Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Crystal Lake Chrysler-Jeep- Dodge

Phone: (815) 459-9000 5404 S State Route 31, Crystal Lake, IL 60012 http://www.clcjd.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Crystal Lake Chrysler-Jeep- Dodge meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Crystal Lake Chrysler-Jeep- Dodge include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Crystal Lake Chrysler-Jeep- Dodge
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 28, 1991 Business started: 02/14/1988 in IL Business started locally: 02/14/1988
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Rosenberg, President Mr. Scott Rosenberg, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Rosenberg, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Additional Locations

  • 5404 S State Route 31

    Crystal Lake, IL 60012 (815) 459-9000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As an avid Dodge driver, on November 12, 2013 I bought a 2014 Jeep Wrangler Sahara Dragon Edition" for over $38,000 from Crystal Lake Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram in Crystal Lake Illinois. One of the reasons I was looking for a new vehicle at the time was that come January 2014, law required you to be hands free with cell phone use in your vehicle. I did have a "Uconnect" after market system in my Nitro and it worked perfectly, but the sound quality was not good. I was really excited that the new technology in my Jeep was built-in and ran through the stereo system with controls on the steering wheel. This feature is so important to me since I am in outside sales and rely on my cell phone so heavily as it is how I make my income and feed my family of five. Unfortunately, after purchasing the vehicle I realized that I couldn't place calls from my phone book; the system didn't recognize texts that came in, and when I go to place calls through voice recognition...the phone call would go through, but when the other party answers...it hangs up on them. The phone does this three or four times, and then it finally connects. When I spend this kind of money on a product...when I spend any kind of money on a product...I expect everything to work on it. It would be like buying a car and only three of the four breaks work?!?! As I said before; I'm in outside sales and make my living with my phone. Therefore, for almost a year I have been without my hands-free system. I have tried avoiding using my phone. I would try to connect via Bluetooth, but would inevitably hang up on my clients and prospects. I have even been yelled at by clients who told me NOT to call them from my cell phone ever again. In times where I really needed to make a call and I was nervous about connection issue, I would simply shut off my Bluetooth and call from the phone directly. On one occasion, this got me a warning from a Police Officer. So where are the issues? Why so long? You know, I have been extremely patient. When I informed the dealership right away, they contacted Chrysler and were told that the system was not updated for the software in my phone. You see, I have the Samsung Galaxy S4; the number one selling phone on the market, and apparently the Uconnect System was released only partially complete. So the dealership told me it should be about a month, and they would have any update. I brought my vehicle in a month later and took a loaner-car, only to find they still didn't have an update. I did this three or four times still without resolution. Crystal Lake Chrysler told me it is not their issue and sent me to Chrysler Corporate. I called them and they said it is not their issue and sent me to Uconnect. Uconnect sent me back to the dealer. I called the sales floor at the dealer and they send me to service. I talk with service and they tell me they will have to get back to me...they never do. I have left two messages for the owner ***** ********* which went un-answered. I even believe at one point he was right next to the Manager I was speaking with, and refused to take my call.

Desired Settlement: I have been with the same company for seven years. I have been a top-biller, and have hit my budget five out of seven years. However, I will NOT hit budget here in 2014. I of course cannot prove that the reason I am missing budget is because of my inability to use my cell phone effectively while I am on the road, but I believe it to be an assumption that has validation. Here's why: I cannot place cold calls, I cannot schedule appointments, I cannot confirm appointments, I cannot follow up on presentations', I cannot update and service my accounts effectively and I cannot negotiate when a client is on the fence. This is a major problem for me and my business. I have lost literally thousands of dollars because of this issue. Bottom line; I have a $40,000 vehicle that is costing me money because of the product doesn't work, and Crystal Lake Chrysler Jeep cannot fix it, is running me around and refuses to compensate me for their error and my troubles. I simply have asked for two things for the money I have lost...for the time I have lost...for the aggravation I have endured...for the relationships I have tainted...for the lack of service and attention I have received...and for the nerves I have shattered. I simply want this fixed as soon as humanly possible, and I want the money back I paid for the extended service plan...and the plan stays in-tacked. Is this really too much to ask for?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ********* *************** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@clcjd.com Unfortunately, although the Jeep Wrangler **** purchased has U-connect as an option on this vehicle, not all phones are compatible with the system. Periodically, updates through Chrysler become available to enhance radio and U-Connect performance either improving or removing various features that it once had. The issue is ****'s Samsung Galaxy phone is not compatible with the U-connect system on this vehicle. After various failed attempts to update and flash ****'s radio in the Jeep, Chrysler suggested that **** purchase a different type of phone that is compatible with his vehicle. Unfortunately, phone and radio compatible can change as technology changes. Another option was updating ****'s current radio known as a 430N to an upgraded 730N. The upgraded radio is set up slightly different than the existing system and if a customer were to purchase this upgraded radio, the suggested retail price would cost in the range of $2000.00 for parts and labor. The 730N radio has different features than the 430N, but our main goal is to see if the customer can make phone calls using his phone with the U-connect system. Through numerous conversations with the Chrysler Area District Manager and Chrysler Technical Assistance, Chrysler offered to pay for this upgrade with the customer's permission in hopes that this would resolve the issue of calling from the vehicle. On Friday, November 7th, we installed the new upgraded 730N radio into ****'s vehicle and removed the 430N radio and hands free module. On Monday, November 10th, **** called me at Crystal Lake Chrysler Jeep and informed me that he has the ability to make phone calls without issues, but is dissatisfied with the quality of the navigation on the radio and the inability to be notified when a text message is received like the old radio was capable of doing. At this time, the customer is not pleased with this repair and is questioning the next step. He is also, as he requested previous to this repair, looking for compensation for time and money lost. Chrysler did offer **** a maintenance care service contract which pays for his oil changes at no charge to the customer and offered to make a car payment for him. **** refused those offers and is seeking reimbursement of the chrysler service contract he had purchased at the time of sale of his 2014 Wrangler. I told him first and foremost, we needed to address the issue of his ability to make phone calls with his existing phone in his vehicle. That appears to be fixed, but not to ****'s liking. Chrysler is paying for the upgraded radio to ****'s vehicle. As far as reimbursement for the service contract, **** paid Crystal Lake Chrysler Jeep Dodge for the service contract when he purchased the vehicle. We in turn, have to pay Chrysler for the contract. **** would need to contact Chrysler Customer Assistance to seek reimbursement for the contract on his vehicle. **** claims if Chrysler refuses to reimburse him for the contract, Crystal Lake Chrysler Jeep Dodge should step up and pay. In speaking to the owner of the store, he claims he will not reimburse **** for the contract and he needs to come to a resolution with Chrysler. Unfortunately, even though we sold him a 2014 Jeep Wrangler with U-Connect, we cannot guarantee which phones will or will not work with the system. Normally customers are charged for upgrading options on their vehicle and Chrysler decided to pay for this upgrade based on the customers dissatisfaction with their vehicle. My suggestion to **** would be to keep the upgraded radio Chrysler is paying for that we just performed. I suggest he contacts Chrysler customer assistance and revisit the idea of them paying for a maintenance care service contract on his vehicle and receive compensation of one car payment. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When I purchase something, I expect it to work from the start; especially when I buy it with a specific feature in mind such as a hands-free phone system due the law. They are correct, they finally put a new stereo in my vehicle and the phone does now connect. However, I am not certain it was an upgrade as I lost the voice-to-text and some of the navigation features. Regardless...why did it take a year?!?! I was told they had this very stereo for over 3 years. Yesterday marked a year of me owning this vehicle and dealing with this problem. I am in outside sales. I make money with my phone. It is a tool for my business. I literally lost thousands of dollars! As a sales person...the buck stops with me. When I sell my product, the customer only knows me. Regardless whether I caused the problem for my client or not, I am the one that needs to find a solution and satisfy my client. I would never tell them to go talk to someone else. However... the dealership did to me...and I tried. I called Chrysler and they said they would give me one car payment. I know the dealership says they offered me an oil change service plan, but I do not remember that being the case. Even if it was, I would not have accepted it. My brother is a mechanic and I enjoy going over hanging out with him while we change my oil. Due to a year of this headache when they had a solution, my lost income and the constant pushing me around...all I am looking for is the money I gave the dealer for the extended service plan. Look, bottom line; I purchased the vehicle from Crystal Lake Chrysler. If they believe Chrysler should pay it, then as a service to their customer (me) they should go after them for it. They have the relationship/partnership after all...not me! Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/11/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The owner **** and I did have a very nice conversation. We are working on a resolution,but nothing has been finalized. I am confident we will be able to accomplish this. However, until we do, I cannot consider this issue resolved. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2015/01/12) */ Crystal Lake Chrysler Jeep had given Mr. ***** a refund check for the Extended Service Contract that he had originally purchased. Mr. ***** was given the refund check on Dec. 23, 2014. Chrysler corporation also provided an upgraded replacement radio to Mr. ***** at no cost to the consumer. Please consider this case resolved.

10/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10-26-09 I had been told by CL Crysler that the Arm Control Bushings needed to be replaced on my 2005 PT Cruiser which I had purchased from them in July 06. On X-XX-XX I had the work done at the quoted cost of $505. Then on 1-28-13 when I took the car to the dealer in St Charles (I moved) I was told by them I needed to have them replaced because they are separated- at a cost of over $800. That means the CL Dealer either didn't actually do the work or they used inferior parts.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for the money I spent to have this work done ($500) which obviously was not done right or done at all.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/22) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******* Svc Director Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@clcjd.com On February 22, 2010, we replaced both front lower control arm bushings for the vehicle. At that time, the vehicle had 58,480 miles on it. Chrysler warranties all of it's repairs with a 12 month, 12,000 mile warranty from the date of install or 12 months, unlimited miles warranty if the customer drives an extensive amount of miles. This warranty is good at any Chrysler dealership across the country. Currently, based on the information above, the customer is almost 2 full years passed *** warranty, and it's been almost 3 years since the repair. The last time this customer was at our dealership was June 3, 2010. If there was any neglect in our part, there would have been noise from the front end shortly after replacing the parts. Unfortunately, there was no indication in any visits after the repair that shows there was a problem with the bushing installation. When a vehicle is serviced regularly at our facility, we perform a 16 point inspection which includes visually inspecting the suspension. Since the vehicle has not been to our facility since June of 2010, we have also not been able to inspect the suspension to see if there were any issues. That inspection is done for free for all of our customers as a courtesy to them. Unfortunately, based on this information, Crystal Lake Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram cannot provide any additional assistance at this time. A question for the customer to ask St. ******* would be why is a repair that costed $505 in 2010, costed the $800 in 2013. Did St. ******* replace more than just the control arm bushings? Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/08/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I already explained that I moved from the area that is why the car has not been in CL since 2010. The charge for $800 that was quoted to me was for the exact same work that was done. It is ridiculous to say that it had a 12 month warranty - hello!! Why would I come in and say - "by the way would you please look at the work you said you did and see if you really did it or if you used inferior parts and let me know if it looks like I should have it replaced again before the warranty runs out" As you stated when I had the car in to my local Chrysler dealer they did a vehicle inspection - just like you do- and they informed me that the arm bushing are bad - of their own accord. And as far as the work costing more - are you telling me that you charge the exact same amount for work done in 2013 as you did in 2010? What does that have to do with the issue - that is deflecting from the point. it is not possible for the arm bushings to be replaced in Feb of 2010 and then need replacing in Jan of 2013 - the car had XXXXX miles then. That would mean that arm bushings would need to be replaced every 30,000 miles - is that what you are saying? I have owned a lot of cars in my 50 plus years and have not had to get the arm bushings replaced every 30,000 miles. How could I possibly know if the parts were actually replaced - I trusted them at the time and would like to know how they explain this. If the work was really done then the parts must have been bad - perhaps the mechanic was inexperienced - I don't know. But it is not fair to me. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2014/10/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have said all I can - I want it to be on record what happened to me so others can be aware. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/10/06) */

2/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Regards: recent purchased 2014 **** ***** ******** limited (eco diesel) VIN- ************XXXXX To whom this may concern: This past weekend my husband and I purchased a brand new 2014 **** ***** ******** ******* from your Crystal ***** IL location. We picked up the vehicle on Monday, ******* 6th. The reason for this letter is to express how unhappy we are with the overall experience we had at the Crystal **** dealership, especially with the General Manager, George. When purchasing a brand new car (not a cheap one at that), one would expect that everything be checked and taken care of, and if a customer calls with an concerning issue (3 days) after purchasing the vehicle, I would expect to be heard and not belittled by the general manager. Our reason for the call was to express concern when we noticed that the DEF ( Diesel Exhaust Fluid) was showing 'low' on our display screen. Which tells us, the vehicle was not checked properly as this should have been caught, worst case scenario, this could be a mechanical issue as well. We called the servicing department to express our concern and ask that they look at the vehicle and fill the liquid to full as this is a brand new vehicle. When my husband talked to service he was told that someone would check with the technicians and call him back; no one ever called him back. Six hours later, he still did not receive a call back, and took it upon himself to call and speak to one of the service reps, however, he was given the GM, ******. My husband explained the concerning issue to ******, who in return, said this was 'normal' for the fluid to be that low. ( Keep in mind, this car has 240 miles on it, 120 miles in which we put on), and apparently the GM says this is normal. (Does that sound 'normal' to you?) However, the service manual states that the fill up of the DEF is every 10,000 miles, NOT less than 300, which proves that the vehicle was not checked properly before they sent it home with us. After ****** was uncooperative with my husband, I called him and hour later to discuss the issue with him. When calling and speaking with ******, he sounded like I bothering him as my husband had called him priory about the same issue, which he did not take care of. While on the phone with me, he implied they would not fill the DEF fluid all the way, and that they 'may' put in a gallon or two (which would not fill up the fluid in the tank). I then expressed to ******, that that would not be acceptable, as this is a brand new car that we've had for less than 3 days, and put less than 120 miles on the vehicle. He then stated he would charge me to fill up the fluid. I then stated that "You are missing the point, it is BRAND NEW, and there is no way this is normal". From that point forward he was extremely rude, demeaning toward myself, and very condescending when he told me that I needed to read the manual. After speaking with ****** and getting very poor service, coming from a GM of all people. I took it upon myeslf to call another Jeep dealership (in Gurnee, IL). I explained my problem that I had at the ******* Lake location to ****, the service manager, and he was very helpful. He immediately offered to fill the DEF for me for free, as well as give the vehicle a full inspection to make sure that all of the other fluids were full. He also knew right away that it sounded like the ******* Lake dealership did not take the time to check if all the fluids were 100% full. I have an appointment next Tuesday to bring in the vehicle for the inspection and to fill the DEF tank at no charge. Overall, we are VERY unhappy with the ******* Lake dealership. Before we purchased our vehicle we referred a good friend of ours to go there where they ended up purchasing a SRT8 a month before us. Our friends came back and told us that was the worst service they ever experienced from the GM,as well as their finance department.

Desired Settlement: We are just looking for some sort of a compensation for the disrespectful and belittling way we were treated. Even if it's for a few few oil changes, something is better than nothing for having to deal with that General Manager and dealership not backing up their vehicles and their mistake. This could have all been resolved if the manager just did the right thing, instead of being condescending.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/24) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******* Svc Director Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@clcjd.com I spoke to Mr. ******* after the incident to hear his version of what happened. I apologized for the DEF fluid being low. I explained the vehicle was originally prepped at another dealer and that dealer was the one who gets paid to fill the DEF fluid when it is received from Chrysler. We picked this vehicle up for Mr. ******* from that dealer but did not bring it to service to check all of the fluids because our assumption was it should have been handled by the original dealer. I offered to fill the DEF fluid for Mr. ******* at no charge, but he claims he had already went to Gurnee and they did it for him for free. I apologized for the inconvenience and explained to him that I will speak to my staff to be sure they understand what the DEF fluid is for and why it should be taken care of for no charge at time of delivery. I asked Mr. ******* if there was anything else we could do for him and he said no. I told him if there was something we could do for him to please call me direct and I will make sure it gets handled for him. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2014/02/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We are just accepting their response because I just do not want to deal with them anymore, or ever again. apparently whoever we spoke to (the guy who started this entire issue with us) lied about who he was; "******" said he was the General Manager, and after speaking with ***, apparently they have no GM there by that name, and that ****** is a service guy?! Manager or not, it was still unacceptable. We still are upset that the dealership ran our credit when they flat out told us that they would not, but at this point it is like pulling teeth, because nothing will come of it, what's done is done. We will stick with the Gurnee Jeep Dealership for all future maintenance on our vehicle.

11/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased **** ***** ******* Mp on **** 27, 2012. Serial number-**********XXXXXX-on ************* r way home from ********* ****** we discovered that we did not have emergency brakes. On ************ was taken into ***** ***** and discovered that the van did not have any emergency hardware, the emergency break pads, shoes were all missing. A claim has been made with Chrysler Dodge main office who informed me that since this was purchased used, we will need to deal with the dealership directly, that Chrysler is unable to assist us. We did contact the dealership on ********* informed them of the situation-they are also unable to assist us. Did question how this vehicle left their dealership after a "safety" check was apparently done with all the emergency brake hardware gone.

Desired Settlement: reimbursement inorder to install emergency brakes on the vehicle

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/18) */ Crystal Lake Chrysler Jeep, Inc. has not had the opportunity to service this vehicle since the purchase. The vehicle had a maintenance inspection and oil and filter change at ***** ******** **** in ****** Il on ********** Our dealership had no experience in regard to the service and maintenance of the vehicle. We are unable to determine if in the almost 19 months that the customer purchased the car if this item may have been stolen or if the car had been vandalized. The maintenance inspection at the dealership in 2012 shows to be the last time anyone would have had an opportunity to inspect this item.

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday, we agreed on a price of a minivan that a different dealer had on their lot. We were told it would be in Crystal Lake by Tuesday. On Monday morning, I called and left a message for the salesman to tell him to hold off on getting that minivan as we were looking into other brands. He did not call me back. We decided on a different brand to buy and when we went in to the Crystal Lake Chrysler-Jeep- Dodge dealership we were told that we will not be getting out $500 deposit back. We are out $500 dollars and they still have a minivan that they will sell and make a profit on. We are losing $500 without receiving any sort of goods or service? Isn't this against the law?

Desired Settlement: Our $500 dollar deposit and an apology for the rude behavior displayed by the Crystal Lake Chrysler-Jeep- Dodge manager.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/18) */ Crystal Lake Chrysler Jeep, Inc. had already picked up vehicle the customers had paid the deposit for by the time they had left the message for the sales person. A misunderstanding regarding the deposit return will be corrected. Please have the customer contact ** ***** ******** to provide their CC number as we do not keep the complete number on file for privacy reasons. Once the customer provides this info the refund will be placed on the original CC they used for deposit purpose. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/11/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We accept our refund. An apology would have been nice, but that never happened.

10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ****** 30th, I rented a one-way rental car and drove from ***** ****** to ******* **** Jeep. After an inspection and test drive with another salesman, the 2008 Jeep Wrangeler Unlimited appeared to meet my expectations. I was told that the vehicle had undergone a 120-point inspection by the dealership and that dealership went through some expense to repair the AC unit in the vehicle. So I ended purchasing the 2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara in ***** **** *** from that Jeep dealership in ******* ***** The purchase price was $15495 plus tax and fees. The Jeep drove home without issues. However things immediately took a turn for the worse. The very next day the AC fan died and the vehicle was leaking fluids in three different locations plus it was making some odd noises from the drive train. I contacted the Jeep dealership in ******* **** the day after I purchased it and they told me that it was my vehicle now and they would do nothing to assist in the repairs of the vehicle. That came directly from the owner of the dealership. In addition they had no return policy not even a 3-day return policy nor did they put any type of 30-day limited warranty or such on the vehicle. I later discovered that most reputable car dealerships offer some type of return/exchange policy and a limited warranty on used cars however Illinois law does not require it. I ended up having the Jeep repaired at my local Jeep dealer in ***** ******* **** and the repair bills were over $2400. It needed a new AC fan motor, new AC switch, new front U-bolt joints, two leaking transmission lines needed replaced, and an oil leak needed repaired in the bell housing. It made me very ill to think that I had spent $15K of my hard-earned money on a car and then was stuck with over $2400 in repair bills due to major issues that occurred the very next day. It would been one thing if I had purchased the vehicle from a private owner but this was from a Jeep dealership. It is unclear what their 120-point inspection had identified and repaired but obviously it missed some major repair issues. I had never been treated so unfairly following a major purchase in my life. Not only that, but the sales and business department staff at the Jeep dealership were surprisingly rude to me after the sale. It surprises me that a car dealership could remain in business for so long when they treat customers they I was treated.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed $1800 for the repairs that had to be done to the Jeep the day after I purchased it from Crystal Lake Jeep.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/04) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@yahoo.com vehicle in question was sold as is no warranty expressed or implied as according to Illinois law ,thank you Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/10/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I recommend that the BBB makes sure that this dealership is noted for their unethical business practices. I accept that everything this dealership states is true regarding the sale however they have violated an ethical trust with their customers by not standing by their vehicles for at least 3 days after the sale. It goes without saying that I will never conduct business with them again and I will recommend the same to friends and others. If I could afford an attorney, I would take them to court just to point out their weak business practices. Nearly every dealer I have contacted since I purchased this Jeep offers customers a 7-day return policy and a 30-day powertrain warranty on used vehicles. This is the minimum any reputable dealership would offer on a used car purchase. Either the dealership is selling reliable used cars or they are not. If one of their own salesmen had purchased this same Jeep and then had the problems that I encountered, I am sure the situation would have been handled differently. No response is required. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/08) */ The customer was made aware that the dealer assumes no responsibility for any repairs as evidenced by the customer signing the Federal Buyers Guide that indicates the same. The customer signed the Bill of Sale as well in the box that indicates the "Dealers Warranty Disclaimer". The information contained states that the purchased vehicle is being shown "AS IS AND SHOWN" and "WITH ALL FAULTS" without any warranty, either expressed or implied. The purchaser will bear the entire expense of repairing or correcting any defects that may presently exist or that may occur in the vehicle. The dealer shall not have any liability or responsibility for incidental and/or consequential damages of any kind whatsoever, including, but not liited to, damages to property, loss of use, services, time, profits or income, or any other thing whatsoever. By signing purchaser acknowledges and accepts the warranty disclaimer. Thank You.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Crystal Lake Chrysler-Jeep- Dodge
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)