Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Lexus of Naperville

Additional Locations

Phone: (630) 717-1578 Fax: (630) 717-5425 View Additional Phone Numbers 2480 Aurora Ave, Naperville, IL 60540 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lexusofnaperville.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Lexus of Naperville is a car dealership which sells new automobiles primarily from Lexus as well as used vehicles from a variety of other manufacturers. This company serves the western suburbs of Chicago, including Warrenville, Woodridge, Bolingbrook, Romeoville, Plainfield, Aurora, Montgomery, Oswego, Lemont, Lisle, Downers Grove, Westmont, Hinsdale, Burr Ridge, Winfield, Wheaton, Lombard, Villa Park, West Chicago, North Aurora, Batavia, Lockport, Carol Stream, Glendale Heights, Lombard, and Oak Brook. This company sells primarily new cars from Lexus, but also sells used vehicles. Manufacturers available include Cadillac, Honda, Mazda, Volkswagen, Acura, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Mercedes-Benz, Audi, Ford, Infiniti, Nissan, BMW, GMC, Lincoln, and Toyota. Cars range in model year from 2003 to the most recent model year, and mileage varies from under 10,000 to over 90,000. Cars vary in price from under $5,000 to over $50,000.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lexus of Naperville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lexus of Naperville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Lexus of Naperville
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 09, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated 09/28/1989 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Kuniej, GSM Mr. Daniel Wolf, President Mr. Randy Wolf, V.P. - GM Mr. Dan Wolf, Jr., V. P. GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Kuniej, GSM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Chevrolet of Naperville Toyota of Naperville

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Lexus of Naperville has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1515 W Ogden Ave

    Naperville, IL 60540 (630) 357-1578

  • 1535 W. Ogden Ave.

    Naperville, IL 60540 (630) 570-7938

  • 2480 Aurora Ave

    Naperville, IL 60540

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was taken to Lexus of Naperville for a small oil leak repair and had complete engine failure 4 days later. The vehicle immediately showed symptoms which ultimately led to failure upon return of my vehicle. This ticking noise was not present when my vehicle went in for service. Neglect during repair is the only plausible explanation. Furthermore, Lexus is denying responsibility and refuses to honor my valid powertrain warranty to fix my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a new replacement engine with installation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/02) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Srvc Director Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@lexusofnaperville.com The vehicle belonging to Mr. *** ********* has had extensive engine work performed at another Lexus facility on 11/25/2014 at 22,432 miles all internal engine work the car went back to Woodfield Lexus on 04/4/2014 at 22,901 miles for major oil leaks the valve cover gaskets front timing cover gasket and an oil pan gasket was replaced. On 08/1/2014 the oil was changed at ************************** at 28,704 miles. On 08/13/2014******* brought this vehicle to Lexus of Naperville for a leaking oil pan gasket which was done at 29,527 miles. The vehicle was then towed into Lexus of Naperville by******* on 08/21/2014 at 29,979 miles. When the car arrived it was dead and wouldn't turn over the engine was locked up so we inspected the vehicle to discover that there was metal in the engine and that two crank bearings had spun. We then contacted Lexus to inspect the vehicle. An engineer from Lexus came out to inspect vehicle and had determined that there would be no coverage on the engine via warranty. When the vehicle came to Lexus on 08/13/2014 when the oil pan was done it was full of oil and when the vehicle was towed to Lexus of Naperville it was full of oil. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The car had extensive work at another Lexus on 11/25/14. That's quite a spectacular event it being only 9/2/14. I'm glad to see the very first sentence in your response contains an error; interesting enough Lexus of Naperville acts as though errors don't happen at their shop. Being an engineer myself and knowing and consulting with several mechanics everyone but Lexus unanimously agrees after fixing the oil pan leak, the car was probably accidentally ran without first refilling the oil and yes Lexus of Naperville undoubtedly had to drain the oil to perform the repair. The engine in question ran PERFECTLY other than a small oil drip that was never even large enough to leave a single drip on my driveway; only a wet pan. The faint ticking which increased in loudness until finally seizing started ONLY AFTER work performed by Lexus of Naperville. You say the car was ran without oil? I'm not disagreeing, but it seems quite logical that the fault lies in the hands of the last people to have the oil out of the engine (Lexus of Naperville) on a car that ran PERFECT other than a small oil leak that was more of an annoyance than a major issue. Quite the coincidence I must agree myself; all these suppressed mechanical issues just happened to sprout up immediately after being returned from Lexus of Naperville. Though it is too bad they weren't present when I bought the car or when I brought the car in for the repairs performed. I might have thought there were other issues with the car! They only showed up immediately after being returned from Lexus of Naperville. Quite the coincidence would you agree? All your response has (almost) successfully stated was the service history on my car. If Lexus mechanics are as flawless as alluded to, then why did I have to take my car back for an oil leak which the car had already been in the shop at Lexus to repair before? I'm sorry, but I highly doubt you're flawless and haven't thrown out the possibility that Lexus forgot to put oil in the vehicle after this recent repair. Just because it was returned with oil doesn't mean it couldn't have been added after Lexus realized their mistake agreed? I have been in your shop and saw cameras. Unless Lexus has a magical device which adds oil to a car without being seen, I would be able to determine at what point oil was added to my car from across the shop. I requested viewing this single piece of evidence which would clear Lexus of Naperville of my accusations, but I was denied viewing the single piece of evidence which could prove our disprove their guilt. I find that very interesting. I am filing my complaint with zero bias of who is at fault. If Lexus doesn't pay for the new engine in my car, luckily******* ****. However, I am an individual with principles and find it ridiculous******* **** get stuck with this $25,000 repair when quite frankly I don't believe they were responsible for the vehicle's damage. Thankfully, I purchased my used Lexus through******* and don't have to rely on Lexus honoring a warranty; even when it appears they were likely the source of the damage. Though it seems unlikely, if one should find themselves at the hands of Lexus of Naperville's faulty work, be prepared for them to deny responsibility for their actions and deny the evidence which would disprove their faulty work. Be prepared for "service representatives" to talk down to you as long as their managers deny responsibility for their service shop faults. Should you think to take your issue up with Lexus headquarters be prepared for them to leave it in the hands of the dealership; though questionable service at the dealership was the reason you contacted Lexus headquarters in the first place. If Lexus possess some undisclosed information regarding the history of my vehicle and why it should have never been resold at******* I would greatly appreciate knowing. If Lexus can't explain why a perfectly functioning vehicle would leave their repair shop to have an engine seize four days later then at what point do you say "wow that is quite the coincidence" before you realize the smoking gun was in your hands all along? If Lexus of Naperville doesn't want to claim responsibility for the damage to my vehicle or provide the video that disproves their guilt then I want this complaint posted publicly so consumers can see the potential repercussions when the novelty of owning an overpriced Toyota goes wrong and your neighborhood Lexus dealer says it's not their problem. No secondary warranty? I highly advise consumers to have an attorney at the ready before having Lexus of Naperville perform ANY service or repair work on your vehicle. No secondary warranty? I'd like to reiterate that you'll be left with a huge ****, without your Lexus, and without a valid explanation as to how or why it happened. The Lexus company received almost $50,000 in 2010 for this IS 350. In 2014 the current owner of that vehicle wasn't even worth a viable explanation or solution to the failure of his vehicle. Welcome to the Lexus family! Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/04) */ between Lexus of Naperville and ****** we have cumulatively worked closely together to take care of the guest and replace the engine. We both have decided that there were to many variables to this issue and was in the best interest to the guest to replace the engine. with that said this should take care of the guests request and make whole on our commitment.

8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lexus Services Staff left information out... We purchased a new Lexus and wanted to install a 'remote starter'. We did our research on lexusofnaperville.com and realize there are two type of remote starter; according to the site these are the detail... 'Just when you thought your Lexus couldn�'t get any more comfortable. The Lexus remote engine starter 1 allows you to start the engine before entering your vehicle and activate your pre-set air conditioner, heater, windshield defogger, and the heated and ventilated front seats (if so equipped). The engine immobilizer is a state-of-the-art anti-theft system. When you insert your key into the ignition switch or bring a SmartAccess fob into the vehicle, the key transmits an electronic code to the vehicle. The engine will only start if the code in the transponder chip inside the key or SmartAccess fob matches the code in the vehicle's immobilizer. Because the transponder chip is embedded in the key or SmartAccess fob, it can be costly to replace. If you lose a key or SmartAccess fob, your Lexus dealer can help. Alternatively, you can find a qualified independent locksmith to perform high-security key services by consulting your local Yellow Pages or by contacting www.aloa.org.' We called Services Department asked for the different and information of each product but pretty much were told one product range is about 80FT away and the other one can remote start anywhere. We were than transferred to Part to order we asked the same and the same answered were offered. We got the remote starter installed than was told you can have it start with the remote but upon entering the car you engine will be automatic TURNED OFF, you will need to turn it back on again! We were in shock, we both thought we heard it wrong so we asked did you say it will turn it off than we have to start the engine again? We talked to two other agents they all said this is how the product work and claim you should know better since you did research on your own. We told one of the agent yes we did our searching on YOUR website and asked Lexus of Naperville staffs but we were just told one is unlimited range and one is the normal range so how am I suppose to know it will turn off the engine itself upon entering the car! We felt we were misleaded and asked them to disable the 'auto turn off' because it defeat the purpose having it remote start when you have to start the car again! We were told this is how it work and if we want to take the part out we have to pay for services again! Please note, the official Lexus website and the dealership website never mention about if we use the remote starter to start the car it will automatic shut off when you open door/enter the car and you will need to re-start your car again! When we asked for information at the Dealership, we were not informed this piece of important information!

Desired Settlement: all we wanted is full refund since we were not informed full info. thank you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/13) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Srvc Director Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@lexusofnaperville.com The remote start shuts off as you get to the vehicle as a safety feature so that no one could steal the vehicle by breaking the glass. If the manufacture didnt have this feature the vehicle could be stolen by any one walking by. the guest is coming in on 6-14-2014 to have system removed and a full refund. It is never the intention to misslead any guest as to the functionality of any accesory we have to offer. We pride ourselves on giving the best guest experience ever! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Lexus took care of us, we went in and they uninstalled the 'remote starter' at no cost. They also mailed us a check for the original cost of installing the remote starter. Thank you!!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Lexus of Naperville
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart