BBB Accredited Business since

Continental Toyota/Scion

Phone: (708) 354-5800 Fax: (708) 354-9655 View Additional Phone Numbers 6701 S La Grange Rd, Hodgkins, IL 60525 http://www.continentaltoyota.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Continental Toyota/Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Continental Toyota/Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Continental Toyota/Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1966 Business started locally: 01/01/1966
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joe Miglio, General Manager Alina Czub , Director of Advertising Mrs. Marjean Hawkins, Internet and Social Media Manager Mrs. Cheryl Nelson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Miglio, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Continental Collision Center Continental Scion Continental Toyota, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Continental Toyota/Scion has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6701 S La Grange Rd

    Hodgkins, IL 60525 (800) 351-6775

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/31/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 16 year old purchased with his savings and us pitching in, a 2004 Trailblazer with a 30 day warranty on June 19, 2015. As he was test driving it, the check engine light was on. They told us to bring it in and they would check it out. Well when we brought it back, check engine light was off. They did nothing to investigate why it was on in the first place. Well August 8th, my husband and son drove this car to northern Wisconsin for fishing trip for a week. The light came on again up there and car would not shift properly. Took it to mechanic and was told transmission is shot. Would take 5-7 days to get one and fix. And no way it would make it 400 miles back home. They had to leave the vehicle up there and return with a family member. After only owning this vehicle 7 weeks, a 2500.00 expense??? My son does not have the money to fix and now he is heartbroken because he has no money and no car. I do not believe this dealer took the proper channels to investigate the light issue. I do not believe we are asking a lot by requesting funds to have this vehicle repaired.

Desired Settlement: $2500.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@continentaltoyota.com This vehicle passed our thorough inspection without issues. We do place a complimentary 30 day powertrain warranty on the older used vehicles we sell to provide some peace of mind. This warranty coverage is only valid when the work is done in our service department. This customer did not mention any transmission concerns during that period. After a long trip, a transmission issue developed. This is beyond our control as well as outside the warranty coverage. We cannot be expected to be liable for a vehicle beyond the warranty period, especially when no transmission issue was noted during the 30 day coverage. We do feel terrible when things like this happen. We do understand the customer's frustration, and would be happy to try to have work done for less if the vehicle was here.

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This dealership is a mess, I originally bought a car from them (*** ********* and had an agreed deal but later realized I didn't have a actual contract from them. I had to than drive down there again waste time and gas to sign an actual contract with another lender. They said it would be as easy as 1-2-3 to get everything all setup to get registration and plates well it has been two months and nothing! I emailed last week the person in finance ***** ***) and never replied I called yesterday and got a hold of the person named Lily who was in charge of registration and titles for cars. She said she would overnight me another temporary and look into it for me. I don't a THIRD temporary license yet, I haven't got a call back from her and I highly doubt she looked into it.

Desired Settlement: To get my dang physical metal plates and registration ASAP!!! 30 bucks to pay for the gas I wasted to go down the second time? I have never had a experience this bad ever in my history of buying vehicles and I will never buy a vehicle in Illinois again because of this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** *****. GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@continentaltoyota.com We are very good at processing out of state transactions, and do these many times every month. That said; the delay on this one was truly our error. I called Mr. ****** myself and apologized for this. I also admitted our error, and explained what it was. I believe he appreciated the honesty in our confession. There is a document we didn't include in the registration package sent for titling, and that caused the delay. this error has now been rectified, and his license plates will arrive within two weeks. He will recieve a new temporary tomorrow morning, keeping him legal until the hard plates arrive. We have processes in place to ensure this doesn't occur, and this still did. With that, we learn a new way to prevent any chance of this issue re-occurring.

4/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2013 Toyota Highlander 4WD Limited last June 2013. Shortly after I realized that the spare tire was located under the vehicle. At that time I spoke with ** ****** who suggested a lock sold by the dealership to help prevent theft of the spare. I took the advise and purchased this device. Today I noticed that my tire pressure sensor light was illuminated on the dashboard. I then checked all the tires and all the tires appeared to be fine. It was then suggested by a friend that perhaps the problem was with the spare tire. When I looked under the car, I discovered the spare tired and the added security lock was no longer under the vehicle. I then contacted the service/parts department at Continental Toyota about the cost of replacement and the cost was almost $1300. I then contacted the dealership again and spoke with someone in service whose name I could not remember and I explained the situation to here and she was going to have an advisor contact me. Two hours later I had not heard back from anyone, so I made another call. This time I spoke with Isabel who relayed my situation to Mr **** and called me shortly after. He explained that this happens sometimes but there is really nothing they can do about it. I then asked about the sensor light on my dash. He said they only way to get the light to go out is to buy another tire perhaps keeping it in the car to prevent theft. He further explained that they could not turn the light out without having this tire. So I am being asked to buy a tire for over $ to simply turn the light out on my dash. The reasoning here does not make sense. If I bought the car with no tire, they wouldnt sell me the car with a light on. I am not interested in buying another tire. I simply want this light turned out.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like for Toyotal to offer a concession toward the replacement of the tire but at a minimum I would like this dealership to reset my sensor at no cost to me to have this light turned out.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** *****, Gen. Mgr. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@continentaltoyota.com I spoke with Mr.*******. It seems like a BBB complaint againt us, when it really is regarding vehicle design. I understand his frustration having the tire pressure warning light on, and no way to solve it without great expense. I advised him to contact his insurance company and ask about a comprehensive clai as opposed to turning the light off. He called, and found it to be the better solution. while we do all we can to help our customers, there are limitations in what our staff is allowed to offer. Turning off a tire warning light is simply not allowed for several reasons. I suppose the better solution was reached because we had the chance to discuss possible options. In the meantime, Mr. *******'s new tire, wheel, sensor and lock will be in this week. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I have contacted my insurance company regarding the issue. However, this is a temporary fix and still at a loss to me with security that this issue wont re-occur. The design of the vehicle is somewhat the issue and with it being a very popular issue for owners of this type of vehicle, it is the responsibility of Toyota to take steps to help in the prevention of theft, the same as any car maker has done in providing door lock and windows so that automobiles are more difficult to be stolen. They have even taken further steps over the years and added build in alarm systems. The fact that the spare tire is included as one being monitored by the tire pressure monitoring systems seems to me that it is also something that can be used to trigger the built in alarm. As I said, the solution provided is a temporary fix and I do intend to address this further with Toyota directly.

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I do not understand why we are having a hard time communicating. When we talked in your office on Friday last week, you advised me that you will contact liberty mutual and schedule for a representative to meet with me to discuss the situation. I was not notified that the adjuster was dispatched for an inspection. Unfortunately I am the judge of what is considered acceptable repairs to factory conditions, not the insurance adjuster. This is my vehicle that was damaged and I refuse to accept a substandard repair on my brand new vehicle. Please see the list below of the items that are not satisfactory. 1. Passenger Side Front door skin not repaired/replaced to original factory conditions. 2. Passenger Side Front door shell not repaired/replaced to original factory conditions. 3. Passenger Side Front door hinge not repaired/replaced to original factory conditions 4. Passenger Side "A" Pillar not repaired to original factory conditions. 5. Passenger Side "B" Pillar damaged during repair. 6. Passenger Side Fender not repaired/replaced to factory conditions. 7. Passenger Side Front door repaired and left with an open gap between the shell and the skin. 8. Vehicle undercarriage protection compromised from the baking cycle of the paint booth. 9. Passenger Side damage on rear bumper not repaired, just painted over. Again, I brought my vehicle to Continental Toyota in the hopes of them being the experts to repair their own vehicles. I made this very clear from day one. I also made very clear that I have many years of experience in the auto repair industry and know what I am looking for. Time was never an issue. Money was never an issue. ******* ********* was to cover all necessary repairs and cost associated with the repairs. It is impossible to repair a door shell to factory conditions once it has been deformed in more then one plane. that door will never fit again to factory conditions and I want my $45,000 Highlander back to the conditions I bought it in. I discussed this in full detail with you and in your second attempt to repair the vehicle your techs managed to cause more damage. I know have two structural with visual evidence of possible frame damage. How does Continental Toyota or ******* ****** ********* plan to compensate me for the loss of my vehicles value? At the end of the day, Continental Toyota makes their profit, Liberty Mutual saves on a claim and the only important person in this whole situation is stuck with the result of poorly managed repair work! The ball is in your court, all you have to do is repair the vehicle to original factory conditions. I do not appreciate the run around and the delay your causing. I have been stuck with a rental that is useless and need to get back to my normal daily functions as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement: I WANT MY VEHICLE REPAIRED THE CORRECT WAY. BRAND NEW 2013 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER. I WANT NEW PARTS AND I WANT ALL DAMAGED CAUSED BY THE COLLISION ADDRESSED PROFESSIONALLY. I WILL NOT SETTLE FOR ANYTHING LESS. I WANT ALL REPAIRS TO BE COVERED FOR THE LIFE OF THE EXTENDED WARRANTY THAT I PURCHASED. IF TOYOTA CANNOT PROVIDE THAT, THEN I WANT A REFUND ON THE EXTENDED WARRANTY.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** *****, Gen. Mgr. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@continentaltoyota.com ***** *****' vehicle was repaired in accordance with his insurance company's guidelines, and we performed the repairs following Toyota's. If they give direction for a repair, and it is within Toyota's standards, we repair the vehicle to satisfy both. If the customer wants something more, they typically say that and pay the difference. I believe his concern is with ************** and not Continental Toyota. We have contacted ************** and asked them to contact their customer and address his concerns. As far as warranty is concerned; an extended warranty (vehicle service agreement) does not cover body repairs. The body repairs completed in our shop are covered for the term of his ownership unless parts were replaced. Warranty on replaced parts is only 1 year. In fact, if we had replaced the part he is requesting, the warranty on that repair becomes 1 year. Nothing is compromised during baking cycle in paint booth. Perhaps he is not aware we use waterborne paint, and that requires considerable less baking cycle. It is better for the vehicle, and the environment. Mr. ***** seems to, and states he has knowledge in this industry and process. With that, I'm certain he already knows these answers. Finally; If he would like to cancel his Vehicle Service Agreement, he can stop in at his convenience and sign a cancellation request. We will be happy to process it for him. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/01/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) You Sir are still mistaken! Both Continential Toyota and ************** do not get to bend the rules when it comes to repairing a vehicle to orignal factory conditions. ************** does not get to over ride a poor attempt to repair an unrepairable panel! As the experts, it is your obligation to inform and educate the adjusters from ******* ****** when they are not cooperative. As far as I am concerned, I will not arrange anything! I am not the one responsible for the unacceptable repair or the decision on the amount of funds that was alocated to your so call "quality" repair! This is your mess to clean up and with ******* ******* I will not be subject to any more disrespect and unprofessionalism from both Continental Toyota & ******* ******* respresentatives. This is my property that your establishment has further devalued do to the reckless appreciation for other peoples property. Is this how you treat all your customers? Is this the type of quality of service I get for being a loyal toyota customers over the past years? If your Collision Center manager thought the vehicle was fixed the first time why did he try to fix it again? When you choose to repair my vehicle to orignal factory conditions and have it finished for inspections, you let me know. You have wasted too much of my time and I dont appreciate it! My vehicle will be repaired propperly! Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/01/30) */ Mr. *****. We are contacting ************** AGAIN with your requests. They have maintained all along their unwillingness to allow replacement. We will copy them with this complaint in hopes they will allow what you ask. Unlike you believe, we do not have the ability to "insist" on replacement if the insurance company has determined it is unnecessary for a quality repair. I do wonder though; YOU took YOUR vehicle to a facility for an estimate from ******* ******* That estimate was very clear, and did not provide for replacement of the parts you are now demanding. You brought the vehicle to us along with that estimate. Nobody I've spoken with recalls you demanding these parts get replaced. Nevertheless, as I said, we will contact ******* ****** again asking for their approval. If you would prefer to assemble the parties you mentioned in your "options" for a review of the repair, please feel free. We will be happy to provide a clean well lighted area with a lift for everyone to have a clear view of the work completed.

12/30/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ********* 21,2013,I purchased ***** ****** for Taxicab purpose.The transaction was made under my name instead of the corporation where I am the president to avoid paying high interest.The sales Person,the financial manager and the general manager were well aware of that.I was suggested and I agreed to buy an extended warranty whithout knowing that this was not applicable for taxi .Here are some dates to be retained: ******* 7:request of cancellation , ******* 25:extended warranty was cancelled by the ********* company; ****************** were refunded to the *********** Toyota,$25.00 were taken as "cancellation fee"; *********************** by the financial manager that an amount of $3154.00 was"paid"to the *********** Toyota with no explanation. Despite of this cancellation the ****** financial services continue to bill me with a monthly charge based on the original price.A liability insurance and a note provided by the corporation was submitted to the financial mananger before the vehicle was taken from the yard.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I want that the original price be adjusted and based on my credit score and according to the Toyota I am entitled to finance of 36 months with 0% interest.I had never asked for a 60 months finances.I want also that the Continental Toyota provide me all receipts regarding this vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** *****, General Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@continentaltoyota.com I apologize for any misunderstanding. According to our Finance Manager, this has all been explained. If Franz would like to visit with me, he is welcome to do so at his convenience. 1.) When a vehicle has a lien and a Service Agreement is cancelled and refunded, the refund goes to the finance company and reduces the balance due on the loan. The loan is not re-written. Simply has a lesser balance. 2.) In September when this vehicle was purchased, there was no special financing on a **** ***** ** There was a financing program on a 2013 only. In sensitivity to our customer, our Finance Manager was able to achieve 60 month financing at a very low rate to make the customer happy.

3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service