Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Elgin Hyundai

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 888-8222 Fax: (847) 888-9383 View Additional Phone Numbers 1200 E. Chicago Street, Elgin, IL 60120 http://www.elginhyundai.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Elgin Hyundai meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Elgin Hyundai include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Elgin Hyundai
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 09, 2005 Business started: 02/02/2006 in IL Business started locally: 02/02/2006 Business incorporated 01/28/2005 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dennis Daum, General Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dennis Daum, General Sales Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Loquercio Automotive, Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1200 E. Chicago Street

    Elgin, IL 60120

  • 881 E Chicago St

    Elgin, IL 60120 (773) 728-5000 (847) 888-8222

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It is my first car purchase of my life on December 7th and I went to Elgin Hyundai because they offered me the best price for the car I was looking for, a Hyundai Tucson. When I got there, the salesman offered me a price that was close but not what i was quoted. They informed me that they were not able to actually offer me the car at the price that I was quoted via e-mail. I wanted the car so I bought it as long as they placed heated seats in the car after market for an extra cost. The salesman *** ******** said it would be the same thing as manufactured seats. So I brought the car home and brought the car back 2 days later to have the seats put on the car. Two days later I went and picked the car up and the seat belt light on the passenger's side was on all the time. I was informed that the seats are really sensitive on this new model and that they would not be able to fix it. For the last 3 weeks now the dealer has had my car because they can't fix my car correctly. During that time I have called 3 times and was told they would call me back. For example, I called them on a Thursday and was told that they would call me back. I still had not received a call back by the following Thursday and chose to call them again. This pattern occurred 3 times. I have asked to speak to the General Manger 3 times about my car and he has yet to call me back.

Desired Settlement: I would love to have this car dealer give me back all my money for this car and rework a deal for the same price for a car with manufactured heated seats put in the car. I think this isn't fair that I am the one that has to get the short end of the stick because this dealer didn't know what they were doing.

Business Response:

First and foremost, Elgin Hyundi apologizes for any and all inconvenience and  aggravation that was caused from this issue. Some of the delays between phone calls was due to trying to find other ways to install the heated seats that the customer wanted. Since the complaint, we have tried different ways to satisfy Mr. ******.  We attempted to trade him out of his current Tucson into a vehicle with factory equipped heated seats. That seemed to be a little to far over budget for Mr. ******. In the end we provided a free remote start and refunded him the cost of the after market heated seats. Mr. ****** has been in contact with his sales rep and everything is fine. Thanks and have a great day.

 

****** ****

Elgin Hyundai

847 888 8222

 

2/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the 30th of December 2015 I purchased a used vehicle from Elgin Hyndai. An additional charge of $299 for theft deterrent was slipped on to the order. This charge had not been explained or mentioned at any point, so I only discovered it when reviewing the order after having taken delivery of the vehicle. I then proceeded to call the dealer and ask them to clarify this line item. A person from the finance department explained to me that this was for VIN window etching and that it was connected to a $2000 limited warranty benefit in case the car was stolen. I then proceeded to inspect the car and found no evidence of the windows having been etched. I called the dealer back and I was told to call back when the subject matter expert would be back from his holiday vacation. After having called the dealers many times I finally got a hold of the subject matter expert who then explained that the car windows had not been etched, but instead etchings or stickers had been applied to parts of the car that would only reveal the proper information under UV light. I asked for information related to this, but was told that he would only be able to send me this information from home. I never received any information. After having read about this technique and where the markings are usually applied I spent 30 minutes with a UV light looking for any evidence of such markings. I was unable to find any markings on doors, hood and hatch. I called the dealer again and talked to sales person who sold me the car and asked for a copy of the policy or any other useful information. I was promised to be sent something from this persons private phone. I never received any information. The next time I called I was told they had spoken to the representative from the service provider (****-***** Products) and that he would be sending me information. Again I did not receive anything. I have left voice mails asking them to provide me with this information, but have so far not heard back.

Desired Settlement: The dealer has not provided any evidence or any information to support the fact that the aforementioned theft deterrent has in fact been installed. The dealer has not provided any evidence demonstrating that the warranty policy provided by ****-***** was in place when the car was purchased. Therefore this charge should have not been made and I therefore request that the $299 be refunded.

Business Response: We are very sorry for any inconvenience we may have caused Mr. ******. After speaking with Mr. ******, it has been confirmed that the proper identification stickers, for the etch program, were not installed.  Arrangements have been made to reimburse the $299.00 to the bank in which the vehicle has been financed. We have called Mr. ****** and relaid that information. Also letting him know to pay attention to his statements to make sure that the refund reflects on his current balance.  

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****-***** ******

2/19/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I saw a ******** *** listed on true car at their dealership and I saw all of their fees because true car requires that they show them. I also called to confirm that these prices were correct on 11/20/2015 and they said that they were. I set up an appointment to test drive the car the next day which was 11/21/2015, after being greeted and driving the car I informed the salesman that I had financing from my credit union after that he looked like he was upset that I wasn't financing through the dealership. He asked could he see the check and he said he had to show his manager, so I let him take it over to him. He came back and said he could give me the car for 17,500 dollars the original listing price was 13,490 their document fee was 168 dollars and the registration and plates were 221 Illinois taxes equaled 1112.93 which would bring the total to 14991.93 when I asked him how did he get those figures he gives me an explanation that they have two warranties one was 999.99 and I didn't let him finish talking to hear the other absurd price. He then says that they are mandatory so I ask for my check and he says let him talk to his manager again he comes back and says he can void the other dent and bumps warranty and give me the car for 16,500. After hearing this I again asked for my check so I could leave. His response was " come on brother you came this far and you like the car just let us finance you". This place is very deceiving and have shady practices they have no problem lying to your face. I did not appreciate the false advertisement, price gauging, and "mandatory" warranties for used cars.

Desired Settlement: They Should be honest with their customers and stop with the shady practices.

Business Response: We are sorry about Mr. *********** less than satisfactory experience, and that the negotiation did not end in a mutually agreeable transaction. While we certainly present optional warranties and services that we feel are appropriate, and to the benefit of the customer, these are in no way mandatory. We will review our policies and procedures with our staff to ensure there is no confusion, or misunderstandings, in that regard, going forward.  

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* *********

5/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased used Nissan Rogue from them and my mom helped me purchase it by cosigning loan. but her name is only one on the loan. They keep saying when i make 9 mos of payments my name will be added to the loan but that is not true according to loam company ***********. They had me come in and sign some loan documents but surprisingly they seem to have disappeared. I did not even get a sales receipt from them and had to demand that i get one. They plated the vehicle in Iowa when i live in Illinois. My mom lives in Iowa. Furthermore they let me leave my trade in, that they would not accept on their property while i dealt with the lien holder on it and the car was badly damaged on their lot and they refuse to compensate for the damages done to the vehicle. They told me there was a warranty on the vehicle but have not produced the paperwork. It took them 3 months to get plates on the vehicle. I think they have very shady financing practices and underhanded tactics as well as dishonesty. I love my vehicle but and i want to keep it but this practice was not fair to me or my mother.

Desired Settlement: i just wanted people to be aware when doing business with this company

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/05/07) */ Contact Name and Title: Kevin Connon,Dir.Biz.Dev. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com We are sorry that Ms. ***** has concerns about our dealership, but she was not the person that ultimately purchased the vehicle at Elgin Hyundai. A review of the paperwork reveals that Mrs. **** ****** was the individual with whom we did business. It was not a co-sign situation. In regard to the license plates for the car Mrs. ****** purchased, they were properly registered in the state of ***** where Mrs. ****** resides. Finally, it appears that Ms. ***** abandoned a vehicle at the dealership; a vehicle that was unrelated to the purchase transaction. She left the car on our property for almost 9 months. We clearly could have charged a storage fee for her unauthorized use of our facility, but, as a courtesy, we did not do so. We are not aware of any damage to the vehicle.

11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/27/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this dealer to purchase a vehicle , although I needed a van or suv I agreed to the car they offered me . I was told I couldn't keep the var I agrred to by the judge, because I'm in a chapter 13 ...so theyoffered me another car ,I was not pleased with this vehicle ,it was not what the dealer promised me. So at this point I wanted to withdraw from this deal. .I. have been PASSED ****** FROM ONE PERSON TO ANOTHER FOR 2 WEEKS TRYING TO SIMPL. RETRIEVE MY MONEY BACK..I was given a letter from the dealer stating my money would be returned .I've. Been talked down to , verbally insulted,discouraged that I won't be able to find anyone else to work woth me" in my situation, so implying I needed to stick with this vehicle that was offered. Product_Or_Service: 2011 sonata

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like for the GM to recognize hoe a potential customer was treated, and realize this was NOT PROFESSIONAL. ..TRYING TO INTIMIDATE A CUSTOMER. .TALKING DOWN TO ME..LYING TO ME ..AND THEN PLAYING GAMES WITH SHIFTING ME AROUND , INSTEAD OF SIMPLY RETURNING MY MONEY .

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com The money was refunded on Oct. 3rd, 2014 to Ms. ***** son's credit card, which was used for the deposit. We are sorry for any delay that might have occurred.

4/28/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October of 2012, I was in the market to purchase a new Hyundai Elantra. I work in Arlington ******* so looked at ******* Hyundai in *********** I found one that I liked, and, after working with employees at ******* Hyundai I worked through financing and negotiated what I thought to be a fair price. The price included one of the perks at ******* Hyundai, which were benefits from an Â"Ultimate PreferredÂ" Program. It included many things, including the $8.95 Oil Changes for as long as I owned the vehicle and free Service loaners for all appointments. I live in ***** and though I would take a look at what ***** Hyundai had before committing to *******. I went to Elgin Hyundai and ***** ** assisted me. I showed him the paperwork from ******* which included exactly what I wanted. It ended up that they had the same vehicle that I wanted, a 2013 Hyundai Elantra Limited. I indicated to ***** that I already had negotiated a price with ******* and he inquired what that was. Elgin Hyundai was able to meet that negotiated price to the penny. I still was a bit hesitant, as Elgin Hyundai did not offer any type of service package that included the oil changes and loaner vehicle. He asked me what it would take to have me as a customer and I indicated that ******* Hyundai was able to include the Ultimate Preferred Program. ***** immediately indicated that providing me with the same services would not be a problem and that he would include it in the paperwork submitted to Elgin Hyundai. Upon making that agreement, I decided to purchase from Elgin Hyundai instead of *******. ***** indicated that the "preferred Customer" document would be in the "system" which would indicate what services I would be entitled to. I drove off the lot the next day with my vehicle. The first oil change I came in for at Elgin was free, because it was a new vehicle. In December of 2013, I came in for an Oil Change. I also came in because the two charger outlets in the car (the lighter and the outlet charger on the side panel of the front seat passenger ***** were not charging any of my devices. I put both those items on the on-line appointment document, as well as my request for a loaner vehicle. I went in for my appointment, they did not provide me with a loaner, and after about 45 minutes, I was told that my car was ready. They changed the oil, found Â"nothingÂ" wrong with the charger outlets. They charged me the full price of an oil change because there was nothing in the "system" regarding the deal was negotiated between ***** ** and myself. The gentleman in Service, ******* indicated that there was nothing he could do, except leave a message for the manager, ***** *** to call me. I left a message for him to call me that morning to discuss (attempt #1) and paid the total bill. The next day, Wed, Dec 11, 2013 at 11:02 AM, I did not hear from *****, so I sent him an email. (attempt #2). In the meantime, I am driving the car and notice that the charging outlets don't work, so I go to Verizon and purchase a NEW car charger for my devices. I plug them in and the outlets STILL don't work. I try it with 2 other chargers, and the outlets STILL don't work. Several weeks go by and I haven't received a phone call or email from *****, so I decide to send an email to the General Manager, Chris *** on Tue, Jan 14, 2014 at 3:07 PM (attempt #3). Still another several weeks pass, and I hear nothing, no phone call or email. It becomes time for my oil change because, and I am getting concerned because I am taking my car out of town for Spring Break. So, on 3/6 at 10:13 I phone Elgin Hyundai and leave a message on the voice mail of both ***** and *****, asking them to PLEASE get back with me with a resolution so that I can get my oil change at the price that I was given upon the point of sale. (attempt 4). Again, I hear nothing. No email, no phone call. So, on Thu, Mar 20, 2014 at 10:47 AM, I send an email to the owner of Elgin Hyu

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for the total cost that would provide me with the following things: *FREE First Oil & Filter Change @ Patrick Hyundai *THEN, All Oil Changes are $8.95 for as long as you own the vehicle! (limited to 2 per year) *FREE Multipoint Maintenance Inspection with Each Oil Change *FREE Fall Maintenance Inspection *FREE Spring Maintenance Inspection *FREE Car Wash with Every Service Visit *FREE Service Loaners Available with Appointment and Overnight Repair *Purchase 4 Tires, Get Complimentary Mounting and Balancing *$25 Off Windshield Repair or Replacement *$25 Off Any Service Bill Over $200 *$25 Off Dealer Recommend Major Mileage Service (15,000, 30,000, 45,000, 60,000, 75,000 miles) *$50 Off Any Aftermarket Accessories Purchase Over $500 *$100 Off Extended Service Contract (When You Purchase a Maintenance Plan) *$300 Customer Loyalty Coupon Towards Next Vehicle Purchase (Must Be Presented at Time of Offer. One Coupon Per Transaction) *VIP customer ID on your vehicle *Personalized Membership Card *Reminder Postcards for Your Convenience When talking with Sales Department at ******* Hyundai, it was determined that with all perks involved for the life of the vehicle, that an estimated cost for this program would be approximately $2,500. I am seeking a reimbursement of this amount as a breach of contract has been made. When calculating these costs over the lifetime of this car, the cost is approximately:

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/15) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com We have reached out to the customer, and as soon as we receive a copy of the oil change receipt, we will reimburse her for the full amount. In addition, we will honor the other items on the list provided. As for the outlets, we would be glad to fix this as soon as Ms. ****** can find a time to bring the car back to our service department. We are sorry for any misunderstanding, and hopefully we have resolved this issue to Ms. ******'s satisfaction.

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: called on 12/2012 to cancel GAP insurance on both of our cars purchased at their dealership. Was told that a refund would be issued to the companies the loans are with, and have never seen any credits. Waited 3-6 months to follow up again, was told it must have fallen through the cracks and that they would make sure it was credited back to 12/2012. Credit still was issued. Stopped in at dealership on 1/2013 and explained issue, filled out GAP cancellation forms for both cars and was told it would be taken care of and credit would go back to 12/2012. credit never got issued. Called and talked to GM on 4/2013 and he apologized, and then said he will personally take care of this and promised the credit would go back to 12/2012. Credit never got issued. Product_Or_Service: 2010 and 2012 Hyundai

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Credit our 2010 ******* ****** and our 2012 ******* ****** for the GAP insurance dating back to when the vehicles were purchased. Re-calculate both loans with the removal of this GAP insurance dating back to the original purchase date and credit any accrued interest on both vehicles. have a letter stating amount being credited to both cars loans.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com Re-sending this, as response was submitted last week, not sure why it didn't "take". We have spoken to Mr. ******, and refunds were sent to the finance company (in both cases) to reduce the balance owed (copies of checks were emailed to Mr. ******). In addition, we sent a check directly to the customer for any interest incurred while waiting for GAP insurance to be cancelled. We apologize for the inconvenience, as it is our goal to have completely satisfied customers. We are reviewing our internal policies to insure that something like this doesn't fall through the cracks again. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2014/02/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Issue was resolved to my satisfaction

1/31/2014 Delivery Issues
10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We traded in the ******* ****** which we purchased at Elgin Hyundai on ******* The trade in paid off our car loan in full with ******* ********* at that time. We went to Elgin Hyundai on ******* and filled out a gap insurance cancellation form with finance manager **** ************** He told us the refund for the canceled gap insurance would be returned to us with in 4 to 6 weeks. As of today ******* the GAP insurance was never canceled per the GAP administrator ********** ******** ******** **** ************* is not returning my messages regarding the refund. We also found out from the GAP administrator that our amendment number assigned for this insurance at the time we purchased the car - VXXXXXXX was actually canceled in ***** by the dealership and a new amendment number was assigned VXXXXXXX.We had no knowledgment of that new amendment until investigating our refund. We need help in getting our money back from the dealership.

Desired Settlement: We are asking that the GAP insurance be refunded to us immediatly. We have followed all the cancel procedures indicated to us by Josh ************** and he has not only not canceled the GAP insurance as we instructed but he is refusing to return any of our calls.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** Dev Dir. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com We have been in contact with the customer, and the GAP insurance has been cancelled. In addition, a check has been sent out to resolve this issue.

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Elgin Hyundai
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)