BBB Accredited Business since

Gary Lang Auto Group

Phone: (815) 385-2100 Fax: (815) 385-0849 View Additional Phone Numbers 1107 S State Route 31, Mchenry, IL 60050 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gary Lang Auto Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gary Lang Auto Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Gary Lang Auto Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1984 Business started: 05/15/1983 Business started locally: 05/15/1983 Business incorporated 05/15/1983 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Mike Fullmer, General Manager Mr. Gary Lang, President Mr. Jody Schutte, General Manager Ms. Wendy Wegner, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Fullmer, General Manager
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Shock Absorbers Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts Engines - Gasoline Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Service Area
Chicago and Northern Illinois, including the Greater McHenry County Area
Alternate Business Names
Gary Lang Cadillac Buick, Inc. Gary Lang Chevrolet, Inc. Gary Lang Imports, Inc. Lang Auto Group - Gary

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Gary Lang Auto Group has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1107 S State Route 31

    Mchenry, IL 60050


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 2004 Pontiac Grand Am needed to have the PCM(Power-train Control Module)calibrated, per General Motors. I contacted Gary Lang Service Department on January 19, 2015 and spoke to ***** ******* and asked if they were capable of calibrating the PCM and what the charge would be. He stated yes and the fee would be $138.00. Prior to Mr. ******* giving me the quote, he asked me several times what was wrong with the vehicle. I told him that I needed to get the PCM reprogrammed and my husband would handle the rest of the repair problems. Mr. ******* made me feel like he was a "used car salesman" and I did not want to chance the technicians trying to take advantage of me due to me being a woman,so I had my husband call to schedule the service. My husband called Mr. ******* to schedule the service and he also kept asking my husband what the problem with the vehicle was. My husband did give him the information and he made it very clear that all we needed done was the PCM to be calibrated. The service was scheduled the next day and my husband left work early to bring my car to the dealership. Once my car was brought back to the work area, ***** told my husband that he needed to diagnose the vehicle but he would not go over the $138.00. Then ***** came and told my husband that the vehicle would need to stay overnight due to the issues they were finding. My husband contacted me at work and I stated NO. I called ***** and told him to either do the work he said they would do, program the PCM or release the vehicle so that I could bring it to another GM dealer to do the calibration. My husband continually asked Mr. ******* to please just calibrate the PCM as he stated on the phone to both me and my husband that they could. Mr. ******* continually told my husband that the car needed the valve job and a map sensor. We did not bring the car in for diagnostics, only the calibration as we have an ASE Certified mechanic that performs all work on our cars. My car was released to my husband and Mr. ******* stated to my husband the we were chasing down false leads on the internet and he could not imagine where we obtained our information for the PCM to need calibration. My husband showed him the page from the GM website that had my VIN number and the calibrations needed.Mr ******* also told my husband again that my car needed a valve job and a map sensor. He further stated that the PCM could NOT be calibrated. I then contacted *** ********* and brought my vehicle in the very next day for the calibration on the PCM. *** ********* not only completed the calibration, but did it for only $90.00. Once the calibration was completed by *** ********** we took the vehicle to our mechanic at ***** Automotive for diagnostics. My vehicle did not need the valve job or the map sensor as stated by Mr. ******* at **** ****. This was a bait and switch technique used by Mr. ******* to get our vehicle in their shop. I specifically had my husband go into the dealership instead of me due to the "shady" feeling we both got from just our conversations with Mr. *******

Desired Settlement: I am not sure what remedy there is. I would like an apology for treating both my husband and myself like we are idiots. I did go into **** **** today, 2/27/2015 to speak with Mr. ******* regarding why he stated the PCM could not be calibrated. I further showed him all of my documentation from *** and ****** Mr. ******* did not offer an apology, even after I stated I was filing a complaint with the BBB.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/04) */ We have tried to reach out to the customer to resolve this matter and have not received a reply. Phone calls have been unsuccessful. We ask that the customer call us at XXX-XXX-XXXX and ask for ** - Service Director or **** ******* General Manager. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am waiting for a return phone call at this time. I left my cell phone number with the service manager. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/03/06) */ Dear BBB, I had the pleasure of speaking to ******** *********. We believe the matter is resolved. **** ******* GM

9/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The 2011 **** Fusion was purchased on 02/01/2014. Off the lot the car needed a new radio chip which ***** refused to fix and shot me off to **** Ford because they do not repair fords. When purchasing the car, the financier said that the extended warranties were free when in reality he said they were free. The only thing he did disclose that would add onto the bill was the Weather Proofing. I do not have paper work regarding the warranties except the warranty itself. Off the lot there was body damage I inquired to **** **** about. The vents in the console were broken. Also, the tread depth was just above the legal limit. Numerous other issues with the car followed.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund for the original down payment I made. The repairs are equal to, if not exceed this amount.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/20) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* G.M Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******** We desire to resolve this matter with the customer and due to the nature of the concerns we would like to set up a mutual time to meet. It is our belief that we can mutually settle this. However, important information in the form of paperwork that differs from the concerns provided will clear this up. Please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX x***

2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a **** *** *** ** *** about two months ago. I purchased an extended warranty with it. When I bought this warranty, the financial adviser told me it came with two years of free oil changes. I went in to get an oil change and they told me they had no record of me being able to get two years of free oil changes. I went home and looked over my paperwork. I tried to contact the financial department via email and phone numerous times to figure out what my warranty entailed and no one will respond back.

Desired Settlement: I would like my oil change refunded and my warranty details cleared up.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/19) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******** We have pulled the customers file after receiving the complaint, and came to the conclusion that she had not selected the ***** Car Care"(oil changes) when she was finalizing her loan with the business manager. At the time of delivery the customer was offered a variety of products and services. We have her signature and initials showing the only two products and services she chose was a *** Extended Service Contract & GAP Protection. The customer was offered the maintenance package and declined. We have spoken with the customer regarding this issue and re-iterated the way the transaction transpired and she stated okay thank you I must have been confused. We have all supporting documentation if necessary.

11/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: See above

Desired Settlement: Remove my email address from their database.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* VP/GM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******** Ms. ******* received an email newsletter from us. She replied asking to be removed from our email list. We did so immediately. I am not certain why a complaint was filed with the BBB. A historical note: we showed two ***** *******'s in our data baseboth at different addresses and email addresses, than listed on this oomplaint. We did finally find the email address listed; however it was attached to a different person, address and phone number. We apologize for any inconvenience we caused Ms. *******. She will not receive any further communications from us. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/11/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I tried to "unsubscribe" for at least a year now. It never worked. I even contacted your customer service department and asked them to remove my email and it still didn't work. My email is also on the list for *** ****** ******* addressed to *********** Please remove my email address from this list as well and any other lists you *** have. What's bothersome is that I never gave you my address in the first place. Thank you.

11/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I receive calls regularly from Gary Lang's service department - about every two weeks to advertise service my vehicle "needs". 1) I said I did not want to be on this service. 2) I have called 3 times to be removed from the service. Last time was on 9/28/2013 when I received last call. I was assured each time that I was removed from all calling lists but continue to receive calls from the company for the same reasons.

Desired Settlement: I just want Gary Lang to stop calling me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/25) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, VP/GM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******** We apologize for Ms. ********. I know she spoke with our staff asking us to not call her. Unfortunately, we could not find Ms. ******** in our system because the vehicle she was being called for service reminders is in our system as belonging to a different individual. We have now removed the phone number from the individual we show as owning the vehicle--both Ms. ******** and the other individual show the address. Again, we apologize for the mixup and have removed all phone numbers from our system for the other individual.

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This dealer promised to fix my overhead counsel. They installed the wrong one and put a useless button for an option I dont have also the part was damaged and the seam on the celeing is coming out. All I want them to do is install the correct part as promised and fix the damage they did.

Desired Settlement: Install.correct part fix roof

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/02) */ I am very sorry we did not correctly repair the console cover of Mr. ****'s vehicle when it was in our service department. I have spoken with both the used vehicle manager and the service director. They are ordering the correct part today. Our parts department estimates about 10 days for the part to arrive. The service advisor will contact Mr. **** when we receive the part in order to schedule an appointment to install the bezel.

8/13/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service