Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jack Phelan Chevrolet, Inc.

Phone: (708) 442-4000 Fax: (708) 442-4106 View Additional Phone Numbers 4000 S. Harlem Ave., Lyons, IL 60534 http://www.jackphelan.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jack Phelan Chevrolet, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Jack Phelan Chevrolet, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jack Phelan Chevrolet, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1982 Business started: 04/01/1970 in IL Business started locally: 04/01/1970 Business incorporated 11/04/1982 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John C. Phelan, President Ms. Beth Cislo, Office Manager Mr. Rick Hiller, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John C. Phelan, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Services New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Additional Locations

  • 4000 S. Harlem Ave.

    Lyons, IL 60534 (708) 426-7196

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tried to sell the car and get price for sell and was told by dealer hood is NOT original, driver door had prior paint work, passenger rear door had prior paint work, passenger fender NOT original, passenger front door prior paint work, passenger quarter prior paintwork. We have NEVER wrecked the car, we have replaced the tires and were NEVER told prior to purchasing the car that ANY of these issues were there with this car. Had we known ANY of this we NEVER would have bought the car!

Desired Settlement: We want the difference paid to us from what we were offered to auction the car off versus the Kelley Blue Book value of our car!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/23) */ Subject Matter Case # ******** ********, ****** I am rebutting the customer complaint I contacted Mr.********** at ************ and advised him that the vehicle he purchased from Jack Phelan Dodge had minor body work done at a body company, named ************. The Hood, right front fender and right front door shell were repaired for a total of $1006.32. The vehicle was purchased on 6/14 /2013 for $30,000.70 with 34722 miles on it. The vehicle is a 2011 Chevrolet Suburban 1500. Mr. ******** advises that the vehicle has 62,000 miles on it and is in good condition. Mr. ******** states that ******* will only give him $17000 for the vehicle and that he wants the Dealership to reimburse him the difference between Kelly Blue Book Figures. His vehicle has an auto check score of 89, which is very high. Car Max just offered a very low figure. The Kelly Blue book figure is $22,521. I advised Mr. ******** that I would allow him $22, 521 trade in value on any vehicle that he bought from us Please contact me with any questions. Regards, ****** ******* Customer Relations Manager Jack Phelan Auto Group ************

4/6/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my daughter's 2014 chevy spark in to get recalls taken care of and when i received the vehicle back the front grill was damaged. I didnt notice at first as i dont usually drive it but my daughter noticed when she was cleared by her doctor to drive four days later. I contacted the dealership to alleviate the situation only to be told that it was given to them in that condition which was certainly not true. They refused to do anything about it. I have pictures of the vehicle from before the car was taken in and there was no damage. I took it to a body shop to assess whether it was damage from someone backing into it or some other cause and was told that it looked as though someone kicked it in or they put their knee in it when working under the hood. I tried to go in with the vehicle in question and they said that it must have been crashed and that they didnt do anything. My vehicle is still under warranty and contract with them and they refuse to acknowledge their fault. We are not paying over $300 a month to be shooed away as if we were criminals.

Desired Settlement: I don't want money, all i want is for them to fix it and take responsibility for their mistake.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* C/S R. Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@aol.com The Customer drove his daughter`s 2014 Chevy spark into the Service Dept. of the Dealership on 03/09/2015 at 4:46 PM The Vehicle had damage to the front Grill, this was recorded on the dealership`s security camera. The damage is clearly visible and happened prior to entering our Service Drive The customer had his repair order written up at 5:04 PM and turned over his damaged vehicle to us at that time. I called the customer and explained that to him, i also invited him to review time stamp pictures that our security camera recorded. I also offered to replace the grill and install a new one at the Dealership`s cost of $135. Please do not hesitate to call me with any questions or concerns that you may have.

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased vehicle in ****** vehicle: 2013 *********** purchased new.

Desired Settlement: 1800.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* C/S Rel.Mg Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@aol.com I contacted Ms. ********* ***** at XXX-XXX-XXXX I advised Ms. ***** that the Dealership was cancelling her Waranty as per her request and that the full purchase price of $1684 will be refunded to **** Bank, this bank financed her purchase of the 2013 Tahoe. I also advised Ms. ***** that the Dealership will be sending her a $25 gas card for any inconvenience that has occurred. Ms. ***** was very satisfied, i advised Ms. moten to call me with any future concerns. Sincerely, ****** ******* Customer relations Manager XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2013/11/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/11/08) */ To: MS. ***** From: ****** ******* Re: Refund of $1684 for Warranty Date: ******** 8,2013 Please be advised that **** Bank has been refunded the full $1684, and has been in possession of the funds since 11/05/2013. This is a full refund of the $1684 Warranty with no cancellation fees or finance charges being deducted. We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. Please call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX with any concerns that you may have. Sincerely, ****** ******* Customer Relations Manager XXX-XXX-XXXX


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Jack Phelan Chevrolet, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)