BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2000

McGrath Lexus Of Westmont

Phone: (630) 323-5600Fax: (630) 654-9475

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
02/10/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a 2004 BMW X1 from Mcgrath Lexus of Westmont, IL on 10/21/2014 based on an advertisement on their website (stock # S1467A, Price $30000). The advertised (copy attached) had with a very detailed description of many optional packages installed in the vehicle including cold weather package, which described in the advertisement as " COLD WEATHER PACKAGE: ******* front seats, Heated steering wheel, retractable headlight washers"). I met with sales man Mr. *** ***** and during the sales transaction I specifically asked about the cold weather package since I read the disclaimer in small print in the advertisement. He commented about how cold Chicago weather can be and assured me that the vehicle has all available packages installed as per advertisement which alone valued at $7500. Few weeks later (during cold weather and I needed to use the heated seats) I discovered that the vehicle did have the heated seats, heated steering wheel or the retractable headlight washers. I took the vehicle to Mcgrath Lexus and Mr. ***** took the vehicle to nearby Laurel BMW dealership to check, came back and told me that the vehicle does not have the cold weather package. He told me to call his used car manager Mr. ***** ********* whom I talked a week later. Mr. ******** promised me that he would find a similar car with cold weather package and I could exchange my car. Since I did not hear from him after leaving multiple messages on his voice mail for few weeks, I talked to the General Manager, Mr. ***** *********** Mr. ********** told me that he would talk to Mr. ******** and would call me back. He never called me back and since I was unable to reach either of the them after leaving multiple messages, I sent them an e-mail (e-mail attached) asking them to refund me the cost of the package so that I can get it done elsewhere. I did not get a response for the e-mail too. I feel that I was not treated fairly by Mcgrath Lexus even after my best efforts to find a reasonable settlement.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund at least $750 or more so that I can install at least part of the package from another establishment.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** MANAGER
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *********@MCGRATHLEXUS.COM
We have attempted to reach the customer to resolve this issue. We are awaiting his response.

10/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My experience with this dealership has been horrendous. They made a promise to service my car properly and that they had a service department that was the best in the business. They made a promise in purchasing the car that service would always be wonderful and great.

After several experiences I filled out a survey and contacted Lexus North America and in retaliation they had someone from the ******* Westmont named ***** ********** call and be exceedingly rude to me. She was easily the worst customer service person I have ever had the displeasure of speaking to.
Googling her, I found it funny that her quote for customer service was ""Lexus will treat each customer as we would a guest in our own home." since she lied in the call and was dishonest. Not sure that I would treat someone like that in my home.

Instead of calmly asking what I wanted, she hung up the phone after threatening that she would take "precautions" in serving my car which to me meant she was saying they might damage it.

All I want them to do is to honor what they promised in the initial sale which is to service the car in accordance with the rules and not steal from my vehicle.

Earlier in the year, I had noticed several times that my roll of change that I fill up disappeared some after each visit. After several times I took a picture of the roll in the tray before and then after and it was clear it had been stolen. I brought this to the attention of the service manager, sales person and they let me know this person was fired. Then this past week I noticed the same thing happen after an oil change. Brought it to the attention of the service manager who promised to reach out and never did. In between these times I have had a cargo net go missing after a service, had a hat that was in the car in a compartment be thrown outside the car , had the the front desk staff lose my key and then accuse me of losing the key even though they left it in the car ... all these incidents could of been fixed with a "I am sorry" and a note to the service department to make sure to not steal from my car.

These were all annoying and small things that could be fixed easily but what made it absolutely unacceptable is ***** ********** and her attitude towards customer service. She lied and tried to play games in her unsolicited call to me. First she said they never had anyone steal, when I reminded her that they told me they fired the person who stole from my car she backpeddled. Next she complained and threatened why I hadn't reached out to her. As I explained, I never even knew she existed until she called and I googled her. She , unfortunately, has a large ego because she thinks everyone knows her - until I googled her name post the call I had no idea and not one person at the dealership mentioned to go talk to her. Not one of the 7 or 8 people I spoke to even mentioned her name. Then she said her name was all over the online form, I asked her to show me where and she changed subjects. Then she accused me of making up complaints even though each thing I said was backed up by evidence. Then she said that I put at risk **** , a service rep, at the location's job by giving an honest rating. **** is fantastic and her threat that somehow I hurt his job was silly since all my ratings for him were great, my notes were around everyone but him. My contacts and exchange with Lexus North America also stated good **** was ... but she kept trying to come up with more and more made up and false things.

She was easily the most unprofessional customer service person I have ever met. Instead of making things up and doing these shady techniques like threatening that ********* career" is at stake and then just trying every single trick that people associate with car dealerships she could of just said they were sorry and that they would make sure anytime my car came in a note was made not to steal from it this would of been over. Instead she kept insulting me.

Desired Settlement
- An apology from ***** in writing for her poor customer service.
- Anytime my car or future cars are brought in for service, a note be made to not steal from the car, damage the car, and take special care to do exactly what is promised in a fast courteous way.
- An apology from the dealership

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ****** Svc Manager
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Customer has been contacted by the Service Manager and worked out a resolution to ensure the safety of any and all items in the customers vehicle going forward. Customer was ok with this. Also an apology letter has been forwarded to the customer as well. If there are any further questions please contact the Service Manager directly.

10/13/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The AC was not working when I purchased the car, therefore I should not have to pay $2,400 to repair it.

Desired Settlement
The AC should be repaired for free, as it was not working when purchased.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* Lexus of Westmont
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@mcgrathlexus.com
The customer submitting the complaint purchased this vehicle on 10/03/2013. That was almost a year ago. It is a 2005 model year and it had 109,973 miles on it at the time of purchase. The vehicle was inspected by our service department and we did not find any record of it having an air conditioning issue prior to it being sold. We sold the vehicle to the customer "as-is" and we have signed paperwork by the customer stating this. In fact, our buyers guide specifically states that pre-owned vehicles sold "as-is" may have certain mechanical issues with the car. It goes over hundreds of problems that the car may have or potentially could have. The customer still elected to sign this paperwork and continue the process of purchasing this vehicle. We offered the customer at the time of purchase the option to purchase a limited warranty that would cover items including air conditioning. The customer elected to waive all coverages and proceeded to buy the vehicle without a warranty. We have no records of any complaints at the time of delivery. This complaint suggests that the air conditioning did not work at the time they purchased it, yet we have no record of such a complaint at that time. In fact, this is the first time we have received such a complaint. Based on the fact that almost a year has gone by, suggests that the air conditioning problem they are having is a new problem that should be expected on a car this age and with the miles that it has on it. We do our best to put good quality vehicles on the road. We take many steps in order to do so. As anyone that has ever owned a vehicle would know, you need to expect certain mechanical failures as the age of a vehicle increases.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If they say that it was sold "As is" does that mean if something is not working- in this case, the AC- is it morally right to not disclose this information? Are they not required to disclose if something is not working? I am appalled that a reputable company can get away with selling a faulty car! The term 'As is" does not mean that things may be broken. I understand it to mean that it is in reasonable condition. I want to know if Lexus are required to disclose whether there is something that is not working, when they sell and old car "as is".

Final Business Response
When a vehicle is being sold "as-is" it means that the purchaser is buying a vehicle in the condition that it is in at the time of delivery. We are a reputable company. We do everything in our power to send every vehicle out in as good of condition as we can. We check all safety concerns on the vehicle. We also check most functional equipment on the vehicle. According to our original inspection, the A/C was working properly when the vehicle was sold. It apparently has failed after the time of purchase. Vehicles are machines and will have certain mechanical issues after time passes. The likelyhood of an older car with higher miles is that car will have mechanical failures sooner than a new vehicle. This is why we recommend to every customer that they purchase an extended warranty when they buy a vehicle. It is unfortunate that this part has failed since the time of delivery. I personally called the customer and left a voicemail. The call was never returned. I am willing to help the customer out and do the job at a discounted rate, as we would like to help this customer out. But to perform work for free on an issue that happened a year after purchase is unreasonable.

09/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I talked to the general manager******* he recomended me to I think her name was******? Who then insulted me be brushing me off and then finally saying she would call me back after she checked the video tape of the grounds. I never heard back from her. I did get a voice mail from******* saying call him 2 months later almost. He said he had personal matters he had to attend to and thats why he hadn't gotten back to me. By that time I was pretty much done going around in circles getting no where.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking an apology from ***** for treating me like I was lying about the damage my vehicle sustained while maintenance was being performed on it at the dealership. I am also seeking repairs to be of the sustained damage. And compensation for wasting my time writing this mini paragraph and multiple wasted phone calls to the dealership that got me no where

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ****** Svc Manager
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX x2129
Contact Email: *******@mcgrathlexus.com
We have an appointment set-up to repair the customers damage to their vehicle on 9/2/14. Mcgrath will take care of the bill. The customer has been notified and is accepting the resolution. If there are any questions please call me directly.

08/18/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
During my service visit on yesterday my service consultant informed me that I have Engine Oil and Fluid leaking from my vehicle and I need to have a Differential Seal replaced and its estimated cost is $2901.54.

This is bothersome to me because that last time I brought my car in for its standard routine maintenance while it was still covered by warranty I told my service consultant that I my car was leaking and I needed him to figure out what was going on. When I picked up my vehicle at that time Lexus exclaimed that there was no leak found despite me seeing oil or something under my vehicle on the garage floor.

Yet, during my next visit (on yesterday 8/8) I expressed that my car was still leaking and I am extremely irritated that I have been complaining about this for some time; however, now being that my warranty is expired they find the problem with the leak and it cost $3K and being that my car is conveniently out of warranty I am responsible for the cost of the repair.
* 11/05/2013 -82,559 miles service consultant **** ********** - check engine light on and car stopped on me and it was running funny something wasn't right and asked for the complementary point inspection
* 5/28/2014 - 99,674 miles service consultant **** ********** - I told him my car was leaving and there was fluid under my car on the garage floor and that I was concern and wanted to know why this was happening I was concerns about my safety and drive over 100 miles a day round trip for work have to get my daughter and need my vehicle to be safe and reliable
* 08/08/2014 - 105,068 miles service consultant **** ********** - I mentioned to him again that my car is STILL leaking (and liquid is still on my garage flood in the same spot) something is wrong as well as brought it in for standard routine maintenance. I also reiterated that this is concerning me being that it's been going on for so long and could be affecting something else but more importantly I drive over a 100 miles daily to work and have to pick up my daughter and need a safe and reliable vehicle.

I find this to be shady business practices and feel that the service technician name (**** ** found my problem during my last visit but didn't report it being that my warranty was about to expire so that the $3K in repairs would NOT be Lexus responsibility.

****** D. ******
**** **** *** *****
Auora, IL XXXXX
Home: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Mobile: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Email: *************@yahoo.com
Vehicle 2010 RX 350

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to repair the differential seal problem identified with my venhcile and cover all of the cost associated with the repair.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ****** Svc Manager
Contact Phone: (XXX)XXX-XXXX x 2129
Contact Email: *******@mcgrathlexus.com
I will reach out to the customer to get this resloved. We would like to repair this customers vehicle at no charge to them. I will call them today and set up a time to have the repair done. Anyone may contact me if there are any questions regarding our response. *** ****** Service Manager at ******* Lexus of Westmont. (XXX) XXX-XXXX ext *****

Page 1 of 2
05/22/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.