BBB Accredited Business since

Elgin Hyundai

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 888-8222 Fax: (847) 888-9383 View Additional Phone Numbers 1200 E. Chicago Street, Elgin, IL 60120

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Elgin Hyundai meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Elgin Hyundai include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Elgin Hyundai
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 09, 2005 Business started: 02/02/2006 Business started locally: 02/02/2006 Business incorporated 01/28/2005 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Chris Mandelke, General Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Mandelke, General Sales Manager
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Loquercio Automotive, Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1200 E. Chicago Street

    Elgin, IL 60120

  • 881 E Chicago St

    Elgin, IL 60120 (773) 728-5000 (847) 888-8222


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased used Nissan Rogue from them and my mom helped me purchase it by cosigning loan. but her name is only one on the loan. They keep saying when i make 9 mos of payments my name will be added to the loan but that is not true according to loam company ***********. They had me come in and sign some loan documents but surprisingly they seem to have disappeared. I did not even get a sales receipt from them and had to demand that i get one. They plated the vehicle in Iowa when i live in Illinois. My mom lives in Iowa. Furthermore they let me leave my trade in, that they would not accept on their property while i dealt with the lien holder on it and the car was badly damaged on their lot and they refuse to compensate for the damages done to the vehicle. They told me there was a warranty on the vehicle but have not produced the paperwork. It took them 3 months to get plates on the vehicle. I think they have very shady financing practices and underhanded tactics as well as dishonesty. I love my vehicle but and i want to keep it but this practice was not fair to me or my mother.

Desired Settlement: i just wanted people to be aware when doing business with this company

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/05/07) */ Contact Name and Title: Kevin Connon,Dir.Biz.Dev. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******* We are sorry that Ms. ***** has concerns about our dealership, but she was not the person that ultimately purchased the vehicle at Elgin Hyundai. A review of the paperwork reveals that Mrs. **** ****** was the individual with whom we did business. It was not a co-sign situation. In regard to the license plates for the car Mrs. ****** purchased, they were properly registered in the state of ***** where Mrs. ****** resides. Finally, it appears that Ms. ***** abandoned a vehicle at the dealership; a vehicle that was unrelated to the purchase transaction. She left the car on our property for almost 9 months. We clearly could have charged a storage fee for her unauthorized use of our facility, but, as a courtesy, we did not do so. We are not aware of any damage to the vehicle.

11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/27/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this dealer to purchase a vehicle , although I needed a van or suv I agreed to the car they offered me . I was told I couldn't keep the var I agrred to by the judge, because I'm in a chapter 13 theyoffered me another car ,I was not pleased with this vehicle ,it was not what the dealer promised me. So at this point I wanted to withdraw from this deal. .I. have been PASSED ****** FROM ONE PERSON TO ANOTHER FOR 2 WEEKS TRYING TO SIMPL. RETRIEVE MY MONEY BACK..I was given a letter from the dealer stating my money would be returned .I've. Been talked down to , verbally insulted,discouraged that I won't be able to find anyone else to work woth me" in my situation, so implying I needed to stick with this vehicle that was offered. Product_Or_Service: 2011 sonata

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like for the GM to recognize hoe a potential customer was treated, and realize this was NOT PROFESSIONAL. ..TRYING TO INTIMIDATE A CUSTOMER. .TALKING DOWN TO ME..LYING TO ME ..AND THEN PLAYING GAMES WITH SHIFTING ME AROUND , INSTEAD OF SIMPLY RETURNING MY MONEY .

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* The money was refunded on Oct. 3rd, 2014 to Ms. ***** son's credit card, which was used for the deposit. We are sorry for any delay that might have occurred.

4/28/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October of 2012, I was in the market to purchase a new Hyundai Elantra. I work in Arlington ******* so looked at ******* Hyundai in *********** I found one that I liked, and, after working with employees at ******* Hyundai I worked through financing and negotiated what I thought to be a fair price. The price included one of the perks at ******* Hyundai, which were benefits from an Â"Ultimate PreferredÂ" Program. It included many things, including the $8.95 Oil Changes for as long as I owned the vehicle and free Service loaners for all appointments. I live in ***** and though I would take a look at what ***** Hyundai had before committing to *******. I went to Elgin Hyundai and ***** ** assisted me. I showed him the paperwork from ******* which included exactly what I wanted. It ended up that they had the same vehicle that I wanted, a 2013 Hyundai Elantra Limited. I indicated to ***** that I already had negotiated a price with ******* and he inquired what that was. Elgin Hyundai was able to meet that negotiated price to the penny. I still was a bit hesitant, as Elgin Hyundai did not offer any type of service package that included the oil changes and loaner vehicle. He asked me what it would take to have me as a customer and I indicated that ******* Hyundai was able to include the Ultimate Preferred Program. ***** immediately indicated that providing me with the same services would not be a problem and that he would include it in the paperwork submitted to Elgin Hyundai. Upon making that agreement, I decided to purchase from Elgin Hyundai instead of *******. ***** indicated that the "preferred Customer" document would be in the "system" which would indicate what services I would be entitled to. I drove off the lot the next day with my vehicle. The first oil change I came in for at Elgin was free, because it was a new vehicle. In December of 2013, I came in for an Oil Change. I also came in because the two charger outlets in the car (the lighter and the outlet charger on the side panel of the front seat passenger ***** were not charging any of my devices. I put both those items on the on-line appointment document, as well as my request for a loaner vehicle. I went in for my appointment, they did not provide me with a loaner, and after about 45 minutes, I was told that my car was ready. They changed the oil, found Â"nothingÂ" wrong with the charger outlets. They charged me the full price of an oil change because there was nothing in the "system" regarding the deal was negotiated between ***** ** and myself. The gentleman in Service, ******* indicated that there was nothing he could do, except leave a message for the manager, ***** *** to call me. I left a message for him to call me that morning to discuss (attempt #1) and paid the total bill. The next day, Wed, Dec 11, 2013 at 11:02 AM, I did not hear from *****, so I sent him an email. (attempt #2). In the meantime, I am driving the car and notice that the charging outlets don't work, so I go to Verizon and purchase a NEW car charger for my devices. I plug them in and the outlets STILL don't work. I try it with 2 other chargers, and the outlets STILL don't work. Several weeks go by and I haven't received a phone call or email from *****, so I decide to send an email to the General Manager, Chris *** on Tue, Jan 14, 2014 at 3:07 PM (attempt #3). Still another several weeks pass, and I hear nothing, no phone call or email. It becomes time for my oil change because, and I am getting concerned because I am taking my car out of town for Spring Break. So, on 3/6 at 10:13 I phone Elgin Hyundai and leave a message on the voice mail of both ***** and *****, asking them to PLEASE get back with me with a resolution so that I can get my oil change at the price that I was given upon the point of sale. (attempt 4). Again, I hear nothing. No email, no phone call. So, on Thu, Mar 20, 2014 at 10:47 AM, I send an email to the owner of Elgin Hyu

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for the total cost that would provide me with the following things: *FREE First Oil & Filter Change @ Patrick Hyundai *THEN, All Oil Changes are $8.95 for as long as you own the vehicle! (limited to 2 per year) *FREE Multipoint Maintenance Inspection with Each Oil Change *FREE Fall Maintenance Inspection *FREE Spring Maintenance Inspection *FREE Car Wash with Every Service Visit *FREE Service Loaners Available with Appointment and Overnight Repair *Purchase 4 Tires, Get Complimentary Mounting and Balancing *$25 Off Windshield Repair or Replacement *$25 Off Any Service Bill Over $200 *$25 Off Dealer Recommend Major Mileage Service (15,000, 30,000, 45,000, 60,000, 75,000 miles) *$50 Off Any Aftermarket Accessories Purchase Over $500 *$100 Off Extended Service Contract (When You Purchase a Maintenance Plan) *$300 Customer Loyalty Coupon Towards Next Vehicle Purchase (Must Be Presented at Time of Offer. One Coupon Per Transaction) *VIP customer ID on your vehicle *Personalized Membership Card *Reminder Postcards for Your Convenience When talking with Sales Department at ******* Hyundai, it was determined that with all perks involved for the life of the vehicle, that an estimated cost for this program would be approximately $2,500. I am seeking a reimbursement of this amount as a breach of contract has been made. When calculating these costs over the lifetime of this car, the cost is approximately:

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/15) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* We have reached out to the customer, and as soon as we receive a copy of the oil change receipt, we will reimburse her for the full amount. In addition, we will honor the other items on the list provided. As for the outlets, we would be glad to fix this as soon as Ms. ****** can find a time to bring the car back to our service department. We are sorry for any misunderstanding, and hopefully we have resolved this issue to Ms. ******'s satisfaction.

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: called on 12/2012 to cancel GAP insurance on both of our cars purchased at their dealership. Was told that a refund would be issued to the companies the loans are with, and have never seen any credits. Waited 3-6 months to follow up again, was told it must have fallen through the cracks and that they would make sure it was credited back to 12/2012. Credit still was issued. Stopped in at dealership on 1/2013 and explained issue, filled out GAP cancellation forms for both cars and was told it would be taken care of and credit would go back to 12/2012. credit never got issued. Called and talked to GM on 4/2013 and he apologized, and then said he will personally take care of this and promised the credit would go back to 12/2012. Credit never got issued. Product_Or_Service: 2010 and 2012 Hyundai

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Credit our 2010 ******* ****** and our 2012 ******* ****** for the GAP insurance dating back to when the vehicles were purchased. Re-calculate both loans with the removal of this GAP insurance dating back to the original purchase date and credit any accrued interest on both vehicles. have a letter stating amount being credited to both cars loans.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* Re-sending this, as response was submitted last week, not sure why it didn't "take". We have spoken to Mr. ******, and refunds were sent to the finance company (in both cases) to reduce the balance owed (copies of checks were emailed to Mr. ******). In addition, we sent a check directly to the customer for any interest incurred while waiting for GAP insurance to be cancelled. We apologize for the inconvenience, as it is our goal to have completely satisfied customers. We are reviewing our internal policies to insure that something like this doesn't fall through the cracks again. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2014/02/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Issue was resolved to my satisfaction

1/31/2014 Delivery Issues
10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We traded in the ******* ****** which we purchased at Elgin Hyundai on ******* The trade in paid off our car loan in full with ******* ********* at that time. We went to Elgin Hyundai on ******* and filled out a gap insurance cancellation form with finance manager **** ************** He told us the refund for the canceled gap insurance would be returned to us with in 4 to 6 weeks. As of today ******* the GAP insurance was never canceled per the GAP administrator ********** ******** ******** **** ************* is not returning my messages regarding the refund. We also found out from the GAP administrator that our amendment number assigned for this insurance at the time we purchased the car - VXXXXXXX was actually canceled in ***** by the dealership and a new amendment number was assigned VXXXXXXX.We had no knowledgment of that new amendment until investigating our refund. We need help in getting our money back from the dealership.

Desired Settlement: We are asking that the GAP insurance be refunded to us immediatly. We have followed all the cancel procedures indicated to us by Josh ************** and he has not only not canceled the GAP insurance as we instructed but he is refusing to return any of our calls.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** Dev Dir. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******* We have been in contact with the customer, and the GAP insurance has been cancelled. In addition, a check has been sent out to resolve this issue.

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service