Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Elmhurst BMW

Phone: (630) 833-7945 View Additional Phone Numbers 466 W Lake St, Elmhurst, IL 60126 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.elmhurstbmw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Elmhurst BMW meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Elmhurst BMW include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Elmhurst BMW
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 13, 2011 Business started: 01/01/1972 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1972 Business incorporated 12/21/2004 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Schiele, Owner Mr. Irv Shenderovsky, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Irv Shenderovsky, General Manager
Related Businesses
Elmhurst Jaguar
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Elmhurst BMW sells the following brand(s): BMW, Certified BMW, Used BMW

Alternate Business Names
BMW Elmhurst Elmhurst Auto Werks, Ltd.

Additional Locations

  • 466 W Lake St

    Elmhurst, IL 60126 (630) 833-7945

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ***** is aware of thlist problems that have been found after I purchased the car. The car purchased. The dealer failed to discloe the laundry list of problems with the car. the only comment is "as is". They cannot stand behind as is when they do not disclose the true condition of the car when asked. They stated the car was inspected and would not be for sale if there were problems. Car was purchased on a Saturday, their office was contacted on the following Monday. I complained about the roughness of the car and has teken it in several times after. it was not until I took the car to a reputable dealership that the tires were dry rotted among or issues. How could this car pass *** inspection by their highly trained technician with the many problems I have experinced? Why would they pass this problem on to a customer? I would have never purchased the car if they had been forthcoming.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like them to adiust the cost of the car by $10,000 and replace the tires and fix the rotor. If not my next step **** be legal actions.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/23) */ ************ purchased the 2010 BMW 528xi on 1/18/2014, on 2/4/2014 the car was brought into our service department for a headlight that had burned out and a water pump that had failed, also there was a complaint about the a.m. radio and the alignment of the car. The car was no longer under factory warranty and was sold to her AS IS AND SHOWN, for goodwill Elmhurst BMW took care of her service bills and provided alternative transportation. The car came back into our service department on 2/14/2014 for a noise while going over bumps (could have been weather related) Elmhurst BMW re-torqued the shock tower bolts also for customer goodwill which resulted in no **** to the customer. 5/2/2014 ************ brought the car into our service department and wanted Elmhurst BMW to supply here with brand new tires. Elmhurst BMW explained that new tires were not needed due to tread depth but if she would like to purchase tires she could do so. Elmhurst BMW also offered ************ the option to trade out of her car for another car that would make her happier but we could not seem to find another option. ************ wanted Elmhurst BMW to send her a check for $10,000 and new tires? Since that was not a realistic option for Elmhurst BMW ************ threatened to see us in court. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The car was purchased on 1/18. On 1/20 I called my salesman and told him of the issues I experienced with the car. He told me to contact service they were not able to schedule me until 2/4. Enclosed are the copies of the service record with which list my concerns and their findings for 2/4, 2/14, 5/2 & 5/10. Please note each time there was a concern with the roughness of the ride and the steering. BMW Elmhurst never once indicated a problem with the tires until after I had taken the car to another dealership and was advised of the issue with the tires and rotors. I have also enclosed a copy of their road test inspection that was passed ** the car. Why didn't their qualified service technician find the many problems that had to be fixed? Is it because the inspection was not done? The problems I have experienced do not reflect highly on the qualified service technician or BMW Elmhurst did not complete the inspection process. Because they failed to properly inspect the car and disclose the true condition of the car, I feel an adjustment is due. There is no way the car should have sold in the condition it was in to anyone. My request is that they replace the tires and rotors and make an adjustment on the cost of the vehicle. Or if they are willing as they stated in their response, to exchange the car for the full purchase price I would be happy to exchange the care for something comparable. All the repairs that they completed were at the expense of the extended warranty that I purchased not courtesy of Elmhurst BMW. Given a loaner care is the least they could have done, if the car was in good condition I would not have needed a loaner car; thank you for that. Please make a realistic resolution. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/07/12) */ Elmhurst BMW would like to make arrangements with Mr. and Mrs. ***** to replace the vehicle with any vehicle they choose from our inventory. We **** give the full selling price as value toward another vehicle. I would like to meet with them and assist in finding a reasonable resolution. The dealership has spent over two thousand dollars trying to make this vehicle satisfactory. I seems like the best conclusion would be a different vehicle. I hope to get together with the customer and find them a car they can be satisfied with and enjoy. I have tried to contact the customer and just today left voice messages on both the home and work phone numbers provided. Please ask for **** ******* the Sales Director and I **** do my best to assist with this resolution. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/07/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) **** and I have made contact, I do hope we **** be able to reach an amicable resolution.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Elmhurst BMW
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)