BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/2012

Liberty Auto City, Inc.

Phone: (847) 362-2683Fax: (847) 362-3128View Additional Phone Numbers1000 E Park Ave, LibertyvilleIL 60048-2951 Send email to Liberty Auto City, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/2012

BBB has determined that Liberty Auto City, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Liberty Auto City, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
05/27/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: This company has no integrity. The carloan is so upside down I can't afford it and I'm told recently that what they did to me was illegal! I'm not educated in knowing what car dealers do in order to put someone into a car so I simply assume that they are NOT taking advantage of me. I've been paying on this car for 2 years and i went to trade it in for a different car hoping to lower my payments and was informed by the financial manager that whoever did this car loan did it illegally by adding ALL of the interest to the top of the loan. That then made the cost of the car 42,000!!!! The payoff is now 24,000 and I haven't even touched principle. This car is worth maybe 11,500. I feel someone should answer to this! Wether it be the Auto Dealer stealing from people or the finance company that approved it!

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** **********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@aol.com
This customer did not purchase this vehicle from
Liberty Auto City
1000 E. Park Ave.
Libertyville, IL XXXXX

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

11/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service estimate or agreement

Complaint: ***** (Financial director) for Mazda, wrote the wrong address on all of my paperwork for the transaction/registration. When correcting her, she said "I fixed it you don't need a copy". Once at home and needing a city sticker I called to receive a new registration and proceeded to get yelled at and hung up on twice. The ***** dealership was having a 1.9% interest rate. My credit report showed the dealership did a credit check for them and then went to a bank to get the loan. This I have no problem with. Two weeks after I had my car, five more credit checks went through on my credit report. My credit was perfect and amazingly the first bank that was checked was the one that gave me the 1.9%. So why 5 more checks? The car proceeded to be a lemon and have numerous things wrong with it, to which I returned to the dealership and having to buy a new car from the **** dealership next door. This time they only had to do one credit check so I find this a problem from before.
Since buying the first car, 4 of my credit cards have had credit fraud and have been traced back to my social security number being exposed. Since I don't give my social security number out to anything and haven't opened any new accounts or done anything out of the ordinary, seems a little odd.
The general overall experience of buying the car, was just plain rude. After I signed the paperwork I regretted it. The service team was mean, they took my car and said "we will check it to make sure it is 'all good' before you take it home" and made me wait over 3 hours before I finally had complained enough and saw that they hadn't even touched my car but just had it in the garage. The manager said "oh just 15 more mins". When they drove it around they hadn't even washed it. When I got in it, the tire pressure light was still on.

Initial Business Response
LIBERTY AUTO CITY takes great pride in customer service and quality customer care . In regards to the paperwork having the wrong address, it was a simple mistake of taking the address of the drivers licence. Corrected , and reprinted with the right information . AS for the replacement of the ***** for the **** product liberty did everything we could within reason to accomidate the customer . As for the the multiple credit inquires from different banks. It was a needed requirement to find the best interest rate . The 1.9 interset ******** recieved from ***** HAD NO bearing on the **** transaction. As far as her credit fraud problem , i can assure you liberty auto city follows strict guidelines in processing customers personal information . I would have no problem fixing any car issues ******** has with here ***** ***** ****** GM

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/31/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/05/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/30/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
01/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the service

Complaint: Friday, 11/29, I came down from ********* to Libertyville and test drove a Jeep advertised by this dealer on the internet for sale. In doing so, I identified what I felt was a problem in the steering column (it made noise and didn't feel right when I executed a turn). I indicated to the salesman that, if that problem were corrected, I would be interested in buying the vehicle for the quoted price. The salesman left, consulted with his manager)and returned to state that the vehicle was being sold as is (including the then current status of the steering).

I declined -- felt the steering was a safety issue. Certainly it was the dealer's prerogative to make that call, I have no problem with that. Its what happened after that I have an issue with.

Later that evening, in a response to a separate earlier e-mail correspondence from the dealer ship's internet sales associate (a different individual from the first sales associate that I worked with), I detailed what had transpired on site earlier in the day and expressed my regret that we couldn't consummate the transaction. He responded Saturday, 11/30 that they had repaired the steering column Friday night and asked if I would like to stop in again. I replied that I was still interested in the vehicle and would on Monday, 12/2.

I thought it was curious that after I left Friday, 11/29 and was advised/told the steering would not be looked at, a short time later it was. If that was the case, I wondered why I hadn't been re-contacted before the vehicle was put back on the lot for sale. The original salesman had my phone number and the impediment in the original negotiations had been resolved. If not for my note on Friday night to the Internet sales asociate and his response, I would have never known that the dealer had reversed their position regarding the steering column.

I left the Internet Sales Associate a voice mail message at 10:30 and an e-mail message at 11:30 Monday morning, 12/2 in advance of driving down to the dealership in anticipation of purchasing the vehicle; neither was returned. Finally, I called again and reached him at 1:30PM and he advised me that the Jeep had already been sold.
I feel that the dealer was not honest with me in the inital negotiations regarding their intent on the steering column and, in the end, basically gave incorrect information that precluded me from purchasing the vehicle in question.

Initial Business Response
Regarding the negotiations of the 1999 Jeep Wrangler, the complainant was in the middle of negotiating the price of the jeep wrangler with thoughts to the steering column, however we did not agree on a price during that time. He was offered $100 off our internet sales price, but was not satisfied with that and wanted more of a discount even if the steering was looked at by our service department. After telling the customer that the jeep is sold as is, he was no longer interested in the Jeep. He felt that the steering was too much of a concern for him and left the dealership.
Another customer drove from Michigan that same night and test drove the same Jeep Wrangler and heard a noise in the steering column but with no concern about it not feeling right while turning. Since there were two customers concerned about the noise and the steering on the Jeep, I had my service department look at the Jeep and find that there was nothing wrong with it except a squeaking noise that was fixed with a quick lube in less than 5 minutes. The noise was fixed and explained to that customer that the car is sold as is. That customer was satisfied with the jeep and purchased the vehicle that night; however he did need to tie up some loose ends with his credit union, so he did not take delivery of the vehicle that evening. My internet manager is required to follow up with customers and may not have known the Jeep was sold that same night while emailing the first customer


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have now purchased a vehicle from another dealership; I have no desire (or need) to do any further business with Liberty moving forward.

Final Business Response
To whom it may concern,
In resonse to the complaint made with the 1999 Jeep Wrangler
My salesman stated to me that the customer questioned a steering problem and a noise the vehicle was making.I offered the customer a discount of $100 off the internet price and the customer was not satisified with my offer. According to the sales person he was asking for a larger discount even if the noise on the vehicle was looked at. The vehicle was a 1999 Jeep Wrangler with a 165,000 miles on it and was advertised for sale "as-is". The customer left and did not purchase the vehicle. The same night another customer did purchase the vehicle and was satisfied with the steering after the squeaking noise was removed , they did not mention any steering problem just the noise. The internet sales associate contacting the customer was an honest mistake; he did not realize the vehicle had been sold the night before.
I sincerely apologize for your prior experience at our dealership. I would like to personally invite the customer back to help him with any vehicel purchasing needs.
Sincerely,
**** *******
Used Car Manager

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories , Auto Repair & Service - Equipment & Supplies, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Auto Services, Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Warranty Service, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Detailing, Auto Accessories, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Tire Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/01/1970Business started: 04/02/1965
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1965, IL

Business Management

On July 26, 2011, Joe Massarelli purchased the 50% stock interest of his former partner, and he is now the sole shareholder of Liberty and the President of the corporation.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Massarelli (President)Mr. Craig Andrea (General Manager)Ms. Conie Bourtney (Office Manager)Mr. Lou Carroso (Service Director)Mr. Mark Gottlieb (F&I Manager)Mr. TJ Gsell (Parts Manager)Mr. Elmer Hansen (Import Sales Manager)Mr. Tony Hissey (HiMax Systems)Mr. Ben Jacobs (Internet Manager)Ms. Deborah Jacobson (Comptroller)Mr. Nate Kalisik (Used Car Manager)Mr. Stewart Weitzman (Body Shop Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories , Auto Repair & Service - Equipment & Supplies, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Auto Services, Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Warranty Service, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Detailing, Auto Accessories, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Tire Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Liberty Auto City
Industry Tips
Contracts
Lemon Law Facts
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Know the Facts about Auto Service Contracts
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Liberty Auto City, Inc.

1000 E Park Ave

Libertyville, IL 60048-2951

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1000 E Park Ave 

    Libertyville, IL 60048-2951(888) 578-7499

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Liberty Auto City, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 578-7499

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (847) 362-4051
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.