BBB Accredited Business since

Gerald Nissan-Subaru of North Aurora

Phone: (630) 907-0800 Fax: (630) 907-2808 213 Hansen Blvd, North Aurora, IL 60542 http://www.geraldauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gerald Nissan-Subaru of North Aurora meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gerald Nissan-Subaru of North Aurora include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Gerald Nissan-Subaru of North Aurora
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 19, 1992 Business started: 06/15/1992 Business started locally: 06/15/1992 Business incorporated 05/07/1997 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Deen Collins, Operating Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Deen Collins, Operating Partner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Gerald Nissan-Subaru of North Aurora has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 213 Hansen Blvd

    North Aurora, IL 60542

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service
10/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After Gerald Nissan of North Aurora replaced my defective Airbags, my dashboard light flashed continuously. I took the Maxima back to the dealer, and wanted to charge me $685. for a part plus labor even though the car did not have did issue before the Airbags were replaced. I believe the Service department at Gerald Nissan shorted the Crash Zone Sensor, and now they want me to pay for this mistake. I took the car home with the (unsafe?) Airbags as I was not willing to pay for their mistake.

Desired Settlement: Fix the recalled Airbag system properly so the vehicle is safe to drive.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/28) */ Mr **** brought his 2002 Nissan Maxima into the dealership on 12/16/14 for the airbag recall notice. He had not been in the dealership since 1/5/09. We replaced the air bag inflator per the recall, and the customer left. On 9/25/15, some 10 months later, Mr **** brought the Maxima back into us for the dash light again flashing. Upon putting the car on the computer, the code of intermittent short showed on the crash zone sensor. We quoted the customer $685 to repair the vehicle, to which he stated that we purposely shorted the part out 10 months ago!??? Our Service Manager showed Mr **** the computer tape and told him that not only was that impossible, but that we don't do business like that. We refunded Mr **** the diagnostic charge, and offered to help monetarily with the repair so that the customer would have a safe car to drivethe customer declined and left. Our Service Manager left message for Mr **** after he left to again help with the repair; then he called me. After our conversation, Mr **** did call back, and we are going to repair the vehicle for the customer under "good will" with no cost to the customer. The parts were ordered Friday, and the repair should be done sometime early this week. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/09/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Gerald Nissan of North Aurora agreed to replace the "Crash Zone Sensor" at no cost to me (after I filed this complaint). I don't know why the Airbag light on the dashboard was flashing after the Takata air bag inflator was replaced, but it was. Now after checking on the internet, I found that Nissan has recalled 250,000+ Nissan vehicles due to faulty Crash Zone Sensors (see http://www.autoblog.com/2009/01/07/nissan-recalls-nearly-250-000-xterras-pathfinders-and-frontier/). My maxima was not part of this recall (but probably should have been). All new cars are required to have a Airbag system. The Airbag system should be guaranteed by the manufacturer for as long as the vehicle is running (and that should be the law!) Can Nissan (or any other car manufacturer) afford multi-million dollar litigation law sues due to a Airbag system that fails to deploy in a crash (and possible multi-million fines from the NHTSA)?

2/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We took our vehicle in for a tire replacement. Work was completed. Following winter we were losing 5 psi every 1-2 days on all 4 tires. Dealer would not repair without charge as it was 1 month/1,000 miles out of warranty period. Even though the issue only occurred during the winter months. Dealer claimed this is common issue. I believe that for it to occur on all 4 tires simultaneously is highly improbable. In addition if there was degradation on rims during tire replacement 12 months ago they should have notified us of the issue so it could have been repaired then. Dealer also sent out an email advertisement that says we match all tire quotes. When just tires quoted me to grind the rims and re-seal them at $0 the dealer would not honor that price as it was not a "tire" quote rather a tire service quote. In summary we had service done with dealer. Just outside warranty period we have issues and they will not honor warranty. Would not agree to handling the issue as faulty installation since it occurred on all 4 tires. Would not stand behind tire estimate coupon. And wanted to charge almost 300 for a service another company would do for zero dollars.

Desired Settlement: I don't want anything from the dealer as I got it fixed for free already. But as I stood there paying for the other work done and looked at a 2012 (or 2013) BBB award for no customer complaints I could not stand by and not file something as this service experience was a joke. They don't deserve to put that up and have customers think they stand behind their work as the obviously wouldn't on my tires.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/03) */ I apologize for the delayed response; this was found in my spam. Mr ********* had his tires replaced in **** 2012, and came in *** 2013 with the complaint on the tire pressure. Unfortunately with tire warranties, the actual tire company, not Gerald or Nissan, carries the warranty. They allow no "goodwill" as Gerald or Nissan does, thus the charge related to the repair. Having said that, I would have liked the advisor to communicate better with Mr *********; and offer to help in some fashion to remedy the problem. I have discussed this with both advisors and the service manager. I apologize for his aggrevation. We would be happy to fully detail the Murano or Altima this Spring for Mr *********, at no charge. Please feel free to call me directly, and we will be happy to arrange for him.

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we brought the vehicle in for service, we were told we needed a new catalytic converter (~$1000). Each time ***** ****** (service manager) called back with updates, more repairs were needed, raising the initial quote to nearly $2700. We were out of town and though that was our only vehicle, we decided to not have the car serviced at Gerald and opted to bring it back home for a second opinion. With a little research and a second opinion (and the help of Nissan corporate customer service), we were informed that the repairs were going to be covered under a safety recall on the vehicle (2003 Nissan Altima). Recalls are the FIRST thing certified repair centers should/do look for. Now, more than three weeks after the initial quote, the Altima is still waiting to be repaired because we cannot get ***** (or anyone in his department) to send the engine code print out to the dealership for repairs (***** told my boyfriend verbally that the specific code that fired matched the code related to the recall problems). ***** will not return our calls and even hung up the phone on my boyfriend (during a heated conversation, to be fair). Nissan corporate service has sanctioned the repairs, but without the code print out from *****, we cannot proceed.

Desired Settlement: We would like action or action steps to be implemented at Gerald Nissan, specifically ***** ******* so that he does not try to manipulate or "hustle" future customers. My car will be repaired as soon as he sends over the engine code, however don't know when or how he will do that. I request follow up with ***** so that my claim can be settled as soon as possible.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/12/06) */ Our apologies to Ms. ****** for the poor communication throughout this process. The Service Manager spoke with the customer on Thursday and resolved all issues. We had missed the recall campaign notices; by having the last digit of the VIN number of her car wrong! ***** e-mailed the tape to Ms. ****** yesterday, and all should be good with the repair out of state. Again, our apologies for the situation. Final Consumer Response /* (450, 5, 2013/12/04) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: The complaint was supposed to be filed for Gerald Nissan of North Aurora, not Naperville.

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are spiral marks around the lug nuts, dented lug nuts, and the lip on a wheel was gauged. I have pictures to prove this.

Desired Settlement: Cash refund of $1624.00 (not counting taxes)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/11) */ Gerald did not damage Mr ***'s wheels. The Service manager, *****, did a thourough walkaround the vehicle when Mr *** picked up his vehicle. Mr *** pointed out a black mark on one of the wheels, which ***** wiped off (grease) and Mr *** left satisfied with his car. Two weeks later, Mr *** sent ***** an e-mail, stating that we damaged one of his wheels, and that there was a "chunk" out of one of the wheels. ***** reminded him, that we had done the walkaround two weeks earlier, and all was fine when he left. We have the corresponding e-mails as well. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have pictures to prove the gauge of on the wheel. I also had those wheels since 2007. I made sure not to damage them and haven't had a single scratch since then. Just by the fact that Gerald Subaru technician ***** ******** dented the lug nuts shows the sub-par quality of work performed, and the careless handling of the wheels. ***** ********* the Service Manager, even verbally said "I'm sorry." Why would he say "I'm sorry" if there was no damage made? I want Gerald Subaru North Aurora to pay for the wheel repairs. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/11/04) */ As stated before, the customer inspected the car with the Service Manager prior to leaving the dealership; and found a grease smudge on the one wheel, which was cleaned and apologized for. It wasn't until 2 weeks later, the customer called with this complaint, or allegation. Clearly, had the wheels been damaged prior to leaving the dealership, they would have been pointed out during the inspection----not 2 weeks later!! We are sympathetic to the customers concerns; but clearly, the wheels were fine when they left Gerald.