Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Honda City

Phone: (773) 582-5000 Fax: (773) 284-2171 4950 S Pulaski Rd, Chicago, IL 60632 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.hondacitychicago.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Honda City meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Honda City include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Honda City
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1982 Business started: 06/01/1980 Business started locally: 06/01/1980
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ryan Graham, General Manager Ms. Kim Bianchi, Dealer Facilitator Mr. Russell Drozd, Service Manager Ms. Anthony Locquerico, Vice President Mr. Bob Locquerico, President Mr. Matt Milla, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ryan Graham, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Honda City has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/22/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The dealership charged us $1,598.00 for a pro package that we were not aware that we were purchasing. It was an add on that was not included in the advertised price. We did not need any of these items. We did not agree to pay for this package. The dealership just added it to the price without our knowledge.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the pro package cost.

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ***********

 

In regards to case number ********. We visited Honda City on 2/19/16 and cleared up the situation.  We still do not remember signing any paper in regards to the Pro Package. However, Honda City was finally willing to give us a print off of a digital copy of the paper we do not remember signing without having to pay the $25 they wanted to charge us for this copy. All this could have been avoided by them giving us a copy of the signed document when we first requested it. I didn't think we should be charged for a copy that we never received in the first place and asking for a signed copy is not unreasonable since it should have been included in the first place.

We are sorry that we filed this complaint that now appears false. However, we still don't remember signing the papers so a false complaint was not our intention.

During the visit on 2/19/16 we also requested that our extended warranty be cancelled. They agreed to this because we were within the 60 day cancellation grace period. However, they then refused to give us any proof of this cancellation request other than a copy of the paper I signed. Anybody can sign a paper and then not deliver it to the dealership. This does not prove anything. All we wanted them to do is date the document and sign that they received our request on that date. I don't see how this is unreasonable.

During our visit we were yelled at by both Brian Fuller and Ryan. We were falsely accused of going through papers on Brian's desk. We were told that we were in areas that we shouldn't be in even though we were led there by a sales person and never asked to leave until they got angry at us because we were asking for proof of the cancellation.

Ryan escalated the situation to the point of threatening to call the police to have us taken out handcuffed. We were called liars, we were told we were the kind of people that would never apologize (which is not true) and were constantly being yelled at. This is no way for a A+ rated business to handle business. An apology from them doesn't mean anything. Brian apologized and said he had a bad day and then 5 minutes later he's yelling again.

We never raised our voices and were nothing but polite. I just thought you should know how they actually treat their customers.

I am sorry that the complaint was filed and I consider it closed. I do not need an apology from them because it doesn't mean anything. I just want to put the experience behind me as it was terribly upsetting and I have never been treated like that before.

Sincerely,

**** ***********

Business Response: We are sorry if there was any confusion regarding the terms of this transaction. We have reached out to the customer, and believe we have settled the issues to their satisfaction.

11/25/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was about to call my insurance company to update my vehicle and in looking over my papers, they charged me $350.00 for multishield after I declined everything. I would have NEVER known this was on the sheet until I looked at my breakdown. Not once did they salesperson or anyone else ask me if I wanted multishield. In fact, the cocky finance manager questioned why I was declining all coverage.

Desired Settlement: For falsifying a document and throwing an additional expense into my contract without my knowledge, I would like to seek more than the $350. I don't understand how people sleep at night doing stuff like this.

Business Response: We reached out to the customer, and are going to send a check for $350. We are sorry for an confusion or misunderstanding.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

Desiree *********

10/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bought the car on the week of June 23, 2015, took in for rotor replacement and brake pad replacement on or around September 23 because brakes were already grinding y6 weeks into purchase. Dealership claimed to have done some type of 30 point inspection before selling the car and did not verbalize any mechanical issues that the vehicle may have, but I would think an inspection would include brakes? I scheduled service for rotor and brake pad replacement, brought my own parts, and had to rent a vehicle from enterprise for the day. dropped off my vehicle at 7am, Honda City didn't call me til 3:30 pm to tell me they did not have the right tool to remove my rear rotors and could only replace my front rotors and pads. The tire I asked to be check had a slow leak from the first day I drove off the lot, requiring a refill every 3 days or so, on the side wall, but couldn't bring it in until I did and they wanted to charge me 259.00 for a new tire. I told them I shouldn't be paying for a new tire and you all should have known you could not repair a vehicle you sold IF you had infact performed the inspection you claimed to have performed. As a result, I rented a vehicle for no reason and still have to go somewhere else to complete the vehicle repairs which entails me probably renting another vehicle and taking some more time off of work. I also requested that they check a vibrating steering wheel whenever I turn the wheel to the left and put in reverse, but they did not even address it. Very displeased.

Desired Settlement: At least a replacement of the tire, no charge.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com We are sorry Mr. ******* had a less than satisfactory experience with Honda City. Although he purchased his used car "as is", we understand his frustration. As a gesture of good will, we will provide the tire at no cost to him. Please have him contact the service manager, ***** ******* to schedule. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/10/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Although it is true I did purchase the car "as-is", it is the responsibility of the dealer to disclose any mechanical issues or defects that may relate to the vehicle. When I asked if there was anything wrong with the vehicle, I was told no. Further more, if Honda City persists with their arrogant mistreatment, I may pursue legal action. After taking the vehicle to another mechanic for replacing rotors, it was told to me that the rear calipers were "bad" and had been for some time. This further supports the fact that Honda City did not perform the "inspection" that they claimed to have. It still begs the question how do you sell a vehicle that you have not even serviced? I would say I am letting them off easy and I will be in touch for a tire replacement.

7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday, 16-MAR-2015, I purchased a 2012 Honda at the advertised price 0f $14,086. The sales manager added a $389.43 fee that he said was required by the State of Il. and therefore mandatory. I have since found out that it was not. Furthermore, I was overcharged on the 9.5% sales tax by $18.62. To add more insult to injury the sales manager became hostile after I refused all the "extras", he was attempting to pressure me into purchasing, going so far as to insult my mother by asking her why she was wearing dark glasses in his office (my mom has a medical condition). Then he wanted to know why (and how) I was paying cash as opposed to financing...again none of his business. The dealership also did a hard credit check on me, after stating they would not. This "sales manager" is a terrible person and has lost my business, this was our third AND LAST purchase from Honda City. Product_Or_Service: 2012 HONDA ACCORD

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want my $408.05 back. Also there was no reason for the sales manager to ask about my paying cash or about my mom wearing dark glasses in his office (my mother has a medical condition), none of which was his business. The manager became hostile after I refused to being pressured into buying the "extras" so they could make money. Also, I was told if I didn't sign the binding arbitration contract they didn't have to sell me the car?! So we spent another 30 min. discussing "bait and switch".

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/31) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com We are sorry you felt you had a negative experience. We double checked the numbers on this deal, and they were calculated correctly. The $408.05 to which Mr. ****** refers is the combination of the Doc Fee ($168.43), the Electronic Registration & Title Fee ($25), and the Title & License Fee ($196). The Doc Fee and ERT fee are taxed. I would be glad to go over this breakdown with Mr. ****** if that would be helpful. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There's still no mention of the unauthorized "hard" credit check that the salesman assured me would not be done (I paid cash). I just feel their practices are shady and their sales manager's hard sell approach unnecessary. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/04/16) */ We are sorry if there was any misunderstanding regarding the credit check, but we have a signed credit application, in addition to a signed Credit Score Disclosure Notice.

3/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Chrysler Aspen from Honda City on 10/13/2014. While driving home I heard loud clicking on the rear passenger side of the truck and the check engine light came on. I proceeded to contact the salesman but was told he had left for the day.I left a message informing them about the clicking noise in the truck as well as the check engine light. The following day a Honda representative contacted me, not about my issues with the truck (loud clicking on the rear passenger side of the truck and the check engine light coming on) but to ask me about my car buying experience. It was then that I informed the young lady the problems with the truck, which she replied, "Wow I'm sorry to hear that".I contacted Honda 10/14/2014 and was told to contact service.I explained the problems I was having and Andres in service told me to bring it in 10/16/2014. I took my Chrysler Aspen in on that Thursday and as I pulled in was told by ****** as soon as he saw my truck, though he was aware I purchased it there they only work on Honda I had to go to a Chrysler dealer it was then he helped me locate one. Went to Chrysler was told my extended warranty would not cover the work for thirty days because it was a preexisting that Honda was responsible for plus some things would not be cover under my extended warranty. I proceeded to contact Honda that said they would take care of it. They contacted the warranty company to speed m warranty. Chrysler did some repairs covered and Honda said to get a quote for the other work. The quote was $986 for three parts. Honda said Chrysler was a ripoff trying to get $900 for $35 dollar parts and $600 in labor. The owner Of Honda **** stated he would pay half of whatever the work needed to be done and that Honda would do the work. I took my Truck in 1/13/XXXXX. I have all text messages where I was quoted the price of my repairs was $299. When I told ****** I was told to pay Half, the quote was raised to over $600. for only one $35 part and $600 labor so I would pay more. Product_Or_Service: Chrysler Aspen Truck

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund There are more details, they still have my truck and when I pick it up I have to pay whatever they say. I would like my money paid refunded for the repair. I have spoken to the salesman to the owner and all those in between. They never return my calls and I have texts messages with the quotes given to me. I have tried to reach out to every possible person to come to some fair resolution but have only gotten a higher quote so I can be stuck with the whole bill. I only gave approval for one repair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/03/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com While we thought this situation was clearly explained to Ms. ******, we regret that there is still some confusion as to the agreement. As a one time gesture of good will, we will send a check for $150 to resolve this issue.

12/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Oct XX XXXX I went to Honda City to purchase a car and I was approved for 0.9% financing. ***** ****** the finance manager offered to sell me a service contract on three different occasions and I informed him that I didn't want it at the time of purchase, I told him I would think about it and if my husband and I decided we wanted it later that I would come back and pay cash for it, but I made clear that I did not want a service contract financed into my loan. I signed the loan documents and I left that day with my new car.Later on that night, while looking over the loan documents my husband and I realized that ***** ****** the finance manager slipped the service contract into my loan anyway! I had planned to finance $18,000, but my loan documents stated that I was financing $19,500...because Mr. ****** fraudulently and surreptitiously put the service contract into my loan hoping that I wouldn't notice.I called Mr. ****** on 10/13/14 to discuss the matter and he was uncooperative and largely unapologetic. He even tried to convince me that I originally said that I wanted the service contract! He referred me to ******* ****** who called me later that afternoon and said that all I have to do is call him with my account number (when Honda sets up my account) and he would contact Honda to make sure the $1,500.00 is deducted from the principal loan balance.On 10/31 I left a message with Mr. Dazzo, the call was not returned. On 11/3 I had him paged and also left a second message, that call was not returned. Now I feel I'm being ignored.I am considering contacting newspaper and media outlets to spread the word about the shady and dirty sales practices of this dealership. This conduct is disgusting and unfair and I am prepared to pursue further legal action if this matter is not promptly and FAIRLY handled. Product_Or_Service: Honda Civic LX Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want the $1,500.00 that was fraudulently added to my loan to be deducted from the principal balance of my loan as soon as possible, so that my loan balance will reflect the $18,000 I was originally financing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com We apologize for any delay and getting this handled for Ms. ***************. A check was cut for $1500 on 11/12/14, and sent to Honda Financial. This will reduce the principal balance on the loan. Just to be clear, the payment is not recalculated, but for all intents and purposes, the loan term will be shortened due to the principal reduction. This can take 10-14 days to work it's way through the system, so it should reflect the reduction shortly.

11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/9 an employee **** suggested I come in for a diagnosis on my car and to see ONLY him (or he could be in trouble) for a FREE diagnosis coupon. He asked I go in to the dealer on 10/12 but then remembered that they do not do diagnostics on Saturdays. We discussed my tight schedule (since they close service at 7pm during the week) and he said he'd make arrangements for me to be seen on Monday 10/13 at 5:15 which would allow just enough time to do the diagnosis which can take 1-2 hrs. I left work early, removed my son from his paid after school program and rushed over to make it to this appointment. Upon arrival, I was told by ***** ** that he "didn't come into work today" and unfortunately, could not see me for a diagnosis due to this incorrect promise made by ****. After expressing this dissatisfaction ***** offered to give me a loaner car so they had enough time to diagnose the car with enough time. I was told to come back on Weds 10/15 to do this. Again, I had to leave work early, remove my son from school and rush over in traffic....after an hour waiting, I was finally was able to pick up the loaner car/drop off mine. The next day (10/16) I received a call from Andres. He began telling me the results of the diagnosis. I asked that he read them all off so I could write them down, and afterward, asked for a quote for the total work needed. He gave a quote of $1499 but he could discount down to $1199. We discussed payment plans and all - I explained that I was overwhelmed by all of what he had suggested. I asked him to NOT do any work until I arrived with my boyfriend to speak with them - he agreed and disconnected. Friday 10/17 I went to return the loaner. I asked for ****, as I was told initially, only to find he is no longer employed by Honda City. The manager on duty that evening was ******* I returned to checkout and was met with a bill of 170. I explained what happened and he told me I should have told them initially and they MAY have been able to help but now since **** is not an employee and they have no proof would not help/discount me. They continued to mention reasons why **** and a deceased agent ******* had been the demise of the company. ****** walked away from me while speaking with him and *****. Not even an apology was offered for luring me into the dealership under false pretenses. ***** ended this interaction shaking the diagnostic results in front of me wishing me luck on finding someone else to take care of my car. This report included an additional $1000 worth of quoted work, outside of what I had already discussed with Andres the day before! I called to speak with the GM on Monday 10/20 and it was 10/21 before I heard back from a "Manager" who defended his rude employees and said he would not be offering me anything. I want a SIGNIFICANT discount here. I get the "guys in the back need to get paid" - thats your problem. The customer facing agents ruined the experience and your name!

Desired Settlement: HALF of my total charge refunded! I was promised a FREE diagnosis - I am willing to pay half but regardless of where I choose to service my car - i was promised a free diagnosis.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *******,Serv.Mngr. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@blautogroup.com There appears to be a misunderstanding about complimentary vehicle inspection, and diagnostic services. While we do offer complimentary inspections on vehicles for routine maintenance items (brakes, fluids, tires, filters, etc...), we do not, nor have we ever, offered free diagnostic work. While in some cases we may, ultimately, absorb the diagnostic fee if the customer chooses to do the work with our service department, we, like every other dealership and independent garage, must charge for our time spent diagnosing non-routine issues. That fact is hardly unique to Honda City. In the case of Ms. ********, the diagnostic fee of $125 was for a "check engine light flashing intermittently". This charge is clearly stated on the Workorder, and is clearly singed by Ms. ********. We ultimately discovered that the vehicle had misfires on all cylinders, and had a bad #3 coil, among other issues. This work was declined, and only an oil change was performed. Ms. ******** was also provided with, at no charge, a loaner vehicle while her vehicle was in our service department. As a gesture of good will, we would be willing to split the diagnostic fee with Ms. ********, as there was clearly a misunderstanding regarding this.

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used vechile from Honda City on 6/19/14 a 2000 Honda CRV and told it was a AWD. Good in snow, I asked to have it inspected before I bought it salesman Ricardo Gallarzo refused. I had my mechanic look at CRV and propellor shaft is missing , which means it is not a AWD as advertised that I paid for. I complained to salesman and he gave me 2 options they would pay to fix it or trade in for new car. Now they want to charge me 1200.00 dollars to fix it. Selling practice is a case of fraud, the vehicle I bought is not what they said it was. Deceptive sale practice after there mechanic did the inspection. They knew already. I feel they lied thus committing fraud in their sale practice.

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix it for free to make it the vechile they said it was.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com After reviewing the issue with Mr. *****, we are going to fix his vehicle at no charge to him. This should be completed next week once we have acquired the parts.

10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new vehicle from Honda City ,Chicago on August 08, 2014. The dealer used illegal techniques throughout the sales process, filed paperwork beyond the state filing dates (September 6), and then doubled and overcharged me for fees and taxes they weren't legally eligible to receive and refused to refund. The result was a brand new car sitting without license plates or tags because the dealer delayed filing the paperwork for almost a month until I threatened to sue, and dealer illegally increasing their sales price. The dealership also used the bait and switch technique on a previously agreed to sales contract and tried to pass a damaged car as new. The dealership also tried to steal dealer cash by adding an additional 1500 back into the sales price hoping I wouldn't notice. Even stated sales forms are legally incorrect. Finance Office tactics were sloppy and full of misleading lies and incorrect paperwork. Finance Officer redid paperwork four times while I waited and even after all was processed. After market warranties were posed as the parent company of Honda incorrectly. I provided dealer all of my documentation, signed the contracts, and I left with the car that evening after a 7.5 hour process post pricing agreement. I was then called the next day saying my paperwork was not in order and felt threatened that the car would be repossessed or additional monies would be charged. The dealer refused to call me back for almost three weeks until Honda corporate got involved. I paid ** state sales tax and title and registration fees in excess of the stated amount with a signed agreement stating a small fee would be charged (35) and the excess refunded. I was also inappropriately charged ERT fees which aren't eligible since the vehicle title was processed by hand and not by the state of Illinois (statute 1010.540). I've contacted the dealer daily to resolve this and finally had Honda Corporate work as my liaison. In my last contact with the general manager of the dealership ****** on August 28, the dealer commented that he would push the paperwork through and take care of the rest. The dealer later charged me late title fees and overnight shipping fees due to their mistakes. The dealer also charged duplicate title fees very clearly but the don't care because they have my money. If the dealer cannot complete the sales transaction and provide plates, financing, correct titling, and calculate fees in accordance with state law, the dealer should not be in business. The unfair and deceptive fees for which the dealer is legally ineligible to receive must stop and be reimbursed.

Desired Settlement: I expect a legal transaction, apology, and appropriate monies refunded. I expect the deal to be done as originally agreed and the dealer to make up for their mistakes. When a dealer promises to take care of the issue, I don't expect to be charged for it later on. Furthermore, double charging for fees, overpaying for taxes when it is previously brought up as an issue (multiple times), sending titling to a wrong address is unacceptable when these services are paid for and it is such an important transaction. I expect paperwork to be filed CORRECTLY! in a timely manner in accordance with state law and the dealer to go above and beyond to make sure this happens and communicate with the customer if there is an issue. I've regrettably turned multiple customers away from this dealership because of my experience. I recognize there are many good people at this dealership and I regret submitting these complaints but I have no other outlets at this point. I expect 173.94 refunded plus money back for time and suffering. Illegal ERT fees must stop and plates must be filed timely. State law and Consumer Practice Laws must be followed and the deception must stop

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/26) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com We have reached out to customer and are awaiting reply back. We have already refunded part of the money Mr. ******* has requested, and will be refunding the remainder due to the unintended miscalculation of taxes and fees for a ********* resident. Follow up response will follow after speaking with Mr. ******* regarding the issues.

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car on March 26, 2014 from Honda City. The car is a 2011 Nissan Maxima with a little over 38,000 miles at the time. It was sold to me by ***** ********** On April 21, 2014 the service engine soon light came on. I took the car to **** **** for a test and it indicated the MAF sensor was defective as well as possible reasons. I called and spoke with Myles a used car manager who told me to bring the car in. I took it to the service department and was told by ***** and ************** manager) they could not fix the car because they did not have the equipment. I was then sent to ******* ****** ****** but in the process was told that I would not have to pay anything for the repair and they were "good friends" with them and that is where they send Nissans they sell if they can't repair them. I was told that it was a service bulletin but not a recall from Nissan regarding the issue and that Nissan would fix the problem at no charge to me. I left and then called and spoke with ***** who was indifferent and then hung up saying I was getting loud with him after he informed me that if Honda City took responsibility of the repair they would have to send it to Nissan leaving me without a car, but if I took it to Western Avenue Nissan I would have my car act a couple of hours. I called back and told him good customer service would be to schedule the appointment with Western Avenue Nissan, he said he would. I waited the next day for him to tell me the time and he never called, so I called and spoke with Kevin who sold me the car and he said to give him a chance to right the wrong. He made the appointment and I was told by him that I would not have to pay anything for the repair because he spoke with Andres and this was a known issue via Nissan and they would repair it at no cost to me. I took the car to Western Avenue Nissan on April 26, 2014 and was told that I was outside of the manufacturers warranty because my car had 39,000 miles and was over the 36,000 miles the manufacturer required to fix the car. I spoke with Myles again at Honda City and then ***** spoke with ******* at Nissan as well and I was told by ******* at Nissan that I would have to pay 125.00 for a diagnostic test and then they would have to see if my extended warranty would cover the repairs and if not the 125.00 would go towards the repair. If it was covered I would then have to pay my 100.00 deductible via my extended warranty for the repair. I left and called ***** again and was told that he talked to the General Manager of Honda City and there was nothing they could do for me even though I was told that this repair would be at no cost to me by 3 people at Honda City. I called Western Avenue Nissan on April 29, 2014 and was told that they could schedule an appointment but they would have to keep the car and that they would leave me without a car and there was now way to tell me what can or can not be done with the car. The fault does not lie with Western Avenue Nissan, the complete fault lies with Honda City for their inability to take on a repair or then take responsibility for telling me that I would not be charged for the repair and discovering that I would not offering to rectify the issue in any way. I do not appreciate being told there is nothing they can do because as a consumer it just says there is nothing they will do. If this is a known issue, this issue should have been fixed by Honda City before they sold the car. I know that he issue did not become a known issue the day of my complaint. I feel that Honda City should repair the car. I'm not even asking to be reimbursed for my gas that I had to spend taking the car back and forth with no repairs. I should not be responsible for a car that I haven't started paying on. Please help me with this.

Desired Settlement: I feel that Honda City should offer to replace the car and if they refuse, I am asking that they repair the car and make sure that there are no issues on the car. I would like a loaner car if there is a lengthy repair regarding my car. I feel that this should be at their cost since I was led to believe that I would not have to pay for anything regarding this issue. Any charges should be their responsibility for falsification. I was under the impression this was going to be a simple issue. This is coming at a time that my father is very ill and I need to ensure that he is healthy and not worry about a car that I purchased because my previous car was having issues. I believe that Honda City took advantage of my situation and has now abandoned their responsibility. I am not asking for unforeseen damages. I am asking for a fair compensation for something Honda City should have resolved before selling the vehicle or an issue that they should have been proactive about resolving after I brought the problem to them for help. I was constantly reassured by Honda City that this would be of no cost to me, however this has cost me more stress than purchasing a new car whether its new or used should be,this car is new to me and I should be happy instead of disappointed by my purchase before I have even paid a car note on it. I hope that this issue can be resolved. I am not unfair but I do not believe that I should be treated unfairly and led astray only to be told in so many words, its my fault and I am responsible for the repairs and the price that comes along with it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/05/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com We have reached out to the customer directly. We apologize for any misunderstanding regarding the associated fees and deductibles in relation to the potential repair of the MAF sensor. As a gesture of good will, we have offered to cover the $100 warranty deductible for this specific issue, should the need arise to repair the MAF sensor that may be causing the check engine light. We will also cover any up-front diagnostic fees regarding this specific issue, and this specific issue only.

5/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/11/2014 afternoon around 12PM, the salesman Ricardo of honda city called me regarding a honda exchange program that honda city pays off the owner's car, and owner can have an option to exchange the old car with a new one. I was somewhat interested in this program and I went to honda city in the afternoon around 1PM on the same day(4/11/2014). ******* called the ******** ***** Bank in front of me, regarding my remaining auto loan balance of my previous 2013 honda accord ex-L, and he told me how the exchange program works. I agreed that if honda city pays off the loan balance, and with $33000 OTD price for a 2014 Honda Pilot EX-L, with zero downpayment at APR 1.9% for 60months loan, I will make the deal. It turns out that the APR went up to 5%+ but I still agreed as long as they keep other terms. So I waited for ******* and Honda City prepare the paper work, I was brought to their finance office and sign all those paper work. One thing I need to point out is, they had my address wrong for the first set ot paperworks, then I pointed out the address issue, the finance manager printed out a new set of paperworks, in a timely but not friendly manner. I did not have time to review the paperwork because he was flooding papers to me asking for my signature. I trusted the manager as well as Ricardo regarding the terms that Ricardo and I agreed during the price negotiation before I was led to the finance manager. So I followed the finance manager's instruction and signed every paper he requested. Things appered to be fine at the first place, however, only one week later, when I was having dinner with my friend, I recieved a call from the finance manager with an extreme aggressive attitude, I was accused for providing a lower unpaid balance so they are paying more then we expected. I was totally astonished because ******* was the only one talked to ******** ***** bank regarding the pay-off balance. If the paperwork is prepared following a correct internal procedure, and if they honor the terms we agreed in the deal, such thing should never happen. I told the finance manager that Ricardo is the only one knows the exact number, I didn't care about the number because our agreement is honda city pays off the balance. The finance manager then says he will call back later while Ricardo comes back from vacation. Now today, 4/23/2014, I received a call from ******* and he insists that I am the one who should be responsible for the difference between what we agreed and what was on the paperwork. I am very disappointed and I feel honda city is a dealership with no faith. Since the difference is caused by their internal processing, the only settlement I will accept, is honda city honor the original agreement, that they should pay off the auto loan balance on the 2013 Accord EX-L, and they should send me a formal written apology letter. I will never accept their statement that I massed up the number. The worse thing is, I dealed with Ricardo for twice including this time, and that's the only reason I trusted them, now I feel like I am fooled and I decided to be no longer fooled by Honda City.

Desired Settlement: 1. Whatever the difference between the actual number and the paperwork states, Honda City should honor the original agreement between Ricardo and I, that they pays off what ever the number was on the 2013 Accord EXL loan account. 2. I would like to receive no more calls from Honda City, you disappointed me. 3. Formal written appology, mail to my address, accept that your internal procedure flaws

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com On occasion the payoff we receive from a bank can be off for various reasons, and the responsibility for any discrepancy in that amount falls on the customer, as it is their loan. In fact, a form is signed during the final paper work stating as much. Having said that, we do apologize for any misunderstanding regarding this transaction, and Honda City will cover the $284.73 shortfall in the payoff. We will do our best to honor the customers wishes and no longer contact them, but we are always glad to help in the future if the customer wishes to reach out to us. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Honda City is still cheating on the short payoff reason, but I am sick of their full-mouth lies. The only reason that I accept your response is the money issue solved, and I am not willing to communicate with disgraceful dealership Honda City Chicago. Yet I accept the money-related part, I totally disagree their explanation regarding the short payoff, and I consider their explanation as deliberate defamation. Honda City claims that the payoff is due to bank processing, however, the truth is the short payoff is caused by Honda City's deliberate cheating by preparing paperwork with payoff numbers different from what was in the oral agreement. And then flood customer with papers , aggressively request signatures without giving time to customer to review the paperwork. Including this time I visited Honda City and purchased two vehicles. And neither of these two purchases are decent. Honda City should be grateful that I did not sue them at the first purchase that the mileage of a so-called "new" 2013 accord sold to me was 220 miles rather than 22 miles on the paper work. Yet they cheated me again. I wanted to warn every resident in Chicago area, do not ever consider Honda City for your purchase anymore. All they care is only grabbing more money from your pocket, in either legal or illegal way.

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: let me state it like this on 2/27/14 I took my car in to the dealership to have my oil changed and an cabin filter replaced in my vehicle in which a service tech informed me that they had done an inspection of my car and that they suggested that i needed an outer tie rod replacement,wheel alignment and transmission service. So the tech suggested that he would order a tie rod for me and i stated to him that would maybe get the part on 3/6/14 with that in mind looking at the cost i considered getting the part and taking my car to this guy who would put that on for $60.00 and on top of that i really felt i had no need for any tie rod because i had no problem with my car period. but the technician ordered the part and i said fine i'll be on the 6th to pick it up. now i stated earlier that i had no problems with my car the next day however my wife took my car to run some errands call me and said she was stuck in the street and my car shut off and i said how is that knowing i haven't had problems with my car so immediately i called honda city back saying what did you all do with my car i never had problems with it and now all of a sudden it shut off with no warning or nothing whats going on and they asked me where the car was and they sent a tow truck to go pick it up i stated my displeasure with them only to call them back to apologize for my behavior because i'm looking at how will I get home from work that night and so on... So now they had me come to the dealership and told me a couple technicians and the manager over the service techs took my car out for a test drive and stated it shook a couple of times but after that nothing was wrong and suggested maybe i brought some bad gas but let them keep it overnight and they will call me in the morning to take it out and test drive it again. So I asked how was I to get from work and they took me to Enterprise car rental and i had to borrow money from the bank to rent a car so now the next day came when I woke up that afternoon and said the dealership haven't called me and I wanted to know what was going on with my car so I began to call them and no one answered the phone until about an hour before closing so the tech told me nothing was wrong with my car and he had replaced my tie rod and did a wheel alignment i was really upset but I held my peace because Now i'm like they kept my car for one thing and did something else that I didn't want them to do nor did i not have the money for that repair and I had already told him I would be back on the 6th of next month for the part he ordered. I felt they sabotaged my car and put me in serious debt for money I did not have also made me pay the towing expense for something that was not in relation to what my car was brought into them for. The service adviser is **** ***** and the service manager is ***** ******** customer number XXXXX, payment method early access from ***** bank debit

Desired Settlement: I would seek for the money i'm out of to give back to the bank immediately again I should not be responsible for work I didn't ask you to do

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** Dev Dir. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com We have been in contact with Mr. ******* regarding this complaint. We are sorry there was a miscommunication with Mr. ******* regarding the tie rod replacement. This was a legitimate and needed repair, but we understand Mr. *******'s position. We did discount the bill initially, and we also paid for a rental car for 5 days while the car was in our service department. As a gesture of good will, we would like to offer to refund the labor minus the $60 it would have cost him to have the tie rod replaced elsewhere. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Because this is not want my car was brought into the dealership for, my tire rod was good enough the drive next year. Also, Mr. ****** he stated that the rental car was for 5 days, the rental stated that they needed the car back the next business day. Also, I had to borrow money from the bank for some unwanted work to be done on my car, which the bank charged interest. At the end of the my car shut off again and you still couldn't tell me what's going on with my car. With no disrespect to Mr. ****** by him calling me from another dealership, I'm afraid to deal with Honda because it's a game that they play. I would like to receive all of the money back that I used in the car rental and upon paying you all to pay back to my bank. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/03/27) */ As we mentioned in our previous response, we payed for the rental car for Mr. *******, which Mr. ******* had from 2/28/14 to 3/3/14. Please see the attached receipt. You will also notice a $40.50 charge. That was payed by Mr. *******. This is for car insurance, which he either lacked, or his policy didn't cover rental cars. Deteriorating tie rod ends are a safety issue, and complete failure can be catastrophic. We stand behind our recommendation. Having said that, we offered to reverse the work when Mr. ******* picked up the vehicle, at no charge, but Mr. ******* declined. As for the diagnosis of the vehicle "shutting off", or dying, we found no fault codes in the ECU (the computer "brain" of the vehicle), and could not recreate the issue. Therefore, we can not fix an issue that doesn't present itself. We charged Mr. ******* nothing for the diagnostic time. Our offer to refund the labor for for the tie rod end replacement, minus $60 still stands. Mr. ******* has a brand new tie rod, and therefore a safer vehicle, for the cost of the part and $60. We believe that is a very fair offer.

4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The questionable activity culminated on 4/2/14 as I flew to Honda City from ********** ** with the expectation of driving a new (used) minivan back to my home. This trip was based upon multiple phone calls to the dealership over the previous two-three weeks and working with several different salesmen, including *****, ***, ****** and ******* regarding two different 2013 Honda Odyssey's they had advertised on ******** and Honda City's own web site. I traveled with the intent of purchasing the Honda Odyssey Touring they had advertised at $32,994 after we had discussed price exhaustively. Prior to making my trip I specifically asked ***** to personally walk around the vehicle to make sure it was still pristine as the advertised pictures showed for this "must-own" beauty (as their ad claimed). I didn't want to make the trip if there were undisclosed scratches, dents, etc. to the car. He assured me that he had and that it was still in excellent shape, and so I set off for the dealership. When I arrived at the dealership on the morning of 4/2 what I found was a car that had unreported damage to the front driver's side corner of the vehicle. ***** reported that the damage wasn't there the previous evening when he walked around the car as I had specifically asked him to do. ***** and I sat down to discuss the new damage and what the dealership was willing to do. They couldn't fix it that day, and I had limited time. The dealership offered me $70-$80 off the price which wasn't anywhere near the cost for me to get it fixed myself. However, the worst of this situation was yet to come as I was then also presented with an approximate $2,000 increase in the price of the car for something called AIP. This is a reported interior car protection that ***** and ******* informed me was on EVERY car they have in inventory. Previously in the morning when ***** and I were test driving the vehicle he had mentioned *** and we both joked about how there was no way I was going to drive the car 8 hrs. to get something repaired using *** as a warranty. However, even at that point, it had not been disclosed that it was an add-on price, it was discussed in the context of it being included in the price. When I questioned ***** and ******* on this ridiculous cost and tactic I pointed to the printed out vehicle ad from their own website which I had brought to the dealership with me. There was no mention of AIP or this add-on cost anywhere in this ad. In fact, ******* then took this ad to his manager and came back with the disclaimer highlighted as their means of covering their lack of accuracy in the ad. I believe this is the most questionable practice, and indicative about the methods and practices of this dealership. If this *** is on EVERY vehicle, as they said it was, then it should be, without a doubt, properly identified in their advertising as a mandatory additional cost. I shouldn't have had to spend $606 in plane flights to be lied to about the condition of the car and to find out about this "hidden" add-on cost - that I wouldn't even be able to use.

Desired Settlement: $606 for flights to and from Chicago.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 5, 2014/04/10) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: The Director of Business Development for the auto group ownership company contacted me directly immediately. He was very apologetic, I believe genuinely interested in my complaints, and assured me he would have multiple discussions internally to make sure my situation doesn't duplicate itself. I am satisfied with their response to my complaint and hope that, in the long run, they are a better company for knowing the treatment I recieved.

4/7/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a **** ******** *** it came with 20" rim and tires which are too big for the car. The Dealer said that I had thirty days to bring the car back and if anything goes wrong then the dealer will fix it. But before leaving the dealer I asked for the rims to be taken off the car and they did not do that. I asked for the statement that I had thirty days to return the car for repairs and he did not furnish that. I also asked for an oil change before leaving the lot and I did not get that. Because I had to go to work I had no choice but to take the car. Unfortunately I have called several times to have the dealer with the situation and nothing but rebuttals and lying saying that he said it was as is and there was no agreement for longer than three days. So I told him next time you sell a car don't mention thirty days.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like for the dealer to at least give me the money to replace the rims and tires that are now destroyed because of product error. And I would like my down payment back in addition to the rims and tires.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** Dev Dir. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com We have reached out to customer. Waiting to hear back. Will update after we speak with Mr. ********. Consumer Response /* (450, 12, 2014/04/07) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: The dealer sent me $200 to buy smaller rims for the front end.

3/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Honda City
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart