Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jennings Volkswagen, Inc.

Phone: (847) 729-3500 Fax: (847) 832-3998 View Additional Phone Numbers 201 Waukegan Rd, Glenview, IL 60025 http://www.jenningsvw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jennings Volkswagen, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jennings Volkswagen, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Jennings Volkswagen, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 07, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1965 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1965 Business incorporated 02/13/1986 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Jennings, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Jennings, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Jennings VW

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Jennings Volkswagen, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 201 Waukegan Rd

    Glenview, IL 60025 (847) 276-8024

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had check engine light on my ********** ****** ***** On ******** *** 2014, I went to Jenning Volkswagen and they told me that I have to change the air mass flow. I accepted, but after I left the location the check engine light was on again because of the air mass flow. I paid $308.07 for the unit(mass air flow sensor) and $198 (for labor, for only 30 minutes..they are charging $130 per hour but chey charged me $198 for 30 minutes of labor). I went back to tell them that I have the check engine on again because of the air mass flow.So, I went back with the same problem that I had before. They told me that I have to pay more for the car diagnostic, so they can find out what is the real problem. They said that my car is setting a code because the engine is running to rich and that they will need more time to check out. My question is. Why I paid soo much money, $506, for something that my car didn't needed. Why they didn't check the car at first so I should know exactely what is the real problem? Why I have to pay again for diagnosis? I already paid $506 just they can tell me that my car needs more diagnosis? I wonder how much money they are planning to charge me for the other things...with all that money I can change the entire engine. I hope that somebody can help me with this situation. Thank you!

Desired Settlement: I want to say that they don't really care about the customers. They are taking advantage of all of the customers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/03/19) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Sevice Direc Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@jenningsvw.com ***** *** 2014 Better Business Bureau Serving Chicago and Northern Illinois 330 N. Wabash Avenue Suite 3120 Chicago, IL XXXXX-XXXX P: 312/XXX-XXXX F: 312/XXX-XXXX Re: Complaint Activity Report Case : XXXXXXXX *******, ******* - ******* ** **** ********** ****** * 45,554 Miles Please allow this to serve as a response to the complaint referenced above. The following details the events as documented. On ******** *** 2014 (repair order #vwcsXXXXXX) the customer came in with two concerns. The first was a request for a routine maintenance oil change, which was performed without incident and omitted from the referenced complaint. The second was that the vehicle's check engine warning light was on. We were authorized to perform the oil change and to identify the cause behind the Service Engine Soon light (also referred to as a "check engine light"). The customer was informed of the price for the oil change and for the diagnosis. We began the repair with the oil change. We then discovered that there were multiple codes presenting on our manufacturer approved diagnostic tool, which suggested that the mass air flow sensor was not performing, as well as a need to clean carbon residue out of the intake valve and flushing (cleaning) the fuel injectors. At this time, we also informed the customer that the vehicle kept dying (becoming completely inoperative) in the shop. When presented with this information, the customer elected to have the mass air flow sensor replaced in isolation and was informed of the cost. The oil change service and the diagnosis and replacement of the mass air flow sensor service consisted of $198.00 for labor and $308.07 for the mass air flow sensor part/material and ultimately totaled $597.38. Since the Service Engine Soon light remained on, the customer was made fully aware that more work would be required in order to repair the actual cause of the warning light. Despite this information, no other services were authorized by the customer and the vehicle left our facility "as is," with the one concern not fully resolved. The customer returned sixteen days later on ******** *** 2014, requesting a resolution to the issue with the Service Engine Soon light. In an effort to show good faith, we re-checked our work (free of charge) and found that the new mass air flow sensor the customer had paid for was, indeed, operating properly. With the mass air flow sensor now operative, the outcome of the diagnostic codes changed to suggest that the vehicle's engine was "running rich," or getting too much fuel. This condition is symptomatic of several circumstances common to automobiles and we informed the customer that further investigation would be necessary if we were to get to the root of the issue and ultimately solve the concern. While we were willing to accommodate the customer and verify that our work and parts were operative, additional allocation of experience and resources was a chargeable service. The customer declined to pay for any further inspection or work and, again, elected to remove their vehicle from our shop in an "as-is" state. In the complaint, the customer states that the vehicle was brought in for repair on ******** *** 2014. We trust this indication was an oversight. It appears that the customer is under the impression that there was an overcharge and this is simply not the case. The customer was informed of the labor charge for the oil change; informed of the charge for the diagnosis; and informed of the charge for the replacement of the mass air flow sensor. It should be noted that the labor charge for the diagnosis was applied to the labor charge for the replacement of the mass air flow sensor. As is the industry standard, pricing was calculated by the job, not the hour, and all work performed was expressly authorized and necessary. We are proud of our solid fifty-six year reputation, our AAA rating with the BBB, and our significant customer retention rate. We genuinely appreciate the opportunity to stand behind our work and would like the opportunity to correct any faults or failings.

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February I started to look for a diesel,knowing it delivers great mpg.I went to ******** several times and on March 18th,I leased a car,that I did not test drive. They convinced me it's better to lease than to purchase and that it is necessary to trade in my own vehicle,(******** ******* was told I either pay about 5500$ as a down payment ,or I trade my car and they will take 2700$ from its value and send me the check for the remaining balance(6500$)within 5 to 10 business days.That was a big lie! I only received the check on April 16!! Nearly a month after the transaction . I checked with the bank where I had the loan for the ******** and they didn't send the final payment until April. On March 20th, I went back to ******** and said I want my old car back,and I'm willing to pay the down payment . I was told:"That car is long gone!Way gone!!" Lie!! I went on their other website,******** Chevrolet ,and my car was listed there,with the vin number and all.I have proof ! Then I told them I don't like the Passat and I want to change it into a diesel. They said it is not possible. I would lose the 2700 they took from my trade in plus all the taxes I have paid and they will buy the Passat *** 2000$ less that I owed that day,because of early termination. I went several times and tried to find a solution.No one cared . I told them I am not happy with the Passat and that although I understand I can not get my old car back and keep the lease as well,at least I want a diesel .They did not want to change it. I called a lawyer and he advised me to go to a different dealer. They were really nice and exchanged the Passat with a diesel Jetta , that I am driving today and love. I did NOT have to pay the taxes again,as I was told at ********.I did lose another 1000$,because they paid 1000$ less for the Passat,although I had it for roughly 2 weeks total. They gave me a good deal for the Diesel,so I was finally able to change the Passat. My advice to everybody... Run away from ********!! They will mislead you,smile in your face and rip you off! I could have easily sold my ******** privately for XXXXX$. They convinced me to buy a car I didn't want, they didn't tell me I must drive it first,before I make a decision,they took advantage of the fact that I was in a rush to get to my rehearsal that night. What I lost because I stepped into their facility: 5.500$( the difference between what the kbb offered for my old vehicle and what they gave me) 2700$ downpayment which they took from my trade in) 1000 $ I lost when I traded in the Passat to finally get the car I wanted in the first place,a diesel. Plus the first month's payment for the Passat . That is a total of over 9500$!!! I believe I am entitled to at least 2700$ in refund! I hope you can help!! My grade for ******** is F- The ******** account number was XXXXXXXXX Vehicle :SEL Premium Passat ******** I want future customers to be aware of their tactics and lack of professionalism!I feel I was scammed! Who knows how many other people were in my situation and just didn't dare to write to the BBB? Sincerely, ****** *****

Desired Settlement: I want at least 2700$ back from the 9500.00$ I 've lost doing business with them!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/25) */ In response to the consumer's complaint: 1)The consumer states that she did not test drive the vehicle she purchased. The dealer's sales process includes a thorough test drive and the customer was asked and offered by the salesperson and sales manager but the customer declined stating lack of time or need. 2)The check amount sent to the consumer for $6500 was issued when the title to the traded car was finally received from the lien holder. Typically a 5-10 day turn around is feasible if the lien holder processes the title without delay. 3)The customer's trade appeared on the website because the host site pulls stocked-car information to the website every night. The customer's car was wholesaled and not available for re-sale at the dealer. It appeared on the website until it was wholesaled and removed from the inventory system. 4)The dealer's manager and sales person spent several days, offered a number of options and creative alternatives in order to resolve and satisfy the consumer's needs and requests. The dealer principal and GM were both involved in the attempt to satisfy the consumer's demands. 5)The structure of the original transaction and the structure of the proposed alternatives were based on the best options for the consumer and those options were shared with the other VW store's managers in order to best serve the consumer. The details of the trade values and selling prices, etc., were on par with each store. The difference to the consumer was the venue. The original dealer was not able to recover from the consumer's impressions of the original transaction. 6)The other VW store stated that they only made the sale with the consumer because it was the last day of the week and it allowed the store to meets its sales objective. The sale was completed after 11pm at night after hours of back and forth with the consumer. 7)In conclusion, the consumer has no basis for the requests demanded. The entire transaction was completed in the best faith and character of a A+ rated BBB dealer. The consumer was offered and accepted the terms of the sale and then later regretted the purchase. Every option was offered in good faith to resolve the consumers concerns but all were rejected. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/12/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The one who should be and actually is very disappointed is me, along with other customers.Sooner rather than later a class action lawsuit should follow your "fair and honest manners", which leave people broke in the process. The people at ******** will lie in your face, with big smiles and make you lose a lot money,offering you "good" deals. Here is just one example of their "honesty": "There is no exchange policy as any vehicle that was delivered as new would have to be disclosed as used to the next buyer" The Passat **** gave me was NOT brand new!! It had over 1000 miles on it!!!It should not have been considered "New". Because it was USED...used before I purchased it! When I went back the second day,I barely had driven few miles with it! They should have exchange it for the Diesel I wanted in the first place! No matter how hard I tried, they still didn't want to.That is the only reason "the customer decided to buy elsewhere"...Correction...to Exchange elsewhere... at another VW dealership,26 miles away from home! Not convenient, but I had no other choice left! Worst car buying experience ever at ********! However,I am still hoping to get a refund!I know am entitled to it! Prove to me and the BBB that your dealership really cares about their customers! You may still redeem yourselves! I will gladly withdraw my reviews if you treat me with fairness! Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/02) */ We are disappointed that the customer is not satisfied with the reply offered. The customer visited our store on numerous occasions and showed an interest in several different cars. After long and extensive negotiations the customer decided to purchase a gas Passat ****** The customer had buyer's remorse and wanted to exchange the car for a diesel model. There is no exchange policy as any vehicle that was delivered as new would have to be disclosed as used to the next buyer. The customer's car was registered electronically with the state. We explained to the customer that the car could not be exchanged but rather traded for another vehicle. The customer decided to eventually buy elsewhere. We have fulfilled our obligation to the customer in a fair and honest manner.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Jennings Volkswagen, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart