Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Currie Motors Chevrolet Inc.

Additional Locations

Fax: (708) 771-2883 View Additional Phone Numbers 8401 Roosevelt Rd, Forest Park, IL 60130 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.curriechevy.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Currie Motors Chevrolet Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Currie Motors Chevrolet Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Currie Motors Chevrolet Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1981 Business started: 05/21/1981 Business started locally: 05/21/1981 Business incorporated 07/13/2007 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven Jankelow, Vice President Mr. Leo Sfikas, General Manager Ms. Julie Sieracki, General Counsel
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Julie Sieracki, General Counsel
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Curfin Investments, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1505 N Mannheim Rd

    Stone Park, IL 60165

  • 21000 S Western Ave

    Olympia Fields, IL 60461

  • 2667_1505 N Mannheim Rd

    Stone Park, IL 60165

  • 2667_21000 S Western Ave

    Olympia Fields, IL 60461

  • 2667_8401 Roosevelt Rd

    Forest Park, IL 60130 (708) 771-2600

  • 2667_9423 W Lincoln Hwy

    Frankfort, IL 60423

  • 7901 Roosevelt Rd

    Forest Park, IL 60130

  • 8401 Roosevelt Rd

    Forest Park, IL 60130

  • 8401 Roosevelt Rd

    Forest Park, IL 60130

  • 9423 W Lincoln Hwy

    Frankfort, IL 60423

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
10/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 23,2014 while on the sales man ran my credit too many times I only told him to creditors Toyota and Honda this has greatly affected my score when I looked at it and he told me that he was not going to run about two times I talked to the credit bureau and they said my credit score is due to all these inquiries for a car loan

Desired Settlement: To report to the credit union about taking off those inquiries that affected my credit score

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/02) */ Our records indicate that the customer was in our dealership in October 2015 inquiring about a vehicle purchase and we ran a credit application with his consent, which customer acknowledges. Although our credit application allows inquiry to a number of financial institutions, multiple inquiries for the same loan do not affect credit score. The **** ***** ******* (FICO) website states: "Looking for a mortgage, auto or student loan may cause multiple lenders to request your credit report, even though you are only looking for one loan. To compensate for this, FICO Scores ignore mortgage, auto, and student loan inquiries made in the 30 days prior to scoring. So, if you find a loan within 30 days, the inquiries won't affect your scores while you're rate shopping. In addition, FICO Scores look on your credit report for mortgage, auto, and student loan inquiries older than 30 days. If your FICO Scores find some, your scores will consider inquiries that fall in a typical shopping period as just one inquiry." Thus, by providing consent in regards to the loan, the customer's FICO score would only consider one inquiry. Moreover, our dealership is not signed up for financing with ****** ***** ****** or ***** ********* ********* so those inquiries could not have been from us. We trust that this information provides insight to the customer's concerns.

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an email by Chevy to conduct an survey on my recent visit to the dealership. After doing the survey i received a very disrespectful call from the dealership asking my why did i give them a bad review. The phone call made me feel like i was being threaten by the dealership because i spoke the truth about how i was treated an i don't feel like i should have received telling me i lied on my review about the dealership. I don't evan feel safe to take my car to that location anymore out of fear they might do something to my car.

Desired Settlement: I just would like to take my car to another Chevy dealership for future service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/08) */ The customer came into the dealership on June 1 for a service issue. Initially his insurance would not cover a rental car, however, the insurance company later approved and the customer was given a rental while his car was being serviced. We diagnosed the problem and fixed the vehicle issue, that being clogged drains, and the customer picked up his vehicle. Upon receiving a negative survey, our service manager called the customer to get feedback and was immediately treated poorly and sworn at by the customer. We are fine with him taking his business elsewhere as he had mistreated our staff throughout his interactions.

7/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Looking for a car for under $10k. Found add for 2007 Chevy Malibu. 1 owner. 75,330 miles on it. In an online search at Currie Motors. Filled out the online request. Was emailed by Krystal ******* and given the price of $7549. Told her I would call her when I had an opportunity as I was at work. Called her at 11:30 a.m. and was told she stepped out and left a msg. No return call, so I call her back at 3:30 p.m. spoke with her and confirmed that she would be available to show me the car at 6 p.m. I called at 5:30 to say I would be late. I was informed that she was gone for the day. I asked how late they dealership was open. Informed until 9 p.m. Showed up at 7 and the sales person asked how he could help. Told him I wanted to look at the 2007 Malibu. He took a deep breath and then said "ahhh the one with 75K miles? Yes. With one owner? Yes. For $7500? Yes. Ohh, I think we sold that yesterday". Why would Krystal email me and confirm she would meet me at 6 p.m. if the car was sold yesterday? He did not have any answer. He asked me if I was stuck with that price or was there some flexibility. I told him up to $10k. He then asked with or without tax. I said with. He said give me 2 minutes and I'll see if we have something on the lot. I was surprised that he would know everything about the car that sold yesterday, which he did not indicate in any way, shape or form that he was the one who sold it, but he did not know off the top if his head if there was another car on the lot for under $10k. Needless to day he never returned after 5 minutes, so we left knowing we had been scammed. I went to the website today, and of course the add has been removed. I do have the email strings between myself and Krystal *******. As I thought about the situation, I realized that the add did not have any pictures of the actual car, but only 2 manufacturer's pictures. That should have clued me in.

Desired Settlement: I want them fined or something for false advertisement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/01) */ We are sorry the customer was upset. When we sell a vehicle, it is entered in our Automatic Data Processing database as sold. The specific advertisement may take a few days to be taken off of our website as it did here, and our used car manager was on bereavement leave during these two days. Our price quotes include a statement that they are subject to availability; unfortunately the vehicle sold the previous day. The vehicle the customer wanted was no longer available when she came into the store and we apologize that the salesman was not more helpful. We would love to work with her to find another vehicle that is in her price range.

6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This will be the third time a transmission have been overhaul in my automobile since November 2012. The first time I understand I was pass my warranty. The second time it was overhaul on August 20th 2014 at Currie motors dealership which was cover under my extended warranty. After my transmission was overhaul the dealership gave a warranty for 12 months, 12,000miles in which my automobile had 111,034 miles on it, now my transmission has gone out at 122,000 miles now they don't want to honor it.They have told me what is broken in the transmission they didn't replaced is not cover. I called my extended warranty company and they stated that the transmission should have came from a company called **** and the dealership should have installed that transmission, but the dealership overhauled the transmission themselves. No one what to take the blame. My warranty company is called ***** ***** ******* and I can't get no help from them and I paid for warranty, they told me its up to me and the dealership, so neither company want to repair my transmission, so I been without my car since January XX XXXX.

Desired Settlement: I would like my car repair and giving back to without coming out of pocket. I paid my deductible and paid my extended warranty company. Either the dealership or the extended warranty company should be responsible.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/19) */ We are sorry the customer is unhappy, however, the issue should be addressed by the extended warranty company. The customer's vehicle was towed in on 8/11/2014 showing 111,030 miles. The customer's documented complaint at that time was that the vehicle would only move if it was put into 1st gear manually or reverse. Our Technician confirmed and documented that vehicle would not move in D or D3. He found that the forward band broken, 2-1 bands were burnt and he found some galling on input sun gear. Therefore, the technician recommended a forward band replacement and overhaul to correct the problem. The customer was notified and he told us that he had an extended warranty with ***** ***** ********* We called ***** ***** ********* and they sent out an inspector to verify the complaint and repair, which the inspector confirmed. ***** ***** ******** authorized forward band replacement and overhaul. The parts and repair carry a 12/12 manufacture warranty. The technician performed the authorized repairs and we submitted the completed invoice to ***** ***** ******** for review and payment. ***** ***** confirmed and paid the bill. The customer picked up vehicle, drove it for 5 months and put 11,792 miles on the car before it was towed back in on 1/30/2015 for a completely different complaint of not being able to drive in forward and reverse. With the customer's permission and at no charge to him, we inspected and diagnosed his vehicle and found a chuck of the final drive in the transmission pan. The vehicle now needed a final drive replacement and overhaul. We notified the customer, who directed us to ***** ***** ********* The warranty company declined to repair the final drive, even though he is still under the ***** ***** ******** warranty. The two repairs are completely different with their own unique GM labor operation codes. Royal Admin Services sent out their own inspector and he verified the first complaint and repair. It would have been an additional $600.00 - $800.00 to replace the final drive. We did not recommended replacing it at that time, because it did not need it as there were no signs of damages. The customer drove an additional 11,792 miles on the car in between the two repairs, which were on separate parts of the transmission. If the customer is unhappy, he needs to follow up with the Royal Admin Services as he is still under warranty. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My warranty company stated the transmission was supposed to come fom LKQ company to be installed by currie motors so i am getting the run around. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/03/03) */ We fixed the customer's transmission at no additional cost to him and did not charge for parts or labor. The customer picked up his vehicle on March 3, 2015 and was satisfied.

2/5/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2014 Chevy Impala 06/06/2014 from Currie Motor. I expressed at the time of purchase I did not want to pay more than 500 a month for a car loan. I was told by the finance department that everything will be finalized on Monday or Tuesday next week and my loan should be lower. I never received a call regarding the new terms of the contract that the finance department promised. After about 3 weeks of having the car it stopped working. I had the car brought in for repair 06/28/2014. I was told on 07/01/2014, it was a manufacture defect and was part of a massive recall by GM. They offered to repair the car, but had no ideal how soon the parts will be available. I expressed to the general manager **** ** that I wanted a new car, since I have only owned the car for 3 weeks before it had broken down. **** had told me to contact GM to see what they could do. I contacted the customer service department and filed a complaint. I was told by the customer service department at GM that they can give me a new car. I contacted Dave once again with the response that GM had given me. After a week of back and forth with the dealer, GM and myself I was told that I can pick out a new car. After I picked out my car I was told by **** ** that I would get 0% APR financing, $6500 cash incentive by GM, and that I could apply the $1500 down-payment that I had given when I had purchased the car. **** offered me a 6 cylinder Chevy Impala and told me to give him until Monday (07/14/14) and I could pick it up. On Monday I was contacted by **** and was told that they are trying to find financing for the car. I asked why since the car had already been financed through ***** ***** and I was under the impression that you are just going to swap the cars out. **** proceeded to tell me that I would have to trade my original 2014 Impala in for the newer that I had picked out a week or so prior. I was told by Dave that they had to rerun my credit. I asked **** who gave you authorization to run my credit again and look for financing. I was under the impression that you were just going to swap the cars and update the bill of sale. At this point I am extremely confused, and I don't quite understand what is going on I feel like I am being scammed. So my daughter contacts them and they told her the they were going to trade the original 2014 Impala in for a $6500 trade in and the difference between the two cars would be added to my new contact with another lender. My daughter asked why the car could not be swapped out or even returned and then re bought under the same loan agreement as before. **** ** had all these crazy answers but did not address why I had to have another lender. Why my credit was ran without my permission the second time and why they are only giving me $6500 for a trade in on a brand new car with a Kelly Blue Book trade in value at $20,480 with only 800 miles on it that GM told both the dealer and myself I could have. I have not gotten any answers to my questions or concerns. I am a senior citizen, who needs a reliable car so I can get back and forth to my doctors appointments that is why I wanted a new car. Although I have a loaner car from the dealership, it is not the car the I have purchased and have already paid one car payment on with my loan with ***** ****** I personally believe that there is something underhanded going on and I feel like I am the one who is going to suffer from these tricks that the dealer is trying to pull in order to get more money out of the banks with all this switching lenders and what not. I just want a new car with the same terms of the agreement that was on the original loan or lower if possible. I shouldn't have to go through all this I am a very sick man and it is causing additional stress on me and my current health concerns.

Desired Settlement: I would like to either have a new 2014 Impala given to me in exchange for the orginal 2014 Impala that I had purchased that had stopped working. I want it for the same amount of money or less than what I am currently paying, since this has been an huge inconvenience and hardship. If Currie Motors is not able to do do this I would like to have the terms of my loan agreement terminated and my money that was used towards a down payment refunded to me. In addition, I would like Currie Motors to contact the credit bureaus to have the credit inquiries removed that they did without my permission in order to obtain financing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/28) */ The customer has completed the paperwork and taken delivery of a new car. The matter is resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/08/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes I did receive a new car. However I was forced to trade my new car in for $10,000 less than what I purchased it for. Their response for the $10,000 deficit in price was the engine is blown and I can't sell the car as a new car. I'm losing money in this deal Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/08/26) */ We are sorry if the customer is unhappy, but we did the best we could. The manufacturer, not the dealer, provides the warranty on the vehicle. The manufacturer offered limited trade-in assistance which covered most, but not all, of the depreciation. The customer could have had the original vehicle repaired and pursued a claim against the manufacturer, but chose to accept the trade-in.

7/14/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2013 Edge from them on May 15th. To date, I still have not been able to transfer the plates to my car because they tell me they do not have the title (are they even allowed to sell a car without a title?). Kelly has told me for weeks that the title is in TX at the credit union from previous buyer. I received a call from Jason, a manager, on 6/16 who tells me they are waiting on the previous couple to sign for a lost title. I have phoned them weekly for a month. They don't appear to know where the title is or how to attain it. I've made a car payment/insurance payment and done my part by getting VIN verification and yet the car isn't legally mine. What recourse do I have? Product_Or_Service: Vehicle

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want immediate resolution or I wish to return the car with compensation for money already spent and loss of wages in dealing with this matter (trips to BMV/police station).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/26) */ We apologize for the delay, but there were unforeseen circumstances which delayed processing title. We have completed the process now and the customer has received registration for the vehicle and the matter is now resolved.

4/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Approx Wed April 19, 2014 I contacted General Motors' Customer Asst line for help in getting my car towed to a nearby GM Dealer for repairs needed. Upon speaking to a Rep at GM, I was transferred to the nearest Chevy Dealer's service ********** ***** introduced himself & I explained at that time what repairs I was aware of that were needed. My Husband was on another phone listening to our conversation. ***** specified that a Diagnostic test would need to be done on the car. I had already had this particular test completed already & explained to ***** as such. ***** indicated to me that Chevy would have to perform their own diagnostic review to confirm what repairs were needed. He stated the cost of the diagnostic test was $110. He VOLUNTARILY STATED this fee would be waived based on my decision that repairs are done by their service dept. He indicated this to me more than once in the same conversation that this would be done! Again, my Husband was listening from another phone!The car was towed on Tues March 25, 2014 to Chevy Currie Motors in Forest Park, IL. ***** called me the same day indicating what actual repairs were needed & est costs. He once again CONFIRMED that the diagnostic fee of $110 would be waived once the repairs were completed.Picked up my repaired car on Wed April 9th but later discovered after reviewing my invoice further, that I was still charged the diagnostic fee! I returned to Currie Motors on Thurs April 10th requesting a refund for the diagnostic fee. ***** then suddenly "claims" that he never told me the fee would be waived & that it was included in the total cost of the repairs! THIS IS FALSE ON EVERY ACCOUNT! As stated above, my Husband heard him on the phone when I spoke to him about the repair costs & ***** CLEARLY stated the diagnostic fee would be waived based on Currie Motors completing the repairs.And to note, I was given this EXACT same courtesy when repairs were completed on my car in March 2013 at the same dealer (albeit different service advisor)! Product_Or_Service: Vehicle Repair Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund In addition to the PROMISED REFUND of the Diagnostic Fee of $110 (& incl applicable taxes charged); I want NO FURTHER CONTACT from this Dealer! I want to ensure they NEVER send me ANY correspondence (via mail, phone, email, etc) at all!In addition to complaints above, my car NEVER rec'd a 16-point check up; was NOT washed; AND upon arriving to pick it up; service was going to have ME (the Customer) go & get my own car! Furthermore, this dealership has NO ample parking available for visitors!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/17) */ We apologize for this situation. The employee's supervisor has contacted the customer and arranged a refund and instructed the employee as to proper procedures.

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ********** I entered into an agreement with Currie Motors concerning the purchase of an 2013 ***** ******* (Vin#************XXXXX) I was quoted an interest rate of 8% and it was changed to 8.9% (XXXXX). I purchased a burglar alarm which has yet to be chosen or installed. The company used unethical high-pressure tactics and does not deliver on there promises. In formed financed person that I did not want there GAP coverage but was added to the *************** ***** ******

Desired Settlement: Itemized list of charges associated with purchase of car. I request the cost, possible options and installation of my pre-purchased burglar alarm. I request an interest rate of 8% or applicable refund ($4000.00)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/14) */ This transaction was completed on ********* 18, 2013. The first time we are aware of the customer raising any issues is when he left our General Manager a message today. Our GM returned the call and left the customer a message. He has not yet heard back. The customer signed a Retail Installment Contract with the APR clearly disclosed in the required Truth-in-Lending Disclosure. We are not sure what the customer recalls hearing, but the terms are put in writing, and the Truth-in-Lending Disclosures are designed to highlight the terms so they are clear before the Contract is signed. We cannot change the rate 4 months later. The GAP coverage was likewise clearly disclosed in writing. It is shown on the Buyers Order signed by the customer, the Retail Installment Contract signed by the customer and the separate GAP Agreement signed by the customer. We can cancel the GAP coverage and a pro rata refund will be made to the customer's finance company. If the customer wishes to do so, he must come to the dealership and sign a cancellation request. Finally, the customer is owed an alarm. We do not know why he never had it installed, but we are happy to arrange an appointment for its installation. Please ask him to contact our GM, **** **** at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Currie Motors Chevrolet Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)