Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McGrath Acura of Downtown Chicago meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McGrath Acura of Downtown Chicago include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on McGrath Acura of Downtown Chicago
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 28, 2012 Business started: 12/07/2005 Business started locally: 12/07/2005 Business incorporated 03/13/2012 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Yvonne Capparelli, Office Manager Mr. Kevin McGrath, Owner Mr. Michael McGrath, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Yvonne Capparelli, Office Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Kimberly Wadkins , Office Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
McGrath Downtown Auto, Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

McGrath Acura of Downtown Chicago has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1301 N Elston Ave

    Chicago, IL 60642 (773) 235-7858 (773) 342-6300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a pre-owned 2010 Acura MDX from McGrath on Tuesday, Oct. 27, 2015. In my discussions with the salesperson, I made it clear I would only make the purchase if the 4 worn out tires were replaced. I made that clear to him over several discussions including a phone message that he responded to and stated "we can do that". When I was negotiating the sale price last Tuesday, he indicated on a sheet for the sales manager that I wanted the tires replaced. We then settled on a final price and started to do the paperwork. Several time while we were processing paperwork, I asked ***** the salesperson when they would replace the tires. He kept telling me he would check and then stepped away. I assumed he was going to check. At the cash counter when I was paying the deposit for the car, ***** came by and I again asked him about when the tires would be replaced. He walked away again stating that he would check and then never came back. I paid for the vehicle and walked up front to find *****. He walked me out to the MDX for me to take delivery. At that point, I again asked him about the tires. His response suddenly was "that was not part of the deal". I was very upset and asked him to fix this problem and contact me the next day. He did not. I finally emailed the dealership GM ***** ***** about 5 times to seek satisfaction. He responded once briefly stating he would get back to me the next day. He never did and I emailed him several more times with no response. This is a classic example of misrepresentation, unprofessional service and sales, and very poor follow up with someone who spend $25,000. This is a formal complaint against the dealership that I would like registered with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: Replace the tires as promised by the salesperson. I also seek an apology and the employee should be reprimanded for unprofessional behavior. It should also go on record that the dealership GM was unresponsive, disrespectful in his silence and did not value a customer who would have been a repeat buyer if treated properly.

Business Response:

*** ***** received four new tires for his 2010 Acura MDX before McGrath Acura received this complaint.  The customer is currently satisfied and has expressed that he would like to revoke his complaint from the BBB.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,
**** *****

9/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: McGrath Acura of Downtown Chicago: - Advertised Used 2000 ************* S500 on Internet for $6777.During my first visit they told me the Car was in the Shop, the Starter will be replaced, and I should come back the following day.I did visit the show-room five times, and five times I was given five different excuses why the car can not be seen. Product_Or_Service: Used Car

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Delivery Deliver the car as advertised or a different ******** of comparable value.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/28) */ August 28, 2015 RE: BBB Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX To Whom It May Concern: The ******** in question was posted on the McGrath Acura website for sale before it was discovered that the vehicle had a starter and an airbag condition that needed repair. The vehicle has been at an offsite repair facility for repair and as of today, the vehicle is back at this dealership. The replacement airbag was on back order resulting in the vehicle being out for the repair for so long. Mr. ***** is welcome to visit the dealership to purchase the vehicle tomorrow before it is available for sale to anyone else. As a courtesy to Mr. *****, the original advertised price of the vehicle will be honored without the reconditioning costs added to the selling price. To the best of my knowledge, Mr. ***** did not come to the dealership more than one time, however I will attempt to reach him at the contact information he provided to the BBB to see if he is still interested in purchasing this vehicle. Upon contact with Mr. *****, he will be given the opportunity to purchase the vehicle within a reasonable time frame before making it available to another client. Sincerely, ***** ***** General Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not make up stories. On two occasions I did talk face to face directly to the Manager. - On other two occasions I talked to someone that, supposedly, is in charge of investigation, he was going to call me. I do not have the energy to follow up on some additional 'wild goose chase'.

4/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The 2007 **** *** was bought from McGrath Acura Chicago Downtown **** ** ****** **** ********** XXXXX on November 15, 2014 for $22,000 with a downpayment by **** credit card for $7000 this car was purchased. And problems with the vehicle was first reported to sales person **** ***** December 18, 2014 after the purchase. ****** **** *** reported to me after the $155.00 inspection that this car was sold to I ***** **** **** the current owner with a faulty ccc computer, trans sealing sleeve, oil pan gasket and drain plug 6 oils leaking,coolant vent hose from expansion tank to radiator broken. I left voice messages to the Sales Manager ***** with no response to resolve this matter. My request was to at least offer $2000 or meet me half way with the repairs. And the dealership did not even value their customer nor their creditability of their dealership to resolve the matter to keep the consumer happy for later purchases. I feel this is a huge dealership that should take responsibility of the automobiles that they are saling to the consumer. Making sure it is in good condition for the purchase price that is being asked. Then the warranty that this dealership offers and charge you additional to the purchase price barely cover if not anything to the repairs of the vehicle. Consumers should be advised and aware of this dealership. Pass by this one.

Desired Settlement: I am asking $2985.00 back for repairs.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/04/22) */ After reviewing all of our records, Ms. ********* purchased a 2007 *** **** ***** on November 15, 2014. The vehicle was sold "AS IS". The items that Ms. ********* is requesting for us to repair are maintenance items. These issues are not safety concerns that would prohibit us from selling the vehicle. At the time of purchase we showed Ms. ********* several other vehicles that would have been less expensive to maintain, however Ms. ********* was persistent about purchasing a **** Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns at ************* Sincerely, ***** ***** General Sales Manager

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 08 Toyota Sienna that included the warranty. I was told when ever I had an issue with it I may bring it back for the service department to look at it. So I brought the vehicle in yesterday they told me it was the breaks. I asked the price they told me the price so I declined the work for now because it was to much. So I left as soon as I get home the check engine light came on and the traction control light an as well as the vbs light came on. I was told they would need 60 dollars up front to look at the vehicle after I was told it would of been free of charge by the sales manager the finance manager and by the sales associate.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like my car fixed. I will pay for my breaks to be fixed by another company but I'm not happy that as soon as I left that my 3 lights came on and now my car is not performing the right way I feel as if they disconnected something so that way I will have to go back to them or spend $60. That I was told I wouldn't have to. If I do take it some other place I will like for them to reimburse me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/17) */ As I previously stated, we do not have a customer by the name of ****** *******, and I can't search by VIN, because there isn't enough information on the vehicle. Either this is not our complaint, or Mr. ******* did not purchase the car, and is therefore not the owner &/or not our customer. As I am sure you are aware, if he is not the registered owner of the vehicle, we would have difficulty discussing any issues with him directly. The registered owner/purchaser would need to be involved in any settlement or discussions. But until I get more accurate information and can investigate this, I can't do anything to help rectify this complaint. Please let me know if you have more information.. Thanks. ****** **** Office Manager McGrath Lexus of Chicago McGrath Acura of Downtown Chicago ************ (Direct) ************ (Direct Fax) *****@mcgrathlexus.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My wife is the owner her name is ********* telephone number (XXX)XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/09/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Hello my name is ********* and my husband (******) was the one that notified you on my behalf. Now since you want to get technical you may call me directly after 5pm at (XXX)XXX-XXXX *********. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/18) */ We are advised that we are under legal obligation to the registered owner only. After receiving the additional information given, the paperwork was reviewed. As claimnant stated, he is not the registered owner,and nothing in our files indicate he is a second owner or references the claimnant in any way. Therefore, in consideration of those facts, we are unable to respond to this ecomplaint.

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* ******** ****** Dr.Bolingbrook, IL *******************************@yahoo.comLisa MadiganAttorney GeneralState of Illinois100 West Randolph StreetChicago, IL XXXXXJune 3, 2014To Whom it May Concern:My name is ******* *****. I am a single mother that came to your organization for assistance in obtaining reliable transportation in effort to be self sufficient; transportation to and from my place of employment, making medical appoints (I have been diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis, Gout, Rheumatoid Arthritis and I have crushed bones in my wrist).When I learned of the single mothers needing to buy a car program and signed up, I thought I was on my way for several reasons, one being I was regaining my credit by becoming a car owner again. Instead of a positive experience, I have had headaches, sleepless nights because over the past few months, I have been paying for a car that I have not been able to drive. ***** **** of ******* Acura downtown Chicago (*******) sold me a car that had several issues and I have been back and forth to the mechanic several times attempting to get the issues rectified.Below is a list of date specific events regarding this situation:Bought the car on August 15, 2013;Took the car back to ******* for repairs on August 23, 2013;Took the car to ******* for repairs in September of 2013 and had to pay for those repairs out of pocket, but was reimbursed by the dealer on October 14, 2013;Took the car in for the third oil change since I purchased it in August of 2013 on February 15, 2014;The car was towed to ******* from Bolingbrook on 02/21/2014;Car was returned to me supposedly repair on April 3, 2014. It was runny different so I returned to Sherman Dodge (where the car was allegedly fixed) and informed them that it was not fixed and it broke down on me on my way to work on April 9, 2014; and The car is currently at ******* ***** in ******* IL; it was sent there by ******* Acura.I may be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX for further discussion and/or questions.Sincerely,******* CraigCc: BBB Product_Or_Service: Chrysler Sebring Son/Service contract

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I am reaching out to you to determine if there is anything that you can do to assist me with getting my car fixed properly through a new vendor, returning the car to ***** ***** at ******* Acura and ending the contract or helping me to work with the company that I am supposed to have an extended warranty with in order to get the car fixed properly and the fees be incurred by them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/26) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ************ SERVICE Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************@mcgrathacurachicago.com On 8/15/2013 This vehicle was sold to ******* ***** AS IS NO WARRANTY with the mileage on vehicle being 77,032 as indicated on ******* Acura Downtown Chicago buyers order. ******* ***** did purchase an extended service contract for her vehicle. On 8/22/2013 ******* ***** brought the vehicle back to ******* Acura of Downtown Chicago stating that the engine sounds loud from under the driver's seat and sounded like the exhaust. We inspected and found that the exhaust pipe needed repair. We sent the vehicle to Delgado's Exhaust shop and had the exhaust repaired. The customer also stated that there was a grinding sound from the passenger **** front wheel bearing. Louder the faster you go. Confirmed that the passenger **** front wheel bearing needed to be replaced. Recommended replacement. Bearing was replaced by Meineke Car Care Center on 8/30/2013.Customer also stated that the rear defroster was inoperative. We inspected and found no issue, customer shall monitor to see if it fails again. Customer also stated that the right side turn signal was blinking fast. Inspected and found the bulb was loose. Tightened bulb and issue was resolved. On 2/21/2014 customer brought vehicle back to ******* and stated the vehicle has poor acceleration, vehicle struggles to go over 30 mph. ******* was unable to diagnose, because we do not have the proper tools, diagnostic machines, or training on Chrysler products. The vehicle was sent to Sherman Dodge with ******* *****'s knowledge for diagnoses, because they had available service appointments and they have the proper tools, diagnostic machines and training to work on Chrysler products. Sherman Dodge diagnosed the vehicle that it needed the counter shaft balancer replacement inside the engine. They also recommended that the timing belt, water pump, and timing belt tensioner be replaced at the same time. The customers extended warranty company paid $1,489.15 authorize# XXXXXX towards the repair the customer was to pay $442.37 for the timing belt replacement parts. ******* ***** paid for the $442.37. Vehicle at this time had 84,622 miles on the odometer as indicated on ******* Dodge service invoice docsXXXXXX. On or about 4/23/14 ******* ***** took it upon herself and brought the vehicle back to ******* Dodge with 1. Customer states the engine light is on 2. Customer states when driving 30 mph the RPM needle is at 5. 3. Customer states the oil light is on and the vehicle will not start. ******* Dodge proceeded to diagnose the vehicle. They removed the oil pan and found the rod bearing had spun. Pieces in the oil and in the oil pan. The vehicle had internal engine damage and the engine needed to be replaced. The customers extended warranty declined repairs and an estimate of installing a used engine $2,800.00 plus tax was given. The vehicle at this time had 85,331 miles on the odometer as indicated on Sherman Dodge service invoice DOCSXXXXXX Hard copies of the documents mentioned above will be mailed *** *********** Service Manager ******* ***** of Downtown Chicago 1301 N Elston Ave Chicago Il XXXXX P XXX-XXX-XXXX F XXX-XXX-XXXX

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a vehicle that was not accurately described with a Windshield issue, no rear windshield wiper and was sold an extended warranty that will not work for my vehicle. I was sold a vehicle that I was told had HID and Satellite radio which was not true. They never told me what they would give me for my car.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking to return my extended warranty and have them pay for part of the new windshield that had to be put on my vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/08/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ***** Office Manag Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@mcgrathlexus.com We contacted Mr *******. The matter has been settled in full to the consumer's satisfaction. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2013/08/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on McGrath Acura of Downtown Chicago
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart