BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/23/1997

Loren Hyundai Inc

Phone: (847) 729-8900Fax: (847) 724-8429

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
01/27/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After checking w/sales manager, on ******** salesman **** (last name unknown, but possible **** **** agreed to sell me a specific new Hyundai at a specific price if I came to the dealership on Friday morning. The price he quoted was to beat an offer that I had from another dealer. I agreed and went to Loren Hyundai on Friday morning to sign the paperwork, but **** was not there. I was directed to General Manager ***** **** who told me that **** had no authority to quote that price to me, and that Loren Hyundai would not honor the firm quote given to me by its salesman. I asked Mr. **** to contact ****, but Mr. **** claimed that he could not reach him. Mr. **** insisted that the price quoted to me was an utterly "impossible" price, and that no dealer could possibly sell the vehicle at or near that price. I told **** that his position was reprehensible, and that I intended to contact BBB. He did not apologize, and made no effort to try to work with me.

I left Loren Hyundai and purchased the exact same vehicle from another dealer that very same day for just $200 more than the "impossible" price quoted by ****. (If I did not need the car quickly, I have no doubt that I could have easily found other dealers willing to sell the same car for the price quoted to me by ****, or an even lower price.

Loren Hyundai is legally and ethically responsible for the commitments made by its authorized sales representatives.


Desired Settlement
I want an apology and reimbursement of the extra $200 that I had to spend.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** **** General Manage
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@aol.com
My name is ***** ****, General Manager at Loren Hyundai in ********* IL observed the following on ******** 20, 2013. On the morning of the 20th I was approached by a customer named ***** ***** regarding a Hyundai ******* He stated to me he got pricing from one of my sales consultants, **** **** He told me **** quoted him $20,000 for a 2014 ******* ****** ** model. I tried to explain to him that the price **** gave him was for a base model 2013 ****** ** with all applicable rebates. We had a 2013 ****** ** model in stock priced under $20,000 but Mr. ***** did not accept the offer I presented to him. He only wanted a 2014 ****** ** which the vehicle was not in stock. The dealer cost on a 2014 ** model is $24,052. You can see the difference in price between the two models with the 2013 ****** ** costing $21,000 before $1,000 rebate vs. 2014 ****** ** cost $24,052.
As you can see the $20,000 price **** quoted Mr. ***** goes with the ** model and ** model is over $3,000 more. I would like to emphases that it was strictly a phone conversation between **** and Mr. *****. There was no hard copy with any vehicle pricing exchanged between both parties. I apologize if there was any confusion but as you can clearly see that the price ***** ***** received from other Hyundai Dealerships was unrealistic for a 2014 ****** ** *** as the dealer cost on the vehicle is $24,052. We have been in business for over 30 years and we are a BBB accredited dealership. Our track record with the BBB speaks for itself.
Please contact me if you have any questions.
Sincerely,
***** **** /GM
Loren Hyundai


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The salesman provided an agreed price of $20,000 for a 2014 ****** *** I was quite specific about the make, model and year, and the salesman was also quite specific. Mr. ****'s statement concerning pricing is simply not true, as I purchased a 2014 ****** ** from another dealer that very same day for $20,200. Loren Hyundai engaged in blatantly deceptive and fraudulent sales tactics that wasted my time and cost me money.

Final Business Response
I'm willing to offer $200.00 to Mr. ***** ***** if he can prove that he purchased a brand new 2014 Hyundai ****** ** for $20,200. He would need to provide the original contract, tax form and registration given to him by the dealership he purchased the car from. I would also like to add we do have a price matching program, meaning we will match or beat any bona fide deal on the same vehicle from another Hyundai dealership.
***** ****

08/04/2014Problems with Product / Service
12/05/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/07/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
06/11/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
12/05/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Here is the text of the em*il I received:

On Wed, Nov 5, 2014 *t 4:31 PM, **** ******* <********@n*pletonglenview.de*lercrm.com> wrote:
Hi ******,

My n*me is **** ******* *nd I *m the Internet S*les Speci*list *t Loren Hyund*i in Glenview.

We *re cont*cting current Hyund*i owners, such *s yourself, to offer * f*nt*stic opportunity for us to buy b*ck your current Hyund*i in exch*nge for * br*nd new model. We *ctu*lly h*ve people looking specific*lly for your 2012 Hyund*i El*ntr*!

As *n incentive to do this, we will put you into * br*nd new Hyund*i *nd either lower your current p*yment or keep your p*yments *bout the s*me, with zero money down.

This offer includes us p*ying-off your current Hyund*i El*ntr* *nd pl*cing you into * br*nd new model with * new 5 ye*r/60,000 mile bumper-to-bumper w*rr*nty (10 ye*r/100,000 mile w*rr*nty in the power tr*in), *nd the pe*ce-of-mind th*t comes with this.

If this offer is of interest to you, ple*se cont*ct me *t (XXX) XXX-XXXX or by return em*il, to schedule *n *ppointment to go over the det*ils.

I look forw*rd the he*ring from you very soon.

Th*nk you,

**** *******
Internet S*les Speci*list

When I *ppe**** t the de*lership, they m*de offers th*t were nowhere ne*r these terms.

Desired Settlement
Live up to the offer or compensate me for wasting my time.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@aol.com
Mr. *******,


We sincerely regret that you feel that we at Loren Hyundai failed to provide to you what was stated in our correspondence.


Our goal was to provide you an upgrade to a new model Hyundai from your current vehicle and keep your lease payments about the same with no money down.


When you were here, we offered exactly this option on a 36 month lease for a brand new 2015 Hyundai Sonata SPORT with an MSRP of $24,984 for $240.00 a month with no money down, or a 36 month lease for a brand new 2015 Hyundai Sonata SE with an MSRP of $22,115 for $199.00 a month with no money down. On either offer, only sales tax, license/title, documentation fee and first payment (35 payments remaining) would be due at delivery.

Our lease offer remains open to you on a either a 2015 Hyundai Elantra SE or a 2015 Hyundai Sonata SE. The lease payment will be the same as you are paying now - $199.00 per month for 36 months and 12,000 miles per year. Sales tax, license/title, documentation fee and first payment (35 payments remaining) would be due at delivery.


The foregoing lease offer represents the same deal we made with you on your current lease when you paid $3,178.00 to cover sales tax, license/title, documentation fee and first payment.


We hope this clarifies the situation and look forward to resolving this matter.


Sincerely,


***** ****
General Manager
Loren Hyundai
1620 Waukegan Rd, Glenview, IL
XXX-XXX-XXXX
www.napletonlorenhyundai.com

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The offer I received from their representative (the bait that drew me into the dealership) says, clearly and unambiguously, zero money down. Zero.

the dealership's current position says " Sales tax, license/title, documentation fee and first payment (35 payments remaining) would be due at delivery."

The distance between these two points is several thousand dollars.

I have leased numerous cars over the years, often with the taxes, title, etc. rolled into the deal for zero dollars down. It is not unusual at all. And zero means zero.

Bait and switch may be common, but it is still unethical.

FYI, here again is the text I received from their internet sales person:

Hi ******,



My name is **** ******* and I am the Internet Sales Specialist at Loren Hyundai in Glenview.


We are contacting current Hyundai owners, such as yourself, to offer a fantastic opportunity for us to buy back your current Hyundai in exchange for a brand new model. We actually have people looking specifically for your 2012 Hyundai Elantra!



As an incentive to do this, we will put you into a brand new Hyundai and either lower your current payment or keep your payments about the same, with zero money down.



This offer includes us paying-off your current Hyundai Elantra and placing you into a brand new model with a new 5 year/60,000 mile bumper-to-bumper warranty (10 year/100,000 mile warranty in the power train), and the peace-of-mind that comes with this.



If this offer is of interest to you, please contact me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX or by return email, to schedule an appointment to go over the details.



I look forward the hearing from you very soon.



Thank you,





**** *******
Internet Sales Specialist
Loren Hyundai
1620 Waukegan Road
Glenview, Il XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX


By the way, in the original, the words zero money down were in boldface type to emphasize what an attractive offer it was.

Final Business Response
Mr. *******:

Based on your correspondence, it is clear that you are focused on the no money down wording stated in our offer to you. Our offer is in no way misleading or any different from offers made by other dealers in this area.

An offer of no money down on a car lease does not mean that no cash is required at the time of lease signing. The first month's payment is always required up front when leasing (lease payments are always paid in advance, which is different than loan payments which are paid in arrears).

Furthermore, in Illinois, every person that leases a vehicle is required to pay up front official new-car fees for license, title, documentation and sales tax imposed by the state and county. A dealer merely collects these fees and passes them along to the state and county government. These fees are not negotiable.

The foregoing fees are collected as up-front cash. These fees are not included in the lease payments you might see as part of a TV commercial, on a car company web site, or newspaper ad. Even if you see a "no money down" lease deal, you still must pay the official fees at the time of signing.

Our lease offer remains open to you on a either a 2015 Hyundai Elantra SE or a 2015 Hyundai Sonata SE. The lease payment will be the same as you are paying now - $199.00 per month for 36 months and 12,000 miles per year. Sales tax, license/title, documentation fee and first payment (35 payments remaining) would be due at delivery.

The foregoing lease offer represents the same deal we made with you on your current lease when you paid the up front fees covering sales tax, license/title, documentation fee and first payment.

We look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

***** ****
General Manager
Loren Hyundai, Inc
1620 Waukegan Rd Glenview, IL XXXXX

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is, and remains, a dishonest misrepresentation of the offer I was sent, which unambiguously stated zero dollars down.

I just looked at the websites of three competitive dealers (VW, Honda and Subaru) looking for lease deals. All three carefully and clearly stated what was actually due at signing. When taxes titles and fees were involved, they said so. Clearly.

Then, I asked each dealership if they would quote me a price with those costs rolled into the lease. Their answers were all yes, of course.

According to Loren Hyundai, this is impossible. But they are again being dishonest.

Loren made a bait-and-switch offer, and they continue to bluff through. I am postponing any legal action to see if the BBB acts.

06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My first mistake was purchasing a new Hyundai at Loren Hyundai Inc. 1620 Waukegan Rd, Glenview, IL 60025-2108.
Loren Hyundai mailed out a slick misleading coupon for a $150 gift card that lead me to believe it could be used for anything I choose (oil change etc.) Not. In August of 2013, took vehicle back to Loren Hyundai for it's first service visit. While in the service department, an employee caused a scratch right in the center of my rear bumper by backing into something. First they offered to get a bottle of touch up paint to cover the scratch which was unacceptable to me. When I insisted that it be repaired properly, ******* ******** the Service Director indicated they will have the scratch re-sprayed. Mr ********** cost cutting suggestion would not insure me that the repair would not be detectable due to the fact that the spray paint repair would only be done to the middle of the bumper. Unfortunately (being a former body and fender man myself) this type of repair causes a "halo" effect around the repaired area. I indicated to Mr. ******* that I would rather live with the scratch than to have a repair that looked like a new blotch of paint in the center of my bumper. Upon receiving an estimate from another body shop, they also agreed and suggested that the new paint repair area should extend out to each side of the bumper to a "break off" point for a better/non detectable paint repair. Mr ******* did not want to pay the estimated extra money ($50- $75) for the extra material to paint out to the sides of the bumper. He also informed me that they did not want to turn this damage over to there insurance company and that he would "take care of it". Mr. ******* from the start has always been indifferent to my concerns and responds rushed and annoyed in dealing with this matter. Mr ******* actually informed me that if he drops the ball on helping me, I'm "screwed". As of this writing 5/14, and after several months of double talk and being given the runaround, Mr. ******* finally told me to get my own estimate. I providing Mr. ******* an estimate from another local shop which turned out to be a reasonable $488.29 to repair my vehicle the "correct way". Mr. ******** now, tells me the owner of the dealership ****** ****** does not want to pay it! (nor will my calls be returned). Loren Hyundai has continued to nickel and dime me and now will only agree to there original offer to do the "spot" repair which again, will leave an un-acceptable halo of new paint on the center of my bumper (which will probably save Loren Hyundai about 50-75 bucks). I do not trust these people and wish not to leave my vehicle with this dealership anymore and would like a reimbursement of $488.29 to take the car else where. I simply do not feel comfortable leaving my car with them and if this is my only choice, I would rather live with the scratch. In the mean time I have been getting constant annoying calls from Loren Hyundai to try to get me to trade in my new car to buy another new one! This is a classic example of a dealership bending over backwards to make the sale of a new car and after the sale, the customer is the one who is forced to bend over.

Desired Settlement
reimbursment of $488.29

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* Service D
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: ***********@lorenautogroup.com
Arnold ***** came into Loren Hyundai 08/16/13 for oil and filter change and two Hyundai campaigns. On ******** Mr. ***** sent to Hyundai a customer survey with a request for corporate customer service for resolving issues. Mr. ***** was contacted by email asking what we could help him resolve regarding his visit to dealership. Mr. ***** email Loren Hyundai back about damage done to his rear bumper while in wash rack. Mr. ***** was contacted to set up a time for the service manager could inspect the damage. Vehicle was inspected and was agreed that we would repair rear bumper scratch. Mr. ***** inquired as to who would do repair on bumper. Service manager explained that repair would be done by our outside shop, Mr. ***** express concern that spot repair would not last and bumper would not look correct. Service manager explain that we would make sure the repair was done correctly and would not be noticeable. Mr. ***** hascontacted Hyundai twice to talk to them regarding dealerships decision. Mr. ***** returned to dealership 04/25/14 with estimate from a shop of his choice with request for Loren Hyundai to pay for repair at his shop. On 04/28/14 Mr. ***** was told Loren Hyundai would repair his rear bumper at no charge to him at our repair shop. Mr. ***** has had multiple meetings and phone calls with service manager and we have requested multiple times to set up a time when we can correct the damage to his vehicle. Loren will repaint the entire rear bumper and give Mr. Smith a loaner while his car is in our shop and we apologize for the inconvenience. This claim should have been done and over when the damageoccurred again we will fix what we scratched on Mr. ******** car

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, the statement "Mr. ***** express concern that spot repair would not last" is false. That issue was never in question. The issue in question which Loren Hyundai fails to mention in their response to the Bureau, is the single unacceptable offer that has been made to repair the damage with "cost cutting short cuts". Only now after the contact to the BBB does Loren now offer to paint the entire bumper. Again, after my 9 month ordeal and experience with Loren Hyundai AND comments from another employee of this dealership, I simply do not trust leaving my vehicle with these people and would like a payment of $488.29 (which came from a reputable shop, ******** ********* & ******** so I may take my vehicle to a shop of my choice and I will then be happy to consider this matter closed.

Final Business Response
We received letter from Office of Attorney General May 20 2014 I have included a copy of our responce. We will reimburse Mr. ***** for repairs to rear bumper scratch when he present bill on completed work. As of todays date Mr. ***** has not contacted us regarding our offer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have indicated to Mr ******* on several occasions over the past year, that I am not interested in having Loren Hyundai repair my vehicle for the previously discussed reasons. Regardless of Mr. ********** eloquent responses to the BBB, I have also discussed with him on several occasions, that due to my traveling schedule, I am not interested in having Loren Hyundai dictate when or where I should have my vehicle fixed. I would like to be paid the agreed upon amount of $488.23 and be allowed to take the vehicle to a shop of my choice at a time of my choice and I will consider this matter with the BBB, Attorney Generals Office and other remedies I am seeking, closed.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.