Shock Absorbers Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Brake Service Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts Engines - Gasoline Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Berman's Mid-City Nissan

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mid City Nissan, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4444 W. Irving Park Rd.

    Chicago, IL 60641 (800) 508-7168

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Toyota Camry Hybrid 2007 from Mid City Nissan on February 1, 2016. I was told the necessary paperwork to register my car was to be mailed to me within two weeks. If it does not arrive in two weeks, I was told to call in and inquire about the delay. I called back on February 15, 2016, exactly two weeks after my purchase because it had not arrived. They did not pick up so I left a message. I called again twice the next day, left messages. They had not returned any messages. I called the salesperson I dealt with to resolve the issue and by week's end the finance manager had finally returned my call to tell me she doesn't know why I didn't receive it and she would have an answer by Monday. By Monday, which is three weeks after my purchase, I received a call explaining he would send me a another 30 month temporary license, but no explanation on the paperwork delay. It is now February 26, 2016, nearly four weeks after I purchased my vehicle and I have not received the new 30-day temporary license and it has yet to be registered and this dealership is not doing their part in getting me my paperwork.

Desired Settlement: I want them to send me my paperwork ASAP so I can finally register my car.

Business Response:  Contacted customer on 2-27-16 and communicated following course of action to resolve issue; On 2-29 we will issue a TRP extension for an additional 30 days, customers vehicle had a payoff which we made on 2-5-16, title should be in within days, we will stay in constant communication, and when title arrives we will send courier to customer so their will be no additional delays in registering vehicle.

2/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently took my vehicle to this dealership where I always go for business pertaining to my car. I took the car on 9/2 and it was not ready until 9/5-9/6. I initially was took the car in for the check engine light coming on a couple days prior. They reportedly repaired the issue, but informed me that I needed a valve replaced as well which was covered under some sort of warranty. The first problem was that the evening of 9/2 I had to reach out to the advisor I was working with as he had made no contact the entire day. When I contacted him he informed me that if I needed alternative means of transportation such as a rental car that he would let me know by the end of the day on 9/3. I agreed. However, I realized that I would not have the flexibility in my schedule to make arrangements to pick up the vehicle if it were ready on 9/3 or to arrange a rental car. I called the advisor first thing 9/3 between 7:30-8am to inform him of this. It was urgent that I make arrangements for a rental car at that time. He never called back. Two hours later, I proceeded to contact him. He asked how soon I could arrive at the dealership for paperwork for the rental car. I told him within the next 30-45 minutes. I arrived at the dealership at that time. When I arrived there was no rental car ready. I waited at least 30 minutes as he informed me that "this never happens, I can't find any available cars". After scurrying around he informed me that a location could bring a car within the next 30-45 minutes. I informed the advisor that the time frame would not work with my schedule. An additional 15 minutes later he orders a shuttle to transport me to the location to pick up a rental car. This was after I had ordered and paid for Uber service to take me to the dealership in which the advisor never offered for a shuttle to pick me up. The shuttle driver from the dealership was unfamiliar with the car rental location and asked me for directions. I am not from the area so I proceeded to use my GPS. I ran out of time by the time I arrived at the car rental location to even get a rental car as I had to attend a prior engagement that was not optional. The car rental salesman had to shuttle me to the nearest train and I am left without a vehicle. As the day continues on 9/3, I had no contact from the advisor with any update. I called to be informed that the part for the valve had been ordered. I informed him that I would pick up a rental car on 9/4. The advisor from the dealership informed me that the car rental location opened at 7:30 and provided the address to the location. The following morning on 9/4 after ordering and paying for yet another Uber, I head to the car rental location to arrive at the time their doors open in order to avoid conflict with my schedule, the address the advisor had given me was incorrect and I later found out the location opened at 7am. I was already going to be pressed for time. Although I called the car rental location to inform them I was in route for a car to be ready, I still waited 15-20 minutes, making me tardy for the next engagement. Instead of taking the train for commute, I had to drive and pay for parking, another inconvenience. This was after the car was given to me not on a full tank of gas and was not comparable to my size car which meant I would be paying almost twice as much for gas when it was time to fill up the rental car. On 9/5 I contact the advisor to inform of him of the best way I could be contacted for any reason throughout the day by leaving a voicemail. At the end of the work day he informed me that the car was ready. I was out of the area for work and would not arrive to the dealership in time to pick up the vehicle, which I informed him at the start of the work on the car. I informed the advisor that I would pick the car up the following day on 9/6. However, the advisor called back to ask if the technician could drive the vehicle home to test drive it to make sure it was running properly. I declined that offer immediately. I did not trust that process at all! Whatsoever. I had never heard of such and it was the icing on the cake for me. He advisor attempted to challenge me by informing me that the technician "had a nice car of his own and my car would be in a secure parking area". That did not matter. I was already planning to contact the general manager of this dealership and the Nissan corporation, but this confirmed my need to do so. In the past I have never had such experiences, but this was a complete nightmare. When I picked up the car on 9/6 I still had to pay for a new air filter which was pretty inexpensive, but for the hassle was unrealistic.

Desired Settlement: I believe I deserve a refund for all of the inconvenience. 1) The cost of Ubers to commute to the dealership on more than one occassion 2) The cost of parking due to being delayed by the dealership while waiting for a rental car 3) Paying for the air filter after the repeated inconvenience A conversation with the advisor and staff in general about effective communication and boundaries.

Business Response:

Our service manager ****** ******* has contacted this customer.

As a goodwil gesture, he has agreed to a reimbursement.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. However, yes, the General Manager did contact me to offer reimbursement. I have sent the necessary documents (receipts) that were requested and have yet to receive a response. This was approximately 2-3 weeks ago after being informed that the reimbursement would be processed on the upcoming Monday after speaking with him on Saturday afternoon. I'm not sure what the update is or how to best proceed with this. There were questions in the email that have yet to be addressed as well.

Sincerely,

******* *****

10/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6/27/2015, I did my 30000 miles services in mid city nissan dealer for my 2013 Nissan ****** which is purchased from same dealer, based on their service scedual website I choose the 30000 miles service dealer recommeded which including replace brake fluid. After they finished service, they give me the paperwork of recommeded repair and they recommended changing brake fluid, I purpose the question why it was on the website said replace it and you still need me to pay another 150dollor to change it, they answered as we just top the fluid to full but not replace the whole thing, my memory is wrong. I believe them at this time, but when 10/11/15 before I go to the same dealler for my oil change, I re-check the website and replace the brake fluid is list on their website, they even have another line compare to the standard service their dealer recommeded service have more services applied and less money charged ($361.80 vs $299.95), I bring this question to them again when I'm there and also show them the picture I took from their website, now, this time the explaination is this service is just recommonded, is not including in the package, if you want this you need to pay yourself. I just argue with them this been listed on the website in the package and then they show me another paper from their drawer to me about 5sec and said this is the service we will do for 30000 miles. I cannot accept this explaination, also they said they will take this service down from webstie due to they admit this is very confusion but they refuse to admit this is their fault. And today, this service still on their website, anybody can see and deceived by their "recommeded service".

Desired Settlement: 1. Give a free brak fluid replacement and other services which including in the package but not been applied to all the customers who purchase this service or similar service. 2. Give customers a clear explaination about what service you will get.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** G.M. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@******.com It appears to me there may be a slight communication gap between our customer and us. In reading the complaint it has been somewhat difficult to understand. It appears to me that we were not able effectively explain a 30k service. In order to resolve this complaint I have instructed my service manager to contact our customer, re explain the services provided, and give a complimentary brake fluid replacement as requested in this complaint. I looked on our website and did not see any issue (s) with clarity or explanations of services. I would also like to add that our website is in full compliance with our manufacturer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/10/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To whom it may concern, I would like to respond the gentlemen from mid city Nissan. On the day I submitted the complaint, I do get a phone call from Mid City Nissan, and I believe he is the service manager which mentioned in the company respond, in our phone call we been talking about the details about this complaint and he showed thanks about me point out the problems about the website and the communication also he promised to fix the website. However, when I saw the company response about this situation, be honest, I feel disappointed and kind of angry. In his response I didn't see any word about try to fix the problems. If anyone would like to check the website now, they still list replace brake fluid on the website to mislead the customer they do have this service in their package including in your 30,000 miles service, also there are a few other services on the list which I do not get on my service after I compare my report and website. I didn't just look for a free brake fluid change, I'm seeking for the right as a customer to get the service they promised on their own website. Thanks I hope this response is easy enough to understand. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/10/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** G.M. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@******.com I would like to invite our customer to our dealership at which time we can make sure every line of service listed on the website is given for the price which is stated. If there is something posted on our website which is incorrect we will certainly amend it. I apologize in advance for giving a response which angered our customer as that was not the intention.

10/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My service appointment for an oil change was on Aug 25th 2015 and I dropped off my car at approximately 08:15 AM. The service advisor called me later that morning to explain to me what the technicians thought that needed to be repaired on my car. One of the issues was replacing my tires. After a few calls back and forth, I agreed to replace my tires with the same tires that were currently on my car. There were a number of service customer experience issues with this visit including follow up and the car not being ready at the time that was discussed. Those issues are minor compared to post picking up the car. My invoice stated that I received ****** tires but my car had a ****** ******** tires which is a lower priced **** ***** What was on my car previously and what I thought I was receiving was **** **** ***** *** which are stock tires for Nissan Maxima. So what was actually on my car and on the invoice was did not match and was not what I was expected to receive. It makes me question if this was to not honor the 2 year road hazard and lifetime rotation of the tires or if they were able to charge me more for putting ****** since these are generally more expensive. The day that I picked up my car, I was headed out of town to *** *****. While driving down Lake Shore Drive, my car started to make a noise and shake. This progressed as I kept driving and I placed a call to the dealership immediately. The shaking and noise got so bad that I did not feel comfortable driving anymore and pulled over on Lake Shore to check the tires. I could not see anything visually wrong with them then decided to grab my tire lug nut wrench to check things over. My front driver wheel nuts were not securely tightened. I had to physically turn the tire wrench on each of the lug nuts a full 3-4 turns to secure them. My instincts to pull off of the road to check the lug nuts could have saved my life. The level which the lug nuts were tightened was so poor that I have zero doubt that my wheel would have fallen off had I kept driving resulting in endless possible catastrophes including major injuries to myself or others and death. I informed the dealer immediately after my car was shaking and also another call after I had tightened my lug nuts. Their responses and handling of this situation is not urgent and unacceptable. I had spoken to their service manager who promised to sit down with me and discuss the situation. I have yet to hear back from him after three calls directly to him and I left three voicemails. When purchasing new tires, you expect and count on the road hazard warranty and lifetime rotation. All of which is an additional cost should you have to bring it elsewhere. At this point, I neither trust nor care to do business with this dealer ever again.

Desired Settlement: I believe that this situation could have been rectified with the dealership personally and without a formal complaint. My life was at danger due to a mistake on their end and there was no empathy for this. I am looking for a full refund of services and goods purchased on this visit. Having to service these tires elsewhere and not having the two year warranty for the tires purchased (which is not what is referenced on my invoice) will be all fresh costs out of my pocket.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** G.M. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@******.com The original tires on this customers car were ******** tires when new. We installed comparable ******** tires as per standard operating procedures and estimate. The invoice given to the customer states ****** because ******** is owned by ****** and invoices show ********** even when ********** Tires" are used as this is how we get invoiced from the manufacturer. Our service manager, who contrary to claims in this complaint, has been in many lengthy conversations explaining this and other points in infinite detail. Customer had concerns with her "Road Hazard" warranty being carried over to her new tires which was explained to her as being a "non issue" and we would be more than happy to provide this in writing. Customer had asked for a full refund claiming her wheel lugs were not tightened properly. This is simply incorrect. Our service manager oversaw this vehicles wheel lugs being properly installed, torqued, tightened, and road tested as per factory guidelines while he was standing next to the vehicle waiting for its completion. He did this in order to make certain the customer, who was here waiting at the time, would get the vehicle as soon as it was completed. Furthermore the technician who completed this job is a Union Certified Master technician with an impeccable unblemished record of service. When our service manager became aware of the complaint he reviewed all of the customers concerns with both adviser and technician, found nothing out of order, spoke to the client, and offered a refund of labor as a "good faith gesture." He offered "good faith" for the slight miscommunication regarding the installed tire brand/invoice not because of improper installation of lugs. The customer neglected to mention they drove this car home after leaving our dealership and the "loose lugs" did no occur until the following day. This further proves the lugs in question were installed properly as this issue would of surfaced on the drive home if improperly installed. We have no way of knowing what actually happened to the lugs, can only theorize, but we do know beyond a shadow of doubt they left our shop properly installed. In closing to show our adamant pursuit of customer satisfaction, the offer of free labor still stands. If customer is unhappy with the installed tires we will offer a full credit towards the purchase/exchange of any other tires we offer with again no labor charge. We do feel the need to stand our ground on "no additional refund" as we have done nothing wrong and desperately tried to help this customer in every way humanly possible. We hope our customer will understand that we properly serviced this vehicle and will hopefully return to us for all future service needs. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The tires that were on my car were ******** ***** *** and I was specifically told I was getting the same tires that were on my car, not a comparable tire. There was no explanation ever given that the reason my invoice states Dunlop is because it is owned by ********* If I had been given this information, I would have never stated it in my complaint. In fact, when I picked up my car on the morning of August 27th, I stated "Oh my invoice says ****** but I thought I was getting ******** tires". He then stated "What is wrong with ******* I have those on my car and they are good tires". All while the service manger was standing right there and no one offered the explanation that it says ****** because they are invoiced this way from the manufacture. I spoke to the service manger one time on Friday afternoon on August 28th around 3pm. Speaking to someone once on the phones is not a few times as stated in their response. That conversation ended with me stating my concern about how my invoice references ****** and not ******** which is on my car. He did not offer an explanation to this. Instead, he asked when I was coming back into town, gave me his cell phone number, and said give me a call and we will sit down when you are back in town to discuss all of these matters. As stated, I have called three times and left three messages and have yet to hear back. I live 5.7 miles away from this dealership taking small roads not going more than 40 miles an hour. When I picked up the car the morning of Aug 27th, I parked the car and did not drive it until I was headed out of town. The shaking and noise surfaced when I was on Lake Shore Drive and that is when I placed my first call and left a message for a service advisor. I then called again and left a message directly on the service manager's voicemail after I had pulled onto the shoulder of Lake Shore Drive before the entrance to highway ** to tighten my lug nuts. It was ****** not the service manager who called me back as my initial call ended up on her voicemail box. I explained the issue to her and she said she wanted to speak with the technicians then call me back. When she called me back, she didn't disclose what the technician said. When I arrived to pick up my car a little after 5:00 pm on Wednesday Aug 26th, it was not ready. The service manger went back there and added two more technicians to work on my car. ****** also confirmed that there were three technicians servicing my car that evening and then this was also confirmed when I spoke to ****** that Friday. The dealer neglects to mention this fact and just states that there was the one Union Certified Master technician that was working on my car. With so many hands on deck, clearly a mistake could have happened. The dealer refutes this claim but I was the one with my life in danger and pulled over on the shoulder of Lake Shore Drive tightening my lug nuts. Let me go over the timeline of these events. I dropped off my car the morning of August 25th around 8:00 AM. I agreed to replace my tires after back and forth calls with the advisor and the service advisor explained the tires would need to be ordered and my car would not be ready until the next day. Fine, but it was promised to be ready on August 26th. Not hearing from the dealer and expecting my car to be ready, I show up at the dealer on August 26th a little after 5:00 PM. The car is not ready. I explain that I need to get to a workout class that is scheduled at 6:45 PM that evening. Failure to show to this class would be a fine to me. ****** puts me in a rental car, a black 2015 Nissan Altima and I agree that I will pick my car up the next day as by the time I get done with the workout class it would be too late. ***** was the one who helped me with my paperwork for the rental car. Hence, I did not wait on my car to be finished as stated by the dealer. They should have record of the car they rented me and I can provide proof of this workout class on August 26th. I picked up my car the next day on August 27th a little after 7:00 AM. I used my credit card which shows the date and time it was swiped on my receipt. The issue was then reported to the dealer the same day of pickup after I got onto Lake Shore Drive. I can provide phone records and proof of every single call for the date and times and the dealer should have records of the rental and credit card transaction. I did not report this issue the following day as stated by the dealership. I do not accept this response as a number of statements made in their response is inaccurate including trying to help me, the customer, in every way humanly possible. The matter was treated without any humane consideration for how the customer felt being in danger and the engagement after the issue was reported. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/09/28) */ I feel every offer(s) given in response to complaint were reasonable. Appearantly they have been deemed unreasonable by the bearer of this complaint ,therefore, I would be happy to offer a full refund for tires and instalation upon return of tires installed. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2015/10/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I will agree to the full refund once the tires are returned. It is best to sever ties with the dealership. I am travelling through early next week. Once I return, I can make arrangements to return the tires. Who do I contact to set up the return and refund?

6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealer quoted an internet price of $13,973 for car via email. Dealer further provided info re tax, tags, title costs so I figured total price to be approximately $15,700. After test drive, dealer raised price of car to over $20,000. Classic bait and switch.

Desired Settlement: No settlement. People should be aware of their bad faith practices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/15) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** G.M. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@******.com Price in question was a 2015 ***** **** with a list price of $17,640. Our customer was given an online price quote of $13,937. The quote given clearly states the price includes all rebates which totaled $1900.00. We are more than willing to sell the vehicle for the price quoted as it is written in our quote. I would like to offer an invitation to our customer to visit me personally and rectify any grievance he may have. I was quite surprised to read this complaint as this customer in particular visits our dealership often. He has shopped our prices on a fairly frequent schedule to which we have never known him to be unhappy with us in any way.

6/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I found the car online. The price was $31,000. I contacted the dealer who confirmed by phone AND email that was the price. I purchased an airline ticket to fly to Chicago and pick up the car. When I arrived they said I had to pay an additional $1295 for a non-optional extended warranty. This was never disclosed during negotiations. I was simply quoted a price and wanted to pay that. But after investing in a plane ticket and a whole day of travel, I could either figure out how to get back home or buy the car for the inflated price. I did not ask for, did not want and was not told about the added cost until I after I had invested significant time and resources to purchase the car.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the amount they added to the purchase price that they quoted me. The added amount was $1,295.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** G.M. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@******.com The ********** Mr **** purchased from MCN was a very recent acquisition and upon being informed a customer was coming in from out of town to purchase all efforts were made to put the vehicle through service, reconditioning, and detail in the most timely fashion possible. The additional fees attached to the purchase price were charged to pay for reconditioning, detail, service work, and certification inspections. Our online pricing is done automatically and after a car is serviced prices are adjusted to cover costs. Since Mr **** purchased the vehicle before the adjustments were made online, the additional fees had to be on a separate line. We would be willing to refund him for these fees amd feel it would only be fair for Mr **** to be so kind as to remove all of his negative online posts regarding this transaction and our dealership. For the record prior to receiving this BBB complaint I had already reached out to Mr **** with my contact information assuring him I would make sure he was happy. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2015/06/11) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: When asked to respond to this claim the dealer refunded the upcharge. I received the check yesterday. So my complaint is withdrawn.

6/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been attempting to collect a vehicle warranty refund from Mid City Nissan with no luck. The warranty company provider ******** ***** ***** when I called them the representative said the refund was filed and processed around Feb 2015 and sent out to Mid City Nissan. I have been in contact via email with **** **** who said his office was going to send out the refund on the 15th of April and after multiple follow up emails I have not received any verification it was actually sent out. If it was sent out on the 15th of April I should have received it by now and I feel because they are not returning my emails and being straight forward it was never sent to begin with. I have also received an email from **** saying I should expect a refund of $1,550.00. I asked the representative from ******* ***** **** what I need to do now and they said I need to take up any further issues with my refund through Mid City Nissan because *** sent out the refund to them. Furthermore by **** **** saying in an email response his office was going to send out the refund on the 15th of April shows and proves my case. Product_Or_Service: Vehicle Extended Warranty Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Full refund of the amount stated by **** *****

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@******.com Our office applied for and sent refund as promised. Records indicate a refund of $1565 was issued on 4/15/15 and a check for that amount was in fact cashed by customer who has filed this complaint. We are quite puzzled with this complaint and have all paperwork to prove our case. If your office should request them we would be happy to oblige. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/04/27) */ Hello this is in reference to the business name of Mid City Nissan. I have been trying to select the option for resolving this current dispute and for some reason my computer keeps freezing up on me. I am happy with the results of this dispute and would like to cancel it. Thanks, ****** ******.

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a service appointment, as soon as I brought my car in. I stood in the service area and was completely ignored for 20min., unfortunatly I was extremely late for work. I contacted service several times that day to see what the problem was, I was constantly disconnected. I left a message, no one ever contacted me that day. I waited till the next day. I called THE NEXT DAY I finally gotten through and was told It was still being worked on. I called the following day and was disconnected several times again. No one ever contacted me to let me know my car was ready. I finally got through to someone, and all it had been was a battery issue. It took 2 days just to switch out a battery. Not only the bad service... I had a reimbursement for a tow that was never issued to me, I called several times to follow up once again I was disconnected. I went in personally to speak with some one and was completely ignored again, I went straight to the GM ****** ********* he told me he wold take care of it. He had the service MGR. ****** ******* contact me. and after seveal emails I still do not have my reimbursement. The service is horrible and the do not keep their promises. I am highly upset. I was never even offered a loaner car. I work very far, and took the bus with a 1yr old.

Desired Settlement: All i request is the reimbursement for my tow. $125.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@gmail.com from my understanding this issue has already been resolved and Mrs ******* should be contacting your office shortly if she has not already.

5/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 7, 2014 Mid City Nissan and I agreed that Mid City would send me a check in the amount of $321.83 to pay for the damages to my car that occurred when a mechanic was driving my car out of the garage at their location on December 30, 2013. It has been almost 6 weeks, since our settlement, and I have not received a check as of today April 17, 2014. It was my understanding that we both wanted a speedy resolution and therefore I expected to receive the check within 7 days. At this time I would like to know the status of payment. As a resolution, I would like to receive payment by April 30, 2014 because I have been waiting to receive the check so that I can move forward with getting my car repaired.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a reimbursement check in the amount of $321.83 by April 30, 2014. The settlement amount was agreed upon on March 7, 2014. I have not received payment as of today. Please mail check to ******* *****, **** S. ********* Ave. **** Chicago, Il XXXXX. I am requesting that the case remain open until I have received the check.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/21) */ We agreed to repair the vehicle and supply a loaner. We then offered to reimburse her for the cost of the mirror. The amount we determined complete repairs was unacceptable. We increased our offer to include additional "goodwill" We have been waiting to hear if it was accepted. Apparently, per this recent correspondence, the offer has been accepted. Therefore, we would be happy to issue a check. However, we would ask that Ms. ***** sign a release to assure of of no further action. We would be happy to hand deliver at her earliest convenience. Please advise. ****** ******** General Manager Mid City Nissan Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr ********* if you go back and look at the correspondance from March 7, 2014 and refer to the original case #XXXXXXXX you will see that I accepted the reimbursment offered and the case was resolved. Which was noted by the BBB as well. The BBB documentation will serve as my assurance that the case as been resolved and no further action is necessary. I have included my address to mail the reimbusement. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/05/13) */ I have instructed my office to send Mrs ***** a check as agreed to resolve this issue.

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used 2009 Nissan Altima from Mid City Nissan on Saturday June 30, 2012. Mid City Nissan finance department sold me a 5-year extended warranty for the amount of $ 1532. I paid the full amount of $ 1532 with a personal check# *** dated (7/14/2012) from my ***** checking account (check was payable to Mid City Nissan). I cancelled my warranty on 7/14/2012 and I have a copy of the dealer cancellation request signed by dealer and dated 7/14/2012 (because the cancellation was almost immediate, I am entitled of a full refund per policy). The refund was not paid back to me on timely manner, so I contacted the dealer repeatedly. I made at least 10 visits (in person) to Mid City Nissan and tens of phone calls to resolve this issue. The answer was always: we will give you the money when we get it back. I finally talked to the managers twice about this issue and both of them were really nice and promised to resolve it. This week, and after 21 months of my initial cancellation dated back on 7/14/2012, I received a check of $ 1022 dated 4/7/2014 from Mid City Nissan. I think this not fair, and I should get the full refund of $ 1532 and not pay $ 510 for a delay of 21 months that was not my fault by any means. Supporting documents of the events mentioned above are readily available upon request to BBB. Thank you so much BBB for your help and time on this matter.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for the full refund of $ 1532, as the cancellation was immediate and the delay of 16 months was not my fault but a Mid City Nissan problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/21) */ Mid City Nissan had no record of request to cancel from Mr. ********. However as soon as we were made aware of his request to cancel we immediately did so and his refund was given to him. These refunds come from the warranty provider not Mid City Nissan. We have no way of determining how much they will be for or how long they will take to receive. I would suggest Mr. ******** take up any further requests with the warranty provider as they are the only ones who would have the ability to facilitate his request. ****** ******** General Manager Mid City Nissan Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is the first time I hear from Mid City Nissan that they have no record of my cancellation request, their answer for the past 21 months was always: We are waiting for the money. Furthermore, I personally showed one of the managers Mr. ***** ********* the cancellation request form dated 7/14/2012. The dealer cancellation request is attached to my response, dated 7/14/2012 and signed by their director of finance department at the time. Such important requests should not be lost, and if they do get lost, action should be taken to correct any issues with the customer. Customers should not go through hassle and lose money because of lost requests. My check was paid to Mid City Nissan and not to the provider. If Mid City Nissan lost my request and did not inform me of that until I complained through BBB (21 months later), I do not see the rationale or the need for me to take up any further requests with the warranty provider as Mr. ****** ******** (general manager) suggested.

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was at the Nissan Mid City dealership service department on December 30, 2013 to get an oil change for my 2007 Nissan Sentra. The passenger side mirror was broken and mirror cover was damaged by a mechanic who was driving the car out of the garage. On the same day, the dealership replaced the broken mirror but put the damaged mirror cover back on the car. I was told by the service manager, ***** ******* that mirror cover would need to be ordered and painted and that it would take a couple of weeks to get the new part. On January 13, 2014 I called ***** to check on the status of the part. He told me he would follow-up and call me back. He has not called me back. On January 20, 2014 I talked to the dealership manager, ****** *** about the broken mirror and damaged side mirror cover and that I had not heard back from ***** ******* The dealership manager told me he would follow-up and call me back. As of today, February 7, 2014 I have not hear back from either manager regarding the status of replacing the damaged side mirror cover that is on my car now.

Desired Settlement: I would like the dealership to replace the passenger side mirror cover that was damaged by the mechanic driving my car out of the garage.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** G.M. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@******.com Called Ms ***** and made arrangements for her to come in and have her car repaired. Due to the misunderstanding I will provide Mrs ***** with a loaner car free of charge while her car is being repaired and will pay for a complete detail as our way of apologizing for damaging her vehicle and not taking care of her right away. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I called ****** ******** on Wednesday, February 12th to follow-up on his commitment to take care of my car right away as stated in his call to me on Saturday, February 8. He gave me his cell phone number to call him when I was ready to bring my car in for repair. When I called him on Wednesday, February 12 to make arrangements to bring my car in for repairs I asked about the status of the part and when could I bring my car in. He told me he would need to talk to the service manager and call me back. As of today, Wednesday, February 19th I have not heard back from Mr. ********* At this time I do not feel Mr ******** will honor his commitment to repair my car, which is the priority for me. At this time I am asking that the dealership reimbursment me for the cost of the part and labor in order that I can move forward with repairing my car. The dealership has had almost two months to fix my car. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/03/05) */ We will send a service representative out to Mrs Smiths business location, give her an estimate on cost of repair, and at that time she can decide to either take a check for damages or have her car repaired. We will call her prior to coming out as to make sure her and her vehicle we will be available. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/02/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As a customer, after 2 months of communicating about this issue it is my expectation, that when I call you and ask what is the status of the part and when can I bring my car in, you will have an immediate answer and not the (same old, same old) let me check and I will call you back. For this reason I have no confidence that this issue will be resolved in an appropriate and timely manner. Going back and forth with you like this, is causing frustration and stress for me. With that said, the reimbursement of parts and labor is the preferable solution for me at this time. Again the passenger side exterior view mirror and assembly was damaged, the mirror was replaced the same day, but put into the damaged mirror assembly and cover, which are the parts that I have been waiting to receive. If you have ordered the parts then you know the replacement costs and it should be no problem for your service department to determine the labor costs. In addition, the service advisor, who assisted me in December, ***** ******** can provide some additional details regarding the damages. I have included a picture (taken at the service dept.) that might help you. At this point I feel you should already have an estimate of damages. If it is necessary that you see the car please meet me at my business location, **** ** ******* **** I am available from 11AM-3PM, Monday-Friday. Again my phone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX and business phone is XXX-XXX-XXXX. If you feel you are unable to resolve this issue can you please refer me the national headquarters for Nissan. Otherwise, please mail reimbursement. I seriously would like to put this behind me. Thank you.

2/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I traded in my car ***** ** ****** )on ******* 14, 2014. The dealer agreed to pay off the loan for the amount of approximately $8,100.00. On January 28, 2014, I took the car back I had initially purchased back to the dealer and got a different one. The agreed upon trade with my stayed the same even though I drove away with a different car, but as of today ***** 6, 2014) the loan is still outstanding. I am now liable to take a 30 day credit hit due to the lack of timeliness that the dealer is taking to pay the loan. I have received several calls from the credit union notifying me that they have not received a payoff as of yet though the dealer reassures me they sent a check overnight on ******** 3, 2014. Through multiple calls to dealer, I mostly get answering machines with unanswered messages, or excuses that this kind of thing takes time. Its time to start seeing results.

Desired Settlement: I just want my loan paid off in a timely fashion without taking a hit to my credit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/12) */ We have received Ms. ********'s inquiry regarding the payoff due on her 2007 ** ******* As indicated in her complaint, Ms. ******** ultimately purchased a 2012 Nissan ***** on January 28, 2014. Mid City Nissan subsequently processed the payoff on her trade in on February 3,2013. As of February 10, 2014 the payoff to ******** ****** ***** has cleared our bank and thus should be processed against her outstanding loan by the credit union. We apologize for any confusion this may have caused Ms. ********. Please feel free to contact me if you should have any additional questions. Thank you, ****** ***** Mid City Nissan Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/02/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) While the check was sent and received by the bank in which my loan was held, I find the amount of time and hassle on my part it took to complete this simple task utterly unsatisfactory. The fact of the matter is that I could have hand delivered the check to the bank more quickly myself, and the amount of time I lost on the phone between the two parties trying find out what was going on, etc. can not be returned. I do not find the so called "reason" for the delay confusing. What I do, however find confusing is a commitment to quality customer service, then obviously failing to deliver on that promise.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Mid City Nissan, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart