BBB Accredited Business since

McGrath Acura

Phone: (847) 470-2300 Fax: (847) 470-2346 9105 Waukegan Rd, Morton Grove, IL 60053

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McGrath Acura meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McGrath Acura include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on McGrath Acura
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 20, 2004 Business started: 02/01/1986 Business started locally: 02/01/1986 Business incorporated 10/09/1985 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Gary McGrath, Owner/President Mr. Chris McGrath, CFO Mr. Dave McGrath, Marketing Director Ms. Shanna McGrath, Customer Relations Ms. Amanda Thompson, Customer Relations Mr. Mike Zafiriou, GSM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary McGrath, Owner/President
Customer Contact: Ms. Shanna McGrath, Customer Relations
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
McGrath Imports

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

McGrath Acura has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 9105 Waukegan Rd

    Morton Grove, IL 60053


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 1st I bought a used 2002 Toyota Rav4 from McGrath Acura. During the deal the sales person messed up my paperwork and then made me redo it. I specifically asked for a list of all the inspections they did on the vehicle but they didn't give me any. I brought the vehicle home and then realized a week later that they did not give me my title. During this time I noticed that the car was lurching when it shifted gears. I tried contacting the dealership several times but no one would take my call. Finally I got a hold of the service manager who told me that only Toyota can fix my car if there's a problem with the transmission. I called our local Toyota and found out that the part of the transmission that had been recalled was fixed and that the transmission had to be rebuilt. He also told me that the people who sold the car probably knew that there was a problem with the transmission the whole time.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the dealership to fix/rebuild the transmission or give me a full refund and they can take back the car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* CFO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******** ******* ********* our General Manager, has been in touch with ******. We are going to explore some options to help ******. I will send this back and wait for her response to the actions we take and whether they are satisfactory or not. ******* should be her sole person to contact. He will make sure to stay in touch. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/10/13) */ Around the 28th of September the McGrath general manager **** finally called me back. He repeatedly told me not to be angry and that these things just "happen". He also said "this happens all the time. Its like when you walk down the street and you sprain an ankle, these types of things just happen". After he got the complaint from the BBB he then changed his mind and said that they would tow down my car to their business to take a look at it. On September 22nd I was called and told to bring it to ********* auto in *********** so they could diagnose the car even though the Toyota dealership in ******* had diagnosed the car and said the transmission needed to be replaced. The car has been in the ********* shop for almost two weeks now and they're just going to flush the transmission. I called the McGrath dealership this morning and they are "deciding" if they'll allow me to take the car to another mechanic to get another option. I want my car fixed and on time. I'm sick and tired of waiting around and not having my car. Me and my mom both have health issues and we both need our cars. I'm also sick and tired of not being called regarding my car and what they're doing to it. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/10/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* CFO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******** Due to the issues with this vehicle, we agreed to purchase the vehicle back from the client.

9/4/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle purchased was an "Acura Certified Used Car" and I was shown a checklist of several hundred items that had been inspected and certified. After receiving this assurance of the condition of the car, and they prior written information from the sales team, I did see a need to inspect every aspect of the car. During my cursory inspection, I noticed a run in the paint. *** ****** brought this to the attention of the management team, and they took the back into the service area for inspection. I was told this was a warranty issue that I could take up with Acura. Acura says that this is not the case and is not a warranty issue. In addition, the following items were all broken and needed replacement in my first 21 days of ownership: brake rotors, passenger mirror, left rear tail-light housing.

Desired Settlement: Provide paint repair services. The other items that were defective with the car have already been replaced at my expense. (receipts retained)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* CFO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******** Here is some additional information to clarify the clients description above, and details of the certification process completed. The certified inspection was completed on 6/24/15 by a technician that has been with Acura for over 12 years. The 182 point inspection on this vehicle, as with the inspections we do on all certified vehicles, was 100% completed. Per the Acura Cert. Checklist that was signed by the technician, salesperson, and client, it indicates the Certified Program Standards include: Perform all maintenance, top off fluids, all tires must match, windshields in good condition, and "Scratches greater than 4 inches, dings/dents that cannot be covered with a dime and/or damage that penetrates to the base metal must be repaired". A certified vehicle is a used car that follows Acura's inspection to give it a longer warranty coverage in addition to the original warranty. It is still a used vehicle and most have some imperfections. In talking with our general manager, service manager, and salesperson, the communication with the client after the paint was inspected indicated that the client could explore a claim with Acura to have them repair the vehicle. There would be nothing ******* agreed to "fix" at that time. The client then entered the office to complete the vehicle paperwork. Based on our information, disclosed to the client at time of sale, there is nothing that indicates the vehicle was in an accident or had any repair work. The carfax indicates a clean title and states the vehicle is accident free. Based on this they advised the client to check with an Acura dealer factory rep when he returned to ********* This inspection also includes test driving the vehicle. I don't know what speeds the client experienced the rotor pulsation, but there was none noted at time of inspection. In fact both brakes and rotors measured well above the cert. requirements (Brakes: 8mm, Rotors 28mm). Rotor warp can easily occur within a short amount of time. Especially during mountain driving or at highway speeds. I have seen the pictures of the cracked mirror lens. I would say that both the technician and client missed this prior to delivery. Small cracks like that could be easy to overlook, especially where the crack was located. Lastly the delaminated rear light housing. This should be a covered component under Acuras standard warranty. Unfortunately the client did not go through an Acura dealership close to his home OR contact us prior to most of this work. We would have advised him to not pay for brakes or the taillight lens before a certified Acura technician could inspect them. The vehicle was sold 6/27/15. The first correspondence from the client was a text to the salesperson on 8/5/15 explaining he has an issue with the brakes. The month+ between sale and 8/5/15 could be the cause of the brake issues due to highway driving between IL and *** plus the mountain driving in *** To assist with the overall issues the client has experienced, we would offer $300.00 as a goodwill gesture to the client. We strive to deliver a positive car buying experience to all clients and I apologize to Mr *********** for the issues he is having. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/09/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) *****, Thank you for the thorough and well researched response. The $300 goodwill gesture will cover very roughly half of the costs that I have incurred, and I think this is a fair settlement. In addition to this response to the BBB, I will update my online reviews of your dealership as well to indicate my satisfaction. To your point in paragraph 4 that I did not contact a dealership prior to repairs, this is not correct. While not previously discussed with *** **** or **** ********* I had taken the car in to Flatirons Acura in ******** ** on July 29th. This was the earliest I was able to take the car into a dealership after purchase as I travel nearly 80% of the time for my job and the dealership is 30 miles from my house. At ********* I received written estimates for all repairs prior to doing any work, and was informed that warranty coverage did not apply. They instead directed me to Acura Customer care, where I spoke with Supervisor ******* ******* ******* told me that there was nothing that Acura could or would do in this circumstance because a "'Certified pre-owned Acura' is not certified by Acura" and dealerships are independent business from Acura that do the certifications. He informed me that Bob Sisk would be contacting me and when I did not hear from ***, I then texted *** ****** on 8/5 to see if he could assist. Regards, ***** ***************** XXX-XXX-XXXX

8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a letter in the mail (est. Mar 2015) re GAP (Guaranteed Asset Protection) Insurance policy refunds for both my 2010 MDX/TSX vehicles. I went to McGrath Acura Morton Grove and spoke with D.*** ******* who gave me the necessary paperwork to process my GAP insurance refund of excess payment for both vehicles that were paid in full. He said the refund amount will be based on the allotted insurance costs by my previous monthly auto payments and calculate by back dating to when the vehicle(s) were paid in full. I understood, signed the paperwork and I was told that I should receive the check in 4-6 weeks. I waited the 6 weeks and called back the finance department to speak to D.*** for follow-up but was never able to reach him directly. I even left a message with my salesperson Elson who assisted with selling my two vehicles to me in hopes to tell D.*** directly in person to call me. No returned calls. I called several times and couldn't reach anyone live to speak with someone in the finance department. I called the regional office for further assistance. I was asked if I knew the policy numbers of the GAP Insurance/and Insurance Company who I've dealt with. I did not have that information and they said they were unable to look up that information because my file was in a storage facility. The woman (Samantha) said they would send me the policy information to my home so I can have this info and then I can call back to follow-up at the time of receipt. It is now end of July and still nothing. I called back regional and another woman (not Samantha) asked for the policy information and I told her that I was expecting paperwork from your office and was never received. She told me that she will call the finance department to get this info so she can assist me with the status of my refund. She had me on hold and was able to confirm she reached "Bill" from the finance department and that she will call him tomorrow morning to discuss since he was with a client. I told her I didn't want to continue getting runaround so perhaps I try to reach "Bill" to get the policy information/status. I also asked if the refund checks are directly cut from Corporate (I was told my D.Jay it comes directly from the corporate office), and she said NO - It comes directly from the dealership. I was very upset to learn that, as I feel I've been getting no where with getting answers with this refund. I called back the dealership to reach "Bill" and I was told there is no "Bill" and the only people to reach in the finance department is Rich or D.Jay. I asked for Rich and got his VM. Didn't even waste my breath. The finance department has poor responsiveness and customer service. The lack of urgency is also disrespectful, considering I have been a loyal client purchase two vehicles from the same dealership/salesman. I would like this issue resolved immediately.

Desired Settlement: Dollar amount due per accrued GAP Insurance Refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* CFO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******** We verified everything internally and the check was cut / signed today for Ms. ******. Not sure on a few of the names listed above and apologize that Ms. ****** got this run around. The check will be in the mail today.

8/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I leased a 2012********* and my lease was up in June 2015. On May 1, 2015, I went in to the dealer for an oil change and to inquire about the terms of my lease and my options. I spoke with **** ******** the General Manager. I ended up returning the********* and leasing a 2015*********X. Mr. ******** said he would pay the last payment on the 2012 TL since I was leasing another Acura. To this date the last payment was not made and I have made several attempts to reach Mr. ******** and he has not returned any of my calls nor emails. I will end up paying the last payment on a car I didn't even have. I would have waited until my lease was completely up instead of paying for two car payments. It's poor customer service as well for Mr. ******** to not even return my call or respond to my email. Product_Or_Service: 2012*********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like for them to hold up to what they said they were going to do and reimbursement be for that last payment on the 2012 Acura TL.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/07/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* CFO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******** Our general manager, ****, spoke to the client and verified that was part of the deal. He issued a check back to the client for the previously agreed upon amount. We apologize for the inconvenience.

9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a **** ***** *** on *** XX XXXX, with an extended warranty for 84 months/ 100000 mile after extended bumper to bumper warranty ended. I traded in the vehicle and have emailed all the information to terminate extended warranty and receive a refund of the difference but have not received refund. purchase price of 1595.00 added to my loan through ******** ***** ******* ***** I have been been contacting the financial managers at McGrath I have emailed 6/19, 7/15, 7/18/ and again on 8/19 all information requested: extended warranty agreement, loan release, and odometer disclosure statement. I do not live in the state and can not go into the dealership. The first email to ***** in finance department said no one reserved it, on 7/15 he stated that his email changed and that may be why he has not received, on **** he stated he received and will process it and I should receive in less that 6 weeks. I still have not received anything and emailed him again on **** asking if it was processed with no response. I then called and talked to another financial manager on *** stating he would look into it and call me back and still have not heard back.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking my termination and refund for my extended warranty, in which, they keep telling me they will process it but it has been three months and they do not follow though on a response or a refund. $1000 is an estimate but it is the remaining balance of the extended warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** I have contacted Ms. ***** ******* and apologized for the delay in handling her request of a warranty cancelation. I spoke to her and explained there was a communication issue with one of my employees and we took care of that. Canceled her warranty and sent a check to her for the pro-rated amount she has coming to her. Ms ******* has been satisfied in the resolution of her request.