Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McGrath Lexus Of Chicago meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McGrath Lexus Of Chicago include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on McGrath Lexus Of Chicago
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 11, 2000 Business started: 11/01/1991 in IL Business started locally: 11/01/1991 Business incorporated 08/21/1991 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Yvonne Capparelli, Office Manager Ms. Shirl Benckert, Customer Relations Manager Mr. John Douglass, E Commerce MNGR
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Yvonne Capparelli, Office Manager
Customer Contact: Ms. Kimberly Wadkins, Office Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

McGrath Lexus Of Chicago has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1250 W. Division St.

    Chicago, IL 60642 (773) 342-6300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/25/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a used vehicle from McGrath Lexus of Chicago. The entire purchase was performed remotely (I'm in Cleveland, they're in Chicago). This dealership has been extremely difficult to work with throughout the entire process of purchasing this vehicle. Despite the fact that they had to send two sets of paperwork for me to sign/return (because they sent the wrong ones the first time - for FLORIDA instead of OHIO), we've continued to have paperwork issues - even after the vehicle was purchased. A few weeks after I took delivery of the vehicle, I received a notice from the salesperson ***** *** that there was additional paperwork required before they could issue a title or license plates. After some clarification from the finance department (***** ***, I got the paperwork submitted promptly. That was two weeks ago, and I've not been able - despite multiple attempts - to get a response from either Paul or Frank regarding the status of my registration. I have a vehicle sitting here with temporary tags that expired on the 13th, and as such I cannot legally drive.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the dealership to follow through with their duty to provide me with title and registration for this vehicle.

Business Response: The reason for the delay is we were waiting for documents from Mr. ********* to properly register his vehicle.  We have since then received his documents and was able to process his paperwork.  Mr. ********* has everything he needs to drive his vehcile.  Thank you.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

*** *********

5/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 23rd I bought a used 2007 Lexus ES 350 from ****** ****** - McGrath Lexus of Chicago. He said that a second key was in the hands of the prior owner and that he would call the owner and secure the other key. He promised to send it to us within a week. Moreover, he told us 3 times - when we were buying the car - that he would call the prior owner that very day to secure the key!! If the General Manager at Lexus checks the phone log, I am sure it will indicate that ****** did NOT make that call to the prior owner on April 23rd. A week later, I complained to the dealership directly (on their website) and someone called me and promised to secure the second key and call me back. Predictably, we did not receive a follow-up call -ever! We still do not have the second key. It will cost me $300 to replace that key. I want Lexus of McGrath to either secure the key from the prior owner (as promised several times by ******- I have a witness) or pay me $300 to replace the key. ****** *******

Desired Settlement: Send me the second key or pay me $300 to replace the second key to the Lexus ES 350

Business Response: We have spoken with Mr. ******* and will be making him a new key for his 2007 Lexus ES350 at no charge to him.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *******

4/14/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/19/13, Mcgrath Lexus installed a Body assy thrott which was not needed. I know this because on or about 02/24/14 the exact problem again occured with my vehicle. I added gasoline to the vehicle and it was good. All I needed was gas in both instances When I returned to lexus they stated they still had the assay throat from 12/19/13 and they would reinstall it and see how the vehicle ran. They said they did and the vehicle ran poorly. How would they have a no good part lying around for five weeks. My customer # is XXXXX. The Invoice # for 12/19/13 is lecsXXXXXX the # for 02/24/14 Is LECSXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my 1,990.19 refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/13) */ On repair order 525824(12/16/13) throttle body was found to be defective causing car to not run properly. Throttle body was replaced and car ran properly. When customer returned in February we reinstalled old part to show him the car would not run correctly, we proved old part was defective, we put new part back on no charge and customer left with car. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mcgrath can say what they will but they know they are not truthful. I have no way proving they are lying. I will continue to do whatever I can to get them to re consider my complaint. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/20) */ We have been nothing but up front and accomodating to Mr. ******. I'm sorry his repair was so expensive, but the part that failed just is. We pride ourselves on our reputation and ALWAYS try our best for our customers, but sometimes things wear out or break on a 14 year old car, even on a Lexus. We do not appreciate Mr. ******' defamatory comments and hope this will conclude this matter.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on McGrath Lexus Of Chicago
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart