BBB Accredited Business since

Laurel BMW of Westmont

Phone: (630) 537-0311 View Additional Phone Numbers 430 E. Ogden Ave., Westmont, IL 60559 http://www.laurelbmw.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Laurel BMW of Westmont meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Laurel BMW of Westmont include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Laurel BMW of Westmont
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 06, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1997 Business started locally: 01/01/1997
Business Management
Mr. Pat Womack, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Pat Womack, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Autonation, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Laurel BMW of Westmont has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 430 E. Ogden Ave.

    Westmont, IL 60559 (630) 654-5400 (630) 537-0311

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BMW X5 repair was made on April 2014 for a Cylinder 5 ignition coil that was recommended by service representative it was paid for and repaired. However, the problem did not go away, so when I brought car in on August 2015. BMW Laurel recommended the same repair. I talked to the Service Representative and they have a better part now. I don't think I should have to pay for this repair twice and asked for reimbursement. He said he offer me 10% on the repair. The repair was around $300.00. It hard to tell because we have the fuel pump repaired in April 2014.

Desired Settlement: I'm seeking the amount of this specific repair so that I can get the ignition coil repaired right.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@autonation.com We are very sorry that the customer is unhappy with their vehicle, unfortunately this was not purchased from us so we don't know the previous history but I can speak to the recent work that ***** is talking about. On April 18, 2014 at 52,548 miles we replaced one coil under customer pay and had BMW goodwill 75% of another repair related to the fuel pump, at this time the car was already out of warranty. July 2014, Check engine light on and we discounted the work for an 02 sensor. Aug 2014, oil service done, no notes of any issues Jan 2015 routine maintenance and a battery, both discounted again no issues noted Aug 2015 check engine light on and we recommended coils as another one had gone bad(different than before) and BMW has come up with a newer version so the labor was the same to update all of them as it was to replace just one. The car now has 73,318 miles on it and the coil we replaced 20,770 miles ago is fine. I do not see how we could refund any money on a part that has worked fine and is not the cause of the current check engine light, if it was faulty there is a warranty through BMW that we could have replaced it under but that is not the case. We have discounted EVERY single service to these people to try and help them out. She currently left a nasty review online in regards to my Center that if not removed, they will receive a letter from our attorneys to do so as there is misinformation and she is slandering our business. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I think the statement shows alot about Laurel BMW. The problem we are talking about is the ignition coil. The fuel pump now has a letter out that BMW will reinburse for 100% because that part shouldn't have failed either. The work for the ignition coil was done on April 2014 and repaired by Laurel BMW and they want me to pay again to have it repaired in August 2014. Perhaps is a inferior vehicle as BMW has stated and a person should not buy BMW products. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/09/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** GM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@autonation.com I have spoken to ***** twice now and have explained our position and that not everything nor, the previous coil that was replaced need to be done now, just a different one has gone bad. She is very frustrated with BMW and not so much with us a dealer. I believe she is trading the car in for a Honda. Please close the case, thank you.

6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 31, 2014 we purchased a new vehicle from Laurel BMW in Westmont, Illinois. Part of the negotiating process was to trade in a vehicle (also purchased at Laurel in 2006) that had an after-market sound system installed by us (tuner, and (2) amps) that was to be removed by the buyer (Laurel) and returned to us. In exchange, we agreed to return the original tuner that came with the car when we purchased it in 2006. This was a verbal agreement, witnessed and agreed upon by the salesman, his sales manager, myself and my wife. All parties were in agreement that the after-market system was to be returned in exchange for the original tuner as part of the negotiation in the purchase of a new vehicle. All papers were signed, vehicles exchanged with the equipment still in the trade-in vehicle, with the agreement that the original tuner would be returned the following week and the other sound system be returned at the same time. I returned on 1-3-15 and returned the BMW tuner, amps, etc in exchange for the aftermarket tuner and (2) amps that were currently installed in the car that was traded in. The salesman informed me that they had an audio guy scheduled the following week to remove this tuner and amps. He stated they will need additional time to remove these components. On 1-8, I talked with our salesman to schedule window tinting for the new car. He scheduled the tinting for 1-16 and stated that the aftermarket tuner and amps will be handed over to me when I go back to pick up the car after the tinting is complete. He also told me that he is off that day and to talk with the service associate when I return and he will hand everything to me. I returned to pick the car up on 1-17 and was informed by the service associate that they that they still have not removed the sound system and for me to contact my salesman. On 1-19, I contacted my salesman and he informed me that they could not take the sound system out of the trade-in vehicle because it was too costly. Further negotiations ensued, and the salesman ask me if I would rather install a Lo-Jack in my new car. I did not want this because it is subscription based, and countered with them installing a BMW alarm in the car or paying me $1000.00 for the tuner and (2) amps. The salesman then told me that they sold my trade in car already and that my sound system was sold with the car. After he told me this, I demanded $1,000.00 for the sound system. He stated he would have to talk to his sales manager. The sales manager called me shortly after. After a conversation regarding what was said at the time of the new car purchase and agreed upon regarding the sound system, the sales manager proceeded to tell me how bad the installation of the aftermarket tuner and amps were and that it would cost them too much money to remove it. I have receipts showing that this system was professionally installed in 2007. The manager then proceeded to offer me $300.00 for the sound system. After a few choice words and frustration dealing with a low level sales manager, I told him to send me a check. I have not seen a check from Laurel. The way I see it is not only did they sell the car with my equipment in it, they have defaulted on the $300.00 that they stated that they will send me. I now, will not accept anything less than $1,000.00 for the tuner and amps from Laurel. As well as an apology. Regardless of, what he calls a "bad installation", the agreement was that I would get this equipment back. After dealing with Laurel and purchasing (5) new BMW cars, it is highly un-likely that I will ever purchase another vehicle from them again. All because of a greed and bad sales tactics. My wife spoke with the salesman on 1/24/15 and was told the same as described above and also, that he wasn't sure if we would be receiving the $300 or not. Beware when making deals with these guys.

Desired Settlement: $1,000.00 and official apology from an officer of LAUREL BMW

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@autonation.com We had agreed to remove the head unit of the customers system as part of the deal as the customer had told us it should be easy. When the installer we use came to pull it out he had told one of the mnagers that every bit of BMW wiring and all the modules were missing. This means that the bluetooth module was missing as well as the BMW amps to make the system work. It would have cost thousadnds to make the system work and this is not what we agreed to. The customer was offerred a few options that we could do for the cost that was set aside for the removal of this old unit. He did not like this and demanded a $1000 which is not what we agreed to nor is that older system worth that. We offerred $300 which was the agreed upon dollar amount for the cost of the removal, he refused. We are happy to send the $300 but the customer told us he would return the check. This is really the only fair compromise. Awaiting a response from the customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Your response is un-acceptable. What we agreed on 12-31-14 was that you would return the system to me. Instead, you lead me on for 3 weeks. In that period of 3 weeks you sold the car with the after market system in it, and tell tell me after you sell it that you are only going to pay me $300.00 Now you are trying to justify your actions and your default on our agreement. There is nothing you can say that makes you look any different. Anyone reading this can see whats going on here. You have also lost a customer. How do you justify that? Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/02/16) */ I have spoken to **** last week by phone and am looking into an alarm for his car as a way to rectify the situation. We have been in contact by email on Friday and should come to some resolution this week.

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the urging of the Finance Manager ***** ***** I purchased several vehicle protection plans including tire protection, dent protection and an appearance protection plan. Jason sold the plan suggesting that minor chips dings etc. to the vehicle exterior would be covered under the appearance protection plan he also said it would have/keep my vehicle looking new. ***** also assured me that I could cancel the protection plans at any time. Imagine my surprise when I took the vehicle for service at a different dealership and learned that the appearance protection provided was only under the most unique situations. I phoned ***** at Laurel to discuss and he recanted his original statements to me I reminded him that he told me I could cancel the plans if I was not satisfied he then sent the paperwork to me via email. I returned the paperwork to him and did not receive a reply to my cancellation request for over a week I called ***** again and he told me that his mailbox was full and that he had to delete some messages and that I should send again. I asked for the manager and was told that he was a manager I asked for the general manager and was disconnected. I called again and left a message for the GM who graciously returned my call but basically said ***** knows his job I'm sorry you are disappointed but there is nothing I can do the GM further tells me that the appearance protection plan is non refundable. If the protection plan is truly non refundable why didn't ***** tell me that instead of forwarding the cancellation forms?My ask?? A full refund of the cost paid for the dent and appearance protection plans as its my opinion that false sales practices are in use. The dealership further states that I am the first person who has ever raised this issue I do not agree as a friend of mine also purchased a vehicle with similar protection plans and also plans to lodge a formal complaint against the dealership. Product_Or_Service: appearance protection and dent removal plans

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Complete refund of the Dent and Appearance Protection Plans.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@autonation.com BBB Case#XXXXXXXX ***** ***** and her friend ****** ***** purchased new cars within a day of each other, ****** being first on December 28th at 9:00.09 pm. ***** came in the next day and purchased a new car at 3;44.35pm on the 29th. As she went in to the finance office she told ***** ******* our finance manager that she want the exact same options for coverage as her friend ******.As you will note in attachment A and B both menus are exactly the same the only difference is the cost on one of the products as ****** purchased a more expensive model which was a 5 series thus the cost difference in the paintless dent removal price. Attachment C clearly states the the Appearance product cannot be cancelled as it is applied to the car and cannot be removed. Please note *****'s signature on this document, please not this is also from two years ago! On document D you will see the three products that ***** agreed to buy clearly broken out on the bill of sale of which she signed again. At Laurel BMW we go the extra step in CLEARLY explaining the customers options for extended coverage and CLEARLY state what can and cannot be cancelled. Appearance being on of the few products that cannot be cancelled as the product gets applied to the vehicle. In regard to her trying to cancel her products she had reached out to ***** on November 11th yelling at ***** claiming he had told her that the appearance plan covered scratches of which it clearly doesn't. ***** has worked for me for seven years and does not mislead customers about what a product does or does not cover. At this point she told Jason she wanted to cancel everything two years after purchasing these products because he "had mislead" her. ***** then sent the cancellation form on November 11th at 9:56 am please look at attachment E. On November 14th ***** sent an email to ***** but apparently he never received it, on November 23rd ***** had left me a message and I called her right back and left her a message. On November 25th ***** and I received the email noted as attachment F. I responded to her email within twelve minutes as noted on attachment G letting her know that that we would get her the amount due her shortly and that the appearance was not a cancel-able product. She wrote me back a thank you email and that was it. We still do not have the cancellation form filled out by ***** to cancel her products that can be cancelled. My Center has done everything to follow up once we found out that her first email response was not received. We will quickly send the refund check to BMWFS once she fulfills what she needs to do to complete the cancellation, it is clearly in her court. Please close this file as it is clearly been handled properly and the customer was not miss lead. Thank you, Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all the GM was not there during my conversations with ***** and his comment with respects to my yelling is a LIE! The fact of the matter is that I returned the documentation that ***** provided to me; and he LOST or misplaced it when I return to the office I will submit once again. Yes I did attempt to cancel the product because it did not live up to my expectations and I didn't find that out until TWO years later when I had a need. Again I say buyer beware and for the record ****** ***** has contacted BMW customer service with her complaint against westmont. Under no circumstances should this case be closed. The tone of this correspondence is filled with arrogance and a complete disregard for the customer experience. The finance team mirrors the leadership (GM)of this dealership. Apparently he never received my email?? So whose fault is that mine? I don't think so he did receive it he told me his email was full and he had to delete emails. Where is the apology for such horrible service. I forwarded the email and attachments to you and will do so once again. I will continue to use every available option to warn prospective buyers of your practices and remind them to read the contract completely regardless of how much time it takes. BMWFS is not the lienholder and I contend that I was mislead. Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2014/01/30) */ I received an email from the customer that she did NOT now want to cancel the product and after doing what was originally asked we reversed everything and the customer still has her original coverage that she tried to cancel. We should be done now, please close the case. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/12/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I contend that what was written and what I was told are two very different things with respects to cancellation of the protection plans. I now see where the non refundable language is "hidden" in the document. Again shame on me for not reading the entire document. As proof that I did submit the document in a timely manner to Jason I've reattached the document to my response. However I am unwilling to accept the insignificant refund offered by your company based on the amount I paid for the plans.