Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

McGrath Honda Of St Charles

Phone: (630) 443-6400 Fax: (847) 879-0872 1411 E Main St, Saint Charles, IL 60174 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mcgrathhonda.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McGrath Honda Of St Charles meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McGrath Honda Of St Charles include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on McGrath Honda Of St Charles
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 27, 2005 Business started: 08/07/1990 Business started locally: 08/07/1990
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Gary McGrath, Owner/President Mr. Chris McGrath, CFO Mr. Dave McGrath, Marketing Director Ms. Shanna McGrath, Customer Relations Mr. Mike Zafiriou, GSM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary McGrath, Owner/President
Customer Contact: Ms. Shanna McGrath, Customer Relations
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
MCGRATH MOTORS,INC.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

McGrath Honda Of St Charles has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1411 E Main St

    Saint Charles, IL 60174

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made an appointment to have my oil changed at 10:30am on my 2003 Honda Accord . My car was serviced and I paid. When I placed my key in the ignition it broke apart from the FOB. I had to pull my key out of the ignition with my fingers I took my key back to Service Rep ******* ******. Mr. ****** told me he needed to speak to someone and when he returned he introduced me to a gentleman by the name of ****. **** stated I must have given Honda a broken key and they could fix it for $170.00 and would wave the labor costs. **** stated my key looked dusty so there must have been damage already there. He pushed the key back into the FOB case. (The key is not fixed) I did not agree, and told **** if I had given Mr. ****** a damaged key, I'm sure he would have documented it and brought it to my attention so Honda would not be liable. **** stated there was nothing else he could do. So I called the Honda customer and filed a compliant # *****990. (Will provide complaint number if needed). Customer service told me to speak with the General Manager so when I asked to speak with him I was told he (**** ********) was on a week long vacation. I was told to speak with a gentleman by the name of ***** ***** (not sure if last name is correct). ***** stated the my vehicle has over 248 thousand miles so its kinda old. I informed him that I take very good care of my car and even the service papers have it documented. ***** went on to say that my key looks dusty so there must have been prior damage and the key was faulty when i gave it to Honda. Again, I stated Honda would have documented that so as to not be liable. ***** then stated Honda would pay half of the $170.00. I again declined because I did not break my key so why should I have to pay anything? ***** stated that was the best he could do. So now I'm filing with the BBB to resolve this matter. Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement: Fix my key and my FOB case, and find out who broke my key from the FOB and issue an apology.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ********- 

I have reviewed your concern with **** **** and our Service Manager ***** ******.  As good will, **** **** initially offered to help you by discounting the key and programming to $170. When our service manager got involved he offered you below cost on key + tax= $92.00 he also offered to give you a loaner vehicle and have the key programed free of charge.  American Honda (whom you contacted to complain about your key, Representative: Al, customer service) also denied any help on Corporate Honda's part to supply you a free key.  Al feels what we have offered you is extremely fair ($92).

We will not negotiate this further.  If you would like to move forward, I can assist you with setting up a service appt. Our service department can be reached at ************ 

Thank you, 

******, Customer Relations

 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  McGrath Honda broke my key and at no time even asked the repair person what happened to my key while it was with them.  McGrath Honda knows they are responsible for breaking the key.  It's unfortunate that this is how they treat me as a customer.

Sincerely,

****** ********

Business Response: The original quote for a new key is in excess of $200.  We are absorbing, as a good will gesture, over 50% of the cost.  Your key was 12+ years old and has been used tens of thousands of times over 250,000 miles.  Plastic gets old and breaks.  American Honda will only cover the key against breakage for 3 years or 36,000 miles.  As we stated to your complaint with the IL Attorney General, we made you a fair offer.  This offer is on the table and will remain there if you choose to accept it.

1/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about Tuesday, May 26, 2015, my wife and I decided to purchase a 2005 Honda CRV used car from McGrath Honda, St. Charles, IL. Before leaving the dealership I noticed a suspicious noise and mentioned to our Salesman (**** ******). He said bring it back, they'll take care of it. I had to come back the next day anyway to make the final payment. When I came back the next day I was told that the noise was coming from the heat shield hitting the catalytic converter. The Service Agent used a pry bar to adjust the shield. He told me he fixed it. I got in it and the noise was still there. I brought it back in the following day and they put a "C" clamp on the heat shield to stop the noise. I got it back and the noise was still there. I brought it back the next day and was told by the daytime service guy that it's not the heat shield. I left the vehicle. The next day I received a call from the service guy and was told the noise is coming from the transmission. They would not fix it; they said it was mechanically sound. I brought it to a friend who is a mechanic, who said it was not mechanically sound. I would not have purchased the car if I knew the sound was coming from the transmission. When I made the final payment I was told it was the heat shield. However, the next day I was told it was the transmission. I asked my Salesman to do the right thing and either fix the transmission or allow us to trade the vehicle at no extra cost for a like vehicle. **** said they would not fix the vehicle since it is mechanically sound. After several more attempts to reach ****, he finally called me back and said he spoke with his service manager and they would allow us to swap the 2005 CRV for a Honda Element. I told him the Element, with approximately 10,000 more miles, was not a comparable vehicle, so I suggested several other vehicles as possible replacements. Now, after waiting several months it is clear that McGrath does not want to do the right thing. I would like McGrath to do the right thing and swap out the 2005 CRV at no additional cost for a like vehicle (mileage, value and appreciation), preferably a Honda CRV 2005 or newer.

Desired Settlement: I would greatly appreciate McGrath Honda either replacing our 2005 CRV with a like vehicle with no mechanical problems or fix the transmission on our 2005 Honda CRV.

Business Response:

RE: ********

To whom it may concern:

I have reviewed Mr. ******** complaint with our COO, ***** McGrath, and our St Charles Honda General Manager, **** ********. **** has been in contact with the customer several times and offered to trade the customer out of the vehicle (for the price he paid) but the customer is not willing to accept a like-Honda (similar age/similar miles). Mr. ****** has shown interest in trading into a newer Cr-V with fewer miles, at no extra cost to him.  We aim to make our customers happy but Mr. ******** request is unreasonable.  

Thank you, 

****** McGrath 

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ******, 

Thank you for the response.  I would also like to work towards a reasonable solution.  I looked into your service history, your most recent visit with us was on 1-2-16 for an oil change and rotate.  The current mileage on your CR-V is just shy of 115K miles.  Before looking for a comparable replacement I would like to suggest you meet with our service manager, ***** ******.  He would like to take a test drive with you and inspect the concern.  Would this work for you?  I can set up the visit or you can contact him at your convenience.  His email is: s******@mcgrathag.com, phone: ************ 

Thank you, 

****** McGrath 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that Ms. McGrath's offer to come to a reasonable resolution as a positive sign that a resolution is possible, and hopefully probable.   I look forward to working with Ms. McGrath and/or her designee/s to come to a reasonable resolution.

Sincerely,

****** ******

7/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 24, 2015 I purchased a 2013 ** ****** *** from McGrath Honda. Despite the fact the long wait I signed the paperwork and drove home with the vehicle with one month of temporary tags. I waited exactly a month from the purchase, and had not receiced the title paperwork yet. I contacted **** in finance and ******* in Titling and was told they were going to send it. Its been 3 months now and I still dont have the title. Have called numerous times and been told I would get the title.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get a 3 month payment refund + time, money, and stress that I have put into this. I am seeking a refund of $3000.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* CFO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@*********.com Here is a time line of each step we took with the customer ***** *****. 3/24/15 - Customer bought a 2013 ** ****** Vin# ***************** (with a lien) 4/8/15- We were paid by the bank for the vehicle and we were able to finish the paperwork. (i.e make sure the title application was filled out, cut the check for the out of state fees and got it signed.) 4/9/15- Over-nighted all the documents to Missouri Department of Revenue 4/29/15- Received letter of items missing (The following week we called the MDR to figure out what the correct documents would be) 5/12/15- Over-nighted customer a Missouri POA, with return overnight envelope. 5/14/15- Received Customer POA and Over-nighted corrected paperwork to MO 5/26/15 - Received second letter about corrections needed - (Had to wait for previous owner of the VW POA to be signed) 6/1/15 - Re-cut check for correct amount and got signed. 6/3/15- Over-nighted final corrections to MO - also sent a letter to the customer stating that the only thing left for them to do is send in the Vin and Odometer verification form (MO requirement) 6/5/15- Title clerk received first e-mail from Mr. ***** and forwarded it to General Manager 6/16/15- Salesperson receives texts from Mr. ***** and asks title clerk for update about the title. She responds with the same information from the letter stating that he needs to turn in the Vin and Odometer verification. She receives another e-mail from customer after he gets done talking to salesperson and replies that he can call and check with the state about his title and where it may have been sent. She then calls the state to see if there is anything on our end we needed to do and the agent told us that they have all the documents except for the Vin and Odometer verification. Also that the title will be sent to the customer if it was not marked on the application for it to be sent to the lien holder. Out of State deals have several more hoops for us to jump through and the tax/title paperwork is not as well know for our employees like Illinois is. I hope this helps. We are not going to provide Mr ***** any of his monetary compensation he is requesting. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is not the customers responsibility to fill out and provide to a different state. If the dealer is unable to comply with other states' requirements then the dealer should not sell cars to out of state customers. Employees and managers of this dealer were avoiding me on sever calls and emails. They simply ignored my inquiries. To this day I have not received not even one call from the manager to aknoledge the issues with his employees. I still dont have a title. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/06/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* CFO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@*********.com I think we can both agree there were several items that could have done a little smoother. And for that myself and our employees offer a sincere apology. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2015/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Apology not accepted. We're at a point of no return.

2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I traded in my 2013 Honda Accord EX-L Navigation on 08/12/2014. I waited to receive my pay off letter from Honda. Once I had the letter, I began the cancellation/refund process of our GAP/Extended warranty back on September 12th with finance employee ***** *********** have the emails confirming this). I had to call multiple times to finally talk to him just to verify his receipt of my documents. I was told the refund process would take 4 to 6 weeks. On November 1st, I sent an email to Craig just checking up on the progress of the refund. I received an error email advising my email failed to be delivered. I called the dealership the same day and was told Craig no longer worked for the dealership. The manager I spoke with advised he was going to look into the issue and call me back on Monday before noon. I never received a phone call. On Tuesday (November 6th) I called again. I was told the new finance guy was **** and was put in touch with him. Of course there was no record of my cancellation to be found. My wife called Honda Corporate and filed a complaint on the dealership through them. (We never heard anything back about our complaint) **** seemed like a nice guy, and admitted he had a number of un-resolved issues he inherited with his job. Will assured me he would work with me to resolve the issue.Will explained the process and that refunds requests were processed on the 15th of the month and refund checks were cut at the end of the month. On the same day (Nov 6th), Will had sent me forms to complete and return. 3 forms total: - GAP Cancellation for Contract #XXXXXXX with an estimated refund of 549.76 - GAP Cancellation for Contract #XXXXXXX with an estimated refund of 553.43 - "VSC" Cancellation for Contract #XXXXXXX with an estimated refund of 1409.95 The dates on the forms showed and cancellation day of November 6th. I explained to **** this date needed to be corrected to the actual sale date of 08/12/14. Will explained the change would be made later in the process. On November 7th, Will had all of our submitted paperwork and confirmed he submitted the paperwork through ****** ***** is apparently the company in which the GAP and Extended Warranty contracts were purchased. On December 5th I sent Will an email requesting an update on the refund (thinking they should have sent a check with it being passed *** end of the month). Will promptly responded back advising ***** had processed the paperwork and his accounting department was working on it. He advised he would check with them on Monday Dec. 8th and get back to me. I never heard anything and contacted him again on Dec 9th. On Dec. 10th Will explained he was mistaken about the refund process and that the check was going to be from McGrath Honda. He advised he was getting in touch with their accounting department and would get back to me. On December 12th **** apologized and said the account manager had been away and would be back the following Tuesday (the 16th). I never heard anything. On Wednesday Dec 17th, I emailed **** asking for an update. I still have not received a response. I still don't know what the corrected amount of my refund will be and I truly just want the check.

Desired Settlement: I just want the refund check for the aforementioned cancellation. I would really just like it if for once, someone would just do what they say are going to do. I should not have to follow up and stay on top of these guys to do their job! Please just send me my check!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1001, 13, 2015/02/12) */ According to our research Mr ***** has received two checks for the cancelations of the Gap and VSC coverages. The checks were cut 1/6/15 and sent out 1/7/15. The GAP check matched the requested amount for contract ******** ($549.76) and the VSC check matched the requested amount for contract ******** ($1409.95). The second GAP request for refund was not applicable as only one GAP contract can be valid per vehicle. I verified that the purchase only included one GAP and one VSC contract.

8/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 7/29/14, ****** ******** from internet team left me a voicemail if I was still interested in buying a car. I called her back saying yes I am. I then provided a price from another dealer and asked her if she can compete that offer. She called me back and left me a voicemail saying that her manager has approved the final price of $22751 out the door for 2014 Honda Accord Sport. I then called her back saying "perfect, either my dad and uncle or I will stop by in the evening to purchase the car". She told me that she will forward all the information including the final negotiated price to sales, so when we come in the evening, everything will be easy. In the evening of 7/29/14, my dad and uncle went to the dealership to purchase the car. They greeted them and talked to them about the car. Then salesperson, ********** was finalizing all the paperwork for them. After two hours of waiting, she comes up with different price, which was totaling to over $25000 for the very same car. They told ********** that my son (myself) talked to ****** from internet team and negotiated the price of $22751. They asked her to call ******, but salesperson refused saying "she works in internet team, which is a totally different department". She added "****** might have mistakenly given that price to your son". Even the manager wasn't ready to listen to this concern. In a meanwhile, my dad called me about the situation while they were still at the dealership. I then tried reaching ******, but her extension was going to her voicemail. Receptionist kept on transferring me to her extension. Third time (after 15 minutes), I called again and this time receptionist, without even saying hello, directly transferred me her extension (so I am assuming that at this point, everyone in that dealership is aware of this situation). I then called my dad and told him to get up and walk out immediately without signing anything. At this point, they felt really insulted and so did I. They purposely play such games with their customers to HARASS them. The reason why I can say this is because of customer reviews on google regarding this particular business. When I read them, there are multiple reviews written with exactly the same situation. I have never had such experience with Honda dealers in the past. This is completely against consumer ethics and rights to play such games. They tell your over the phone or in email a different price and ask customers to come in. When customers go there, they show their other side. For me this is nothing less than a FRAUD. I have all the emails and voicemails of ****** ******** stating these facts, including the final price I was supposed to buy the car for. I am willing to forward them all if needed. I also wrote back to ****** stating my disappointment, anger and frustrations. She replied me back via email on 7/30/14 stating following: "I apologize for your experience. I too would be upset if I were you. This was all unknown to me. I asked my manager for an OTD and I'm not sure why they wouldn't stick to that price. I have tried to contact my manager several times today, but they have been busy. I am trying to get to the bottom of this and find out why they wouldn't have honored that price for you. My intention was not to waste your time, it was to get you the same car for a better price. I am truly sorry for your bad experience and that we weren't able to earn your business this time, but I do hope that we can repair the damage done and that you may consider McGrath in the future." This response clearly demonstrates the harassment we faced. I hope strict actions are taken against this business with a thorough investigation. Thanks.

Desired Settlement: A public apology, especially to my family along with strict actions against whoever is involved in this fraud.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/08) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@mcgrathag.com I spoke with Mr. ***** about his experience at McGrath Honda in St Charles. Mr. ***** is reviewing with his Uncle whom the car is for. I am waiting on Mr. ***** to call back and set an appointment with me and His uncle, possibly to purchase From McGrath Honda. I will continue to provide information as we progress. **** ******** McGrath Honda St Charles


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on McGrath Honda Of St Charles
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart