Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

McGrath Honda of Elgin

Phone: (847) 695-8000 2020 N Randall Rd, Elgin, IL 60123 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mcgrathhondaelgin.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McGrath Honda of Elgin meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for McGrath Honda of Elgin include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on McGrath Honda of Elgin
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 03, 2009 Business started: 03/19/1986 Business started locally: 03/19/1986 Business incorporated 03/19/1986 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary McGrath, President Mr. Chris McGrath, CFO Mr. Dave McGrath, Marketing Director Ms. Shanna McGrath, Customer Relations Mr. Mike Zafiriou, GSM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary McGrath, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Shanna McGrath, Customer Relations
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

McGrath Honda of Elgin has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2020 N Randall Rd

    Elgin, IL 60123 (847) 695-8000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The overall service and experience has been nothing but a headache. I purchased a car on the night of April 22nd. Against my better judgement I took the extended warranty. I called the next day to cancel that and wasn't getting a returned phone call. The people I had talked to were rude and disrespectful. I had it settled the following Monday but had to drive back down to IL. Then this week I called to check on the status of my plates and title. I found out they held onto my paperwork for 2+ weeks before sending to be processed. My temporary plates expire on Sunday and was told to call back on Monday and they could overnight me a new temporary plate-I explained how I'd be driving with expired plates and that wasn't ok with me. Is that the business you conduct-drive with expired plates it's fine?!? I was told I'd stay on their priority list and continue to followup to make sure things ran smoothly. The person I spoke to was also going to talk to finance and give them a heads up about the chance of needing new temporary plates. Knowing I wasn't getting my plates, I called back today (Friday) so they could overnight me a new temporary plate. The impression left was I was never kept on a priority list and finance was never talked to. I was told I'd get a call back and nothing. This is a business you do everyday and it seems like you just can't get it right. I've had plenty of friends buy vehicles from IL without a problem but I can safely say I wouldn't come back to McGrath-the overall experience has been sub-par to say the least.

Desired Settlement: Improve training and customer service!

Business Response:

Hi Ms. ******- 

My name is ******* you and I were in contact back in late April.  I am sorry to hear you are still experiencing a delay with your new plates.  I spoke to ****** today, who you have also been in touch with, she mentioned that she has been in contact with ATC several times to find out why this has been delayed.  When she called ATC again on 5/20 she was told (by ATC) that it would be 'a couple of weeks'- which according to them is the 'estimated time for the state to process the title.'  She also mentioned that she overnighted you a new 'drive-away' on 5-23-16. Please let me know if you did not receive this.  

I am very sorry for the delay, ****** will remain in contact with ATC until you have your new plates.  If I can assist you, my direct phone number is: ************ or email: **********************

Thank you, 

****** *******

Business Response:

Dear Ms. Manley- 

I am very sorry for the inconveniences you've experienced, I had no intentions of placing blame on ATC.  I apologize for any delays on our part and the numerous phone calls you needed to make to get updates.  

****** sent me the ATC confirmation, which was complete yesterday.  I have the confirmation packet in a PDF form, I'm happy to attach it to this response, but didn't want to do so without your permission as it contains your personal information and plate number.  ****** informed me that once we receive the confirmation the customer usually has the plates in their hands within 1-2 days.  They are over-nighted by ATC. 

You requested in your original BBB compliant that you would like 'McGrath to train our employees on this matter'.  We will certainly review your experience with our finance & office team, and retrain to prevent further delays with out of state deals.  

I will have ****** follow-up with you today to ensure you received the plates.  

Thank you, 

******

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* my plates were delivered yesterday and this matter can be closed.

Sincerely,

******* ******

5/18/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from the McGrath family in late 2015. A Co-worker of mine was recently in the market for a vehicle so I informed them to get a quote from McGrath Honda in Elgin. They ended up purchasing a car from the dealership within the last 45 days. This dealership offers a referral program for previous customer's when you send someone in to purchase a vehicle. Since I am a previous customer, I am entitled to a $100.00 referral credit which I have yet to receive. I have reached out to the sales associate, ***** *********** several times. My requests date back to 4/15/16 and even after numerous attempt to reach him, I have not had any luck. I have also used their chat function to request a call back from a manager but again have heard nothing. At this point, I know the dealership is ignoring my request and I am unable to resolve it on my own. Since this issue has been on going for almost 30 days with no resolution, I am filling a complaint to get this resolved.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is simple. I want the 100.00 that I am entitled to for referring new business to the McGrath family.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ******

I've looked into your concern.  It seems the customer who purchased from us and that you are referring to is '***** *******.  I will cut you a referral check for $100, but in the future please advise our sales management that you are referring a customer prior to them purchasing. You can do this by emailing '******** ********' *********************** or sending the customer in with a $100 referral card that would have your name on it.  I will include these referral cards with your check.  

Please email me at smcgrath@mcgrathag.com with your current address or where you would like us to send the check.  When I hear back from you I will notify our office manager to send your check.  

******* *******

4/20/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/30/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We recently purchased a used vehicle from McGrath Honda. We had made final negations the night before, but they called me and said that we couldn't finalize the contract until the next day. The following day when I stopped by, I stated that I would pay cash for the vehicle and give me a better price, after much run around, I agreed to finance the vehicle. I signed the documents and left. When my wife reviewed the documents we noticed an additional $1,007 plus tax on the bill of sale. We immediately called and questioned them about it the next day, and the following day. Nobody, not even the sales manager seemed to know what this charge was for. Today they called us back and stated that it was for an extended warranty. We advised them that we never requested an extended warranty. They said too bad it's too late and it's already on the bill of sale. There is an extended warranty document but the contract price says $ 408.00 not even close to the $ 1,048.93 on the bill of sale. After going to visit them they said that $ 599.00 is for McGrath Honda one year warranty and $408.00 is for the other two years which contradict the original warranty documents. Also on the Bill of Sale the $ 1,048.93 is listed under after sale price, on the extended warranty section a N/A is listed along with mileage and years it says N/A - so is it really for an extended warranty? I believe the extended warranty should not be taxed. Also we only received one key set and no manual for this vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the $1,007.00 plus the 41.93 for a total $ 1,048.93 to be removed from the finance paperwork, bill of sale and the extended warranty cancelled. Or refunded the money plus cancel the extended warranty. In addition we would like to receive a manual and another key set with remote.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ********

Thank you for taking the time to speak to our General Manager, **** *******, today.  It sounds like you and **** worked out a solution with your concern.  **** said you will be coming in next Tuesday, March 29th to resign the paperwork and provide the extra cash needed to avoid financing the car.   

As for the extra set of keys and manual, they were ordered last week and should be arriving soon.  

I have provided my contact information below if I can assist you further.  Please note I will be out of the office 3-24- 3-31, in my absence please contact **** ******* @ *************

Sincerely, 

****** ******** McGrath Honda Customer Relations Manager

************** ** ************ **********************

10/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been shopping for a car for a while and decided on a Honda Accord. I went to the nearest Honda Dealer (McGrath Honda) and looked at manual transmission Accords. I stated to the salesman ****** that I needed to buy this car on the date of my real estate closing, or else I may not qualify for credit and would have to pay cash. I was then shifted to another salesman (*******). On the day of my closing, they had sold the only Accord with a manual transmission. They promised to find me another, which they did. We agreed on a price. When I notified the Salesman that I had a trade and it wasn't with me, he said to bring it next time, there would be no problems. He also stated that I can walk away if I wasn't satisfied with the car. I left a deposit and left on 11/28/14. I came back on 12/8/14 to complete the transaction. They then proceeded to look at my trade as I looked at the car. The color wasn't what I had in mind, and I was a bit apprehensive. They also offered me a very low price for my trade. When I told the salesman that I couldn't let my trade go for that low, he became increasingly aggressive and visually upset. This went on for at least an hour. He had trouble remembering the terms of our agreement, that I had a conditional trade and that he said if I wasn't satisfied, that I can walk away. "This is not how we do business" - he said this while walking back to his desk, within earshot of customers, "This will be the worst deal in my history as a salesman if you don't buy this car", "we bought this car for you", "look me in the eyes when you're speaking to me", "you sprung this trade up out of nowhere" - these were some of the many inappropriate statements made to me. At this point, he had lost the sale based on his attitude. I didn't take delivery of the vehicle, I did not waive my right to a refund of my deposit, I did not waive my right to have a trade in. I notified the salesmen that I was unsatisfied with the car and that I requested a deposit on 12/9/14.

Desired Settlement: Refund deposit of $500 paid on 11/28/14.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/12/22) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********@mcgrathag.com https://chicago.app.bbb.org/complaint/view/XXXXXXXX/b/*******

12/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10-3-14, ***** ***** of McGrath Honda of Elgin told me on the phone that he would match the written quote that I received from Honda of Kenosha for a new 2014 CRV AWD EX. He told me that ************, from his internet sales department, forwarded him Kenosha's quote and that he would match it as well as give me the McGrath Advantage Program with it for free. I asked him to e-mail me that in writing, explaining that I didn't want any surprises if I was going to drive there that day to purchase the car. He agreed to the written confirmation of the price match and set up an appointment with me to meet at 12:00 that day, Oct. 3, 2014. He e-mailed me the written price match confirmation. My husband & I met ***** at 12:00 in Elgin to purchase the car, but when we got there, he and his manager told us that they couldn't sell us the car for that price. Their best offer was $600.00 more than what we agreed to on the phone and in the e-mail confirmation. Their offer for $600.00 more than the agreed price included splash guards, floor mats and wheel locks. They told us that they could not remove these things because they were already on the car. They also told us that they were incurring an additional charge of $300.00 to get the car from their own store in St. Charles. ****** ***** previously told me on the phone that there would be no charge to get the car I wanted from the St. ******* store, because it was their own store and it would be no problem to have someone drive it over. I told them that I would pay an additional $250.00 for the splash guards even though I didn't want them and was not informed about them before. I explained that they could remove the floor mats and the wheel locks. They told me that they could not remove those things and that the only way they could possibly sell us the car was for all 3 additional accessories to be included at a cost of $600.00 more than the agreed upon out the door price of $25,684.83.

Desired Settlement: 1 A written apology acknowledging their lie. 2)A promise to discontinue deceptive sales practices

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/12/02) */ On the week of October 3rd, 2014, Ms. ****** had a talk with ******* is our internet department. She asked if we were willing to match a quote she had received from another dealership via an email. We always match written quotes so ******* naturally replied "yes" to her request as long as the car is the same car with same equipment. Ms ****** and her husband visited our dealership on 10/3/14 and met with our sales rep *****. We greeted her with the utmost sincerity and respect. The quote she brought in had was valid "on instock units only" and specifically said "did not include any additional accessories installed on the vehicle." This was information written directly on her quote that she brought in. We honored that exact quote adding for the accessories and the locate fee and we located her a car at another dealership. We explained that the car we located had an accesory package that included Splash Guards and all weather mats. We did not put these accessories on the vehicle, they were accessories that were already on the vehicle from the St Charles Honda Dealership (a dealership that is with in our dealer group but run by an entirely different GM). The quote she had from ******* ********* did not have an Illinois Doc fee and did not have the Illinois Plate Charge on the paperwork (it had Wisconsin plate charges that were slightly less). We explained that even in ********** they would need to charge you the correct plate amount as she resided in Illinois and that she would still have to pay the Illinois Doc Fee of 166.27. In total, for getting her an out of stock vehicle, adding for the All Weather Mats, Splash Guards, Doc Fee, and difference in Plates, we were able to be within $600 of her initial quote. The customer felt that we were too far off. We feel that we did everything we could have. We were up front and honest and very courteous in our dealings with this customer. ********** notes in our system also show that we told customer prior to her visit that she would be responsible for the doc fee diference and plate difference. She also has a note saying that she explained that accessories are different from vehicle to vehicle. We feel that we were very upfront in the dealing with the ******* starting with the phone conversation and properly disclosed all possible pricing keeping in mind that we were not aware that we were unaware of where we would locate a vehicle and what accessories that vehicle would have. We also included free of charge our ******* advantage package which includes many free items like oil changes and complimentary additional warranties and car washes for life. It is unfortunate that the ******* left unsatisfied. We strive to offer customer service that is second to none. Although we can not make every single deal, we always want to leave our customers with a positive view of this business and our dealer group. I would like to offer Ms ****** my sincerest apology for not living up to that goal. Although I do not believe we did anything deceptive, we will continue to train and grow to help accomplish our goal of 100% customer satisfaction. I hope that at the very least, Ms ****** felt that everyone she dealt with was completely professional and treated the customers with respect

12/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Told we could not get trade appraisal unless prepared to buy same day, held keys for 2hours until we demanded them back.Sent survey on our experience which I returned for promised 2 free oil changes. No response and one of the email addresses given comes up bogus. How can they be an accredited business with these practices?

Desired Settlement: Some response from McGrath Honda. Since they offered free oil changes I would like those too. I usually just move on but these guys have made me really angry.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/12/04) */ On 9/2/14 Mr ****** came in and worked with one of our younger, newer salesman, ****** ******* He had asked for a trade appraisal which we normally do not do on non Hondas unless someone is ready to purchase a vehicle. We are a Honda Dealership and when appraising non-Honda products, we are required to get 3 separate appraisal figures from other dealerships. In this case, Mr ****** had a Toyota Pick Up truck requiring us to call 3 other Toyota Dealerships. Honda dealerships normally do not sell many Pick Up trucks and our experience with Pick up trucks is somewhat limited. Mr ****** really wanted an appraisal and even though he was not ready to purchase a new vehicle, we appraised his vehicle. We did have his keys for a lengthy period of time but it was not to hold hostage. We were simply doing our do diligence to get Mr ****** the best possible deal on a vehicle that we do not have much experience with. We were waiting on call backs from 3 separate Toyota Dealerships and from talking to both the salesman and the manager, both said that when asked, the immediately returned the keys. The keys were just sitting on a desk and we were unaware that the customer was ready to leave. Complimentary Oil Change coupons were mailed on 10/7/14 to XXXXX ********* *** ******* IL XXXXX. If those coupons are lost, we would be happy to re-mail or to let Mr. Harper pick up in person. All of our email addresses should be valid and work. We are unaware of any non-working email addresses. Please forward non working email so we can remove. Please pass ***** our sincerest apologies to Mr. ******* We have no intentions of losing peoples business based on our inefficiencies to quickly appraise a vehicle. Unfortunately, newer salesman will always have a learning curve and sometimes they will always take a little longer to accomplish the same thing as some of our experienced salesman. Coupled with the fact that it was a trade-in that we do not have much experience with, it took us longer than it normally does. Again, no excuse, we need to improve certain aspects if we want to be a truly successful dealership. We do not believe, however, that we did any fraudulent or improper BBB related practices. At no point was Mr ****** misled or lied to. Again, our sincerest apologies on the length of time spent at our dealership and we will work hard, going forward to more efficiently work car deals.

10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Invoice number XXXXX. Date 9/20/14 I had a auto dimming mirror installed Part number *************** Mir -auto. 234.00 ************* Attachment. 89.00 I believed I was getting a genuine Honda remote start. But what I got was a cheap remote start substitute called Auto Mate the lowest model they sell ****** I was never told at any point I was getting something other than a genuine Honda part. I was charged 358.80 The invoice doesn't list part or model. I was also charged A misc charge for waste of 15.00 According to store.honda.com which McGrath is a part of these prices are installed prices. I was charged an additional 540.00 for labor. This is the charge I'm disputing. The other part is if I waned after market equipment installed, then I would have gone some where else to have this done. I believed since I was going to a Honda dealer, that I would be getting Honda parts installed. I was not told of another product would be installed. I wanted what was listed on the e-Honda store to be installed.

Desired Settlement: Refund of 540.00 plus tax, and the correct remote start installed on DBE92-TDA-100-B and transmitter 08E91-E91-EXX-XXXA

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/10) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@mcgrathag.com We have apologized for overcharging Mr. ******** for the auto day/night mirror and the miscommunication concerning the remote start. We have issued a reimbursement check for the mirror and will be removing the aftermarket remote start and installing the genuine Honda remote start early next week.

9/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car was towed to McGrath on Aug.02 for no start. After 4 days there, I was told it was the engine immobilizer and it was replaced for a bill of $279,00. Picked up car on Aug.08 and had car towed back on Aug.09 by 1345 hours for same problem. Car was repaired by Aug.14 for another bill of $248.00. There was a loaner car provided the 2nd time (great) but my car was returned with an empty fuel tank due to numerous test drive. To say the service is poor is a gross understatement. No wonder the only reviews this place has are all negative ones, I can really understand that now!

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would have like to see the $105 towing bill deducted from my bill since the first repair did not even last 24 hours. How about making sure the fuel tank was at least filled up before releasing the car?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/11) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***********@mcgrathag.com The vehicle arrived with a no start concern, we used every resource available to us including Honda Technical Engineering team to diagnose that the immobilizer system was the root cause of the failure to start. After replacement of the failed component multiple restarts and test drivers were made to confirm repair before we released the vehicle to Mr. ***. When the vehicle was towed back to us it started right up. Unlike the last time we saw the vehicle there were several diagnostic trouble codes stored in the system to assist our technician in trouble shooting the vehicle. While in this process it was found that a fuse in the under hood dash board was making intermittent contact internal to that fuse. When contact was lost all data communication would reset and all trouble codes would clear. This type of failure is extremely rare and was found in the process of extensive diagnosis. The first diagnosis was made to the best of our ability, the vehicle started multiple times and we test drove to confirm the repairs before we released the vehicle. The second failure could not be foreseen even after our attempt of multiple restarts and test driving the vehicle. McGrath Honda is committed to customer satisfaction, the hours spent working on the vehicle were extensive and were not billed to Mr. ***, nor was the loaner vehicle that we provided him. Because of the nature of the failure we will submit a request to America Honda for goodwill consideration for the repair.

9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Saturday 7/5 afternoon - I called and talked to a rep from the internet sales department. The vehicle I wanted to purchase was available so I drove to the dealership. I spoke to a sales person (Derek)and told him what I was trying to accomplish. I was willing to purchase the car for $29,997 (that is the price listed on the internet) however I wanted a rear entertainment system included in the deal at no cost. He went and talked to his sales manager (*****) who came to the table to discuss. He asked if I would buy the car if they agreed to those terms. I said yes! ***** told me that he was sure he could get to a payment of $475 per month with the purchase price and entertainment system put in for free. The only uncertainty was the interest rate and they needed to finalize that on Monday with the bank. They tried to get me to give them a $500 deposit, I told them I would not until I had some concrete numbers / interest rate to review. They told me they would call me back on Monday. I received a call back on Monday (7/7) from the sales person Derek. He said that they were able to get a 3.8% interest rate and make all the numbers work. I verified the sales price and the free entertainment system deal still applied. I was told YES it does. I left work and drove to the dealership to sign the papers. Upon arriving at the dealership I again verified the purchase price and the FREE entertainment system with the sales person. The sales person even showed me in the catalog what entertainment system they included!!! I waited almost an hour for the finance guy to free up. While signing the paperwork I noticed the sale price of the vehicle was $31,997. I asked why and the finance guy said that is the number the sales department told him. I called in the sales person, while questioning him he said the sales manager worked the numbers. We called the sales manager (*****) in the office and I questioned him. He told me the price increase because of the entertainment system. I was very frustrated and told them that we had an agreement to put that in at no cost. He said that he didn't remember that. I asked him what he would charge me if I wanted to bye the entertainment system, he said "$1,500", I then asked why the price increased $2,000 if the entertainment system only cost $1,500. He said that must be a mistake. I walked out of the dealership.

Desired Settlement: I would like compensation for the hours that I spent wasting my time with this dealership and the dishonest business practices. I also would like disciplinary action be taken against the sales manager (*****).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/28) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* GSM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********@mcgrathag.com We are sorry for the communication issues Mr. ****** experienced while negotiating to purchase a Certified Pre-Owned Odyssey van from us. While working with Mr. ****** we found that he desired an Odyssey van with rear entertainment and to have a monthly payment of $475.00. Although we carry a large selection of Certified Pre-Owned vans the one Mr. ****** was interested in was not equipped with this option so we presented him with our accessory catalog and showed him several different option of rear entertainment system installed by one of our preferred vendors. Mr. ****** chose a very nice system that has a retail price of $2,000.00. After settling on the accessories to be installed our sales team and finance team worked together to make sure we can still meet Mr. ******'s payment goal of $475.00 and were happy when we were able to accomplish this. Our main focus was reaching his monthly payment goal with the vehicle his wanted equipped the way he wanted it. The communication issue occurred when we presented the bill of sale to Mr. ******. This document clearly breaks down the costs of the vehicle, this includes the price for the vehicle, the cost of the rear entertainment system and all other fees and taxes. Mr. ****** assumed the cost of the rear entertainment system would be absorbed by us and not charged to him. This of course was never our intent, the Odyssey van he desired was advertised at the sale price and all accessories were clearly listed. We at ******* Honda take customer satisfaction extremely serious and never want to lose a customer because of a misunderstanding. In an effort to regain Mr. ******'s trust we would invite him back to our store to sit with our general manager and see if we can get closer to Mr. ******'s expectations. Although we will not be providing him with a free DVD player I am confident that we can offer severals different options to make the purchase more appealing. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/07/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thank you for the response. Unfortunately the response is incredibly inaccurate. The "payment goal" had nothing to do with the purchase price of the vehicle. The sales department provided me with a document stating that the rear entertainment system would be at no cost. Also, putting the price of the RES system aside they still increased the price of the base vehicle at the last moment without my direct knowledge hoping that I wouldn't notice. I find the way this dealership does business very inappropriate and will never visit this dealership for service or for future buying needs. It is a shame such a great manufacture like Honda is represented by these dishonest characters. Best regards, ***** Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/08/23) */ After speaking with my team again, they agreed the prices were clearly listed on the accessory sheet. Mr ****** never asked what the DVD player would cost and he was aware of the price on the accessory sheet. We agreed to the sale with Mr. ****** that he would pay our internet sales price as long as we could install a rear DVD and achieve his payment goal of $475. When Mr ****** was reviewing a bill of sale he questioned our team member, our team member explained the DVD player options and went over both the $1500 8.5" DVD player as well as the DVD player he chose that retailed for $2000. Mr.****** decided not to follow thru with his purchase from our dealership and left. I would be more than happy to sit down with Mr. ****** and review the items again. ******* will always work effortlessly to assist and work out communications misunderstandings with our guest.

5/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 96 Honda Civic from McGrath 11/29. It went through there 150 point inspection. They kept the car almost 2 additional weeks and said they wanted everything to be perfect. I then had to take it back at the end of December because the noise I complained about was not gone. Turns out the brakes needed to be done. So now comes April and the brake light comes on. I figure it cant be major take it to McGrath on 4/18 and they tell me a brake line is bad and a part needs to be ordered. They finally call me 4/23 after keeping the car for days tell me all of the brakes lines are rusted, and the one is leaking it needs a complete replacement and it will cost me $2000 for a car I bought for $4500!! So now I am paying for a car that they tell me is dangerous to drive. I find it hard to believe that after a 150 point inspection, and having the brakes done in December that they never noticed all of this rust and damage. Luckily I was able to find a place to do this for $650.00. I believe McGrath service knew of the problem, didn't fix it, gave me what probably was always a dangerous car, and then tried to charge me to fix it. I feel they should compensate me for what I had to spend to fix this major issue.

Desired Settlement: $650.00 to pay for the work I had to have done.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/04) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***********@mcgrathag.com We understand that having issues with vehicle purchased new or used can be very frustrating. We did perform a thorough visual inspection on the vehicle, unfortunately the brake lines that failed are encapsulated in an area of the vehicle that cannot be seen. This vehicle was traded into us and we did not have access to prior maintenance records. America Honda requires brake fluid replacement every three years for precisely this reason. Brake fluid retains moisture and this moisture causing the lines to rust from the inside out, for this reason even if the lines were visible to our technician he might not have seen that a failure was imminent. With the vehicle being 18 years old and having lower mileage some unusual service concerns might come up from time to time. Everyone at McGrath Honda takes great pride in the work we perform and we stand behind the vehicles we sell and service. Because this failure is safety related and for customer satisfaction we will offer to reimburse Ms ******** the cost of the repairs. Please fax me a copy of your invoice to XXX-XXX-XXXX, email it to ***********@mcgrathag.com or upload it to this site and we will process the reimbursement. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/05/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I appreciate that they are willing to reimburse me for my repair expenses.

1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As stated in summary, I purchased a 2010 ***** ***** from McGrath Honda on ******* ***** 2013. There was no financing as my wife and I paid cash for the vehicle. We were told we would receive the title within 2-3 weeks. Fifty days later, we received the title on ******** ***** 2013 however the title showed a lienholder of ********** ***** ******* ******* A letter releasing the lien was stapled to the title and if I truly want a clear title (listing no lienholders) then I have to go to the Secretary of State office and pay $95. As detailed in our sales receipt $145 was paid for Taxes and Titling of the vehicle. I have spent numerous days trying to contact McGrath and many of those times I have been sent to voicemail only to have my calls go unreturned. I finally spoke with *** ********** who is a finance manager. *** kept repeating that my title is free and clear yet could not explain to me why people would go the SOS office with a title/lien-release to get a new title. *** admitted that he spoke with ******* and that a mistake was made in the titling of the car when ******** ***** ******* ***** was listed a lien holder. This would explain why the physical car title says "issued ************ and I did not receive the car title (with stapled lien release letter) until ************** *** continued to explain to me that people do this all the time and that most people have a lien-release letter stapled onto their car title. I kindly asked him to please provide a new, clean, title or to reimburse me the $95 it would cost in order to do so myself. Again he laughed at me and said any lawyer would laugh me out of their office if I made such a claim. Bottom line: I paid for a service from McGrath. They were to serve as an intermediary in titling my new vehicle purchase. They messed up the details of the title and refuse to make me whole.

Desired Settlement: I am simply asking the McGrath Honda provide a clean title with no lien holders listed or simply refund me the $95 so I can remove the lien from the title myself at a Secretary of State office.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** Office Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@mcgrathag.com The customer was contacted by phone on *** ******** After discussing the issues and his concerns ******* Honda asked the customer to please send us his title and that we would be happy to send it to the Secretary of State to have the title re-issued in his name alone. The customer did meet with me on ******,2014 and delivered the his title. His title has been re- issued as of ******,2014 and will be sent to him from the Secretary of State shortly. The customer has been contacted and up dated with this information.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on McGrath Honda of Elgin
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart