Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Martin Nissan

Phone: (847) 965-3460 Fax: (847) 965-3467 View Additional Phone Numbers 5240 Golf Rd, Skokie, IL 60077 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.martinnissan.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Martin Nissan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Martin Nissan include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Martin Nissan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 10, 1986 Business started: 04/01/1983 Business started locally: 04/01/1983 Business incorporated 03/23/1983 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Todd J. Martin, President Mr. Luis Lorenzana, Internet Manager Mr. Malcolm Thurman, General Manager Mr. Joe Zich, New Car Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Luis Lorenzana, Internet Manager
Principal: Mr. Todd J. Martin, President
Related Businesses
Martin Chevrolet of Crystal Lake
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Online Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Transmissions - Automobile Differentials - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Cylinder Heads - Auto & Motorcycle New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Fergus Datsun, Inc. Fergus Nissan, Inc. Martin Nissan, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 5240 Golf Rd

    Skokie, IL 60077 (866) 800-1100 (866) 200-4000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We went in on June 11th, 2015, with our 3 yr old and 11 month old looking to trade in my tiny versa for something more practical for our growing family. We were interested in a 2008 ******** ************** minivan they had received on a trade. While the overall mechanical condition seemed great (we had our family mechanic look it over and aside from the fact that they had washed the engine which made it hard to tell for leaks he said it looked ok). The bizarre thing though was how dirty the van was. Food in the cup holders, dog hair all over, FILTHY carpet on the floors, which is surprising considering with most used cars while they might not be in perfect mechanical shape they are usually detailed and cleaned thoroughly to look better to sell. We thought maybe they had just received it and not had time to detail it yet. It was a minivan after all and it looked like it was well loved. We mentioned how dirty it was to the salesman (****) and he said no problem at all he would make sure it got detailed if we bought it, all the while assuring us it already had been (there's no way). So we went ahead and bought the car and had them write in that the detailing was a contingency. They told me to leave the car for a day for the detailing to be done. The next day I excitedly waited to pick up my new car and it was right where I left it....and in the exact same shape, the same garbage was still in the backseat. I showed **** and he assured me it went out to the company they use for detailing. I asked to see the paperwork to see where they sent my car, so I could call them and see if it was actually done, not only did they say there wasn't any paperwork but they wouldn't tell me the name of the company they used. He assured me the next morning it would be done again for the 3rd time supposedly. He told me to call the next day. Around 3pm I called and said I really needed to pick up my car by 4pm please (trying to avoid Friday traffic). He sounded panicked and got off the phone. We arrived and were told to wait for my car for about 30 min and that it was out back, we saw through a window our salesman sweating up a storm trying to do it himself. The car was still super dirty and we felt bad for him and just decided it wasn't worth it anymore. Our salesman obviously knew there was no detailing that was going to take place and I could tell he felt bad lying to us. Then it got much worse. A month after we bought it we planned our first minivan road trip to ******* to visit my parents. We took the van back to our family mechanic just to check it out and make sure we were good to go. He called us almost immediately after we dropped it off. He said there was almost no brake fluid and the master cylinder was leaking. He said there was no way to tell when we had him look a month earlier because they had topped off the brake fluid and washed the engine removing any trace of leaking fluids. I wasn't sure what this all meant, so I just asked him if it was safe to drive to *******. His response was, "it's not safe to drive out of this parking lot." The brakes were going to go out any second. I went into that dealership with my children, I was buying a minivan for goodness sake, and for them to risk our lives, there are no words. Thank god we brought it to be checked out. I can't even imagine. I should have known from the lack of care they took with the very obvious exterior that similar care would have been taken with the mechanical aspect.

Desired Settlement: I would like my car to have its 50000 mile maintenance to be paid for by them along with any necessary repairs that result from it at a shop of our choosing. We would also like our car to professionally detailed also at a location of our choosing since that was in our contract to begin with.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/01) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** - President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@martinnissan.com Ms. ******, I have pulled your deal from June 13th and have spoken to our Pre-driven Manager, *** ******* who was involved in the transaction. He recalls the vehicle not being detailed right away as we had just taken it in and had done our mechanical inspection only. He thought after we had it detailed and delivered it to you that you were satisfied. As far as the mechanical condition, the vehicle passed our inspection and only needed minor maintenance items (oil and filter change, wiper blades, etc). It also sounds like you took it to your own mechanic, which we recommend, for a second opinion and he also agreed the vehicle did not need anything additional. I am sorry you are having issues several months later. I am more than happy to have your vehicle professionally re-detailed for you, at no charge, and I will also do another free mechanical inspection as that time. Since we have given you Lifetime Free Oil Changes do you want to do all of the work when you are due for your next oil change? Also, if your personal mechanic has recommended any work we can confirm that on your visit. Please call or email *** ****** (*******@martinnissan.com) to set up a time that's convenient for you. Please feel free to contact me directly (XXX-XXX-XXXX) if you have any other questions or need additional assistance. Sincerely, **** ****** President Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/10/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) "He thought after we had it detailed and delivered it to you that you were satisfied." How is that possible when I refused to take my car at that point and asked to please see paperwork that it was actually taken anywhere and wasn't given any so I left it again and was promised it would be done again and it wasn't AGAIN. I have pictures if you would like to see. "He recalls the vehicle not being detailed right away as we had just taken it in" This is interesting because when I told him that the car looked fairly dirty, the first time we looked at it, he assured me that it had already been detailed. "It also sounds like you took it to your own mechanic, which we recommend, for a second opinion and he also agreed the vehicle did not need anything additional. I am sorry you are having issues several months later" No what my mechanic said was that the engine had been washed therefor he couldn't see if any fluids had been leaking. What he also said was that there was no way that your service dept would not have noticed a leak that bad. It was not several months later, it was ONE month later. I advise you reread my original complaint, I don't think you comprehended exactly what has happened here. I don't appreciate your blatant attempts to brush off my very serious concerns. I also don't appreciate your disregard for the unsafe vehicle you sold to a woman who came in with her very young children. I want to be compensated for the repair, and my car to be detailed at a separate facility. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/10/15) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** - President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@martinnissan.com Ms. ****** and I spoke this morning and we have agreed to reimburse her for the mechanical expense she incurred and we are going to have her vehicle re-detailed at no charge next Thurs 10/22/15. Sincerely, **** ******

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Occurred September 2nd-4th, 2014: This company is horrible, I give it a "F" grading. I just drove 5 hours from ****** *********** ******* **** to ******* Illinois!!! I found out they lied to me over the phone. I was very proactive and asked if the vehicle that I was interested in (1999 Oldsmobile Alero GL Coupe: Jade Green) had any rust on it and if it was the original paint on the auto?? They told me it was the original paint on the auto and very little rust!!! When I got their I was going to look at the auto and was fully prepared to purchase; and as I looked at the auto it has very bad rust inside the bottom of the door wells (rusted straight through the metal) and running boards and it had been repainted and it was peeling in some under sides of the car and on the side floor board due to the rust!!! The car had been repainted, it's same jade green color with a silver-metallic underlayI know this because there was a thin layer of paint on the rubber molding around the window and had a distinct line inside the edge of the door well. So basically they lied to me over the phone, got me to Illinois, only to have to decline the sale and drive back home 5 more hours!!! VERY UNHAPPY, VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

Desired Settlement: I would like some reimbursement for all the cost of the gasoline that I spent to get to their company located in Skokie, Illinois and compensation for the time I spent in doing so. I would never have driven there if they would have been honest with me. This company is very dishonest and I will never deal with them again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/16) */ To Whom it *** Concern: I have read the customer's complaint and I am sorry they felt that they were deceived. I went out and looked at the vehicle myself and I will say it's the nicest 15 year old Oldsmobile I have ever seen. Yes, it looks like 2 panels were previously painted (front bumper and driver's door) and there is a little rust in each of the door jsms (which I would consider minor based on the year of the vehicle). Most cars of that age have had some previous paint work, but it defintitely does not need any. Also, the interior is absolutely immaculate for a 15 year old vehicle. You can tell this vehicle is a 1-owner and was well maintained. I have taken pictures of the vehicle and unfortunately I cannot attach them here but I am willing to send them to anyone who wishes to see them. I do not feel we misrepresented the vehicle but I am willing to reimburse the customer $50 for gas as I do not want any hard feelings. Sincerely, **** ****** President

3/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After buying a used **** Nissan ****** from Martin Nissan on ******** I began having problems with the vehicle within one week of purchase.Problems with front end noise and steering and brake noise. I tried to reach ***** ********* who was the sales person. I left him a voicemail on ******** I was not called back.I called again on X-XX-XX and left a voicemail with pre-owned sales manager *** ******. Again I was not called back. Although there is not a warranty with this vehicle I feel they should take care of problems and repairs that arise within the first week after purchase. At the very least they should return a phone call reguarding concerns about a vehicle they sold.

Desired Settlement: Inspect and make necessary repairs to vehicle at thier expense.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/06) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@martinnissan.com Re Complaint #XXXXXXXX To Whom it May Concern: We apologize for the communication gaffe but before we received your complaint I know you spoke with my Pre-Driven Mgr, *** ******, and set up an appointment for Monday ***** 3rd, which you couldn't make, and then rescheduled for this Saturday ***** 8th. We definitely will take care of your concerns as we do with everyone that just purchases a car from us which is why we maintain a A+ rating with the BBB. Again, we are sorry for not getting back to you sooner. Please let me know personally if there are any issues. Sincerely, **** ****** President

10/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Thursday, ********* *** 2013 at 8:00pm, I found a special offer being advertised on the ****** ****** website. The offer was for a 2013 ****** * *** ********* for $23,603.00* (Vin#*********DNXXXXXX). The asterisk indicated the following, "Price includes all factory rebates, plus tax, title, license and destination and any dealer installed accessories if any." *ince the information is listed in the same sentence with the beginning stating "price includes", that shows that everything within the sentence followed by a comma is included with that statement. I am in the process of looking to purchase an ****** very quickly and, as you can imagine, I was extremely excited to see this offer and contacted the dealership immediately. At 8:03pm, I responded to ***** ********'* email regarding updating information and inquired further about this vehicle. I followed the email up with a phone call to your dealership at 8:19pm and spoke with **** ********* about the offer. I was ready to lace up my shoes and make the 40 minute drive to ****** at a moment'* notice. However, it became apparent quickly that the sentence should not have been written that way to state that all costs were included. The way in which **** handled the situation seemed to be nonchalant as if it wasn't a big deal to make such a mistake. He said the website was the responsibility of a third party and that they could be dropped for making such an error. I asked to speak with the manager or owner above him and he said, "That would be me". **** did not provide any further compromise or solution to the matter. His response and impression left a lack of customer satisfaction as a priority or taking responsibility for the dealership'* mistake. After the conversation with ***** I placed a phone call and left a message for both **** ****** and ****** ******** to get a better understanding of who was truly in charge and what could be done to resolve the matter. At 9:00pm, I went back to the website and noticed that the offer had been changed, which was interesting how a third party could have changed it so quickly, as whom **** had stated was responsible for the false advertising. Also, if the original statement was correct then it shouldn't have needed to be changed so quickly. Fortunate for me, I had printed all the original information I found and was ready to make the 40 minute drive out of my way the next day to try and conduct business with the dealership with a different person. On Friday, **************, I made the drive to ****** from ******* and was looking forward to finding a new vehicle and establishing a long-lasting business relationship with a reliable dealership. *** was the salesman that greeted me upon my arrival and showed me the 2013 ****** * *** Automatic. The test drive was pleasant and *** was extremely knowledgable about the vehicle. This put my mind at ease from the previous evening'* conversation with ****, who didn't make me feel like he wanted my business. After the test drive, *** went over the numbers posted and it was at that time that I showed him the special offer that was advertised on the internet. *** brought me inside to speak with another manager, ***, to go over the numbers and the apparent mistake I had found. The conversation with *** was very similar to the one from the previous evening with ****. It was a conversation that left me, the customer, feeling insulted and unwanted at the ****** ****** dealership. Not a single person said they appreciated the error I had found, tried to establish a compromise, or acknowledged that it wouldn't be appropriate for a dealership to go back on what they published. *** simply stood up from the table, "Thanks but there is nothing I can do", shook my hand and walked away. *tunned is the appropriate word I would use to describe the type of customer service I received, and to think that the dealership received quality ratings with this kind of service.

Desired Settlement: The settlement I am seeking is to be able to buy the vehicle, 2013 ****** ****** S *** Automatic (Vin# **********NXXXXXX), at the special offer price that I found on the ************* website. I printed the special offer documentation as evidence upon finding it and would simply like the price to be honored.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/19) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@martinnissan.oom To Whom It May Concern, I have spoken to Ms. ***** about this situation already via telephone. We sincerely apologize for the computer glitch we had. Only this (1) vehicle in stock had the description "include" instead of "exclude" when disclosing all the additional fees. This was by no means done intentionally or meant to deceive any prospective buyer. As soon as Ms. ***** brought it to our attention on the phone we told her that the listing was incorrect and we changed it immediately. We did not lead her to believe this was in any way accurate as we did not want her to come down to the dealership under false pretenses. Out of goodwill I offered Ms. ***** an additional $799 off which she said she would think about. Again, this was an honest error and was corrected immediately. Sincerely, **** ****** President

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Martin Nissan
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)