Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

McGrath Nissan

Phone: (847) 695-6700 Fax: (847) 888-9623 945 E Chicago St, Elgin, IL 60120 http://www.mcgrathnissan.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McGrath Nissan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McGrath Nissan include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on McGrath Nissan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1977 Business started: 10/01/1990 Business started locally: 10/01/1990 Business incorporated 08/08/1990 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott McGrath, President Mr. Keith Kowalczyk, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Keith Kowalczyk, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Scott McGrath, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Airbags New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

McGrath Nissan has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to cancel amn extended warranty and a ga insurance and the finance guy told me he would fax them right away. One month later I come to find out that he never sent anything. I called the warranty companies and they said they never received the cancelation forms. Now my refund is delayed one month and i ahve to fax everything myself. I tried calling the dealer, but as usual, they never answer. The general manager or the finance guy. This is the last straw. I've had problems with their finance guy before and with their service department. This dealer has horrible ethics and the management doesnt seem to care.

Desired Settlement: Fix their ethic. Customers deserve more respect than what they give now. Dont lie to your customers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/08/12) */ Just got a call back from **** ******* my business manager. He informed me that we have cancelled everything, he has received the refunds, and all of the checks have been cashed. I'm doing this on my iPhone and can't close the file from my phone. Would you be so kind as to close the case please. Thank you ***** ******* ******* Nissan

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called ******* Nissan in Elgin on January 28th and spoke to ******* the manager of the body shop. ******* informed us that they were extremely backed up due to the winter we had and wouldn't be able to start the body repairs until February 24th. That's almost 4 weeks from the date of the accident. The time finally arrived and we received no call from ******* at ******* Nissan in ****** We called ******* and he just gave us the run around for more than a week. Finally we escalated this to upper management and spoke to ***** and then *******. We were informed that ******* was fired because of work that was left untouched such as estimates not completed, work assigned never started, etc. ******* said he would take care of us but we would have to wait until April 10th. We were just beside ourselves that we had to wait another 3 weeks to get our 2013 Nissan Rogue repaired. The accident occurred on January 28th and it just doesn't get better. I called the body shop the first week of April to see how they were progressing and ******* at ******* Nissan in ***** informed me that they would be ready to take the car on April 7th. We dropped the car off with the check we received from ******* **** ********** Here's where ******* fails miserably. We were told that the repair would take up to 6 days if the original estimate was correct. Unfortunately the duration was much longer because Safeway under estimated the cost of repairs. ******* informed us he would handle everything with ******* **** ********* on getting additional money to correct the body work needed for our 2013 Nissan Rogue. On Tuesday, April 22nd almost 2 weeks later I called ******* for an update and he said he is trying to get everything completed by Thursday, but it could take until Friday, April 25th. I called Friday and ******* informed me that the car was all painted and they only needed to buff it and detail the entire car as promised, but it would not be ready until Monday, April 28th. I called Monday and left two messages with no call back until 1:20 PM which was more than 2 hours later. I finally had enough and drove down to McGrath Nissan in Elgin to check things out for myself. I arrived at ******* Nissan in Elgin at 1:45 PM CDT and ask to see my car and ******* informed me that customers are not allowed in the body shop. I was persistent and he finally walked me to where my car was parked. The body shop was an absolute mess and it looked like something from the TV show ******* & **** ******* Our 2013 Nissan Rogue was not ready for buff and a full detail, in fact the bumper was still off the car, there was a new scratch in the left rear quarter panel and the car was outside and had bird droppings on it. I was just at a loss for words and couldn't believe that ******* was dishonest after all we went through with *******. Keith advised that our 2013 Nissan Rogue would be completed today (Tuesday) at 3:00 PM which includes fully assembled rear bumper, buff, scratch removed form left quarter panel and fully detailed. I advised Keith not to rush and that we would pick the car up on Wednesday. The wife and I arrived at 3:20 PM CDT. No *******, No ****** I wasn't surprised by their absence; it's an admission of guilt. The lady who was there to fill in had no clue. I noticed the buffed out scratch on the left quarter panel was visible. After all we went thought you would think they would have made sure this minor issue was fixed. I gave them an extra day to do the job right! We really hope no one else ever goes through this experience like we did. You can read the full story at http://bodyshopfail.com/how-to-kill-a-brand-name-mcgrath-nissan-in-elgin-il/

Desired Settlement: McGrath Nissan should cover the cost of our rental car for any charges not covered by ******** We will not know what is covered until Safeway sends us our payment. The rental costs was $570.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/06) */ Let me start by saying it was a very tough winter and yes in fact all Chicago land body shops where overwhelmed. The car was dropped off on Monday April 7th, we began working on the vehicle on Wednesday, April 9th. As with most automobile repairs additional work was required upon disassembling the damaged area. We contacted the clients insurance company and requested a supplemental claim. They approved that approximately 8 days later. The car was to be done on Monday, it was completed on Tuesday and the customer chose to pick it up on Wednesday. When he came in on Monday, Mr. ****** walked right up to the scratch and announced that we had done that. Because it was not near the damage area we have no way of saying we didn't as we did not take pictures of that area. We buffed out the affected area. As to Mr. ******'s allegations that we did not contact him, his voice mail is not set up on his phone and we were unable to leave a message (I tried it today 5/6/14 and it is still not set up). Mr. ****** was also originally told that he would be responsible for the difference in labor rate between what we charge $48 per hour and Safeway's rate of $30 per hour, which would have amounted to approximately $1200. ******* convinced ******* to pay our rate which left Mr. ****** with no additional out of pocket expense. As to the *****************" comment. Body shops visuals can be an eye opening experience for someone who has never seen one before, no offense taken. However, with Mr. ****** creating his own website, "Bashing" ******* Nissan I think we have done all we are going to do for Mr. ****** with the assistance with the labor rate. Thank you for your assistance in this matter and I wish Mr. ****** good luck in the future. ***** *******, President. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) *****, You leave out much of why I was so disappointed with your shop. No mention of a former employee that delayed us for more than 2 months? No mention of the car being ready a week prior? Your GM and ******* weren't there when I finally picked up my car which where I come from is an admission of guilt. Secondly, the scratch wasn't there and you never produced pictures to support your claim. I have been around many body shops before and never in my experience seen one as unorganized and as dirty as yours. Bashing *******? I launched a web site to inform other customers about my experience. I am not done, not even close. It's businesses like yours that give professional body shops a bad name. You still can't apologize. I am not satisfied with your response. My voice mail is not set up because of the volume of calls I was getting before my new phone. You have my email and my wife's cell number. STOP MAKING EXCUSES! Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/05/27) */ Thank you for your response. Obviously we are at a point where the problem can not be resolved. I am sorry that you feel the way you do. My previous body shop manager handled the situation incorrectly. However with the exception of saying I am sorry for the way he handled it I really have nothing else that I can offer. I am sorry that it took so long to get the vehicle in, but we were very very busy, and as such it took a while to get some folks in. Your idea of a resolution that would have me replace her 2013 Rogue with a new 2014 Rogue is obviously un-doable. I think we should simply agree to disagree and move on. I wish you luck going forward. ***** ******* ******* Nissan Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/05/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. ***** *******, The issue is not about saving me money, it was about being misled and put off for months on a repair that needed to be done. I waited 3 months because you had a rogue employee that didn't do his job and in turn made things worse for you and your company. Your new manager (Michael Bock) promised that our Nissan Rogue would be fully detailed in and out. Charles made the initial promise but he is no longer with your company. The detail was more like a wash and nothing more. We found noticeable compound dust and dust inside the rear door hatch and on the floor inside the hatch. Again you over promised and under delivered. Please stop saying I am lashing out when I am providing facts about the poor service I received. This is why we have sites today like ****, BBB and other review sites to expose businesses that are not doing right by their customers. I am disappointed that a President just can't find closure on this issue. It is right in front of you and yet you struggle with the obvious. If you need help with customer service let me know. I will continue to use my marketing skills to get the word out about shops like yours.

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on McGrath Nissan
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart