Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fox Lake Toyota/Scion

Phone: (847) 497-9094 75 S Us Highway 12, Fox Lake, IL 60020 https://www.facebook.com/garberfoxlaketoyota/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fox Lake Toyota/Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fox Lake Toyota/Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fox Lake Toyota/Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 04, 2003 Business started: 12/19/1995 in IL Business started locally: 12/19/1995 Business incorporated 12/19/1995 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Brian Kurtz, General Manager Ms. Christine Meland, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Brian Kurtz, General Manager
Principal: Ms. Christine Meland, Controller
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Fox Lake Toyota/Scion sells the following brand(s): Scion, Toyota

Fox Lake Toyota/Scion offers the following product(s): Certified Pre-Owned Vehicles , New Vehicles, Pre-Owned Vehicles

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Su: Closed
Alternate Business Names
Garber Fox Lake Toyota MDMA Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 75 S Us Highway 12

    Fox Lake, IL 60020

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: in 2013 I purchased a new Toyota Avalon limited sedan. I have a defective carpet clip on the driver side floor mat. This has caused the carpet to slide under the gas and break pedals creating a significant safety concern. I have tried to have the issue repaired at the dealership but they refuse to repair it stating that it is broken because of the way I get in and out of the car. I was unaware that there was a right and wrong way but they tell me there is but are unable to illustrate the proper way to get in and out when asked. Today this issue caused the carpet to block the brake pedal completely and I was unable to stop immediately. fortunately I was not moving fast and was able to reach down with my hand to remove the carpet and stop.

Desired Settlement: I would like for this issue to be resolved. I would like my car fixed and I would like to have a loaner vehicle if the repair is more than a few hours. When this issue was first presented to the dealership the car was under factory warrantee and is still under an extended warrantee that covers safety issues.

Business Response:

Mr. ***** has presented the problem of his floor mat not staying place on December 8, 2015 and March 18, 2016.  The hole in the carpeting where the retainer clip inserts has been stretched. We also noted that the floor mat has stretch marks from being pulled/pushed.  This is typically from the way a person enters and exits a vehicle by pushing or sliding the mat with one or both feet.  This is not a defect in the vehicle, but simply stress, or wear and tear, on the carpeted floor mat and retainer clip.  The clip was replaced once as a good will gesture  and the customer was informed at that time that any further repair necessary would be the customers responsibility.

Regards,

********* ******

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Fox Lak Toyta never replaced the clip, they simply put the old, defective clip back in.

This is typical of this dealerships tendency toward dishonesty. Normal wear should never apply to

a vehicle under factory warantee and the insinuation that there is a warrantee voiding incorrect way to enter a vehicle is an insult.

Sincerely,

****** *****

Business Response:

I am deeply saddened by Mr. ******* dislike of car dealerships.  Please understand the dealership does not dictate what is and is not covered by the factory warranty or the extended warranty.  That is determined by the manufacturer themselves and we are bound by those covenants.  We would like to extend our employee pricing to repair the stretched carpeting that is causing the clip to dislodge which is $559.00, for the one side, retail is $737.00, a savings of $178.  Or perhaps Mr. ***** would consider non carpeted mats that are formed to fit the vehicle and stay in place such as a Weather Tech mat.

Regards,

********* ******

 

10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Problem / Purchase Date - 6/22/15 Payment Amount - $3,113.00 Payment Method - Low-balled trade-in Sales Rep - ***** ******* General Manager - *** ***** Year / Make / Model - 2009 Toyota Prius Was sold a pre-owned vehicle the dealership's General Manager claimed to have UCI'd(Used Car Inspected), yet check engine light appeared upon purchase. Instead of fixing the issue, the sales rep simply resetted the code, refusing the send to the service department to diagnose. Excuse: he did not want to have to pay the "unionized" workers to look at it at all. Toyota Corporate has wiped their hands clean of having any kind of higher jurisdiction in trying to remediate this from HQ.

Desired Settlement: Labor that the salesman welched on providing originally during sales process to replace the catalytic converter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/13) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@foxlaketoyota.com We have been in contact with Mr. ****** and he has requested an estimate for installing a new catalytic converter. We have supplied that information and have offered to install the part free of charge.

1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used the Fox Lake Toyota website to research which vehicle I wanted, and finally narrowed it to one particular ****** ****** *** of the several they listed in their available inventory. I went to the dealership ready to test drive and buy the truck. When I asked to drive it, they said "Let's see what we have..." Not only did they not have the specific truck I wanted to purchase, they didn't have a single MODEL like the one I wanted. They call it a "virtual" inventory, but the website makes no mention of this whatsoever. I call it classic bait and switch.

Desired Settlement: No settlement requested. Just reporting underhanded business practices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/06) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ***** Gen. Mgr. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@foxlaketoyota.com We do apologize for not having your vehicle of choice in stock during your last visit. Please understand that our inventories change daily based on new vehicles arriving at the dealership from the manufacturer and vehicles being sold. If there is a specific vehicle you are interested in that is not currently in our inventory, I'd be happy to locate it for you and have it here as soon as possible. Feel free to contact me directly for any further information you may be interested in. Sincerely, *** ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) He does not address the issue of posting inventory on their website that they clearly do not have at the dealership. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/12/30) */ Mr. *******, As I had stated in my previous response, our inventories change on a daily basis. Our virtual inventory can include vehicles that we have on order, or vehicles that are readily available to us. Again, if there is a particular vehicle you are interested in I would be happy to work with you directly. Feel free to contact me at your convenience. Sincerely, *** ***** General Manager


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fox Lake Toyota/Scion
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)