BBB Accredited Business since

Liberty Auto City, Inc.

Phone: (847) 362-2683 Fax: (847) 362-3128 View Additional Phone Numbers 1000 E Park Ave, Libertyville, IL 60048 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.libertyautocity.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Liberty Auto City, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Liberty Auto City, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Liberty Auto City, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1970 Business started: 04/02/1965 Business started locally: 04/02/1965 Business incorporated 04/02/1965 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joe Massarelli, President Mr. Craig Andrea, General Manager Ms. Conie Bourtney, Office Manager Mr. Lou Carroso, Service Director Mr. Mark Gottlieb, F&I Manager Mr. TJ Gsell, Parts Manager Mr. Elmer Hansen, Import Sales Manager Mr. Tony Hissey, HiMax Systems Mr. Ben Jacobs, Internet Manager Ms. Deborah Jacobson, Comptroller Mr. Nate Kalisik, Used Car Manager Mr. Stewart Weitzman, Body Shop Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Massarelli, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Shock Absorbers Tire Dealers Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Accessories Auto Detailing Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Warranty Service Brake Service Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts Engines - Gasoline Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Liberty Auto City
Business Management

On July 26, 2011, Joe Massarelli purchased the 50% stock interest of his former partner, and he is now the sole shareholder of Liberty and the President of the corporation.

Products & Services

Family owned and operated in Libertyville since 1965, we take pride in our A+ rating with the BBB. We treat our customers like they're family, with customer service being our first priority. Come in today and see how easy it is to do business at Liberty!


Additional Locations

  • 1000 E Park Ave

    Libertyville, IL 60048 (888) 578-7499

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sold my car to this company last week and accquired a new vehicle. This company promised me they would pay off car and send me an equity check. They promised to attend these matters within 3-4 business days. They have not held their end of the deal. The previous car is due for payment and will affect my credit by Friday. I have tried contacting them several times and have not received a response. Liberty Auto City has my previous car for sale, ready to go. Very unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: I want the money that I very well deserve and promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/07/22) */ Contact Name and Title: elmer ****** sales manage Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: elmer**********@aol.com customer was taken care of and refunded his monies within 48 hours. he is thankful and happy, said we was going to respond to complaint as very satisfied at this point all concerns for customer have been satisfied the payoff was already sent and financial institution has been contacted by liberty auty city. thank you elmer ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/07/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They held their end. Thank you!

9/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has no integrity. The carloan is so upside down I can't afford it and I'm told recently that what they did to me was illegal! I'm not educated in knowing what car dealers do in order to put someone into a car so I simply assume that they are NOT taking advantage of me. I've been paying on this car for 2 years and i went to trade it in for a different car hoping to lower my payments and was informed by the financial manager that whoever did this car loan did it illegally by adding ALL of the interest to the top of the loan. That then made the cost of the car 42,000!!!! The payoff is now 24,000 and I haven't even touched principle. This car is worth maybe 11,500. I feel someone should answer to this! Wether it be the Auto Dealer stealing from people or the finance company that approved it!

Desired Settlement: I want the payoff of the vehicle to be AT LEAST lowered to 14,000!! By the Dealer OR the Finance company. $18,000 in only intrest placed on top of $24,000 in principle is absolutely outrageous for a Ford Edge!!!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ********** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************@aol.com This customer did not purchase this vehicle from Liberty Auto City 1000 E. Park Ave. Libertyville, IL XXXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/05/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Friday, 11/29, I came down from ********* to Libertyville and test drove a Jeep advertised by this dealer on the internet for sale. In doing so, I identified what I felt was a problem in the steering column (it made noise and didn't feel right when I executed a turn). I indicated to the salesman that, if that problem were corrected, I would be interested in buying the vehicle for the quoted price. The salesman left, consulted with his manager)and returned to state that the vehicle was being sold as is (including the then current status of the steering). I declined -- felt the steering was a safety issue. Certainly it was the dealer's prerogative to make that call, I have no problem with that. Its what happened after that I have an issue with. Later that evening, in a response to a separate earlier e-mail correspondence from the dealer ship's internet sales associate (a different individual from the first sales associate that I worked with), I detailed what had transpired on site earlier in the day and expressed my regret that we couldn't consummate the transaction. He responded Saturday, 11/30 that they had repaired the steering column Friday night and asked if I would like to stop in again. I replied that I was still interested in the vehicle and would on Monday, 12/2. I thought it was curious that after I left Friday, 11/29 and was advised/told the steering would not be looked at, a short time later it was. If that was the case, I wondered why I hadn't been re-contacted before the vehicle was put back on the lot for sale. The original salesman had my phone number and the impediment in the original negotiations had been resolved. If not for my note on Friday night to the Internet sales asociate and his response, I would have never known that the dealer had reversed their position regarding the steering column. I left the Internet Sales Associate a voice mail message at 10:30 and an e-mail message at 11:30 Monday morning, 12/2 in advance of driving down to the dealership in anticipation of purchasing the vehicle; neither was returned. Finally, I called again and reached him at 1:30PM and he advised me that the Jeep had already been sold. I feel that the dealer was not honest with me in the inital negotiations regarding their intent on the steering column and, in the end, basically gave incorrect information that precluded me from purchasing the vehicle in question.

Desired Settlement: No settlement requested; I just wanted to register a complaint relative to the way this dealer chooses to do business.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/03) */ Regarding the negotiations of the 1999 Jeep Wrangler, the complainant was in the middle of negotiating the price of the jeep wrangler with thoughts to the steering column, however we did not agree on a price during that time. He was offered $100 off our internet sales price, but was not satisfied with that and wanted more of a discount even if the steering was looked at by our service department. After telling the customer that the jeep is sold as is, he was no longer interested in the Jeep. He felt that the steering was too much of a concern for him and left the dealership. Another customer drove from Michigan that same night and test drove the same Jeep Wrangler and heard a noise in the steering column but with no concern about it not feeling right while turning. Since there were two customers concerned about the noise and the steering on the Jeep, I had my service department look at the Jeep and find that there was nothing wrong with it except a squeaking noise that was fixed with a quick lube in less than 5 minutes. The noise was fixed and explained to that customer that the car is sold as is. That customer was satisfied with the jeep and purchased the vehicle that night; however he did need to tie up some loose ends with his credit union, so he did not take delivery of the vehicle that evening. My internet manager is required to follow up with customers and may not have known the Jeep was sold that same night while emailing the first customer Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/01/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have now purchased a vehicle from another dealership; I have no desire (or need) to do any further business with Liberty moving forward. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/12/26) */ To whom it may concern, In resonse to the complaint made with the 1999 Jeep Wrangler My salesman stated to me that the customer questioned a steering problem and a noise the vehicle was making.I offered the customer a discount of $100 off the internet price and the customer was not satisified with my offer. According to the sales person he was asking for a larger discount even if the noise on the vehicle was looked at. The vehicle was a 1999 Jeep Wrangler with a 165,000 miles on it and was advertised for sale "as-is". The customer left and did not purchase the vehicle. The same night another customer did purchase the vehicle and was satisfied with the steering after the squeaking noise was removed , they did not mention any steering problem just the noise. The internet sales associate contacting the customer was an honest mistake; he did not realize the vehicle had been sold the night before. I sincerely apologize for your prior experience at our dealership. I would like to personally invite the customer back to help him with any vehicel purchasing needs. Sincerely, **** ******* Used Car Manager

11/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** (Financial director) for Mazda, wrote the wrong address on all of my paperwork for the transaction/registration. When correcting her, she said "I fixed it you don't need a copy". Once at home and needing a city sticker I called to receive a new registration and proceeded to get yelled at and hung up on twice. The ***** dealership was having a 1.9% interest rate. My credit report showed the dealership did a credit check for them and then went to a bank to get the loan. This I have no problem with. Two weeks after I had my car, five more credit checks went through on my credit report. My credit was perfect and amazingly the first bank that was checked was the one that gave me the 1.9%. So why 5 more checks? The car proceeded to be a lemon and have numerous things wrong with it, to which I returned to the dealership and having to buy a new car from the **** dealership next door. This time they only had to do one credit check so I find this a problem from before. Since buying the first car, 4 of my credit cards have had credit fraud and have been traced back to my social security number being exposed. Since I don't give my social security number out to anything and haven't opened any new accounts or done anything out of the ordinary, seems a little odd. The general overall experience of buying the car, was just plain rude. After I signed the paperwork I regretted it. The service team was mean, they took my car and said "we will check it to make sure it is 'all good' before you take it home" and made me wait over 3 hours before I finally had complained enough and saw that they hadn't even touched my car but just had it in the garage. The manager said "oh just 15 more mins". When they drove it around they hadn't even washed it. When I got in it, the tire pressure light was still on.

Desired Settlement: N/A

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/07) */ LIBERTY AUTO CITY takes great pride in customer service and quality customer care . In regards to the paperwork having the wrong address, it was a simple mistake of taking the address of the drivers licence. Corrected , and reprinted with the right information . AS for the replacement of the ***** for the **** product liberty did everything we could within reason to accomidate the customer . As for the the multiple credit inquires from different banks. It was a needed requirement to find the best interest rate . The 1.9 interset ******** recieved from ***** HAD NO bearing on the **** transaction. As far as her credit fraud problem , i can assure you liberty auto city follows strict guidelines in processing customers personal information . I would have no problem fixing any car issues ******** has with here ***** ***** ****** GM