Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Howard Auto Group

Phone: (630) 832-9500 Fax: (630) 832-0629 364 W Grand Ave, Elmhurst, IL 60126 http://www.howardbuickgmc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description



Howard Buick GMC is a new and used car dealership which sells Buick and GMC cars. Located in Elmhurst, IL, this company serves the western suburbs of Chicago, including Addison, Villa Park, Lombard, Melrose Park, Bensenville, Franklin Park, Glen Ellyn, and Bloomingdale. Family owned and operated for more than 50 years, the dealership is currently owned by the founder's son.

This car dealership sells new and used vehicles from Buick and GMC, as well as used cars from a variety of make. Used cars range in price from $5,000 to $45,000 and include cars, trucks, SUVs, wagons, and vans. Model years from 1992 to the most recent year are represented, and mileages range from 10,000 to 90,000 miles. Both automatic and manual transmissions are available. New cars include cars and SUVs, and both gasoline and gasoline/electric hybrid vehicles can be purchased.

For both new and used cars, customers can sort by miles per gallon. Howard Buick GMC accepts trade-ins for used cars and has a calculator on the website which allows customers to receive a quote on their trade-in before bringing in the vehicle. Financing information is available, and customers can pre-apply for a loan before purchasing a car. The dealership has a service center for Buicks and GMCs: services available include car detailing, tire rotation and brake inspection, and various service packages which includes different levels of inspection and replacement of parts.

Visit the website for Howard Buick GMC to read more about the company's history, apply for a loan, value a car trade-in, and browse their inventory of new and used automobiles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Howard Auto Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Howard Auto Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Howard Auto Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1975 Business started: 01/01/1963 Business started locally: 01/01/1963 Business incorporated 09/17/1964 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven Zazove, President Mr. Morry Glicksman, General Manager Mr. Howard Zazove, Chairman
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Morry Glicksman, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Steven Zazove, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Detailing Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Tune-Up Automobile Pre-Paid Maintenance Plans Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Howard Auto Group has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a filer in the mail from this company, I call and they tell me I am approved for a 20k loan. I called the company back three separate occasions and verified that I was approved for this loan and every time they said "yes". I get to the dealership on May 29th 2014 at my scheduled time of 11am and have to wait 2.5 hours before I was helped just to find out after 3 hours of waiting they couldn't get me financed.

Desired Settlement: Get me financed like you said I was, you gave me an amount and an interest rate, I drove over an hour and a half to go to your business and called several times to confirm my approval and was told every time that yes I was approved!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/30) */ May 30, 2014 Better Business Bureau 330 N Wabash, Suite 2006 Chicago, Il. 60611 RE: ******** ********* Case # XXXXXXXX To whom it may concern, I have read the complaint. It turns out we were unable to get her approved due to her credit situation. Sincerely, ***** ********* General Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was informed three times before I drove to the place of business that I was approved. If you do not have an approval then you shouldn't tell people that they are approved I drove over an hour to get there I waited over three hours to talk to a man named ****** That is not a way to do business at all. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/05) */ June 05, 2014 Better Business Bureau 330 N Wabash, Suite 2006 Chicago, Il. XXXXX RE: ******** ********* Case # XXXXXXXX To whom it may concern, As a result of doing an additional credit search, it was discovered that not only did ******** have repossession with Heritage Acceptance which showed in her credit report which we knew, it turned out that there was another loan in her bankruptcy with Tom Naquin Chevrolet for the amount of $16,507.00 which didn't appear on her credit report. Unfortunately the finance company has rules about multiple auto loans that are written off or included into bankruptcy. We don't like to waste the customer's time nor ours. Sincerely, ***** *********

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Howard Auto Group
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart