BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/2007

Laurel BMW of Westmont

(630) 537-0311View Additional Phone Numbers430 E. Ogden Ave., WestmontIL 60559-1245 Send email to Laurel BMW of WestmontView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/2007

BBB has determined that Laurel BMW of Westmont meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Laurel BMW of Westmont's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Laurel BMW of Westmont

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
03/02/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On December 31, 2014 we purchased a new vehicle from Laurel BMW in Westmont, Illinois. Part of the negotiating process was to trade in a vehicle (also purchased at Laurel in 2006) that had an after-market sound system installed by us (tuner, and (2) amps) that was to be removed by the buyer (Laurel) and returned to us. In exchange, we agreed to return the original tuner that came with the car when we purchased it in 2006. This was a verbal agreement, witnessed and agreed upon by the salesman, his sales manager, myself and my wife. All parties were in agreement that the after-market system was to be returned in exchange for the original tuner as part of the negotiation in the purchase of a new vehicle. All papers were signed, vehicles exchanged with the equipment still in the trade-in vehicle, with the agreement that the original tuner would be returned the following week and the other sound system be returned at the same time.
I returned on 1-3-15 and returned the BMW tuner, amps, etc in exchange for the aftermarket tuner and (2) amps that were currently installed in the car that was traded in. The salesman informed me that they had an audio guy scheduled the following week to remove this tuner and amps. He stated they will need additional time to remove these components.
On 1-8, I talked with our salesman to schedule window tinting for the new car. He scheduled the tinting for 1-16 and stated that the aftermarket tuner and amps will be handed over to me when I go back to pick up the car after the tinting is complete. He also told me that he is off that day and to talk with the service associate when I return and he will hand everything to me.
I returned to pick the car up on 1-17 and was informed by the service associate that they that they still have not removed the sound system and for me to contact my salesman.
On 1-19, I contacted my salesman and he informed me that they could not take the sound system out of the trade-in vehicle because it was too costly.
Further negotiations ensued, and the salesman ask me if I would rather install a Lo-Jack in my new car. I did not want this because it is subscription based, and countered with them installing a BMW alarm in the car or paying me $1000.00 for the tuner and (2) amps.
The salesman then told me that they sold my trade in car already and that my sound system was sold with the car.
After he told me this, I demanded $1,000.00 for the sound system. He stated he would have to talk to his sales manager.
The sales manager called me shortly after.
After a conversation regarding what was said at the time of the new car purchase and agreed upon regarding the sound system, the sales manager proceeded to tell me how bad the installation of the aftermarket tuner and amps were and that it would cost them too much money to remove it. I have receipts showing that this system was professionally installed in 2007.
The manager then proceeded to offer me $300.00 for the sound system. After a few choice words and frustration dealing with a low level sales manager, I told him to send me a check.
I have not seen a check from Laurel.
The way I see it is not only did they sell the car with my equipment in it, they have defaulted on the $300.00 that they stated that they will send me.
I now, will not accept anything less than $1,000.00 for the tuner and amps from Laurel. As well as an apology. Regardless of, what he calls a "bad installation", the agreement was that I would get this equipment back.
After dealing with Laurel and purchasing (5) new BMW cars, it is highly un-likely that I will ever purchase another vehicle from them again. All because of a greed and bad sales tactics.
My wife spoke with the salesman on 1/24/15 and was told the same as described above and also, that he wasn't sure if we would be receiving the $300 or not.
Beware when making deals with these guys.

Desired Settlement
$1,000.00 and official apology from an officer of LAUREL BMW

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@autonation.com
We had agreed to remove the head unit of the customers system as part of the deal as the customer had told us it should be easy.
When the installer we use came to pull it out he had told one of the mnagers that every bit of BMW wiring and all the modules were missing. This means that the bluetooth module was missing as well as the BMW amps to make the system work.
It would have cost thousadnds to make the system work and this is not what we agreed to.
The customer was offerred a few options that we could do for the cost that was set aside for the removal of this old unit.
He did not like this and demanded a $1000 which is not what we agreed to nor is that older system worth that.
We offerred $300 which was the agreed upon dollar amount for the cost of the removal, he refused.
We are happy to send the $300 but the customer told us he would return the check.
This is really the only fair compromise.
Awaiting a response from the customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Your response is un-acceptable. What we agreed on 12-31-14 was that you would return the system to me. Instead, you lead me on for 3 weeks. In that period of 3 weeks you sold the car with the after market system in it, and tell tell me after you sell it that you are only going to pay me $300.00
Now you are trying to justify your actions and your default on our agreement. There is nothing you can say that makes you look any different. Anyone reading this can see whats going on here.

You have also lost a customer. How do you justify that?

Final Business Response
I have spoken to **** last week by phone and am looking into an alarm for his car as a way to rectify the situation.
We have been in contact by email on Friday and should come to some resolution this week.

06/29/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
02/11/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/06/1998Business started: 01/01/1997
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sherri O'Kelley Customer Contact: Mr. Pat Womack (General Mgr.)Ms. Teri Bos
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Autonation, Inc.
Industry Tips
Contracts
Lemon Law Facts

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Laurel BMW of Westmont has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Laurel BMW of Westmont

430 E. Ogden Ave.

Westmont, IL 60559-1245

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 430 E. Ogden Ave. 

    Westmont, IL 60559-1245(630) 654-5400
    (630) 654-5400
    (630) 537-0311
    (630) 537-0311
    Fax: (630) 654-5413
    Fax: (630) 654-9068
    Fax: (630) 654-5413
    Fax: (630) 654-9068

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Laurel BMW of Westmont is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (630) 654-5400

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (630) 654-5413
  • (630) 654-9068
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Contracts
Lemon Law Facts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.