Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dodge of Antioch, Inc.

Phone: (847) 395-0200 Fax: (847) 395-7810 105 W IL Route 173, Antioch, IL 60002 http://www.antiochchryslerdodgejeep.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dodge of Antioch, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dodge of Antioch, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dodge of Antioch, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 2002 Business started: 02/01/2002 in IL Business started locally: 02/01/2002 Business incorporated 01/14/2002 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chuck Settles, General Manager Mr. Peter Larson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chuck Settles, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Antioch Chrysler Dodge Jeep and Ram

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their ad on the internet lists a 2016 ******** 200 for $18,440 and msrp for $27,135 for total discount of $8695. I arrived at the buisness and told them this would be a no trade-in cash sale. They then filled out the paper work and penalized my $2500 for no trade in and $1000 for a cash sale plus the usual tax and title. This brought the sale back up to over $26000. I have never heard of paying a penalty for cash sale and no trade in. I just bought a new Dodge pickup 3 years ago (not from them) and payed cash with none of their nonsense. They must have thought I was an idiot. Nedless to say I did not buy. They even said what if we sell it to you for $18000. They followed me all the way out. They even said the penalty was ********s rules. I am 72 and have bought many vehicles but never seen such a bunch of outright BS. I even had emailed these people and figured $2000 or close totaling $20,000.

Desired Settlement: This gimmick is an old shell game and I would like to see the half truths they use stopped. Im not sure what you can do but I spent 5 hours on the road one way and am not happy.

Business Response: I am sorry for the experince you had. We never want to have our customers leave feeling that way. The rules we are held to uphold in order to get re-imbursed from chrysler for any rebate money given to customers is rather extreme. The trade in rebate assistance program is a program offered to the customer to assist in obtaining financing and an additional $1000 if financed with ******** ******* *********. Obviously these rebates are designed to help the first time buyers and the folks with less than perfect credit. These programs are ******** offers, that are not negotiable. If there is something I can do to assist in the purchase please feel free to call me direct at ************

Business Response: We are willing to honor our internet price and any of our advertised prices. We had asked before the customer left the showroom and he was unwilling to purchase the vehicle. We did not refuse to sell the vehicle at that price.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:The internet price was $18000 plus then they added the $2500 and $1500 that was never noted on the internet plus the tax which I expected and brought the total price up to $26000 plus.  And yes I refused to do any purchase with them when they followed me all the way out to the door wanting to know what I would give them.  I had already told them before I ever left on a phone conversation what would be the price out the door with no trade in.  They had the oportunity then to give me the total price then minus what the tax would be and did not.  It is the principal of the thing that makes me mad, they lied to me after I drove 5 hours to get there.  They have plenty of bad reviews doing the same thing to other customers.  Typical bait and switch 

Sincerely,

****** ******

6/6/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/21/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently purchased my first car from them believe I was over charged.

Desired Settlement: Would like a billing adjustment of 1175.00

Business Response: we have asked the customer to come in to review the paperwork to resolve any confusion regarding pricing negotiated and disclosed at the time of purchase. Obviously there are several factors that go into the purchase and financing of a vehicle. We look forward for the opportunity to resolve this issue. As a good faith gesture we would offer an in store credit for the amount requested to be used towards the purchase of another vehicle or in our service and parts & accessories department. Please let me know if this is acceptable or a time that would work for us to discuss this matter further.

4/15/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WHILE NEGOTIATING THE PRICE OF MY VEHICLE, WE TOLD MIKE MCDONALD THAT WE HAD AN EMPLOYEE NUMBER FOR THE DISCOUNT BUT WERE TOLD THAT "ALL DISCOUNTS HAVE ALREADY BEEN APPLIED TO THIS VEHICLE AND THAT NUMBER WAS NOT NEEDED." WHEN I CAME BACK TO PICK UP THE VEHICLE, THEY ASKED FOR THE NUMBER AND EVEN THOUGH WE WERE TOLD IT WAS NOT NEEDED, WE SUPPLIED IT. I CAN ONLY ASSUME THAT ALTHOUGH I WAS NOT GIVEN THE EMPLOYEE DISCOUNT ORIGINALLY, ANTIOCH CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM NOW PLANS TO GET THE DISCOUNT FROM CHRYSLER. NOW I AM BEING CONTACTED BY THEM SAYING THE NUMBER I GAVE THEM IS INCORRECT AND UNLESS I SUPPLY THE INFORMATION THEY ARE REQUESTING, THEY WILL NEED TO CHARGE ME AN ADDITIONAL AMOUNT FOR THE CAR THAT I HAVE ALREADY PURCHASED. I HAVE ALSO NOT RECEIVED THE PLATES OR THE TITLE THAT I PAID FOR AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE ANTIOCH CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM TO STOP CONTACTING ME ABOUT A NUMBER THAT I WAS TOLD WASN'T NEEDED. I BELIEVE THEY WANT TO GET THE DISCOUNT FROM CHRYSLER WITHOUT HAVING PASSED IT ON TO ME. IF THE DISCOUNT WAS NOT APPLIED TO MY PURCHASE PRICE (AND I BELIEVE IT WAS NOT), THEN I SHOULD HAVE A CREDIT COMING FROM THEM NOT THE OTHER WAY AROUND.

Business Response:

We have all we needed, the price is all inclusive. There were some mis-communications on our part between the 2 salesman and the manager involved in the deal. We regret any mis-understanding with the customer.    if there is anything I can be of assistance with please do not hesitate to call me direct.

 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


***** ***********

12/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased our vehicle from Antioch Dodge (VIN ****************** and expected it to come with all the parts for the car, after all it was new. The car has been into service at my local Dodge dealer only for routine oil changes. It's been nowhere else, and for no other problems. I took the care to that same dealer on 10/31, to fix a recall "R32 Engine Beauty Cover" I was informed that the actual cover that I need to have fixed per the recall is MISSING. Based on this car only being in for service for oil changes, and also based on the FACT that the cover does not need to be removed to perform such service, it's clearly evident to me that the only other possible scenario is that the car did not have the cover when we took delivery. This should have been noted and addressed at that time. I tried contacting the Antioch Dodge directly over the phone and was passed from *** ***** to the service department, who were both of no help.

Desired Settlement: My expectation is for me to get the cover that I am missing so that this recall can be completed. Should that not be possible, I will escalate this case to Dodge / Chrysler at the corporate level for failing to deliver the car as properly required.

Business Response: This is a very unusual complaint. I have not heard of this problem in the past and would assume that if this were a common concern we would have it heard about it. That being said we are more than willing to re-install the part at a discounted price but I am hesitant to take responsibility for a missing part. We would have no reason to remove any parts from a new car. If the manufacture did not install the part at the factory I am fairly certain it would have happened more than once and they would be addressing it. If the customer would contact me direstly I will do what I can to get the part replaced as reasonably as possible.

Business Response:

If the customer truly believes it is a factory mishap then they should contact Chrysler directly to voice there concern and try to get the problem resolved. This is outside the perameters we are given from the factory. the customer service number is ************. If the customer would like to bring the vehicle in we would be more than happy to do the inspection at no charge.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  Business is not taking ownership of the situation.

Sincerely,

***** ******

11/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I observed a $29,895 price online advertised for a specific 2015 Chrysler Town and Country mini van. I called and spoke with ******* their sales associate who confirmed this pricing. I had a vehicle trade in that I expressed the value of with ******** He researched online and told me the value would range from $4,800 to $6,800. I let him know that if I could get between $5,000 to $6,000 for the vehicle, and that their price was $29,895 that I would like to come purchase the 2015 Chrysler Town and Country that evening or the next day. I expressed that I did not however want to waste a trip if there were any catches or the pricing wouldn't be as advertised. He assured me that was the pricing and it was the model we were looking for. Upon arrival, they valued my vehicle correctly, the van was as described, but the price was not $29,895 as advertised online and confirmed over the phone with ******** It was instead over $31,500 due to some apparent rebates that I didn't qualify for. These rebates were not shown on their website itemized or broken out to show what I may be qualified for or not. They were also not brought up by Brandon when I asked him on the phone to confirm the $29,895 pricing. I wasted a trip to their dealership due to false advertising via the internet along with false advertising over the phone via their sales employee ********

Desired Settlement: I am not seeking a settlement other than they correct their internet and phone advertising. The bait and switch sales technique is improper, underhanded, and should not be allowed by a BBB accredited company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/31) */ I have spoken with Mr. ****** prior to receiving this complaint as he voiced his concerns in a follow up call. I think the pricing issue was more of a misunderstanding of the numbers than anything and we did a poor job of explaining our position. We were willing, of course, to honor the price, but the deal was worked on a trade difference basis, and he assumed we were offering more for the trade than we actually were. After reviewing the trade value and offering slightly more than we did previously, Mr. ****** did accept our offer and we were able to make a deal on a new Town and Country. He purchased it here last week and to my knowledge, is satisfied. I apologize again for the confusion, but I am glad that we were able to make things right and earn his business.

1/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went to Antioch Dodge on 12/22/2012 for a vehicle. My salesperson ****** who is no longer employed there, had me test drive a 2010 Dodge Journey. I said I would take it. We did paperwork and I was locked into one rate with one finance company. AFTER all of the paperwork was signed, he handed me the keys to a different vehicle and told me that this was the vehicle that the finance company could get me in to. I was given no information on this car, just that it was a 2009 instead of a 2010. The vehicle began having mechanical issues in December of 2013. My warranty was no longer valid and after taking it to a mechanic, the problem was in the computer - the car would turn itself off and would not restart without jumping it. In September of 2014 I received a recall notice from Chrysler regarding a faulty ignition switch, stating that we would be notified by mail when the part was available. Upon receiving this recall, I began to look at trading the car in for something more reliable. Upon the finance process with a different dealership, I found out that my 2009 Journey has a branded/lemon title and was told that no dealership would trade this vehicle in as it was not to be resold after the dealer/manufacturer bought it back. After the Chevy dealership printed out a copy of the ****** report for me (that I was NOT provided with by ******* Dodge in 2012), my wife took it and the car to ******* Dodge and spoke with the Sales Manager. After he read the recall notice and the ****** report, he told my wife that he no problems replacing the ignition switch once Chrysler provided the part. At that time, he did not offer to look at the vehicle for any other issues, he asked my wife to come back later that day with me so he could speak with me and see if he could help us out. Later that evening my wife and I went back to ******* Dodge so I could speak with the Manager. I explained to him that his salesman had sold me a vehicle with a lemon title. He offered to put us into another vehicle. After 2 hours of going through their inventory and speaking to who knows how many lenders, he offered to put me into a SUV for almost double what I still owe on my 2009, on top of the balance on my 2009. Because I had waited over 2 hours with no resolution, they promised to call me or my wife the next day to discuss their findings. Nobody ever called us. About a week later, the salesman who originally sold me the vehicle, called me from a DIFFERENT dealership he was working at and left me a message to bring the 2009 to him and he would try to help me. On 11/15/2014, my wife was driving with the kids in the Journey. She lost acceleration, it began shaking violently, and shut itself off while she was on the highway. She managed to get it started and about a mile down the road, it did the same thing again. I met her where she was broke down with another vehicle so she could take the kids home while I tried to restart the Journey to get it home. I managed to get it home with no RPM's or acceleration. I had my mechanic bring his scan tool to my house and run the computer only to find out that there are 10 codes causing the ignition and engine to fail. The car is no longer driveable and once started, it shuts off as soon as it is put into gear. On 11/10/2014, my wife called Chrysler to get a status on the recall. She was informed that Chrysler will not have the part available until March 2015, but to contact the dealer to have the car looked at to see if there is a temporary solution. My wife then called the service department at ******* Dodge to discuss the problem with them. The guy my wife talked to laughed at her and told her she will have to wait until March to fix the car or she can have it towed to the dealer to have it scanned and repaired but she will still incur charges for the repairs. My mechanic quoted me over $3000 for temporary repairs - dealer repairs could cost well over that. We are now stuck with a car that doesn't move and nobody will repair.

Desired Settlement: We requested in September 2014 that ******* Dodge replace our vehicle only to get laughed at and blown off. This Dodge Journey now sits in my driveway immobile. We are now requesting ******* Dodge provide a statement admitting that they sold me a vehicle without providing a ****** report and failing to inform me of the branded title AND provide the payoff amount of $9600 for the Journey plus $2000 for a down payment towards another vehicle. This does not even begin to cover frustration, humiliation, or the fear for the safety of our children.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/15) */ My name is *** ****** and I am the General Manager. I wasn't employed here in 2012 when Mr. ***** purchased the vehicle, but I will attempt to address his concerns from our records. It is unfortunate that his ownership experience has not been problem free. However, that is not unusual when purchasing a pre-owned vehicle or any vehicle for that matter. I don't believe that it was standard practice here in 2012 to pull or offer ****** reports unless the customer specifically asked for one. It does not sound like that was the case. I don't believe that we knew that the vehicle had a manufacturer buy back, but that would certainly not prohibit us from selling the vehicle provided that it passed our mechanical inspection. Manufacturer buy backs are purchased and resold by dealers on a regular basis across the country. When I became aware of Mr. *****'s issue a couple of months ago, I told him we would be happy to take his vehicle in on trade. We appraised the vehicle at what I consider full NADA average trade value, despite the previous title/carfax concern and that some Chevy dealer said the vehicle had no value. Unfortunately, we were not able to arrive at his desired payment due to the negative equity and credit challenges. I'm quite sure he was not laughed at, but I apologize if he was not followed up with by one of our managers. Now, two months after that and nearly two years and 40,000 miles after he purchased the vehicle, it is regrettable that the vehicle is having issues, but not unreasonable based on the length of time passed and amount of miles driven. Chrysler is in fact having some part backorders, but I don't know if that particular part is the reason for the vehicle being inoperable. I don't know what diagnosis their mechanic made for $3,000 in repairs but that sounds excessive unless the engine or transmission have failed. Per our records, we have not serviced the vehicle since the purchase date in 2012. Unfortunately, in my opinion, Mr. *****'s desired resolution is extremely excessive and unwarranted especially considering the fact that he has driven the vehicle for nearly two years and 40,000 miles. I certainly understand his frustration and I would be happy to have our technicians diagnose the necessary repairs($125 value) free of charge if Mr. ***** could get the vehicle to our location. I would even be willing to help offset some(not all) of the repair cost as a goodwill gesture. I would also be willing to purchase the vehicle from him outright at full NADA average trade value of $5,425 provided the amount of repairs required is substantially less than his mechanic has led him to believe. Feel free to reach out to me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX Sincerely, *** ****** GM

10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On X-XX-XX I went to Antioch Chrysler because I was promised that I was approved to get the car that I want with no money down on that day and no payments for 45days & that whoever brings me will get two $25 gift cards. I arrive there and ******** has me fill out some papers and she had a car picked out for me I told her that I didn't like that & it wouldn't work as far as my disability or my needs! Than she came up with another car 2009 sonata which was a little better. Then she told me I don't have to marry it just date it. She said that's all I have right now but I can either wait a couple of days until she gets something else or just keep it for 6 months and switch so she had me sign these papers & then comes out saying I have to pay $300 down for this one I told her that I don't have the $ she pulls out another form saying that I will pay the $300 by oct. 5 2014. I signed it and she promised call me as soon as she gets something in & I said ok and took the car home. She called A day or 2 later saying that she had changed the amnt of my payments because the bank didn't like that amnt so she lowered the price of the car! I told her that I didn't want the car and she repeats what she said before about the $. I tell her I can't stay in this car and she responds I got a surprise for u... I ask what she says I got a 2009 armada truck for you it just came in and it would be perfect for you so hurry up and come in! So I hurry out there and when I get there she's helping someone else & has me go into the waiting room . She comes in and says come to my desk so u can sign these papers I ask her where's the truck she's like Awwwl shoot somebody bought it just 10 minutes ago, but come sign these papers so the bank came get thus loan done. Look your payments went down. I told her again that I don't want this car and she pulls out this list pretends to look at it and say I don't have nothing unless you can come up with some more income. I say I don't have any more, then she says atleast $100 more, I say I gave u all I have, she say ain't nowhere u can get another stub? I say no then advise her that I have some back pay. Coming soon and I'll just wait til then and just buy the car that I want from somewhere else! She say no no no, u already signed for this one so u have to keep it! So i leave with the car again . The bank calls and I talk to them they ask for verification of income we call 1 of my banks & get info for 2 of the incomes I advise her I don't have 1 & I have a statement for the other she asked me to email it to her and I do. She asks me if I paid the $300 to the dealer & I reluctantly say yeah. Then she asks me what I was going to do with my 2009 Chevy traverse, I said I was giving it back. We hang up & she calls back saying that she needs to get me and the bank on the phn to verify that I gave back the traverse. I told her I was giving it back not that I had given it back! Then ******** starts calling again back to back to back from her phn from different phns and having other ppl calling. When I do answer I tell ******** that I don't want the car she says well don't tell the bank that and just tell the bank that you already gave the other car back. The next day the same thing with all the calls, I turn my ringer off its so many calls coming in from them. I call the finance company that I have the Chevy thru and they advised me that I needed to either speak with a lawyer or the trustee working on my case before I make any large purchases. Then ******** begins calling my brother to pass ******** to me then she starts calling my references not contact ppl telling them that I "took" one of their cars & they need to get it back, they need to call them back immediately! They pass *** message to me that she said I stole a car from them. I call the bank on Tuesday morning and advise them that I don't want the car, I'm sending it back, & that they don't need to contact me again. Then ******** began calling I answered told her

Desired Settlement: I would like for them not to try to come up with some kind of charges, an apology, and for all of my signed documents returned to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/01) */ Unfortunately, the lender we were using in relation to Ms. *******' purchase of a 2009 Sonata required a condition be met prior to funding the loan that Ms. ******* was either unwilling or unable to meet. As a result, with no other lenders approving the loan, we asked Ms. ******* to return the vehicle which she did. We cannot return all of her signed documents as they are required for our records, and will remain secured in our possession. Antioch Chrysler Dodge Jeep has no interest in pursuing the matter any further. We apologize for any inconvenience caused and wish her the best. Sinerely, *** ****** GM

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: sales person ***** and manager said they would have a dodge journey by wed. we orderd on the sat before with big screen touch radio but wrote down small screen and it,s Thursday no vehicle yet. ps in conversation they hungup the phone!

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund give back deposit 500.00 we,ll go somewhere else.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/01) */ Unfortunately, we were unable to locate the exact vehicle that Mr. **** was interested in. To my knowledge, Mr. **** left a $500.00 deposit by personal check which was never deposited. Mr. **** asked that the check be destroyed which it was. I don't believe we actually have $500.00 as I cannot locate a record of actually depositing the check or issuing a receipt. I have called Mr. **** to verify this, but have not heard back. If I am mistaken, please have Mr. **** call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX so we can clear this up. All I would need is a copy of the cleared check and I will get a refund issued immediately. Thank you, *** ******

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied on line for a specific auto. The dealership sent me a approvel letter for this vehicle finance. I called the dealership twice before going there to make sure this was correct, they said it was, once I arrived they tried to get me to buy a different vehicle and said I did not have the financing for the vehicle I wanted even though they said I was apporved.

Desired Settlement: Financing for the vehicle I was interested in at the payment we discussed, written reprimand against the financing department and a change in sales practice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/15) */ Mr. *******, I do apologize for the misunderstanding, but as *** and our internet team have explained numerous times, our lenders are simply not willing to finance you on the vehicle you desired. We were able to secure financing on a less expensive vehicle, hence the pre-approval, but you declined. It was not our intention to deceive you in any way, and I regret that you feel misled. Feel free to call me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX if you would like to discuss the matter further, but unless your financial/credit situation has improved dramatically over the last month or so, our lenders still will not be able to approve you on a BMW or equivalent luxury vehicle. Please accept my sincere apology. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As I mentioned in my complaint and prove the letter you sent me said "APPROVED" no where does it say "Pre-Approved" clearly you don't have the same letter you sent me, clearly it is a typical bait and switch by used car dealers like to use. I can show how many times I called before coming in asking to make sure we were not wasting each others time and you assured me we were not. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/22) */ Again, I am sorry that we could not deliver you in the vehicle you wanted. As for your desired resolution, I don't believe our people did anything wrong with the possible exception of being more specific with you. It certainly was not our intention to "waste your time", but being approved and actually being able to purchase the vehicle are two entirely different things. Sometimes, we cannot address all of the variables without the customer actually being here. That was the case here. You have a trade in that we needed to evaluate and unfortunately you have severe negative equity (i.e owe far more than it is worth). We did not know that prior to your arrival and you did not disclose it prior to visiting. Many times, such as this case, lenders are simply not willing to roll thousands and thousands of dollars of negative equity into the new loan. Again, for both of our sakes, I wish we would have been able to make a car deal happen. You would be happy and we would have made a small profit. Unfortunately for numerous reasons, the deal was unable to happen. Maybe the negative equity was not properly explained, and if I can be of further assistance, please call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, *** ****** General Manager

8/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/2/13 I brought my vehicle in for an issue that only became apparent due to an icy weather event that required deicing of my vehicles rear view mirrors. My truck, which was purchased new on 3/25/09, came equipped with heated driver and passenger **** mirrors. That feature is only needed sparingly since the mirror surface rarely gets any actual ice accumulation. Some winters I don't remember using it at all. It took two years from the original date of purchase to discover that neither mirror provided deicing. It seems they were defective from the factory. Since it was still under warranty, I brought it in for repair that was fully covered. At the time, the dealer service technician said that he replaced the passenger ****** and the driver side still worked. I assumed that they knew what they were doing since there isn't a surefire way for me to tell that it's heating without icy weather. As it turns out, the driver's side mirror was defective as well. A month ago, we had the ice storm that I previously mentioned and I discovered that it didn't work. The fact that the proper repair of the mirror, is technically out of warranty, is not a result of my mistake. If the ice storm happened shortly after they said they fixed it, I would have returned within a timely manner and had it covered under warranty. Furthermore, the deicing process is not a "wear & tear" item and it has its own switch that activates when needed (rarely). The mirrors have never been physically damaged or folded in. I made an appointment on 12/2/13, and the Antioch Dodge service writer did not offer to cover the problem. They did however look at the vehicle for at least an hour and told me that I would need to pay $125.00 for diagnosing the problem any further. I decided to get Dodge's Customer Care department involved. I called them on 12/2/13, and they said it would need to be diagnosed first. I made a follow up appointment on 12/16/13, to fully diagnose the problem. Since Dodge Customer Service said I needed to get it diagnosed, I paid the $125.00 and let the dealer have my truck for what should have only taken a half hour. After a couple of hours they called me up and said it was the mirror that was bad. So the diagnosing really wasn't necessary. Finally, Dodge Customer Care, not Antioch Dodge, has said that they will pay to have the new mirror installed but they won't do anything about the $125 diagnosing fee that they requested I get done. I am going to get the repairs done by another Dodge dealer, but Antioch Dodge, or Dodge Customer Service, should refund me the $125. **** ******** ***** ******** ********@gmail.com Antioch Dodge 105 Rt. 173 Antioch IL. XXXXX (XXX)XXX-XXXX Customer #XXXXX Service Adviser **** ***** Dodge Customer Care Support (XXX) XXX-XXXX Case #XXXXXXXX Vehicle: 09 Dodge Ram 1500 VIN ****************** Dodge Case Management # XXXXXXXX Case Manager: ******** Phone 800-763-8422 (ext)XXXXX X:XX-X:XX MST Monday-Friday.

Desired Settlement: The Dodge Case Manager has agreed to pay for the installed replacement of the inoperative mirror. They say they cannot pay for the $125 diagnosing fee that they told me to have done. Antioch Dodge needs to refund my credit card $125. This incident is not my fault and they should have taken responsibility in the first place. The part wasn't repaired properly while the vehicle was still under warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/02) */ I spoke to Mr. ******** about his concerns. He expressed to me that his frustration was more with Chrysler, than the dealership. His complaints say otherwise. He was told by Chrysler Customer Care that if they were to "consider" assisting him with his vehicle's problem, he would need to have it brought to a dealership and have it diagnosed. This way, they will know what it is that the vehicle needs. They can't authorize or decline authorization for something if they don't know what it is. I spoke with Chrysler and they never told him they would pay for anything. They told him to get it diagnosed first and then they would decide if assistance would be given. He obviously understood it differently. Someone needed to pay for the diagnosis for the technicians time. He had the choice to agree to it or not. He did agree. He just expected Chrysler to pay him back. The repairs he is referring to that were mad in the past and "supposedly" never fixed right......... Those repairs were made in *** ***** His vehicle had 17,410 miles on it at that time. It is a 2009 model year vehicle. Currently he has no manufacturers warranty left on it and no extended warranty either. He also currently has 71,000 miles on the vehicle. So, the repairs were made 54,000 miles ago and 3 1/2 years ago. It would be completely unreasonable to think that something on a vehicle could not break or become faulty in 54K miles or 3 1/2 years. None the less....... I made an offer to the customer to attempt in keeping him happy or at least satisfying him in this instance. Chrysler has told him they would pay for the part and labor to install it. I told him that if he came in and paid for the part, I would install it without any further labor charge. I would be applying the diagnostic charge that he already paid, to what would normally be the labor charge. He then would be getting a refund from Chrysler Customer Care for most of what he has paid for. This would mean his out of pocket expense would be almost nothing, in the end. I thought this was extremely fair. He's basically getting reimbursed for most of the money he has put out (which isn't much at this point). His response to my offer: He thanked me and stated that he was going to wait to hear from Chrysler Customer Care. I reiterated my offer and explained to him that I am waiving any further labor charges and he will be getting refunded from Chrysler, the cost of the part and most of the diagnostic money he spent. This is pretty much what he is asking for. To not have to pay. He continued to tell me that he appreciates the offer, but is going to wait to hear from Chrysler Customer Care. I explained that the offer will stand and if he decided to have the repairs done, he can call me any time. I would be happy to assist him. Please let me know if there is anything other information you may need. Thanks, ***** ***** Service & Parts Director Antioch Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Click here to R Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/01/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Antioch Dodge provided an inadequate repair while vehicle was under warranty. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/01/15) */ I don't want to be argumentative, but the mileage and time since the initial repair are extremely relevant in my opinion. I would contend that the mirror was operational for the three years that passed ***** the initial repair. Unfortunately, there is no way to know for sure, so we have tried to work out a compromise that we deem very, if not overly, fair to Mr. ********. We informed Mr. ******** of the diagnostic cost and he agreed to it. We have been upfront and will continue to be. Our offer of compromise still stands, but we will not simply refund the diagnostic fee that Mr. ******** understood and agreed to pay. Respectfully, *** ****** GM

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was working with ***** their service man - he is no longer employed there. He was taking care of the problems - slowly but surely I thought. My stero, gauge panel, drivers window, windshield, and hood all were scratched badly from the detail work - ***** had tried on 2 seperate occaisions to repair the scratches on the hood, he repaired the scratch on the drivers window, he replaced the stero, and the gauge cover. The windshield was never taken care of and he never finished repairing the hood. I had purchased this vehicle new from this dealer and they have been the only ones to ever service it. ***** apoligised for all the problems that had arisen from the detailing and was trying to fix everything. I havent heard from him in awhile and wondered what had happened - was i forgot about? Upon making my call to Jeep i find out ***** no longer works there and a man named Mike said that not all of the work ***** did in regards to repairs was put into their computer - he shows the gauge panel and the stero thats it. He is claiming no responsibility nor will they finish repairing what ***** promised to finish fixing - Jeep wrecked it - Jeep was repairing it and then they stopped.

Desired Settlement: I want Jeep to finish repairing what they wrecked on my Jeep when they detailed it. Just because they no longer have the employee there that was working on my vehicle or the employee that actually wrecked it while detailing it is no excuse to not finish fixing what they started. I just want it fixed completely - the hood needs to have all the scratches removed or the hood needs to be replaced and the windshield needs its scratches removed also.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/21) */ I'm sorry for the lack of communication after our transition of employees. Please bring your vehicle into our service department so we can take a look at your concerns and help you. Thank you for your understanding and patience. If you have any questions please contact me XXX-XXX-XXXX sincerely, ***** ***** General Manager Antioch Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Dodge of Antioch, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)