BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Currie Motors-Frankfort meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Currie Motors-Frankfort include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Currie Motors-Frankfort
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 18, 2003 Business started: 05/21/1981 Business started locally: 05/21/1981
Business Management
Mr. Steven Jankelow, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Jankelow, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Currie Motors-Frankfort has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8401 Roosevelt Rd

    Forest Park, IL 60130

  • 9423 W. Lincoln Highway

    Frankfort, IL 60423

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2016 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/27/2015 Delivery Issues
6/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday evening, November 3, 2014 my wife ***** and i visited the showroom of Currie Motors Ford of Frankfort to see and test drive a '07 Lexus ES 350 Stock#XXXXX listed at $17,654. We liked the car and initiated negotiations for its purchase upon return from the test drive. The discussions became serious when the sales rep introduced his sales manager, ****, into the process. Although the discussions were highly spirited and detailed, they were always respectful and good natured. They focused upon the true value of the '07 Lexus versus the reasonableness of my purchase offers. After approximately one (1) hour of give and take, ****, the sales manager offered to sell me the car, and I agreed to purchase the car, for $16,000. We both stood up and reached across the table and sealed the deal with a handshake. A few minutes later, **** returned and said he had made a mistake, and that he could not possibly sell me the car for less than $17,000. I was stunned and in disbelief. I had negotiated in good faith over this car for over an hour. I told **** I was not interested in that car at that price. My wife and I then left the showroom. We did not raise our voices nor did we make a scene. We were followed to our parked car by **** who proceeded to offer to sell the car to us for $16,500. This is shortly after he had said he could not sell it for less than $17,000, and after we had previously agreed to purchase it for $16,000 which agreement he had unilaterally disregarded. The scene was surreal. It was like we were negotiating in an open market bazaar. It was uncomfortable and unprofessional. Finally, I had spent a lot of time, energy and effort on this matter, and I did not want it all to go for naught, so I agreed to purchase the car for $16,400. ****'s coercive and unseemly tactics had worked, and he had successfully squeezed an additional $400 out of me. I felt used and taken advantaged of. **** WAS NOT a "Nice person to do business with" contrary to Currie Motors stated and published business motto.

Desired Settlement: The sales tactics, methods and practices employed by ****, the sales manager, were unprofessional and unacceptable. I would like Currie Motors to acknowledge that fact and issue a sincere apology to my wife for his boorish behavior. I would like Currie Motors to take steps to ensure that such tactics and behavior do not occur in the future. Finally, I would like Currie Motors to ackowledge and honor their original agreement to sell me the car for $16,000 by issueing me a check for $400 which sum represents the amount of ill-gotten gains derived from ****'s unacceptable and unprofessional conduct.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/18) */ We apologize for the customer's displeasure. ****, the sales manager, made an honest mistake when he was negotiating with the customer. **** **** be more than happy to call and apologize, as he did realize it was a mistake once the deal was brought to our General Manager. He then relayed the same information to the customer. We would be willing to take the car back if the customer is unhappy with his purchase, otherwise we are happy to offer a 2 year or up to 30,000 mile service maintenance package of free oil changes at our service department. Again, we apologize for this mistake and will be happy to call the customer's wife to apologize as well. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not believe **** made an honest mistake. He employed an unseemly and unprofessional negotiating tactic best evidenced by the fact that he was willing to reduce his absolute minimum price by $500 as soon as we walked out of the showroom. Currie Motors is not a nice place to do business. They do not deal with people directly and honestly. They do not stand by their word. and they dishonored and reneged on an agreement that had been sealed with a handshake by both parties. I am not interested in free oil changes. I am interested in protecting the general public against unscrupulouis businesses who engage in dubious business practices. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/12/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am unfamiliar with the Byzantine rituals and processes involved in the used car sales business. I do know the factual circumstances that occurred in this instance. When our initial salesman introduced us to ****, he introduced him as the sales manager in whom I was led to believe rested final authority to negotiate in good faith a final and binding purchase agreement. As stated in the original complaint, we negotiated for approximately one (1) hour in great detail over the true value and fair market price I was willing to pay for the car. After reaching an agreement on the purchase price that was sealed with a handshake, ****, the sales manager, returned a few minutes later and said that he had made a mistake and he could not possibly sell me the car for less than $17,000 which was $1,000 more than we had agreed upon. He further stated that it was the first time he had ever made such a pricing mistake in his 22-23 years in the car business. He never mentioned any conversation he may have had with the general manager. I was never introduced to the general manager, and I cannot even say whether a general manager was present in the showroom at that time. I can say that **** immediately followed me out the showroom door, in fact he was standing on the front entrance stairway as I approached my car in the parking lot. I cannot perceive how he could have possibly had another conversation with the general manger authorizing him to lower his absolute minimum price in such a brief span of time. I can say this. As a business owner for over twenty (20) years, if I made an unilateral pricing mistake that adversely impacted a negotiated agreement I had made, I would not renege on that agreement , but rather I would honor it and learn from my mistake. Obviously, Currie Motors is not willing or able to follow that course of action. This is my counter-proposal. In the spirit of the Season, if Currie Motors is willing to write a check in the amount of $400 made payable to Mercy Home for Boys and Girls, I am willing to consider this matter resolved satisfactorily to all parties. If this proposal is acceptable to Currie Motors, please have ***** ***** contact me directly. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/12/18) */ We are a company that regularly donates to charitable organizations and supports the community. If the customer would like to donate to the ***** ***** we are prepared to match him up to $400. We hope this will settle this matter.

7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I traded my vehicle in on June 28, 2014. As of July 13, Currie has not paid off my trade in value, despite this amount being added to my loan. I am still making payments on a car I traded in on June 29. This is fraudulent.

Desired Settlement: Pay off my loan as agreed to immediately. I should not have any more payments due on my old car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/15) */ We have been in contact with the customer and provided a copy of the payoff check which was cut a few days after the deal and mailed to the lender. It has not cleared yet, but we will continue to look for it.

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Newly purchase on 1/4/13, vehicle from Currie Frankfort exhibited unawarranted warning beeps and warning indicators on dash including low tire pressure indicator. After front left tire discovered completely flattened morning of 1/7/13, Currie sales manger *** was contacted by phone and *** displayed accusatory and inflammatory language when apprised of the issues. 2 phone call attempts were terminated by disconnection from Currie rep. Issues remain unresolved and will necessitate untold number of calls to solicit warranty satisfaction or the attempt thereof

Desired Settlement: Resolution of new car issues that preclude car from usage, i.e. esp. falt tire, and sincere apology from Currie rep *** or superior sales rep at Currie that can assure his reprimand

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/08) */ While we respectfully disagree with the customer's description of what transpired, we understand the customers are frustrated by the problem with the vehicle. We also understand their frustration was compounded by the extended wait time for a tow truck caused by the recent record below zero temperatures. Our General Manager is in contact with the customers and is making every reasonable effort to resolve the issue. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dealership's flip dismissal of treatment experienced regards contact to remedy issues is unacceptable. Of note: 1) dealership is approx. 1 mile from purchaser's residence, 2)dealership's reps were contacted multiple times on three days directly and through third party to request remedy, 3) dealership was asked to consider several viable options to potential remedy such as towing of vehicle, swapping an identical wheel/tire combo which were on premises, providing a temp loaner vehicle, et al., all of which were cursorily rebuffed abrasively or through third party, all of which might be reasonably expected to simply satisfy the issue, and only one of which has now have been partially remedied mostly sans dealership's assistance, 4) time and expense were personally expended to remedy the tire issue over three days which initially included traveling three different places to obtain a floor jack, a compressor, and a vehicle to use and transport above items, only to subsequently have the reinflated damaged tire fail later that day. Time and expense were also accrued having local repair shop mount spare and remove damaged tire and then 2 days later removing spare and remounting repaired tire, and 5) neither general manager nor any employee of dealership has expressed adequate iniative to resolve the issues on this vehicle which was purchased 6 days ago. Unwarranted third party and personal involvement were required, and this is not something that should be expected from the purchase of a 6 day old vehicle Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/03/20) */ I am surprised this matter is showing as unresolved. It was resolved several weeks ago when we were first made aware of it. I recall that we replaced a tire (and/or wheel) at no charge, reimbursed the customer for a third-party service call and provided additional compensation for their inconvenience. I do not have specific details as I am out of the office today. Please let me know if you need additional information and I will provide it tomorrow. Sincerely, ******* D. ***** General Counsel Currie Group of Companies 8401 W. Roosevelt Road Forest Park, IL XXXXX (XXX) XXX-XXXX Fax (XXX) XXX-XXXX ****@curriemotors.com

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* 18, brought our 08' **** **** to dealership due to knocking under the hood and would not go over 3000rpm. Dealership notified us that the spark plugs needed to be replaced due to carbon residue which in return caused the vehicle to also need a tune up. Picked up vehicle ******* 18 paid a total of $711.90, left, went down the street, problem intensified causing the vehicle to shimmy knock and still could not go over 3000RPM. Returned to dealership, had a service technician "*****" drive vehicle, stated that problem was not fixed and it was definitely worse. Received call from dealership stating that the problem was actually the catalytic converter. Spoke with the Service Manager, discussed about the coverage of the damage/warranties/and reimbursements, we were told in a very unprofessional manner that the dealership will not reimburse the original service cost. He also explained that the spark plugs which were originally a 100,000 mile spark plug change recommendation (per owners manual) was now corrected to 60,000 miles and a letter from **** was mailed to all customers, therefore we need to have the spark plugs changed anyway. There was never a letter received from anyone regarding this suggestion. The Converter was covered under warranty, so there was no charge there. My fight is that we were told it was one thing, was charged for it, paid for it, left with the problem still there only worse and it turned out to be something completely unrelated to what technicians originally stated/fixed. The consumer should not have to pay for a faulty diagnosis!

Desired Settlement: I am asking for a refund in the amount of $711.90 which is what we paid for a faulty diagnosis, and work done on something that was unrelated to the outcome of what the actual problem really was

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/22) */ We have been unable to locate a service record under this customer's name. We would ask that the customer provide a VIN for the vehicle or if the vehicle came into our service department under a different name, then please provide that name. Once we are able to locate the records, we will contact the appropriate staff and respond to the concern. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (450, 12, 2013/12/02) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Dear Mr. *********** *****/**** Motor Company, I am writing to you regarding **** Case Number XXXXXXX-S1V4Y9 and BBB Case Number XXXXXXXX. I would like to extend my gratitude to all that has been involved in closing this situation. Your Customer Service has exceded my expectations and I am glad that we were able to get this error resolved. I am pleased that not only **** stood behind its product but to those of higher positions at the dealership who took charge in keeping good faith with a loyal customer, and kept Customer Service as an important trait for any business. I will be awaiting a credit back to my credit card. Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at any time via the number on the service ticket. Sincerely, ****** ****** Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/02) */ We are sorry for the confusion with the customer. The spark plugs and tune up were necessary and not covered under warranty. Unfortunately, the need to replace the catalytic converter was not apparent upon the road test following the initial repair. The subsequent repair was covered under the extended emissions warranty. Due to the confusion caused by the additional repairs, and in the interest of good customer relations, we have agreed to refund the initial repair amount to the customer. We believe one of our senior managers, ***** ****** has been in contact with the customer to arrange the refund. If not, please contact him at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service