Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Gerald Nissan

Phone: (630) 355-3337 Fax: (630) 369-4730 View Additional Phone Numbers 1575 W Ogden Ave, Naperville, IL 60540 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


A Nissan auto dealership that provides new and used vehicles and automotive service. This dealership offers new Nissan sales, used vehicles from all makes, automotive financing, and offers parts and vehicle repair services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gerald Nissan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gerald Nissan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 16, 2003 Business started: 06/15/1992 in IL Business started locally: 06/15/1992 Business incorporated 05/22/1992 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Deen Collins, Operating Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Deen Collins, Operating Partner
Related Businesses
Gerald Kia of Naperville Gerald Nissan of North Aurora Gerald Hyundai Inc. Gerald Kia of North Aurora Gerald Subaru of North Aurora Gerald Subaru of Naperville
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Maintenance New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Gerald Nissan of Naperville Gerald Nissan, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1575 W Ogden Ave

    Naperville, IL 60540 (630) 355-3337 (877) 576-9291


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/27/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Do not buy a car from Gerald Nissan unless u want to work with dishonest scammers! I was working with a Gerald Nissan salesman and I wanted to leave because I found a better deal elsewhere. he kept going on about the Gerald Exclusive Warranty and how I wont have that anywhere else. I asked him what I had to do to keep the warranty up and he said get your oil changes on time that is it. I directly asked if I had to keep up with the maintenance schedule and he said no. I said how is this possible and he said it will only affect 1 in 10 people because most people will sell there car or trade it in by the time something goes wrong and the warranty will be voided at that time. He said even if I wanted to do my own oil changes I just had to keep the receipts. My sister bought a Subaru and was told the same thing and when I told her how it really works she was beyond mad too. This is a sales pitch that is a scam. there was some problems I had with the car that I did have fixed but it was a pain. I needed 4 new tires and only got two then had to go back once again to do get the other two because they tried to pull a fast one and put the new tires on the front and rotated the front to the back. The new tires should always go on the back so they did try and pull some crap. I was told the car was never in an accident but the bumper was cracked and the hitched was bent on the chain catcher. they replaced the bumper but it was not flush which makes me think it was in a worse accident than what I was told. I was told they probably backed it in to a small pole. During the credit process we filled at the credit application and 5 minutes later they came back with it typed out and needed me to sign it again. I asked why our yearly income went up and my salesman said oh its nothing they are trying to probably get you a better rate. They raised our income to make our debt to income look better to look like less of a risk. Not only is this dishonest and illegal, but against the Truth and Lending act and will be letting all of the lenders know. I asked before pulling my credit not to shotgun my credit and the credit guy says "no its a soft pull". Once again that is another lie. I was thinking a nice dealer in Naperville would be a good place to buy a car but I was totally wrong. Very Sketchy and I've bought 4 cars before all great experiences expect this place.

Desired Settlement: I would like the warranty that was explained to me buy the salesman.

Business Response: Spoke with Mr. ******** and mailed him the information that he needed.  He is happy now and has my cell phone number for any future issues.  He went back on a couple social media sites and said that he was pleased.

4/17/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2014 Kia Forte from Gerald Nissan on March 8, 2015. At that time, they told me they could only get me a 3.49% interest rate on financing even though I was approved for 2.2% in an online application. I called the finance manager ***** ***** the next day and informed him that the other finance company said Gerald should rerun my application to get 2.2%. He informed me that he was able to get me 2.2% with the original financing company (Bank of America) and that I had to just sign a new contract. We signed the contract that day. However, Gerald submitted the original contract to **** of ******** Over the following month, I have called Gerald Nissan over a dozen times and spoken to ***** ***** at least three times. He keeps assuring me that they will fix it and it will only take "a couple of days" and that I will receive a confirmation of the change. **** of ******* is still showing the original interest rate and I have received no confirmation from Gerald Nissan. The first payment was due yesterday and is still showing the incorrect rate. After speaking to ***** (again) on Friday, he assured me that this issue would be resolved by Tuesday. It wasn't. I called him again on Tuesday and four times yesterday and he hasn't returned my calls. **** of ******* insists that the dealer has to fix the paperwork and Gerald Nissan keeps saying they will but they haven't.

Desired Settlement: I want to be charged the correct interest rate for the vehicle and I want a refund of any overages that I pay on my payments. Those overages are about $8 per month and it is a 60 month term on the loan.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/09) */ We are sorry for the delay in correcting this. The original contract was sent to BOA on 3/10, #XXXXXXXXXXXX. The new contract the *****'s signed at 2.2% was sent to BOA the following day, #XXXXXXXXXXXX; with a note to funding and a phone call to funding at BOA, to cash the second contract. We were funded on the deal by BOA, assuming they had done what was asked. When the *****'s learned the original contract was cashed in error, is when we also found out. ** and ******** at our corporate office left numberous messages for funding to correct, and use the 2.2% contract; to which a return call wasn't made until Tuesday. The buyer at BOA thought he could handle the problem, but was unable to. This morning we finally spoke to a supervisor at BOA, and got instructions to handle. I had my assistant cut a check to BOA and send today at 12:35, to pay off the original loan for the full amount, as if it had never happened. They will receive the check tomorrow, and redo the loan as a new loan with the contract they have at the 2.2%. ***** ***** just called me back and I explained what is discussed in this response, and he is pleased. Apologized for the aggrevation, and will take care of an oil change and gas fill up when they are ready for their inconvenience.

4/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 1,2014 I gave a personal check to Sales Consultant ****** ***** for $500.00 payable to Nissan Motors located at **** W ***** Ave. *********** Illinois. This check was to show that I might be interested in buying a vehicle that was being delivered to the dealership. It was stated in front of two witnesses that I was under no obligation to buy this vehicle. This was agreed upon by ****** ***** and **** the manager. I rejected the Vehicle. I told ****** ***** I would like my $500.00 check back. He stated **** the manager had it and was not in but, would tell him when he returned.12/05/2014 I had not received my check. Called ****** ***** and told him. He said he would mail the check to me.12/13/2014 I had not received my check. Called ****** Krick and he stated he would get the check from ****, mark void on the check and mail it to me.12/19/2014 I had not received my check. Called ****** ***** and he said he would check with **** and retun my call.12/22/2014 Call went to voice mail. Left message wanting my check returned.12/23/2014, 12/24,12/26,12/27 and 12/29/2014 SAME AS ABOVE. 12/30/2014 ****** ***** answered my call. Stated **** threw my check away.I stated this was unacceptable. ****** ***** stated he would call me back.12/31/2014 ****** ***** answered my call. Stated he would again call me back.1/3/2015 Call went to voice mail. Left message wanting my check returned.1/5/2015,1/6,1/8,1/12,1/17,1/21,1/16,1/21 and 1/26/2015 SAME AS ABOVE.****** ***** has never given me a call back or returned messages left on his voice mail. As of February 10, 2015 I have NOT received my personal check from Gerald Nissan of Naperville Illinois.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want my personal check written to Nissan Motors in the amount of $500.00 returned to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/02/28) */ We apologize for the lack of communication to the customer in resolving this. The deposit was given by the customer to obtain a Nissan Frontier from another dealership, as we did not have what they wanted in stock. The salesman went to the other dealer and got the truck. The customer came in and did not like the interior color; and didn't buy the truck. Normally, we would deduct the expenses incurred for the trade from the customers deposit; we did not do this. I was able to find the original deal at our corporate office (where all dead deal files are kept) and the check was still stapled on the inside of the deal. We never cashed the check. I am returning the voided check to the customer by mail today. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/03/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I finally received my original personal check on March 2,2015 from Gerald Nissan Dealership and only with the help from the Better Business Bureau. Thank You. Gerald Nissan at no time ever stated in front of me are my witnesses that they would take out expenses from my check for the vehicle that was delivered to the dealership. Therefore I would like copies of any and all paper work that was signed by me at Gerald Nissan Dealership. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 19, 2015/03/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Gerald Nissan Dealership should have known that I received my check because of the rebuttal sent to the BBB on March 3,2015. Gerald Nissan should also know of the paperwork that I want as of their rebuttal to the BBB on March 4,2015 stating "We would be happy to send the paperwork to the customer." So once again I would like any and all paperwork signed by me at Gerald Nissan Dealership in Naperville Illinois. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2015/03/30) */ We will send today. Thanks

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went into dealer with 1.9% financing from my bank, they told me to get the deal done I had to go with Nissan financing at 3.25% for 72 months the next day through Nissan dealers calling me that I could have gotten my price and 0% financing for 60 months. called sales manager numerous times and he kept telling me I got a good deal. The 0% financing was a Nissan promotion going on and they never offered it to me, I was tricked into to a higher rate and would like to expose there sales gimmick. Thanks **** Product_Or_Service: New car Account_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I feel I deserve the 0% financing for 60 months due to good credit and the Nissan promotion that was at the time of purchase but was not offered due to there sales tactics. Thanks ****

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/08) */ Mr ******** was given the $1500 customer rebate, plus the captive cash of $500 (total of $2000) for the rate of 3.25% for 72 months thru ****** Motor Finance. His payment is $378.27. Had he taken the 1.9% for 72, or the 0% for 60 months; he would have lost the $1500 rebate. Also, had he taken the 1.9% and lost the rebate, his payment would have been $385.14; $7 higher!! We apologize for any questions that Mr ******** has concerning the deal he received; but we structured the deal in the best interest of the customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/09/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is a completely different answer than they gave me, they just kept telling me I got a good deal. My complaint is that they did not mention or offer me the 0% for 60 months that Nissan was offering at the time of purchase.They mislead me on my finance options by not disclosing the ****** factory offer. Thanks **** ******** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/09/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This makes no sense,there was not never any rebate,we agreed a total price of 24,500, for the car and then the inyerest was added.I would like the agreed price with 0% financing for 60 months.The payment was never an issue.Im not going to accept 3.25% interest rate when I fully qualify for the 0%.Again the payment was never an issue that had a no factor in deal. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/09/12) */ We have the copy of the customer's True Car quote, and the price that we honored per the quote. The quote he had INCLUDED the $1500 rebate in lieu of the financing, which the quote clearly states. The quote also states that all rebates are applied from True Car!! Again, the rebate, or the interest rate; not both!! I would be happy to send the customers True Car quote to all parties.

8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a Nissan Altima at Gerald Nissan with the extended warranty. Later on I trade in that vehicle at ****** Nissan with the newer model. Immediately after this transaction I visited Gerald Nissan and met ***** ***** regarding my refund for extended warranty which is no longer effective after trade in. And ***** ***** asked me to filled out the form for refund in order to get the refund. I was told by ***** ***** that I will get my refund withing 6-8 weeks and it has been over 6 months already. I have called several times and met once with ***** and every time I talked to him He says the same thing, that "he is going to find out whats going on and will give me a call back", which he never does. He also doesn't answer call anymore and doesn't reply to voice mail messages.

Desired Settlement: I want my full refund money back right now.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/26) */ Our apologies for Mr. ****'s wait. As of yesterday, the warranty still had not been cancelled. All of the paperwork had been turned in the first part of March for cancellation, and it never got cancelled. We have a number of new girls in the office, and have had isolated issues with mistakes. My assistant cancelled the warranty and issued the check yesterday. I am also going to issue an additional $200 check to Mr. **** for his inconvenience and frustration. Again, our apologies.

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6/13/2013 I got a bad deal on vehicle #2 that was purchased from Gerald Nissan. The year before they leased me a vehicle that was entirely a bad deal. This vehicle the Nissan Rouge the finance department added all type of packages to the deal. The Dent Rescue service being one. However, just recently when I tried to use the Dent protection I learned that anyway you can get a dent it is not covered under this package. This sales item is FALSE ADVERTISING! It shouldn't be sold to consumers. I spoke with a ****** **** who works in Finance at Gerald Nissan and he told me he would email me a form that required my signature and Gerald Nissan would refund me my money. This phone call took place on 6/19/2014. It is now 6/25/2014. I've left two messaged for the Finance manager Anthony, he has yet to respond. I called ****** **** and left at least 3 messages but called him like 8 times. I also left a message with the GM who works there. The Dent Repair service said if I wanted a refund I'd have to call the dealership where the car was purchased which was Gerald Nissan. They are thieves they didn't explain this service covered nothing, I asked for a refund they said yes and now they refuse to respond to my request.

Desired Settlement: I want the entire $650.00 that was financed into my loan that I'm overpaying refunded back to me. I also would like the public to know to be careful when purchasing from this dealership. My second purchase was worse as the first then they promised me a refund and now they won't respond. Please assist. Thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/09) */ Ms ******** called to claim hail damage on her car under her Nissan Dent policy. We informed her that the policy did not cover hail, or acts of nature, and stated where it was in the contract. Ms ******** then said that she wanted to cancel the policy, and we told her that would be fine; but needed her signature on the cancellation form. She came in on the 27th, and signed the cancellation. We sent the cancellation to Nissan. The refund will be sent to Ms ********'s bank, as she has a loan on the vehicle. This can take up to 4 weeks for the bank to get the credit from Nissan on a cancellation. ******* is the original person that she spoke with, and he is in the middle of a 10 day vacation. We apologize for the lack of communication; but have submitted the cancellation and refund. Please feel free to let us know if we can be of further assistance. Thanks

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Gerald Nissan
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)