Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fox Valley Volkswagen-Schaumburg

Phone: (847) 839-8101 1000 E Golf Rd, Schaumburg, IL 60173 http://www.foxvalleyvw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fox Valley Volkswagen-Schaumburg meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fox Valley Volkswagen-Schaumburg include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fox Valley Volkswagen-Schaumburg
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 09, 2010 Business started: 08/01/2006 Business started locally: 08/01/2006
Business Management
Mr. John Grubbs, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Jim Bucolt, General Manager
Principal: Mr. John Grubbs, Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Additional Locations

  • 1000 E Golf Rd

    Schaumburg, IL 60173 (847) 839-8101

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I traded in a car with the agreement that I would be keeping the winter tires that were on it. They agreed to let me bring in the summer tires the next day which they would install and I would pick up the winter tires. I was asked about the condition of the tires I was bringing in and was up front and told them there was not much life left which they had no problem with. I brought the summer tires in and after getting the run around for a week and a half, I was told the tires were not good enough. None of the tires are down to the wear bars which are 2/32" which is what Federal and Illinois law say is the minimum tread depth. I got the run around from the sales person over and over and then started calling the used car manager. I spoke to him once and was told he would call me back. I never received a call back. I called and left messages twice and have not received a call back. I would like to get the winter tires back as promised by the dealership.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get the winter tires back as promised by the dealership.

Business Response:

We agree with the statement that we did agree to allow the customer to replace the wheels on the vehicle with a comparable condition wheel that was not a winter tire.  We also agree that the customer was to bring them in the next business day.  It was 5 or 6 business days later that they brought in 4 tires that were passable on the vehicle for sale but by that time we had already retailed the vehicle.  The salesperson tried to get in touch with them but did not hear back.  Everyday a vehicle is on the lot there is a carrying cost.  It is unusual for a car to sell in just 4 or 5 days but not unheard of.  In this case they did not fulfill there end of the deal within the timeline or in respect to the quality of what they brought us.  We ultimately had to sell their trade in for less because of the winter tires but had a customer that was willing to go out and buy new tires themselves and keep the winter set for wintertime.  We wish that things had turned out the way they were suppose to also. 

2/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lead my step daughter and I to believe we had no other option to finance her even though she qualified as a first time buyer with VW credit. Finance manager steered us into predatory lending options and an over priced car that would have put us upside down when it came time to refinance. Did not offer me my credit report and did not perform corrective measures as a credit data furnisher to correct credit data I provided with the credit bureaus. He wasted 3 hours of our time fitting us into a car we didn't want and finance option that were unfair.

Desired Settlement: Due diligence as a ****** **** ********* when advised the credit data on report is inaccurate per FCRA. Not to engage in discriminatory lending practices such as steering by not providing all available financing options.

Business Response:

Tell us why here... We apologize for the delay in responding to this complaint.  We unfortunately have not updated our account information.  John Grubbs the listed contact has not been with our organization for 18 months.  We will remedy that situation by updating our information on your site and on file with the BBB.

In regards to the complaint at hand, our sole objective is to find competitive financing for all applicants.  Based on credit situations we determine which banks are most likely candidates to accomplish that before said objective.  This was an oversight on our part.  ****** ******** does not typically deal with VW Credit  Inc. and therefore was not aware that the applicant might qualify for there first time buyer program.  Obviously it would have been to both the customers and our benefit to have figured that out.  We would have sold the vehicle as well as had an opportunity to sell aftermarket products which are not available often times through the "predatory lenders".  In almost every situation we have less opportunity to make money in the financing of a car deal when we have to use a bank that specializes in credit challenged situations.  Please be assured that there was no purposeful injustice meant here, just a simple oversight and lack of information on our part.

Respectfully,

*** ******

General Manager

Fox Valley Volkswagen Inc.

*** ******** ******

*******@foxvalleyvw.com

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract to purchase a 2002 Mitsubishi Montero from Fox Valley Schaumburg on 7/13/2013. The price was $8500. Part of the sales contract were that they would swap out a defective tire, replace the muffler and there is a 60 day 50/50 power-train warranty meaning the dealer and I will share the cost of the repair at 50% each. The sales person was ***** *********** and the Used car sales manager who participated throughout the entire process was **** ********* We did not pick up the car at the time, because they had to swap the tire and fix the muffler. They delivered the car to us in ******* in the afternoon of 7/23/2013. Right after the delivery, I could hear a loud sharp noise coming from the right rear wheel and smelled of something burnt. The next morning, I brought the car to a ******** **** ******* in *******, they repaired a ceased right rear caliper. The total was $244.90. It is obvious that the caliper had been bad before the delivery of the car to us. On August 15th, 2013. The car would not shift into gear. I had to take a bus to work. At the repair shop, they repaired the shift cable and a leaking O-Ring on Cylinder Head. The total for the repair for parts and labor is $505.17. The shop, ******* **** at **** ***** Rd. in ******* (XXX-XXX-XXXX) also noted that the pinion shaft seal and the cooling system 's clamps and hose parts need replacing. The cost for the repair of these two items is $723.57. The above mentioned parts are all part of the power-train. They total $1228.74. 50% of 1228.74 is 614.37. 614.37 plus the amount for the bad brake caliper 244.90 equals $859.27. The reason I have not gotten the pinion shaft and cooling system clamps and hose parts replaced is because *** ********* the used car sales manager told me that I should get them to approve the repair for warranty purposes unless it is absolutely essential for the car to be "drivable." I contacted ***** and **** right a way in regards to the brake caliper issue and all the other repairs. For the next six months until now, Mr. **** ******** has not paid me the amount as we agreed upon. He never returned my (roughly a dozen) phone calls and e-mails. When I did reach him (4 times I believe), he would tell me to ask repair shops more questions, then promised every time that he will take care of it, pay the amount and resolve the issue in the next few days. But I would then not hear from him at all. I have also attempted to contact their general manager. He never called me back either.

Desired Settlement: Fox Valley Schaumburg should pay the amount they owe me for the 50% of the repairs, which is $859.27, an additional $64.72, which represents the 4 hours I have conservatively estimated that I wasted due to the dealership's refusal to cooperate and stalling. (at the median hourly wage of ********* in 2012: $16.18, available at http://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes_wi.htm) and an apology in writing from Mr. ******** and the dealership for not holding up their end of the deal and giving me the run around. In Summary, they should pay me a total of $923.99.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/13) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@foxvalleyvw.com Vehicle was sold with a 30 day 1000 mile powertrain warranty. Definition of a powertrain warranty is engine and transmission lubricated parts. Not all customer issues are covered under a powertrain warranty. Would be happy to talk to customer about anything that would be contained under warranty. Would also like to resolve this issue.

9/23/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle purchased on 5/2/XXXX - XXXX ** ***** Paid via Bank Check, Vehicle started acting up after 3 weeks of ownership, numerous attempts via phone and email to contact dealer to ask for initial inspection report with no response/resolve. Vehicle has been sitting in my driveway for fear of further damage for last 4 weeks. per Local VW dealer, vehicle should have never been sold.

Desired Settlement: would like vehicle fixed, Engine is bad and will need major repairs, $3000-$4000 per ***** **** ********** in ********* ***

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/10) */ Contact Name and Title: **** K************ ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@foxvalleyvw.com; *******@foxvalleyvw.com Attached is a zip file with a response from our Pre-Owned Manager **** ********* a copy of the Buyer's Order, and a copy of the Buyer's Guide from the vehicle. Please contact either Mr. ******** or our General Manager **** ****** at XXX-XXX-XXXX with any additional questions. You can also email Mr. ******** at *********@foxvalleyvw.com or Mr. ****** at *******@foxvalleyvw.com.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fox Valley Volkswagen-Schaumburg
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)