BBB Accredited Business since

Elgin Toyota Scion

Phone: (847) 741-2100 Fax: (847) 628-2849 1600 W Lake St, Streamwood, IL 60107 http://www.elgintoyota.com/index.htm


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Elgin Toyota Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Elgin Toyota Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 27 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

27 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 19
Total Closed Complaints 27

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Elgin Toyota Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1998 Business started locally: 01/01/1998 Business incorporated 09/08/1999 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bob Ellis, General Mgr. Mr. Mike Barich, Parts and Service Director Mr. Robert Loquercio, Owner Ms. Amy Volkening, Internet Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Ellis, General Mgr.
Customer Contact: Mr. Robert Loquercio, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Tire Dealers Auto Repair & Service Auto Services Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Auto Parts & Supplies - Custom Wheels/Rims New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Elgin Toyota Robert Loquercio Enterprises
Products & Services

This company is an automobile dealership.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Elgin Toyota Scion has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm unable to get Elgin Toyota to schedule my car repaired. I made an appointment with Elgin Toyota on 4/11. I was told that they DID have the parts on hand if I need the repair they would do it at that time. After waiting for my car to get repaired Elgin Toyota service person came to me and told me that my car WAS in the recall and they are out of parts. He stated that they would call me early the next week (4/13)to have me bring in my car for the repair. I never revived a call, so on 4/20 I called the dealership back to see what happen and to schedule my repair. I talk to the service department and they need to confirm that they would have the parts needed. Again they didn't call me back. So I called back a third time (5/17) and was put on holed for the service department but they never answered so the operator was going to give them a message and they were going to call me back to schedule an appointment but never called. I even sent an Email on 5/28 to ******@mytoyotaauto.com with no response from Toyota. They certainly where able to get my email address off the work order that I filled out back on 4/11 but unable or unwilling to get my car fixed. I did receive a safety recall notice from Toyota corporate in late July. I called them (X-XXX-XXX-XXXX)on 7/31 and let them know the issues Ive been having with getting my car repaired. They put me in contact with Elgin Toyota and the service manager explained that they where doing the recalls manly and now its in the computer and there should be no more issues. He then explained that it would be "another two weeks" for the part to come in and that he would call me. its now been over 5 weeks and Elgin Toyota has not called back. I feel that I have been more than patient with them and NEED to get my car repaired. Times I have contacted Elgin Toyota 4/11 - Called 4/20 - Called 5/17 - Called 5/28 - Emailed letter 7/31 - Called This has been portrayed as an serous issue recall and I should not have a passenger in my car but Elgin Toyota seems to be not taking this as serous as Toyota Corporate or the media has been. I cant imagine that I'm the only person that is having this issue with Elgin Toyota. It seems that they don't want to be bother with fixing this and is hoping that people will go to "Other" Toyota dealerships to have these repairs completed. Any help you can give me would be greatly appreciated. Tim **** XXX XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my car Safety Recall repaired/completed quickly and have a loaner car supply to me (at no cost) while the work is being done.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/10) */ Contact Name and Title: Kevin ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com We are very sorry for Mr. ****'s unsatisfactory experience. We have reached out, and are in the process of rectifying the situation to his satisfaction.

9/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchasd a van from this dealer in 2009 and was funded by a credit union, which I fully paid off and realeased the titel last week. Upon receipt of the title, I noticed that one of the owner's name spelled incorrectly on the title and have called and lest message thre times to the dealer's finance office as instaructed by the reception. There is no feedback and/or direction what to do.

Desired Settlement: Secretary of state cost for the correction may cost $100 to $150. Requesting either for the dealer to handle or to fund me for the changes.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/17) */ Contact Name and Title: Kevin ******,Dir.Biz.Dev. Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: *********************** We have contacted Mr. **********, and he will be dropping off title to us shortly. We will get it corrected for him as soon as possible. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/09/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/16/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a certified Toyota Ca*ry fro* Elgin Toyota in August of 2012. The ****** report provided to *e by the dealer reflected no accidents. I traded that car in for a different car fro* a different dealer in July 2015. When the dealer ran a ****** report to assess the value of the car, they found there was an accident in April of 2012, four *onths before i purchased the car fro* Elgin Toyota. That infor*ation affected the trade-in value of the car by $3000. Where the car's value on ******* showed approxi*ately $11000, I only received a trade-in value of $8000. Elgin Toyota presented false infor*ation to *e when they sold *e the car and negatively affected the trade-in value by $3000 (27%).

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a $3000 settlement with Elgin Toyota to cover the difference between what would have been fair market value for the Elgin Camry as they represented the car to me when they made the sale and the fair market value I received as a result of misrepresenting the car's history.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com Elgin Toyota acquired this vehicle on 07/16/2012 and performed a used car inspection and serviced the vehicle on 07/24/2012. As a result, the vehicle was deemed eligible for stringent Toyota Certification. It is important to note that while the inspection is thorough, it does not include dis-assembly of the vehicle. The vehicle was subsequently sold to Mr. ******** on 08/20/2012. Unequivocally, Elgin Toyota's records do not indicate that this vehicle had signs of an accident that occurred prior to or while in the dealership's possession. Elgin Toyota does not have a body shop and certainly did not perform any body work on this car or authorize anyone else to perform body work prior to sale. There are simply no records to indicate that Elgin Toyota had knowledge of or should have known that this car had been in a prior accident. At the time of sale, the ****** did not indicate a prior accident. In fact, the current CarFax shows the accident was not reported to them until 03/25/2013. Unfortunately, those records do not get reported to ****** immediately. As the dealership has no access to insurance records, it would not have been aware of incidents not yet reported to *******

8/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on X-XX-XX I ******* purchased a car in Toyota in elgin for 75 months payments of 329 a month which today i recieved a call saying my loan was denied. so on X-XX-XX i show up i was asked that i needed a deposit of $750 so i did. They came back with new terms never disgust the terms we signed when i get home i find out that my interst went up from 6.8% to 14.87% payments of 398.00 for 75 months which i think its wrong how can u let me leave on lower terms and a week later determine that it was unapproved give me a break.in the beginning of the nagotiations he pulled up my credit score and and extended view on why my credit was 640 I had a couple of late payments on previous car loan which i understand hurts my credit score but they used that as a negotiating way of making me feel bad we started on a 12% interest i walked out he call me back in and interest went to 6.8% which on those terms i agreed too but they came back with this 14.87% which is outrageous now on the monthly payment of 398 at 75 months with interest it comes out to be over 29,000 on a car that priced at 18,810.00 this is not good business its sad to know that they take advantage of me for being a woman i would really appreciate that u help me out with thi matter thanks

Desired Settlement: i just want a fair price and interest on this car because the terms i first agreed upon which were payments of 329 a month for 75 months which was first approved by them in the first place if not why did i get the car in the first place thanks

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@blautogroup,com On the evening of Friday July 10th, Ms. ****** took the car she selected and left the dealership. When she left, she clearly understood that the entire transaction was dependent on final approval from the lender. However, due to credit score and past history, the original lender rejected the deal; fortunately, we found a bank that approved her loan but imposed a number of stipulations. Again, this was clearly explained to Ms. ******. In fact, she returned to the dealership to sign new paperwork and she provided an additional down payment. All of the new lender's terms were clearly explained to Ms. ****** and she signed all of the revised paperwork that set forth the loan terms. We certainly regret any confusion and I would be glad to personally review the loan terms with Ms. ******. If we can be of any further assistance, please let me know. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/08/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I dont execpt their response beacause to me thats a shady move if they did not want my business in the first place why call me desperate for me to go in and they had a good deal when in fact they did not they came back with paperwork in envelope never explained anything to me just said singed here here and nothing was metioned about the details if i would if known all the facts i would walked out with no deal like i did previously before they called me with the offer in the first place they know what they did was wrong i wont go in to eldin toyota sorry but i will find a way to get another deal from another institution thanks

7/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I BOUGHT THE CAR ON *AY 02, 2015 BY PAYING CASH. I FOUND WRONG NA*E ON THE DOCU*ENTS AND INFOR*ED THE DEALERSHIP 3 TI*ES BEFORE RECEIVING THE TITLE ON JUNE 02, 2015. I CALLED TOYOTA CORPORATE OFFICE 3 TI*ES LAST BEING ON JUNE 29. I RECEIVED 1 CALL FRO* THE DEALERSHIP AFTER CO*PLAINING TO THE TOYOTA CORPORATE OFFICE AND *Y WIFE ADVISED TO CALL NEXT DAY AND RECEIVED NO CALLS. AS OF TODAY I DID NOT RECEIVE CORRECTION OF NA*E ON CAR TITLE. *Y NA*E IS " *** ********* *** " AND THE NA*E ON THE TITLE IS " *** * ********* *** " I FAXED TO YOU THE TITLE AND VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION CARD (CASE # XXXXXXXX).

Desired Settlement: IF I DO NOT GET THE CORRECT CAR TITLE, I WANT MONEY BACK.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com While we are sorry for the error, the license and title application was signed by Mr. *** with the M. clearly printed. At any rate, we will get the title corrected as soon as possible. While normally we would get the incorrect title back from the customer, we will apply for the corrected duplicate title immediately. We do need the current mileage in order to do this, which we need from Mr. *** as soon as possible. Once we have that, we will file paper work. Once Mr. *** received the new title, he can bring in the old one for us to shred, or he can do this on his own. It is critical to destroy the old title, as to not mix up the current title and invalid old one. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) If I did not submit complain to you Elgin Toyota would never contacted me. They contacted me on July 08, 2015. I called Toyota corporate office on June 01, 06 and 29 and they never contacted me.

7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had been pricing Prius V's via autotrader. Elgin Toyota had a 2012 listed for about 16500 for a couple of weeks. The price then dropped to 15990. Upon seeing the price drop, my wife called and talked to a woman from the online sales dept . My wife said we just saw that the price dropped and asked to talk to a sales person to discuss the vehicle. The woman acknowledged the price drop and told her that wasn't allowed and that the car had just been moved to the clearance lot. My wife then told the woman that we live 3 hours away and would be up the next morning to look at the vehicle. When we arrived at the dealership, the sales person pulled the car up and the price had been changed to 18800. Another sales person showed up and said that the car was mispriced, they didn't realize it until they had apparently tried to "sell" the car after we had called and told them we were coming to look at it. After saying it was a simple mistake and taking me for an idiot, he then tried to sell me the car at the inflated price. He was even going to sell me an extended warranty on it at their price and set me up with financing through them at a better rate. (How thoughtful). Why were we not called and told about the price change before we drove three hours in the snow, why was the car listed for weeks at a "mispriced" rate and then the mispriced rate dropped. That's two apparent wrong prices for the vehicle that no one caught until they tried to sell it to someone. When we showed up under the assumption the price was still 15990, not once was it even mention to honor the price that was advertised. This whole situation is wrong on so many levels and the public needs to know what kind of classless individuals are working at this dealership. I understand people make mistakes but to drop a price on an already mispriced car, thats on YOU!!! That price should've been honored or we should've recieved a call after the price was inflatted. We wasted time, mileage, fuel, and my wife took the day off work so we could purchase this car. No one ever asked if they could comp us for our time and money we wasted on this SHADY situation. I'm sure they will get away with it because the price was changed before we got to the dealership. I was also told prices fluctuate on cars all the time, i guess in this case it wasn't selling at the low price, so they decided to raise the price to try to move it. I love being treated like an idiot, by someone who thinks their a businessman by selling cars for a living.

Desired Settlement: Car at misrepresented price

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com While we do adjust prices on a regular basis, we understand the frustration experienced by Mr. ********. We apologize for not contacting Mr. ******** prior to him driving all the way up to the dealership about the price change. We have reached out and offered to sell the vehicle for the $15,990 price posted prior to price adjustment.

1/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car Toyota Solara 2001 I left at Toyota Elgin 1200 E. Chicago, Elgin on Jan 21, 2014 for big job clutch replacement and repair oil leak. This job was done for total $1600. I pick up car on Thu Jan 23 evening. After that I got new check engine light which I did not have before service at Toyota Elgin. I returned car Jan 28 Tue for warranty work still leaking oil and asked about fixing new check engine light with no charge for me. Oil leak has been fixed but I was informed to pay an additional $2300 for repair new check engine light code P0420 catalyst efficiency threshold. I am senior citizen with limited funds. I have picked up my car with engine light on and fear to damage engine. For me it is a matter of trust in Toyota Service. Having said that I expect to receive my car in better or same state as it was but not worse. What has triggered the check light? Is it possible that something has happened when big job like clutch replacement with many disconnect\connect parts contributed to it? Service manager has confirmed that technicians had to disconnect\ connect components directly responsible for check engine light P0420. He stated that technicians are so well trained that there is no way that it has happened then. He also stated that Toyota does not have insurance to pay for such a case. Is it possible that extreme cold temperature at Jan 2014 night when car was outside the Toyota building contributed to it? I keep my car in warm garage therefore it would not happen at my house. Is it possible that driving my car through bumps and potholes present between Toyota building and outside parking contributed to it? Is it possible that test driving my car contributed to it? Service Manager is giving me an explanation that aging of the car is primary triggering this problem. My response to him was to calculate probability of this to happen and see it in numbers. What is the probability of the component failure for 3 days time window if component is working for 13 years? 3days/13*365days equals 0.XXXXXX which is 0.0632% This is very small number so I have asked him "do you believe what you are saying"? I have asked technician if there is a way to lower cost $2300 by using statistics for each component which estimates which component breaks more frequently than others. This is commonly used for troubleshooting problems. Toyota technician stated that they do not use statistics. It sounds like they are trained to keep replacing parts with more expensive one first for better profit. After contacting Service Manager with questions one answer was with the catch. Question #3 Who can make decision to get it fixed with no charge for me taking knowing that new check engine light has happened when Toyota Elgin has been working on my car for clutch replacement job? "I've spoken to General Manager regarding your concern and he has given me the approval to assist in your request pertaining to Question #3. We will replace the front flex pipe only at no charge to you. This is the exhaust pipe we needed to remove for the clutch replacement. This will be the last investment Elgin Toyota will make in your 2001 Solara. If your vehicle should require further repairs (see email below regarding other convertor) or sensors we will not offer additional assistance. The replacement of the converter will be contingent upon your agreement with our offer." I asked him " Can I trust Toyota Elgin service?" "We realize trust is a very important factor when it comes to servicing your vehicle. As a Toyota President's Award recipient for the past 17 years we are committed to earning our customers trust each and every day." "Carrier politicians" at Toyota Elgin hope that I will pay and not search for a better rate and service. Tell them I am not going to vote for them. My neighbors tell me this is not right. My insurance agent said Toyota Elgin is liable for damage. General Manager had an opportunity to avoid posting this complaint.

Desired Settlement: Will Toyota Elgin stand up and pay $2300 in full or part for a damage which will remove my complaint?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/20) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com We have had multiple discussions with Mr. ***** regarding this issue since Janyary, and we would be glad to provide all of the emails, if need be. We have gone above and beyond with our offer in an attempt to satisfy Mr. ***** with a gesture of good will. The following email was sent to Mr. ***** previously, and this is still our position: Hello Mr. *****, I've spoken to Mr. ***** regarding your concern and he has given me the approval to assist in your request pertaining to Question #3. We will replace the front flex pipe only at no charge to you. This is the exhaust pipe we needed to remove for the clutch replacement. This will be the last investment Elgin Toyota will make in your 2001 Solara. If your vehicle should require further repairs (see email below regarding other convertor) or sensors we will not offer additional assistance. The replacement of the converter will be contingent upon your agreement with our offer. If you would like to proceed with the repairs, please let me know the time and date you would like to schedule an appointment. We have the parts in stock and should take less than 2 hours to complete. Thank you in kind for the blessings and same to you sir. ******* ****** Service & Parts Director Elgin Toyota Scion Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dear Toyota Elgin, The response from Service Manager Mr. ****** at the Toyota Elgin is not acceptable. It does reward Service Manager at the expense of customer. Requesting customer to pay for new check engine light which I did not have before service at Toyota Elgin is not acceptable. My insurance agent has advised me that Toyota Elgin is liable for the damage and I have the right to protect my car, my time and effort and receive payment for it. This is very common solution for customers used by insurance industry. I have returned my car Jan 28 Tue for warranty work still leaking oil and asked about fixing new check engine light with no charge for me. My expectations were to get big job clutch replacement and repair oil leak done with no problems. In return I have faced new problem check engine light. Statistically I had two open problems and one fixed. This means 2/3 which is 66% failure rate for service. This is high risk number for me. You had an opportunity to correct this on Jan 28. I think you have missed this opportunity. Why this has happened to me? Is it because I gave permission to service my car at Toyota Elgin? If I would know about how you are handling service problems as presented in your offer I would not give you permission to service my car on Jan 21, 2014. I recommend to take your offer for a test drive with your wife, your boss, employee of BBB, employee of **** ********** office and internet users who read reviews. Will comments from above help you to understand what I am going through? Is it worth to you to not pay $2300 for the damage? You have received OK from your manager to use $1600. Is it worth to you to not pay $700 for the difference? Regards Senior citizen ****** ***** Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/01/21) */ We have gone far above and beyond what would even be deemed reasonable in this situation. Our response has not, and will not, change in this case. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2015/01/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dear Toyota Elgin, The response from Service Manager Mr. ****** at the Toyota Elgin is not acceptable. It does reward Service Manager at the expense of customer. Update. As of today 01/29/2015 customer satisfaction rating for Toyota Elgin is at the level 0 because no payments have been received to pay for the damage. Level 0 is bad. Level 100 is very good when $2300 paid. Can you improve your customer satisfaction rating? Requesting customer to pay for new check engine light which I did not have before service at Toyota Elgin is not acceptable. My insurance agent has advised me that Toyota Elgin is liable for the damage and I have the right to protect my car, my time and effort and receive payment for it. This is very common solution for customers used by insurance industry. I have returned my car Jan 28 Tue for warranty work still leaking oil and asked about fixing new check engine light with no charge for me. My expectations were to get big job clutch replacement and repair oil leak done with no problems. In return I have faced new problem check engine light. Statistically I had two open problems and one fixed. This means 2/3 which is 66% failure rate for service. This is high risk number for me. You had an opportunity to correct this on Jan 28. I think you have missed this opportunity. Why this has happened to me? Is it because I gave permission to service my car at Toyota Elgin? If I would know about how you are handling service problems as presented in your offer I would not give you permission to service my car on Jan 21, 2014. I recommend to take your offer for a test drive with your wife, your boss, employee of BBB, employee of Lisa Madigan's office and internet users who read reviews. Will comments from above help you to understand what I am going through? Is it worth to you to not pay $2300 for the damage? You have received OK from your manager to use $1600. Is it worth to you to not pay $700 for the difference? Regards Senior citizen ****** *****

12/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: used 2012 prius 2 stock: p9026 is clearly listed on the Elgin toyota website and others as Toyota Certified Used for $15,990. When calling, the price and certified used status was confirmed. In person the sales agent informed me that it was $2000 to certify the vehicle. They also told me the interior care warranty was not optional ( I believe it was $649) Essentially making the car $2600+ more than it is advertised for. I have screenshots showing the price and noting that it is certified if you would like to see them.

Desired Settlement: Just helping others avoid the hassle. Could have worked out a deal if they had been honest up front. Paying unadvertised markups for certification and interior care is not honest.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com We are sorry there was any confusion regarding the pricing of this vehicle. We offer, and present, additional coverage that we believe is beneficial to the customer, but these are strictly optional, and that should have been made clear. This vehicle was certified in our auto group program, but was eligible for the full Toyota Certification, which comes with greater warranty coverage, and a more extensive list of reconditioning. The manager on duty at the time that spoke to Mr. ***** recalls discussing trade value, among other subjects, but was unaware of Mr. *****'s pricing concerns. Again, we apologize for not clearing that up at the time. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have images from the websites the business advertised on that clearly indicate the vehicle as Toyota certified used hybrid. The salesman and sales manager were very aware of my pricing concerns because I told them as soon as they indicated certification was an additional cost that was not advertised. When asked what I needed I told them I was paying the advertised price for the car with certification and needed a fair trade in value. That was very clear and the sales people involved should remember the sale attempt as 1 of them was frustrated and walked away and the other was still trying to close the "deal" as I walked out. When I called before visiting I was told this vehicle was certified and less than other similar vehicles because they bought it for less at an auction and it didn't need any reconditioning. Steer clear of this business! Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/12/05) */ Once again, we are very sorry about any confusion in our communications with Mr. *****. As we previously stated, we believe that the vehicle was represented accurately, but if our staff failed to adequately address Mr. *****'s pricing concerns, we certainly apologize. If Mr. ***** is still looking to purchase a used Toyota, I would be happy to personally assist in the transaction to ensure that there are no misunderstandings. We strive to satisfy all of our customers and if Mr. ***** would like to contact me directly, I will make sure that he will receive excellent pricing for his purchase and his trade-in. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/12/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Continuing to ignore the real problem of false advertising.

11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ***** ********* ,are asking you to look into a matter with Elgin Toyota,1200 Chicago st. i Purchase a new 2014 Camry at this location on 9/8/2014.At this time the plan was to trade my 2002 Gran AM , Red ,for $1500.And it this time i was to get $1500.for rebate ,total $3,000. purchase Price of the new car, Camry was $22,300.41 but what they have done is added the $3,000. to the P Purchase price they didnot subtract the amount . they try to convened me that the service contract was added to the purchase price but as you can see service contract wasn't added on the bottom of the list i return back to talk to Mr.****** ***** but nothing was solve . will you please investigate thiscompany , dealership. p.s. **** ******* ********* ******* ***** ********* Product_Or_Service: 2014 Camry Order_Number: XXXXXX Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I will like to have the contract, done over.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com This customer filed a complaint with the AG office prior to sending to the BBB. We have already responded to the AG with complete signed documents from the customer, and clearly explained the transaction calculations. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will send the paper work to your office. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/24) */ We have attempted multiple times to explain the breakdown of pricing to Mr. *********, and we would be glad to again. As I mentioned, we have already sent a response regarding this matter to the AG, clearly explaining the transaction, and copies of every signed document. Mr. ********* also has the right to cancel the extended warranties if he would like, but of course in doing so, he would lose the coverage of those warranties. A check for the prorated amount would be sent to the finance company to reduce the principal balance of the loan. Although the payment is not recalculated, it effectively would shorten the term of the loan. In other words, the loan would be paid off at an earlier date. He would just need to contact us if he would like to do this.

10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 10/25/2014- I wash shopping for a Toyota Camry, and I saw an advertisement on Cars.com for a 2013 Toyota Camry. The advertisement stated that the cost of the car is $16,490. This ad was listed on the dealer's website at http://www.elgintoyota.com/used/Toyota/2014-Toyota-Camry-496cXXXXXa0a00e007d86b9c70ff11ef.htm for $16,490 Cars.com http://www.cars.com/vehicledetail/detail/XXXXXXXXX/overview/ for $16,490 Autotrader.com http://www.autotrader.com/cars-for-sale/vehicledetails.xhtml?zip=XXXXX&endYear=2015&modelCode1=CAMRY&showcaseOwnerId=0&startYear=2014&makeCode1=TOYOTA&listingType=used&listingTypes=used&firstRecord=51&searchRadius=75&showcaseListingId=0&mmt=TOYOTACAMRY&listingId=XXXXXXXXX&Log=0 for $16,490 I went to the dealership and I saw the car was displayed right in front of the door. We were greeted by ******* ***** , General Sales Manager. I asked if $16,490 is the price of the car and he said "Yes, if this is what's on the website...that's the price." He took my information and he introduced me to a salesman-***** ***** and we went on a test drive. While I was driving ***** **** told me that the car was well below price and "You won't be able to find a cheaper car like that nowhere else". I liked the car and I was seated to start the buying process. I was not shown a price form them, and I asked them at least 6 times what was the price of the vehicle, and was told that whatever was on the website that was it. ***** **** took my information and gave it to ******* ***** to prepare a quote. When the quote was ready I was told that in order to buy this car for $16,490, I had to certify it, and the certification cost was $4,000. They estimated that my monthly payment was going to be $380 (For a used 2013 Toyota Camry). Let me just say that my credit score is above 800 and the interest rate doesn't play a huge role in determining the monthly payment. This is clearly a trick of the dealership to lure customers into their dealership and lie and mislead them. This can't be a posting error because it is listed on their website and two other sites. Nowhere in the ad does it say that the price does not include certification. I lost and hour and a half to deal with those dishonest people trying to trick me. If the car's actual price is $16,490, they should be selling it for that price, not $20,490 what it really costs. This is false advertising and misleading people. The car's VIN is *********EUXXXXXX Stock # ***** Seller's notes: *1 OWNER CAR* 1.9% FINANCING AVAILABLE! PREMIUM SOUND SYSTEM CD/MP3 PLAYER, FULL POWER PACKAGE, LEATHER INTERIOR WITH HEATED SEATS, ALLOY WHEELS, FOG LIGHTS, FIVE STAR SAFETY SYSTEM AND MUCH MUCH MORE! Call XXX-XXX-XXXX and ask for Internet Sales!

Desired Settlement: Change their dishonest practice of attracting customers.

10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We originally saw a 2011 scion XB, army rock color with 24,247 miles. The stock number is ***** and it was originally listed at $12,990, then reduced to $12,490 on the dealership website. When we went into the dealership to inspect the car on September 5th,we met ***** and ******* ****** stated that the car was listed at $12,490. The final price of the car though would become $12,990 because of an added interior warranty. ****** also stated that if it was deal breaker he would remove the $500 and put the car back to $12,490. We decided to take some time to think about it. Another part of the discussion of pricing was that the car had already gone through a price reduction, down from around $14,000, so Carlos said it would be difficult to get the car down any further. After we took some time to think about the pricing of the car, we called back a few times to make sure the car was still there. At no point in time during those calls did they mention that price had changed. When we arrived this final time to inspect and purchase the car on September 10th , we met ******* He informed us that now there was a pricing error and the car would now be listed at $13,490. This does not make any sense because they were willing to close at the lowest of $12,490. Also pricing a car at a loss makes zero sense. So this is a case of bait and switch (in terms of pricing). After meeting with ****** he directed us to *** who was very aggressive in terms of handling the situation. He was not willing to honor the original pricing or even the adjusted pricing at $12,990.

Desired Settlement: The only settlement we would consider is $12,990 out the door. Over the course of a week, at no point in time did they mention that there was a pricing issue. We have wasted a total of 4 hours just traveling to inspect this car only to be lied to.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com Mr. *** came into our dealership on Sept. 5, 2014 to discuss a vehicle he saw on our website. We offered to sell Mr. *** the vehicle for the price advertised on the website ($12,490 plus tax, title and license and any after-market products, should he have chosen). As he clearly states in his complaint, he declined our offer, and left the dealership. After Mr. *** decided not to purchase the vehicle, the dealership adjusted the vehicle's price to $13,490. The website was also immediately edited to reflect the new price. We can substantiate this, as our inventory management software time stamps price changes. The price remained at $13,490 after September 5th. We are sorry that Mr. *** decided not to take advantage of the pricing before it was adjusted. We certainly would have sold him the car at the lower price had he accepted our offer on September 5th. But, when Mr. *** declined and left the dealership without a contract (or even a written offer), Elgin Toyota was certainly free to adjust the price. As the BBB well knows, it is not uncommon for dealers to frequently alter vehicle pricing, depending on a variety of market factors. As Elgin Toyota's website properly reflected the price change well before Mr. *** returned (5 days later), Elgin Toyota was under no obligation to sell him the car at the lower price. We certainly regret any confusion or misunderstanding. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) -I saw listing on the Elgin Toyota website for a 2011 Scion XB. The color was army rock and mileage was 24 thousand. -I saw another listing on the Elgin Toyota website for a 2011 Scion XB. The color was silver and the mileage was 36 thousand. -Both of the cars were listed at $12,490. -When I arrived at the dealership on Friday the 5th we met ***** and he showed me both cars. -***** stated that both cars were priced at $12,490. He would also add in car mats for either one we choose. -When we sat down to look at the paperwork for the army rock XB he said that the price is changed to $12,990 because of the interior warranty. -That is a $500 increase that I did not expect. -After stating that I would need time to think about the new price, I met ******* ******* said that the interior warranty is something that is passed **** to the customer as part of the final price. But he did state that he would remove the cost if it was a deal breaker. -If the interior warranty was a true option, then it should not be added into the final cost unless requested. -An example of an option: "We have an interior warranty available for purchase" -While on the subject of pricing Carlos stated that the army rock XB had gone through two price reductions. The car started at around $14,000. Then it was reduced to somewhere around $13,000, then finally reduced to $12,490. -This part will be important later because it disproves the theory that there was a pricing error. -I left the dealership to go talk to the insurance company to see if we could receive an extra $500 to pay for the car. -On Friday we saw that the listing for the army rock XB was taken down. -The silver one was still listed at $12,490. -On Saturday the 6th I attempted to call ***** to see if the car was still available but he did not get back to me. -When calling to confirm that the car was still available there was no mention of any price change. -When I arrived at the dealership I was approached by ******* He showed me the car but informed me that the price was now $13,490. He explained that it was a pricing issue and that the listing had to be taken down. -This simply does not make sense because the silver XB that was listed originally at $12,490 is now priced at $12,990. So, if it was a pricing error it would make sense to fix the listing, then repost it. Instead, they decided to ambush me with the new additions, making the car another $500. A increase of $1000 from when the car was originally listed. -When going over the final price of the car the warranty on the car was aggressively pushed. Even after stating that I was not interested in the warranty it continued to find it's way into the final cost of the car. -The interior warranty was also not taken off or offered as an option. It was simply added into the final cost. -I also met *** who said that Elgin Toyota reserves the right to change the price of the car. -I understand that but how it was explained to me was that there a pricing error, not a change in market value. -He was also talking in a very loud tone. He took a very aggressive approach to try and sell the car. He used the phrase "are gonna work with me". I reserve the right not buy the car. Lastly he stated that he reserved the right to change the price of the car. In my opinion this is not an issue of a listing error. From the time they listed both cars they were attempting to draw in customers. After the customers have been drawn in, they would then begin adding on charges that they claimed were options. As stated above they were hardly options. The car would only be sold if all the extra "options" were added. Whatever pricing error that they claim is false. Carlos stated that Elgin Toyota had lowered the car to $12,490, not the listing company. They also have the ability to change the price if there was a so called error. As stated above, the silver XB is now $12,900 as opposed to $12,490 when it was originally listed. Lastly, the army rock XB listing has not returned. If it was a pricing error they could of fixed the price and re listed it. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/10/14) */ We regret that Mr. *** is not satisfied with our response, as we strive to have satisfied customers who fully understand the pricing of a vehicle. As we previously stated, Mr. *** decided not to purchase the vehicle on Sept. 5th for $12,490, and we subsequently changed the price. We certainly regret that we cannot assist Mr. *** any further.

8/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 4/18/14 - Purchased 4Runner from Elgin Didn't find out until after purchase that the protection plan were only applicable to their dealership. 4/25/14-protection plan applied. 6/7/14-Called Elgin Toyota and spoke to **** to make sure it was acceptable to have my car details in regards to the milk spill and that it wouldn't null and void my warranty. **** didn't know if this would be covered he transferred me to a finance person. Got voicemail and left a message, but call was never returned. 6/10/14 - Left message for ************* (never returned called). Called and left a second message for ****** ****** returned messages a couple days later and said they would fix my problem and take care of me. 6/13/14-Called Otavio (salesperson) and he was going to send me to ****, but already mentioned **** didn't know if it was covered under protection plan and he sent me to finance. Finally, text message from Otavio letting me know **** will be call me. 6/13/14-**** called me in the evening to schedule appt to bring 4 Runner in Tuesday, June 15th at 8:30am. 6/15/14-Took 4 Runner in and explain the milk spill when underneath the seat and in ventilation system. Also, explain that I had it detail twice and smell comes back. I let them know I didn't bring my truck 3 hours to have it detailed. **** typed all comments into the system and he didn't know exactly what was going to happen cause they never had this situation occur. 6/15/14-Stopped into ***'s office (finance mgr) he gave me another copy of my protection plan and told me it was covered. 6/15/14-Experience a salesperson showing me another couples credit report. Privacy breach. 6/16/14-Attempted to call ****. No return call. 6/17/14 - **** called me to let me know they sent my vehicle offsite to have cleaned with their chemicals and odorizes. Letting vehicle sit for a few days and see if smell comes back. 6/18/14 - Left another message for ************* and **** ********* Manager) Never heard back from either. 6/19/14 - Called and left a message for **** and never heard back. 6/20/14 - Called 3 times and left messages finally **** called me back and stated "Smell still exists and we are going to replace the carpet in the 4runner. He spoke with a manager and it's approved." 6/23/14 - Received a call from **** at 8pm that the approval for my replacement carpet was denied. This was unacceptable and I asked for a manager. Then was put on hold for 10 minutes. Hung up the phone and called back and received receptionist. Asked for a manager or general manager and specifically said I didn't want to be sent to voicemail. After 3 attempts I was never sent to a manager or a human being and was sent to 3 different peoples voicemail. One was *** * and another was **** * (General Manager) 6/24/14 - I never received any return calls and therefore I drove to Elgin (3 hours) to attempt to get my problem solved. Asked for a general manager and received *** * (Internet Sales Manager). We sat down and discussed the problem. The service personnel **** was OOO. *** was going to send my truck offsite again to have it cleaned, but I told him they had my truck for a week and **** already did that. After *** pulled my truck up to smell and see the problem he said we are replacing the carpet in your truck. He told me I was supposed to work directly with him and not service (****). 6/25/14-Called car was completed 6/26/14-Called *** * 3 times and never heard back 6/27/14-Called again and was told GM said truck was done and ready. 7/4/14-noticed when mats were out that carpet was defective. 7/7/14- Called Toyota filed a complaint. Service mgr ****** called me to confirm they did replace carpet. Sent him pictures of the damaged areas. He replied with email asking if I could stop through the dealership cause the carpets didn't appear to be this way prior to sending trunk to vendor for reapplied protection. I am having this fixed by a reputable business in my area. I do not trust this business to fix my problem.

Desired Settlement: I purchased my XXXX X Runner from Elgin Toyota on 4/18/14. Vin: ***********XXXXXX. Due to the unwillingness of dealership personal to return calls and poor craftmanship I am having this fixed myself. I am seeking a refund on the proteciton plan as it was sold to me under assumptions that is was part of Toyota Care. I wasn't told until after I bought my car that I had to bring it back to this dealership for installation of plan and any claims inthe future. After receiving my car back from the dealership, the carpet is only a week old, but appears to be worn out. Considering that my vehicle is not even 90 days old and the carpet has never had feet on it due to purchase of weathertech floor liners/mats this is ridiculous. I was informed by a professional that my carpet wasn't replaced and if it was this was extremely poor service and repair. For a new vehicle this is unacceptable. Even thought I would like to ask for a refund on the gas used to travel back and forth to the dealership to gain proper customer service.I will only seek a refund on protection plan package at this time. $800 plus tax and fees. I do not trust or want this dealership to have access to my truck anymore as I am not sure what they will do or how they will handle my business. I have attempted to contact ****** ***** (General Manager),************** (General Manager), *** ******** (Internet Sales Manager) and never receive return phone calls. At this point I would like to end my contact with Elgin Toyota and move forward with my local dealership. I have documentation and pictures upon request. Please feel free to contact me to discuss. Thank you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com Reached out to customer, waiting to hear back. Will complete response after speaking with Ms. ******. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have spoken a few times with ************ on behalf of the owner of the dealership. He is still in the process of working through my complaint. I wanted to respond in the proper timeframe and add a copy of the protection plan and photos from when I received my truck back from the dealership along with pictures of underneath the carpet per*********** Claim. Mold and Mildew along with chocolatae milk stains were capture. I am awaiting to hear from ************ on the offering of refund in regards to protection plan, coupons sent from dealership, rental car difference paid and gas for the trips I took to the dealership 280 miles round trip 3 times for them NOT to fix my car and commit Fraud in the process.I did have to file a*********** Claim to get this fixed and had a rental car for 10 days. The cost of this is approximately $2500 total. I did give him further information on privacy breach that occurred while I was at the dealership on 6/17/14.

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a used car from elgin toyota 3 weeks ago.When we got to the paperwork part the financial guy ******* ******** he tried to sell us an extended warranty for 1195.00. My husband and I denied it. So **** said that he could get us the same warranty for 300$.He said that Toyota offers a refund towards it. We agreed to buy it. The paperwork that we signed did have the warranty at the higher price..but he assured us it would only be the 300$. When we received our loan paperwork from toyota financial services, the warranty is 1195$. I called toyota warranty and they explained to me that their is no such credit that **** ******* mentioned. I am asking for a full refund as we are very upset to be lied to.I have called **** and he is still sticking to his story.However toyota says that that is not true.

Desired Settlement: Extended warranty removed and credited the 1195.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com We apologize for any confusion regarding the extended warranty. We are cancelling the warranty, and a check for the full amount will be sent to ****** ********** The check is required to go to the lean holder, and will reduce the outstanding balance on the loan (this does not affect the payment, but essentially reduces the term of the loan). If the customer would like, we can send them a copy of the check when it is cut. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/4/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: IN ********* 2011 I PURCHASED A "CERTIFIED" TOYOTA SCION FROM THIS DEALERSHIP, WITHIN WEEKS IT HAS PROBLEMS WITH THE AC, CAR WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY AND IT WAS "FIXED". PROBLEM REAPEARED THIS YEAR, WARRANTY JUST EXPIRED, IT TURNED UP TO BE THAT THE CAR WAS PREVIOUSLY IN SOME SORT OF COLLISSION AND IT WAS SEMI FIXED, BUT THE PROBLEM WAS NEVER SOLVED, THE FRAME OF THE CAR CUTS INTO THE AC LINES, THE FRAME NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED AT THE TIME, BUT THE MECHANICS AT THIS DEALERSHIP OPTED FOR JUST A SMALL FIX, INSTEAD OF FIXING THE CAR CORRECTLY OR AT LEAST INFORMING ME OF THE PROBLEM. THIS DEALERSHIP CLAIMS THAT THEIR USED CARS ARE CERTIFIED BY RIGOROUS INSPECTION, I COMPLETELY DISAGREE AND I BELIEVE THAT THEY SHOULD COVER THE PROBLEM WITH THE CAR.

Desired Settlement: I AM SEEKING THE MONEY THAT I SPENDING ON THIS CAR, $1400.00 TO BE FIXED. NOTHING MORE, NOTHING LESS.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** Dev Dir. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com We have been in contact with this customer multiple times in the past week regarding this issue. As it is our goal to have completely satisfied customers, especially a loyal one, we are making every effort to come with a satisfactory solution. We are currently working with the customer to schedule a time to complete the A/C repair, and this should resolve the outstanding issues. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/09/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a new battery from Elgin Toyota on May 10, 2013 and the battery died out on July 16, 2013. The battery died out when the car was in the city so we had to have it towed to the nearest auto shop. We paid $50 to ******** **** Towing for the towing cost and paid $110 for the replacement battery to ***** **** Repair & Body Shop on July 16th. Few days later we brought the dead battery that was originally purchased from Elgin Toyota to Elgin Toyota to ask for either a refund or a replacement for the battery that had died. The service advisor refused to do either even though the battery had a 84 month warranty as stated on invoice #XXXXXX. On their coupon it states even a towing warranty. We lost out a total of $270 from this incident. $110 spent on battery replacement from Elgin Toyota + $50 Towing + $110 spent on the battery that was installed from Super Auto Repair. We are asking for a refund for the original cost that was spent at Elgin Toyota for the battery that was replaced on May 10, 2013. The battery only lasted 2 months and 6 days. This is far from the 84 months warranty that was promised on the invoice. We have been deceived and scammed by their practices.

Desired Settlement: We want a refund of $109.95, the original price we paid at Elgin Toyota for the replacement battery.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/08/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** Dev Dir. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com We have been in contact with the customer, and after getting documents from them, we are in the process of refunding their money for the battery and the towing bill. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2013/08/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

8/22/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 2009 ****** ******* S. I have never missed an oil change and have taken care of this car I purchased new. (it had 3,000 miles on it when i got it. It has had numerous problems from the beginning including indicator lights that come on, factory recalls, engine not starting, etc.) Here is the situation I was afraid of is that the transmission went out. It has 116,000 and no extended warranty, but I was told by 3 different repair places (and Toyota) that this is a rare occurance. I even had an overall check on it at 2 other places and they said everything was fine on it Toyota told me they stand behind their products, and that the corp office would most like able to help me monetarily. As soon as i brought it in though, Ryan told me there was nothing they could do except take off $500 and I would have to contact Toyota directly. I also talked to the service manager **** ******* and the parts person ******* ******. The only redeeming quality about taking a car to the dealer is they always give you free car rental, and ******* took off 100 and explained that nothing further could be done because they would lose money. No one would explain to me what exactly broke and why this would happen. After asking multiple times and talking with 2 different managers because **** **** would not answer me. He refused to explain to me what type of transmission it was because he originally told me it was "like new" and will last forever. They told me that I need to come in after i have it 50,000 miles to have it checked and that there was nothing I could've done to have prevented this. A transmission flush was never recommended to me. (After i was accused of not taking care of my car by the service rep and was crying. I keep all my service records!) I'm not sure i believe this one is any better than the last one and that checking it is going to make a difference. The warranty is only for 1 year...I am worried that it will not last. I am planning on making this car last until at least 200,000 because that is why i bought a Toyota. Finally, I would just like to say that i feel harassed by the service rep **** ***** I feel the repairs were misrepresented, he was not able to answer my questions, and he told me that Toyota does not offer payment plans (which I do not believe.) **** left me a message saying that if i don't call them and let them know how i am making payment they would call the police. I went in the the same night and applied for their credit card to make the payment. I called him the next day and told him i didn't feel like that it was necessary to call and leave that message for me. He dared me to go to court saying that he would be there and he would win and that he is just following Toyota policies? He laughed at me and told me i was making a fool out of myself. I don't feel like he or Toyota cared at all except getting their money. I felt like I was being harassed and he made me very upset the last time I talked to him. I do not have any confidence in Toyota, or least this dealership and I doubt I will purchase another one. When a person purchases a new car and takes care of it, they expect it to last longer than 4 years. I am upset because I could've had a brand new transmission for the same money spent a lot less money somewhere else, and i don't feel like Toyota stands behind their products. I also see that Toyota is not involved in the lemon law disputes! Wow, that says something.I also noticed oil stains on the seat when i got home.

Desired Settlement: extended warranty or discount

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** Dev Dir. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com Ms. ******** is a loyal, and much appreciated customer of Elgin Toyota, and we are very sympathetic to her situation regarding the transmission. Although a transmission failure is an extremely rare occurrence, they can, and do occur, even at 116,000 miles. Unfortunately, this vehicle was long out of warranty (the factory drive-train warranty ended at 60k miles) so Ms. ******** had little protection. In this case, the most appropriate, and most reliable, way to solve the issue, and reduce the likelihood of future failure, was to replace the transmission with a remanufactured unit from Toyota (for all intents and purposes, as close as one can get to a "new" transmission, outside of an auto manufacturing plant). Unfortunately, transmissions are complicated, and therefore, very expensive. We recognize that this was a financial burden for Ms. ********, and we discounted the repair order as much as we could ($600 total). But because Ms. ******** has been a long time customer of our dealership, we also appealed her case to upper management at corporate Toyota. After pointing out that Ms. ******** has taken excellent care of her vehicle, always providing the necessary service at a Toyota dealership, we've just learned that Corporate Toyota has agreed, as a good will gesture, to reimburse Ms. ******** for 50% of the repair (approximately $1974). Corporate Toyota will be contacting Ms. ********, directly. We certainly regret that Ms. ******** experienced the transmission failure, but we hope that Toyota's gesture will help alleviate her frustration. Elgin Toyota values all of its customers and we are very pleased that Toyota was able to help. Please let us know if you have any additional questions. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/08/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I can accept this.

4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues