BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2011

Continental Audi of Naperville

Phone: (630) 388-1000Fax: (630) 388-1001

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
01/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ******** 28, 2013, I purchased car P3397 from Continental Audi in good faith based on the Certification Check Sheet. When we reviewed the check sheet at the salesman's (**** ************* he stated that the only attention needed on the vehicle was power steering and brake fluid, as indicated by the checks in the "Needs Attention" column. I agreed with that. Furthermore, page 3 of the Certification Check Sheet (also attached) indicates that the transmission (53) and suspension (63) were in Good condition; however when I had the vehicle inspected by two independent auto technicians (1/2/14 at Imports Unlimited, Inc., and 1/7/14 at ****** they found that the transmission and suspension require work in order to drive the car safely and properly. Therefore, the check sheet should have noted "Needs Attention", rather than "Good." This does not indicate truth in advertising. Two independent auto technicians found that the transmission and suspension need attention. Both technicians state that in order to drive the car safely and properly, the 1) Air Suspension Compressor, and 2) Transmission Connector Sleeve and Pan require service. This work totals $2305.76 (the lower of the 2 quotes).

"I have tried to solve this dispute directly with the auto dealer. My son sent an email on January 7, and **** called him to tell him he had no case. I then sent an email on January 8 to Jeff Nemcher (salesman) and ***** ******* (pre-owned sales manager) and **** replied stating they performed minimum required tests. I then sent an email on 1/14/14, to both **** ******* (salesman) and ***** LaGioia (pre-owned sales manager), and my emails were returned. I believe that I was blocked from their email system. The point I am making is that the information provided during the sales process was not correct. They stated that the only attention the car needed was brake and power steering fluid; however, it has been proven by two independent auto technicians that the vehicle requires both transmission and suspension repairs. Hence, the Certification Check Sheet should have stated "Needs Attention" rather than "Good." This would have influenced my purchasing actions."

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******
Contact Phone: ************ x127
Contact Email: *****@conaudi.com
Hi *****,
I apologize for my delayed response. I have been investigating your concerns. I can understand why you became alarmed after visiting the Imports Unlimited repair shop. Their outrageous quote to mechanically recondition your 2006 **** ***** *** was over $7,400. Taking your car to a more specialized facility like Knaus is a smart move. Keep in mind; both facilities earn a living by repairing vehicles.
At the time of our Used Vehicle Inspection, the items listed on your two estimates were not evident to our Technician. He too earns a living by removing and replacing parts on vehicles. It is in his best interest to quote any or all items needing attention.
Upon reading some articles on the internet, Land Rovers do have a tendency to leak air from the air suspension compressor over time. However, that does not deem the vehicle unsafe. Most eight year old vehicles with +90,000 miles have leaks and require some attention. The terms of our sale were As-Is. We sold you the vehicle at a bargain price. There was no warranty on the vehicle in writing or implied. You also declined to purchase warranty.
I do appreciate your business. So, in the spirit of goodwill, I am willing to offer you a one-time adjustment of $500. to assist you with the suggested repairs. Please advise me of your decision to accept or reject my goodwill offer.
Best regards,
**** ******, General Manager
Continental Audi of Naperville


Final Consumer Response

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/25/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
10/31/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
02/24/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/14/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
03/21/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Repair & Service

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.