Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Marquardt of Barrington

Phone: (847) 381-2100 Fax: (847) 381-2438 1421 S Barrington Rd, Barrington, IL 60010 http://www.buyacar123.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Marquardt of Barrington meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Marquardt of Barrington include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Marquardt of Barrington
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 19, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1950 Business started locally: 01/01/1950 Business incorporated 12/16/1950 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kurt Marquardt, President Mr. Daniel J Marquardt, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Daniel J Marquardt, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Kurt Marquardt, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Marquardt Buick, Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Marquardt of Barrington has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1421 S Barrington Rd

    Barrington, IL 60010

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This car was in the shop more than I had it, I owed 26,00o on the car was only given 19,100 for it and they took my 2000 for extended warranties The car had also been in am accident under there care and when asked if they were going to give more for trade in value they said no....and made the employee pay for the repair. I have 5 kids and needed a car that was reliable, they said I have a warranty so they don't see a problem, even though in the first month of owning the car it was in the shop more then I drove it. They claimed too bad they offered a loaner every time....but the time it took out of my schedule was ridiculous. I had the same issue on the car 3x within 15 days....they put my family in a bad situation, and when I bought another car to replace that I lost over 6000 on that car, was charged 7.99 interest now due to two loans to close. They made a 4000 dollar error on the new loan, and never told me.

Desired Settlement: The money lost in transaction to be put toward current loan with the original interest rate of 2.9%.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/09/09) */ September 8, 2014 Better Business Bureau Attn: ****** **** 330 N. Wabash Ave. Ste 3120 Chicago, IL XXXXX Case# XXXXXXXX Dear Ms. ****, After numerous phone attempts and voicemails back and forth we have been unable to connect. It is our premise that Mrs. ********* complaint has absolutely no merit and our request via voicemails was that her complaint be dismissed given numerous points: 1) Over 18 months have passed ***** Mrs. ****** took delivery of her current vehicle. 2) During that time she never contacted anyone at the dealership and posed any of the concerns as stated in the letter. 3) As you will see below there is no merit to any of her unfounded claims. *** ******** was her salesperson and is also a 25 year member of our management team. He has a great relationship with the ********* and even just delivered her father-in-law a new vehicle only weeks ago. He has always made every possible attempt to take exceptional care of the ******* as he does every customer. For clarity I had *** type up the following chronology as he pulled Mrs. ********* service records. On September 26, 2012 Mrs. ****** purchased a 2008 GMC Acadia from us for $22,500. Along with the Acadia she purchased an extended service contract. The total amount financed included the tax plates and other state fees were $27,000.00. The vehicle was never in the shop in the first month of ownership. 1st Visit to the shop: On November 20th Mrs. ****** brought the Acadia in for a drivability concern. Her concern was that the engine RPMS go up and down at Idle and the service engine soon light was on. We diagnosed the problem, it was a communication problem with the throttle body and replaced the Throttle Body Assembly. In addition we replaced the camshaft actuator. While the Acadia was in for service the customer was given alternate transportation. 2nd visit to the shop: On December 03, 2012 Mrs. ****** brought the Acadia in again and the repair order read: CUSTOMER STATES ON A COLD START THE ENGINE WAS LABORING AT AN IDLE, THE TEMP GAUGE NEEDLE WAS BOUNCING UP AND DOWN AND THEN THE CAR DIED OUT. THE CAR RESTARTED ROUGH BUT SMOOTH OUT AS THE TEMPERATURE NEEDLE RAISED UP ON THE GAUGE We were not able to duplicate the concern. The Service engine light did not come on and there were no codes stored in the computer. While the Acadia was in for service the customer was given alternate transportation. 3rd visit to the shop: On January 24th 2013 Mrs. ****** brought the Acadia in for Service. The service engine soon light was on. The Control valve solenoid in the transmission was replaced as well as the Transmission control module. While the Acadia was in for service the customer was given alternate transportation. 4th visit to the shop: On January 31st 2013 Mrs. ****** brought the Acadia in for service for service. The Service traction control and service Stabilitrac lights were on. This was diagnosed as a short in the battery. The Battery was replaced at no charge. While the Acadia was in for service the customer was given alternate transportation. On February 7th 2013 Mrs. ****** decided to trade the 2008 Acadia in on a newer 2011 GMC Acadia because of the issues she had with it. We allowed her $19500 in trade for the 2008 which was only $3000 less than she paid for it 5 months earlier. We also lowered the price thousands of dollars near cost on the 2011 to $22995 to help. The $2000 that she paid for the extended service contract was prorated and would have been returned to her but she decided to use that as a down payment for the 2011 Acadia. The fact that the payoff on the 2008 was so high was because Mrs. ****** financed the tax, all the state fees, extended service contract, and gap insurance. The total amount financed for the 2011 was within $1000 of what was paid for the XXXX X months earlier. When Mrs. ****** financed the 2008 there was a special rate for GM certified vehicles. When she bought the 2011 there was no promotional deals for the factory. That is the only reason the Interest rate is 6.9% instead of 2.9%. She signed and accepted the finance contract at the time and I never heard her complain about it until I read her BBB complaint over 18 months ago. When Mrs. ****** left the dealership with the 2011 GMC Acadia she was happy with the transaction. I have had a great relationship with her family for many years and have sold her father in law and sister in law multiple vehicles. I'm hopeful that this information will remove Mrs. ********* complaint. We are always here to serve her striving to exceed her expectations as we do every customer. Please let me know if you need anything further. If Mrs. ****** still has an ongoing concern of any kind please have her contact anyone on our management team so we can assist in remedying the matter personally. Sincerely, ********. ********* Dealer Partner Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2014/09/19) */ Good afternoon, I was wondering if there was a way to talk to you about this claim. I am not sure how to proceed in this manner, as I have never had anything like this happen before.... Problems Dan NEVER called me or even left a message on any phone of mine The service records they sent although correct are missing close to 15 visits Tim Holloway a great sales person is not involved in any way shape or form on this manner They never address the accident issue They never address the 4000 dollar mistake on the loan application I personally talked to, beg with, and even cried on the phone with Dan several times, he said that trading in the car would be the only option as that car is under warranty so too bad. Why are my in-laws being brought into this case....we did not feel the need to share this bad experience with others. However, now we have talk to them in dept about this manner When I talked to The service department they even said that despite the fact I have a warranty I should not have to use it that often, and there was something wrong with that car....in fact they didn't resell that car on their lot! I have left 5 messages, talked to his secretary 4 times and have left personal messages with her as well. I have not changed my number, I have not received any response to any of my phone calls to Dan. When my in-laws bought a car from them, I guess Dan came in and told them how we filed a report with the BBB and did they know, which they did not at the time! That is so unprofessional and should be against the law! They were told by an employee that we had reason to file the report, however there hands were tied! Please let me know how I should proceed with this manner! Thanks Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/09/27) */ In the attached pdf you will find my response letter to Mrs. *****'s most recent response. *** ********* Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2014/10/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have been sick I will turn in a response in 48 hours sorry for the delay

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bought 5/2/13 . 5/21/13 transmission and steering issues,clutch plate replaced 6/01/13 trans not shifting,oil light coming on engine (told it was fine) 7/23/13 water pump replaced. 10/3/13 brought in again for shifting and gas mileage issues(check tpm monitor goes on while driving) 11/10/13 complained about gas mil. told to put fuel injector in tank. 1/30/14 engine light, poor gas mileage & acceleration, corrosion in wire from prior repair, hatch back will not open, needs steering line, air bag light on told from placing lap top on seat, tire light on. complained to ****** GM and told car wasn't safe and they would put me into a different car. used manager called 2 weeks later and said not a chance. i now have major repairs needed. front suspension and leaking pinion. I was not told of electrical issues ,steering gear, solenoid or engine prior to purchase. I contacted GM , the dealer lied and said they never said my car was not safe and would find a replacement. THIS CAR IS UNSAFE i have had nothing but problems and have been disregarded, treated poorly and lied to. They see a woman with a sick husband and three small children and think they can mistreat and take advantage. It is unacceptable to find nothing wrong with my complaints until the warranty was up. It is a joke to offer me money towards a new car when i bought this junk from GM less than a year ago. i can not afford any more problems. The money i have spent in gas because of so called unfound issues is ridiculous. Now that i have zero warranty they find major problems ?

Desired Settlement: I would have expected them to follow through with what I was told. They would replace my car. I expect some sort of extension on my warranty or a full refund. not 1,000 towards a new car or 10% discount. I do not have anymore money to give them. they sold me junk and they are well aware of it .

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/05) */ The customer was in our dealership on X-X-XXXX shopping for a vehicle. They liked 2 different vehicles and decided on the one with lower miles that was bought and serviced at our dealership since the vehicle was new. They also decided to put custom leather into the vehicle, color was decided by the customer at the time of sale. The vehicle, 2008 model year, was purchased with 40,348 miles on it and was done so under the GMC Certified Pre-Owned Program which requires a 172 point inspection, specific exterior, interior and certain wear items to meet program specifications before even being able to be offered for sale. The GMC Certified Pre-Owned Program includes a 12 month or 12,000 mile (whichever comes first) limited bumper to bumper warranty even if the vehicle is currently out of the factory warranty as long as it is meets certain make, model, year and mile requirements. The vehicle passed *** GMC Certified Pre-Owned Program requirements upon inspection prior to sale. The warranty and the dealerships previous knowledge of the vehicle were determining factors in the customer's decision and purchase. Our business office offered an extended warranty, at the time of purchase, to the customer which would have gone beyond the GMC Certified Pre-Owned Limited Warranty. The extended warranty was declined by the customer. Shortly after purchase, the customer brought the vehicle in for concerns with the transmission as well as the steering. The issues were found by one of our technicians and corrected under warranty at no cost to the customer. The customer was provided with alternate transportation, at no expense, while the vehicle was being repaired. 10 days after the warranty work was completed, the customer had a concern about the transmission not shifting properly as well as the oil light coming on. The vehicle was inspected thoroughly by one of our transmission specialists and was found to be shifting as designed. The high RPM shift points were explained to the customer by our service department. The oil level was also inspected by one of our certified technicians and was found to be at the proper level and the oil life was reported to have 43% remaining. The customer was provided with alternate transportation, at no expense, while the vehicle was being serviced at our dealership. Nearly 2 months later, the customer brought the vehicle in once again for an oil change. The oil change was performed and, during inspection, the water pump was found to be leaking severely. The water pump was replaced and covered under warranty at no expense to the customer and finished the day it was brought in for service. The customer brought their vehicle in once again on X-X-XXXX for an oil change and a tire rotation. Both of those services are part of the GMC Certified Pre-Owned Maintenance Program and were done at no cost to the customer. The customer declined our recommended maintenance suggestions as well as standard wear maintenance recommendations. The services suggested were replacing the air filter, cleaning the throttle body and replacing a burned out front passenger ****** bulb. On 10-3-2013, the customer brought the vehicle in yet again for us to advise them regarding two specific concerns. The customer felt that the transmission was slipping at high speeds. Our certified transmission specialist road tested the vehicle and scanned the vehicles computer for any fault codes which are designed to register when anything happens in the engine, transmission, etc. that is not operating as designed and are out of the ordinary spectrum of standard operation. The vehicle's computer did not have any codes stored in it and was shifting as designed. The vehicle was then road tested with the customer in an attempt to duplicate what they were experiencing and nothing was found to be out of the ordinary. The customer also had a concern about the tire pressure monitor light coming on and off while driving. The TPM light was not on when the customer brought the vehicle in. All of the tires were examined and filled to the proper pressure as is stated by the factory for the specific vehicle and tire size. No issues were found and the customer was sent on their way at no cost. The customer once again declined recommended maintenance of an air filter and a throttle body cleaning. The customer's claim of a visit to our store on XX-XX-XXXX is not in our records and no repair order was ever generated. The vehicle was brought in for service, on 1-11-2014, for an oil change and tire rotation. Both services were completed and covered, at no expense to the customer, under the maintenance portion of the GMC Certified Pre-Owned Program. At the time of this visit, the customer's vehicle had surpassed *** GMC Certified Pre-Owned Limited Warranty by 2,966 miles. The customer once again declined our service department's recommended maintenance of front brake pads, refinishing of rotors and diagnosis of the service engine soon light. On X-XX-XXXX the customer called into our dealership with several concerns about their vehicle. At no cost to the customer, we picked up their vehicle from their home and dropped off a loaner vehicle for them to drive while we took a look at the concerns they relayed to our service department. The customer's concerns were that the service engine soon light was still on, the gas mileage was thought to be less than it should be, there was humming in the steering, there was a hesitation in acceleration, there are constant lights on (tire pressure light on and off, air bag light on and off, service engine light on), the heat was blowing cold air and the hatch back/tail gate was not opening. At this point, the odometer read 56,441, the vehicle's warranty had expired and the customer was to make any and all repairs at their own expense as is the case on every vehicle without a warranty. The vehicle was inspected and each concern was looked into by one of our certified technicians. The customer was informed of all that was found regarding each of their concerns with the vehicle as well as some other preventative recommended maintenance which was found upon inspection. The service engine light was found to either be a wire in need of repair or a vent solenoid control circuit and that we would start with the less expensive route if the customer wanted us to proceed. There was nothing found to be abnormal with the fuel mileage the vehicle was getting. Regarding the steering concern, the reservoir was found to be a little low. Nothing abnormal was found that needed any immediate attention but if the customer desired, the recommended service was a power steering line compression fittings replacement since the lines were slightly damp and may have caused the level to be slightly below normal levels. Once again, there was nothing found to be out of the ordinary with the transmission and it's shifting patterns regarding the make, model, year and miles. The customer had concerns about different lights coming on and off on the dash, in particular, the passenger *** bag light and tire pressure monitor light. The passenger **** was tested and was found to be working as designed. The customer was instructed that the front passenger *** bag light is designed to go on and off depending on whether or not someone or something is in the seat and that even a laptop on the seat can make the light go on. Then, when removed, the light would then turn off. Regarding the tire pressure warning light, the customer was informed that cold temperatures can reduced the tire pressure causing the light to turn on and that the light may very well turn off when the tires warm up and pressure rises. Everything was found to be working properly with all of the air vents and they were found to all be blowing hot and cold air as designed. The rear tailgate was found to not be working properly and was in need of a new outside touch pad to fix the issue. Once again, recommended maintenance was suggested to the customer aside from their own concerns. At that point, the customer decided that they did not want the vehicle anymore, that it had too many problems so, they were transferred over to our General Sales Manager. The General Sales Manager was misinformed and unaware of the current condition of the vehicle, the current work that was and was not necessary for the vehicle along with the current specific concerns of the customer when they were contacted. The customer made it clear that they did not want the vehicle anymore and wanted a newer one as an even trade and no money out of pocket. They portrayed their belief that the vehicle was unsafe to our General Sales Manager who then went along with that belief in hopes of selling them a new vehicle and making them happy once again. The customer's vehicle was then appraised and a value was determined. The customer was given the opportunity additional room needed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I absolutely do not expect this response. At the time of purchase we asked to see the carfax and service history of the vehicle . They presented us with a clean record of both. I later was given a service history report with multiple electrical problems by previous owner along with steering rack, engine drive, engine light, side air bag, seat mounted air bag ,solenoid valve, instrument panel,emissions system wiring.These problem were NOT disclosed on 5-2-13 at the time of purchase. Immediately after the sale problems began. I expressed my concern to the salesman and many times to the service department. On X-XX-XX The 3-5 reverse clutch plate was replaced along with the steering issues.On 6-3-13 my car was brought in for transmission problems and again on X-XX-XX I paid 33.97 for an oil change while under warranty at this time the water pump needed to be replaced. I also have no record of my car being at ********* from 9-2-13 on either service history report or in my own records in which they claim they recommended replacing the air filter, cleaning the throttle body and replacing a burned out front passenger ****** bulb this completely untrue. I have never been informed of these issues. On 10-3 i had the car in for shifting issues again i was told nothing was wrong. On XX-XX-XX I talked to service with complaints about gas mileage and again expressed my concern and disappointment in this vehicle. I was told to put fuel injector fluid in next time i got gas and i should be fine no appointment needed. X-XX-XX I came in again now my engine light was on and out of warranty. I was very upset with the lack of care about all of my previous issues and my gas mileage problem at this time i took my car somewhere else to be diagnosed and then contacted customer service via online chat. I received a call from the GM who was very understanding she said she was going to send someone to pick up my car from work and leave me a loner. That evening i got a call from service telling me a list of problems and the outrageous cost. I informed him ****** was dealing with my issue and I would like to speak to her. She called me back the next day and said " well your not crazy this car has a ton of problems including major gas milage issues." She was completely aware that I was not buying a new car and could not afford the fixes this car they sold me needed. Never once did I say I wanted a new or newer car. She told me " I totally understand your concern and frankly this car is not safe for your family. How would you feel if we found a comparable vehicle to put you in ? We will just have to take a loss on this one. We can not sell it to someone else" I told her i loved this car and if they were not going to fix it and found me a comparable vehicle I would consider the swap. She informed me that she was going to look at what i paid for my and find me something that was similar or the same as what was sold to me . It was made very clear that I was not buying anything or paying anymore considering the constant problems since purchase. After 2 weeks with no call I finally received a call from the used sales manager. I was told that there was no way they would fix all the issues or swap my car. He told me he had no idea why i was told that. GM covered the solenoid and hatchback fix and my car was brought back to me with many other problems not resolved. This car has over 3,000.00 in work that needs to be done and front suspension problems. I complained to GM and ********* also lied to them. I have 2 copies of services histories that do not match each other. This dealership completely disregarded my complaints and lied from the beginning. They sold me a car without disclosing prior issues. They are not being honest about this situation. I would have never bought a care that had multiple problems in the past and i would never expect they just give me newer vehicle. The idea of a swap came directly from them along with this car being unsafe for my family and 3 small children! I do not appreciate or expect this kind of treatment from a recommended dealership. I went into to them to be put into a safe reliable vehicle and made that very clear. I never wanted to cause a problem and was always kind and trusting. They completely took advantage of this situation. I see why though the other acadia we loved was more expensive this one was pushed.They knew all along this car was a lemon . Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/06/12) */ In regards to the previous post, stating that the customer has read the entire original response...that's impossible, because the entire original post was never published. About half of the original post made it to this website, even after faxing the response, repeated phone calls, and emailing the response several times. The original response had an apology and an offer of a complimentary warranty. Regardless, to restate what was previously offered as a resolution, ********* would be willing to provide you, free of charge, a 48 month/48,000 mile extended warranty for your vehicle in an attempt to restore your confidence in your vehicle and our organization. This is the longest, and best coverage warranty we can add to your vehicle, given the age and miles. I would be happy to provide any details or answer any questions you may have regarding this offer. Please accept my sincerest apology on how this entire situation was handled. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/05/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is not a response in relation to my complaint. This is a response to a different complaint. I have attached the two history reports i was given by *********.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Marquardt of Barrington
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart