Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

CJ Wilson Mazda of Countryside

Phone: (708) 354-2700 Fax: (708) 354-8801 6060 S La Grange Rd, Countryside, IL 60525 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


CJ Wilson Mazda of Countryside is a car dealer specializing in new Mazda vehicles, which also sells high-end pre-owned and certified pre-owned vehicles from other manufacturers. Located in Countryside, IL, this company serves the southwestern suburbs of Chicago, including Tinley Park, Orland Hills, Homer Glen, Palos Park, Palos Heights, Oak Forest, Midlothian, Mokena, Frankfort Square, Lemont, Country Club Hills, Crestwood, Alsip, Palos Hills, Worth, Robbins, New Lenox, Posen, Blue Island, Olympia Fields, Fairmont, Lockport, Ingalls Park, and Crest Hill. The company has been in business since 2012 and is connected to CJ Wilson's Children's Charities, which encourages children's participation in community service that will help children and their families who are struggling with chronic illness or other financial or social issues.

This company sells new and used vehicles, including new Mazda vehicles. Vehicles from the two most recent model years are available and range from price from $10,000 to $50,000. Body styles include convertibles, hatchbacks, sedans, SUVs, and wagons. Features available include 3rd row seats, auxiliary audio input, fog lights, heated seats, heated side mirrors, leather seats, memory foam seats, navigation systems, parking sensors, rain sensing wipers, rear air conditioning, and steering wheel controls. Their used car collection includes cars ranging in price from under $10,000 to over $50,000 and with mileage under 30,000 to over 100,000. Makes include BMW, Buick, Chrysler, Dodge, Ford, Honda, Hyundai, and Jeep. Years include the most recent model year to 1997. Certified pre-owned vehicles are available.

Visit the website for CJ Wilson Mazda of Countryside to learn more about the dealership, read about their services, and browse their inventory of new and used cars.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CJ Wilson Mazda of Countryside meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on CJ Wilson Mazda of Countryside
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 08, 2007 Business started: 08/01/2000 Business started locally: 08/01/2000 Business incorporated 03/28/2012 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Secretary of State
69 W. Washington, Room 1240, Chicago IL 60602
Phone Number: (312) 793-1010

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Eric Vates, Vice President Mr. CJ Wilson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Vates, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Wilson Automotive Group Corp

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

CJ Wilson Mazda of Countryside has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6060 S La Grange Rd

    Countryside, IL 60525 (708) 354-2700


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My fiancee, ***** ******* sold her 2004 Mazda 3 to CJ Williams Mazda of Countryside for $200 on 10-20-2014. We confirmed our mailing address would be the address they mail a check to. They mailed the check to the address of the previous owners. They received it 10-23 and we confirmed it was posted on 10-21. We made several communications to the dealership finance department asking when they will mail the check and where, knowing when they sent it and where. Every time, they lied, telling us they hadn't mailed it yet, or they "confirmed" they mailed it to our address, or it can take between 2-4 weeks for them to mail and us to receive. We then call them out on their lies and the best response is "I don't know what to tell you." At this point, when we call, their MO is to make an excuse to get off the phone with us as soon as possible and not call us back as they promise.

Desired Settlement: Direct deposit of $200 to a bank account of our choosing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/07) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****** Our Sales Department has been in communication with ***** ****** about her check. The car was dropped off on the 20th of October with a blown engine. At that time we explained to ***** that it was not worth fixing. The cost of a new or rebuilt engine would far out way the value of the car. Her concern was what to do with the vehicle to which we offered to buy it for scrap. We offered $200 for the vehicle to which she agreed. We verified her information that matched the title and her drivers license. We confirmed that is where the check was to be sent. We recently have been told that the address provided is her parents address and there is "a family issue" and there is an issue with them releasing her check (which they already have in their possession) to *****. We have offered to stop payment on the check and send out another. She agreed and we explained that we must wait to make sure the check has not been cashed. We have stopped payment and verified that the stop on that particular check is in effect and it has not been presented to the bank for payment. We have sent via UPS, tracking number ********XXXXXXXXXX scheduled to be delivered no later than Monday 10th end of day, a new check for the $200 made out to her. We have not done business with ******* **********, and he is not on the title or check, so we have released no information to him, nor will we without the expressed written consent of ***** ******* I appreciate his follow up, but in a 2 week period we have attempted to help a customer by buying a "junk" car, providing honest and fair explanation of value and not to repair, issued 2 checks and responded to numerous complaints from Mr. **********, who once again is not on any paper work. I would ask for the matter to be closed and ask Mr. ********** to cease and desist with the emails and complaints on an issue that is not only not his but something that has been corrected expediently and an issue not created by our company and through no fault of ours.

10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted the dealership where I bought my car, about getting my window looked at. Went in on 9/23/14, to get service on a window rattle issue I've been having for the past 9 months. This service required the driver side door panel to be removed so they can inspect the window. After the service, they told me everything looked good and nothing can be done about the rattle. After I received my car back and I was on my way home I noticed a 9" diameter group of new scratches and dings on the door panel. Being that is was a new car less than a year ago and I detail it myself very often I know they weren't there before. I called ***** ****** a service tech, he told me to come back and he will look at it. After he noticed the scratches, he tried to have it cleaned, but that failed. He then told me this is the best they can do and that it was impossible for them to cause the damages, implying they already existed. I replied that with the characteristics of the damage the only way I can see it being possible is when the door panel is actually off. He said, they would not replace my door panel or find any other solution since they claim the damage wasn't caused by them. On 9/25/14, I called back letting ***** know how upset I am with the scratches on the door. He put me on hold, then came back telling how there is nothing they can do since it was "impossible" for them to damage the door. I replied that with the characteristics of the damage the only way I can see it being possible is when the door panel is actually off. ***** began to yell and scream at me about how it's impossible and that the damage must have already been there. I was really put off how quickly ***** became so unprofessional and yelling at me. At this point I asked what the cost of a new door panel is, he told me $150. I asked, so we are arguing over $150 when I have a 5 year warranty to keep returning to this dealership, he said no you are. After that comment I ended the conversation with him on the phone. At this point I'm stuck with less than a year old car and a scratched and dinged up driver side door panel. The dealership where I bought my car is not willing to fix the problem and unwilling to make any compromises. I think this is absolutely worst way to treat a customer that not only bought the car from them, but also had it serviced there 3 times in the past year.

Desired Settlement: At this point all I am looking for is to have the door panel replaced at no cost to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/30) */ Contact Name and Title: *** **** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** Our customer's concern has been reviewed with named associate and department manager. The service department manager will be contacting the customer directly to discuss possible remedies for this situation. Also to discuss the concerns the customer has with last service visit.

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 8/30: I thought I bought a certified per owned Mazda3 hatchback with XXXXX mi from mr. ***** ********** at Cj Wilson Mazda. 8/31: discovered cigarette light outlet not working and key fob low battery. 9/2:sent email to simon about stuff that need fixing but didn't get any reply. I figured he is a salesman not a serviceman so I directed my concern to local Mazda service in peoria and have them do a full circle inspection and they found the original air filters that has been there since it was first sold, front tires don't match rear (front: kumho ecstas, rear: kumho solus), black transmission fluid, leaking left rear strut, high mount brake light out

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. And they can have their car back. I do not trust them to do what they are supposed to do to address the issue. I wish I had known better.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/11) */ Contact Name and Title: *** **** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** The vehicle in question was completely certified and verified by Mazda. The customer was given misinformation from another dealership as far as the certification standards. As a goodwill and to ensure customer trust and satisfaction with CJ Wilson Mazda and Mazda as a brand. The questionable recommendations made are being performed to give the customer peace of mind and to rebuild the trust in CJ Wilson Mazda and Mazda.

7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchases Mazda MX5 2010 Miata (VIN: ************XXXXX on June 26, 2014. When I picked up vehicle I was given only one remote entry key. I asked for the second one, salesperson indicated that there was none in the "sell bag," but I could purchase one for $350.00. I informed salesperson that the sales price was misrepresented with the additional expense for the key. I would not have purchased the car with that that added amount. The manufacturer informed me that all Mazda automobiles come with two keys. In an effort to resolve the difference, I received comments that indicated that I should have asked about the additional key, that I bought the car as is, and I would have to live with one key or purchase another one.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for one other remote entry key.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********** Pre-driven vehicles only come with one key ,unless other wise discussed prior to the deal being finalized . no additional key was implied or expressed in this sale. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/07/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Contacted Mazda corporate office and they indicated that new cars delivered to dealers have two keys. They expressed concern about the lack of transparency in the transaction, but could only record the complaint and indicate to dealer that customer was dissatisfied with service/treatment. In random survey of dealers in the area, they indicated that the expectation of receiving two keys was not unreasonable. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/07/14) */ First let me apologize for the situation. You are correct that all New Mazda vehicles come with 2 keys, New ones. Unfortunately when a vehicle is traded in there are times when we receive only one key for the trade in or auction car. While we make every attempt to receive the second key, sometimes we simply do not have it. In many situations we will sell the vehicle without the additional expense of a second key. You must understand that any and all costs that go it to a vehicle are born out in the pricing of the vehicle. I understand the confusion and would like to help in this situation. I would be willing to handle a majority of the cost of the extra key and remote and have you pay only $100 toward the total cost. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss the situation. My direct line is X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. **** ***** Vice-President CJ Wilson Mazda

3/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: After expressing some concerned about the invoice "environmental fees" and other services, I was told they were not refundable (although the loan officer previously told me they are if I decide not to use them) I walked into the service department to purchase some accessories, was denied, then ejected from the dealership and told never to return. I have an 11 day old vehicle with under 100 miles and pre-paid over $1600 in dealer-specific services ranging from maintenance to paint sealing, which can't be refunded and am no longer able to use, because I am not welcome back a week after purchasing a new $32,000 vehicle that had misrepresented equipment. In the end, this means I paid $1,600 over invoice, which comes out to $1,200 over MSRP! I don't want to return the car, I just want them to honor the additional fees on the invoice, or refund them!

Desired Settlement: Since I have not used any of the services I pre-paid for, the dealership had denied me from claiming these services, and the loan officer who I signed all the paperwork with verbally told me these services are refundable if I don't use them, I would like the services refunded since they have not been claimed. This includes a maintenance plan, car washes, auto guard paint sealing, theft guard auto-theft protection, and wheel well guards that are not even installed. I will go to another dealer for service, but the plan from this dealer is non-transferable so I would like it refunded. In addition, none of the paperwork for the services indicates they are NON-REFUNDABLE, and some of the services actually state they ARE refundable within 30/60 days if not used.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/20) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** General Manage Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@CJWILSONMAZDA.COM The customer stopped in the store on January 12th with a list of concerns about his new vehicle he purchased on December 31st. he sat and spoke with our sales manager in the sales office to discuss his list of issues and concerns. Some of the concerns, (brakes feel funny, questions about lights), easily could be addressed through our service department which our sales manager offered to have the vehicle brought over to. Some of the complaints (removing / disabling warning lights on dash) are not able to be changed and some (disabling warning chime for seat belts) are border line illegal for a car dealer to tamper with. After understanding that there are some things that are available for discussion and inspection (keep in mind this is a brand new car under full warranty) and some thing the dealership is not willing to do (disable safety items) the customer became very combative. His explanations that another manufactures dealership had disabled safety equipment before and "we are just not willing to it" was answered with you are correct we are not willing to disable said equipment. The customer became agitated and combative with our sales manager who walked him to the parts department for all season mats he requested for purchase. While walking to the parts department, the customer explained to our sales manger that he was being transferred to ********** and any/all of the optional services he purchased would not be valid since he was moving. The customer then stated that give me a set of snow tires to compensate me, to which our sales manager explained he could not do that. He then explained to the sales manager "I will just price them out and go buy them else where" at this point our sales manager had taken enough and asked the customer to leave. The customer was so rude our sales manager even offer to take the car in return (an offer that is not on the table) in an attempt to make the customer happy and calm him down. The customer was never told he was barred from the establishment or from service or from receiving any of the services he purchased. We have had a third party talk with the customer and even offered to have his vehicle picked up at his house, brought into service, and returned to his house if that will make him more comfortable. I would be willing to discuss alternative methods of servicing with this customer if they would so choose and am available by phone or email at anytime. I understand that maybe the customer was having a bad day (he yelled at the sales consultant that sold him the car, who was sitting with a customer, "You *********** and shouldn't be working here!" even though the consultant had not even talked with him that day and had no idea of his concern) and there was obviously some miscommunication between him and our sales manager (who in 3 ½ years of working here this is his first complaint). The customer had told us that he would complain to "everyone all over and everyway possible" and has listed bad reviews on websites. As we have with every one of his complaints we have offered to speak and have special service requirements afforded to him, all to no avail. I would be more than happy to discuss a partial refund of services to customer for a retraction of the unfair, incorrect, and spiteful reviews he has posted Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) What an amazingly inaccurate response from C.J. ****** Mazda. If they would entertain the complete 24 minute audio recording of my entire visit, it would indicate I was completely cooperative, no harsh words were exchanged, specifically, the F-word and "You*************", at any time by either party over the entire duration. What it would indicate is********* unprofessionalism, refusal to sell me equipment for the vehicle I purchased there, refusal to cover services under warranty, and my ejection from the dealership. And why would I price out tires and buy them elsewhere? The purpose of pricing them was to see if it was a fair compromise on my part to have the untendered, pre-paid, dealer specific services I have been refused, exchanged for not a refund, but equipment my vehicle was said to have had which it does not have. I spoke with ************** of the C.J. ****** Auto Group last week and explained to him that this was never an issue of winter tires. I am well aware the vehicle, like virtually all vehicles, was sold and purchased with all-season tires. It's a question of why my reverse sensors are non-existent when I was told the vehicle was equipped with them. A question of why it did not have a cargo cover when I told my salesman clearly I will be using the vehicle for business and have valuable equipment back there, and he stated it has privacy glass and a "taneau" cover. I have since purchased various equipment my vehicle was supposed to have, and some which I knew I was not included, such as a Homelink Mirror, GPS module, and all-weather mats, which were purchased a week PRIOR to this interaction with Bassam, not on the day of, as indicated by their rebuttal. If C.J. ****** believes even half of their response here, they clearly weren't listening. Which at this point shouldn't surprise anybody. Now they want to offer me a financial incentive to retract my completely accurate review of my experience at their dealership. That is completely ridiculous. Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2014/03/10) */ I apologize in advance for the inconvenience of reopening a closed file. I will personally reach out to this customer via phone today to try to resolve this case. Once again at no time has this customer been "banned" or refused any service form our dealership. I understand he is unhappy with his transaction and is unwilling to come back to our dealership for future service, and I understand that. I understand that he has tried to contact an outside affiliate of ours (he originally received his contact info because they manage a third party online rating site for us) and I understand why that 3rd party has not responded to him. Customer has always had my contact info, which I will reach out to and remind of today, and going forward should contact myself for any all conversations in this matter. I will follow up after my conversation with the customer and see if there can be any type of resolution to this issue. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/01/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I appreciate the $300 refund for Autogard. I now understand that Theftgard is not refundable due to an etching to the vehicle. Unfortunately I do need to return to the dealer I purchased from (C.J. ******) in order for the full benefit of the Theftgard credit, which is $1500 in the event of theft PLUS a $1000 credit toward the purchase of a new vehicle AT THE ORIGINAL DEALERSHIP. That is unlikely to happen unless I can resolve the more serious issues with C.J. ****** Mazda, which continue to be insulting. The maintenance package makes up the majority of the all-star package ($1000) which is valued substantially higher than $105. The All-star package includes: Free lifetime car washes (I have used 0) $99 Free lifetime loaner vehicle (I have used 0) Initial Autogard application $200 (even though 10 applications cost $300 and have been offered to be refunded, they charge $200 for one, automated 15-minute application) Wheel well treatment (doesn't apply to my vehicle) $200 Maintenance package (unused) $500 Excluding the $200 Autogard application, which is a $30 procedure, the entire all-star package should be refunded because it has been less than 30-days, no services have been used, and after being ejected from this dealership, I don't see why I should be forced to return to use these services. I request $800 refunded in regards to the All-Star package and $300 refunded regarding Autogard totaling $1100 and am willing to compromise the denied refund for Theftgard and pre-applied Autogard wax. I will purchase and install the equipment my vehicle is missing (reverse sensors, cargo cover, etc) and address the remaining problems with my vehicle (alignment and brake problems) at another dealership, entirely at my expense using the refunded funds, and the case will be settled.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on CJ Wilson Mazda of Countryside
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart