Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ettleson Hyundai, LLC

Phone: (708) 491-0200 Fax: (708) 491-0129 6420 Joliet Rd, Countryside, IL 60525 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.ettleson.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Hyundai New Vehicles and Used Vehicles, Service repairs and parts sales


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ettleson Hyundai, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Ettleson Hyundai, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ettleson Hyundai, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 26, 2005 Business started: 11/01/2004 in IL Business started locally: 11/01/2004 Business incorporated 05/17/2004 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael Ettleson, Secretary/Treasurer Mr. Tom Hollingsworth, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Ettleson, Secretary/Treasurer
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Ettleson Hyundai, LLC sells the following brand(s): Hyundai

Ettleson Hyundai, LLC offers the following product(s): Automobiles


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We promptly paid an $1100 bill for services that were ultimately not received nor correctly completed. Upon request for the return of the monies spent on services not completed correctly, and subsequent loss of the vehicle in question (damaged beyond repair due to poor diagnostic service), we were denied and then asked to consider paying over $3,500 more for additional services that were not requested. In addition, the attitude of the Assistant Services Manager was less than satisfactory, in our opinion, on two occasions as well as on the phone today. As a result, our family is "out" approx $1500 and a vehicle. Countless hours have been wasted due to poor ability on the part of this service department which advertises to be of "high quality." I have been told by the Assistant Service Manager can he no longer speak with me on this issue. He has asked that I contact his superior, and then that superior's superior, which I intend to do. Again, more time will be wasted to no avail I expect. The employee feels that "nothing was done wrong" in the two visits in 72 hours so he refuses to accept responsibility or to refund our monies despite the dissatisfaction we have voiced.They would rather, "meet us halfway" and take more money from us while probably performing the same poor quality of work. Why we would trust this service department to do what they say they will do now?

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the return of the $1100 which was fraudulently/deceitfully gained by this business as well as additional monies (approximately $350) which was spent on 3-4 days of rental car services as well as towing expenses. This incident has also already cost our family $300 X 12 X 3--for a new car (lease). At this point I would like an apology from the business owner for time spent and emotional upset.

Business Response: At 142,610 miles we did perform a minor repair to replace the oil control valve.  This valve only controls timing, it can retard or advance timing depending on what it sees, but that is all.  The balance of the $1,081.56 were maintenance repairs that had nothing to do with the engine failing.  We had not seen the vehicle in the 4 years previous to this repair and when we did get it the engine was 1 quart low on oil.  Was the oil changed regularly and engine maintained properly before we saw it? we don't know.  Any vehicle that has 142,000+ miles on it can have an engine failure at any time.  We did  what we thought was necessary to properly maintain the vehicle when we saw it, but had no idea when and if it would fail. 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: the auto was in to this location two times in a 5 days--including 30 minutes before it failed/died. The repair service was inadequate both times. No apologies were received. The customer service was also suspect during those two visits AND when phone and in-person complaints were lodged with management there. I am completely dissatisfied with all responses to my issues. The cost to our family has been great--as listed in the response and towing, time, etc. I would never recommend this facility to anyone and have pulled our three cars from being serviced there. Most upsetting, besides a great deal of money lost due to inappropriate and inadequate service, was how we were treated. Really? The answer was to spend $3,000 more dollars, at a place that didn't do the right job in the first place? That was the answer we received. Nonsense. The car has been serviced routinely, including oil changes, and those documents we have on file. Blame the customer. Nice--but typical of the response we have received from this business.

Friends, family and anyone else that will listen have already heard about the poor job done at this location. I make it a point whenever I am in a conversation regarding this facility or car repair in general. We have changed to Benak's in Western Springs--and even received a thank-you note for our business. What a change--and how refreshing. They should be ashamed. At this point, I want my money back For service not received.

 


Sincerely,

****** ******

Business Response: I stand by my response.  Judging by your response, no amount of money or refund would lead to a different opinion of us.  After 142,000+ miles, vehicles do wear out, just ask the people where you take your cars now.  Sorry for your troubles, but I don't believe the engine dying was our fault. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ettleson Hyundai, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)