BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2010

Chicago Northside Toyota Scion

Phone: (773) 728-5000Fax: (773) 728-1099

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints14

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (14)BBB Closure Definitions
02/19/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 02/09/2015, ****** ******* (finance manager) persuaded me and my wife to buy insurance(GAPP) to cover total loss or theft for an annual amount of $100 during 5 years which will end up costing $500 as he told us. So, he gave us the pad to sign on without any explanation; both my wife and I signed at least 4 times or more on that electronic pad that doesn't display anything but the signature part. Then he gave us the last page (page 3 of 3) itself of the GAAP insurance policy to sign it indicating that we are signing for $500 for our 5 year warranty. After, we got home and started reviewing the papers, we noticed that the page (1 of 1) of the GAPP insurance policy indicates $895 instead of $500. As a result, Mr. ******* defrauded us by overcharging us $395 using dirty business practices and dis(honesty. We sent a complaint email to ***** ***** customer relation manager) on 02/11/2015 but no answer.

Desired Settlement
I would like the BBB to ask the Northside Toyota Scion to refund us $395 immediately

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@blautogroup.com
We have reached out to the consumer, and are refunding the $395. We are very sorry for any confusion that may have occurred during the transaction, as we make every effort to be as transparent as possible.

04/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Selling and Advertising issues too. On January, 2014, I received a mail ad from the Chicago Northside Toyota Scion, they were willing to trade my Toyota Corolla 2004, because they were in "great demand"; according to the personalized web page that the Toyota designed for me & their Black book ad, my old Toyota could cost more than 5000.00 dollars. On 1/27/14, I went to the Toyota dealer, all what they wanted to give me for my Toyota, in good conditions, with 123,000 miles, was 1500.00 d. I answered, no, and the salesperson started with pressure tactics, asking me, how much I wanted for my car, back and for, like in an open market, and not in a serious establishment; also, how much I wanted to pay monthly, a lot of pressure. But, he never showed me the car's price tag. For sure the worst part, was the contract person, who was talking about his wife and his son, and the music he likes, but he never gave me the details of the contract, months to pay, the interest rate, just sign here and there, and folded an staple the papers; the whole experience was difficult and overwhelming, I lot of decisions to take and not given the time to do so. For me was the first time to buy a car by myself. A few days later, I returned to the dealer because they added Premium Care & Extra Protection, and instead of 72 months, that they were already a lot, I ended up with 83, when I told the sales person that absolutely I did not wanted more months to add to my contract. Then what is the reason to keep asking what do you want? By then, they told me that they were going to adjust my contract and to receive a check, which I did, for some of the adjustments. Then, they suggested to me to go to my bank for an Auto Loan, which I did, I got it, but because my contract has not been adjusted, I have not been able to finalized with my bank the loan. I have been going back and for to the dealer, waiting, spending time there, all what they said, that they will adjusted, if no, I have to go back to let them know that they have not.
Product_Or_Service: Toyota Corolla 2014
Account_Number: Deal # ID: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
My contract should be adjusted immediately. My payment months should be adjusted too, to 72, if not better than that.They should stop the pressure tactics and should be transparent.Women, should be free to go alone to buy a car, and not to feel like if you do not go with a man, you are not going to get a good deal. Women also have buying power.Who regulate the dealers practices? The advertising practices?

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******************
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com
As Ms. ******* mentioned, we already refunded her directly for the protection package. We have also cancelled the extended warranty on the vehicle. This was a Toyota Care warranty, and therefore, the check will be sent from Toyota directly to the original lean holder. Although it will not affect the monthly payment amount, it will reduce the loan balance, therefore effectively reducing the loan term.

Although it sounds like Ms. ******* may have already arranged another loan, we would be glad to help re-contract for a shorter loan term, if she would like. She can contact me directly, if should would like to discuss this option further.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

04/08/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 2/17/14, my wife called Chicago North Side Toyota ("the dealership") and spoke with ******* ***** about their online listing for a 2006 Chevrolet Uplander LS ("the van"). He offered us the base price of $7650. He stressed that the van was in excellent condition and had been fully serviced and reconditioned. As an out-of-state buyer, I relied heavily on the information that ******* provided via phone and email (Exhibit 3.1), and on the official listing which said the van was in, "EXCELLENT CONDITION INSIDE & OUT; FULLY SERVICED & MAINTAINED; NEEDS NOTHING" (Exhibit 0.0, 2.4).

On 2/19/14, I visited the dealership at 7pm and worked with *** ******** During the test drive, the steering wheel started shaking above 35mph. When I asked about this afterwards, *** ******* said it could be ice in the wheel wells. I said it felt like a wheel alignment issue. Both *** and *** said that their service department would look at it and fix the issue while we completed the paperwork. I relied on their statement that they would fix the wheel issue, and decided to sign a contract for the base price of $7650. While signing the paperwork, I realized that the van didn't have a roof rack (the official listing said there was one - Exhibit 0.0). I asked about this discrepancy and *** blamed the 3rd party who does their listings and apologized, saying that the dealership wasn't responsible for those errors. The official listing also said traction control and premium sound, neither of which was on the van. Later, as *** was explaining the fees, he mentioned a fee of $196 labeled ******** This was added to the base cost. It wasn't listed below with the other fees (Exhibit 2.2). When asked, *** said it was a cleaning fee, which comes with a 2 year warranty covering interior stains and tears. I said I didn't want this. He said that since *** had already cleaned the van that I had to pay the fee. I pushed back further saying I didn't want it and I wouldn't use the warranty as an out-of-state customer. *** said it was a mandatory fee and if I wanted the van I had to pay the **** just like the other fees. ******* later told my wife that the dealership is the one who issues the *** warranty and *** just does the cleaning that falls under the warranty. They fixed the van while I completed the paperwork. I signed a contract contingent on an inspection since the dealership and all local mechanics were closed for the night (Exhibit 2.8). On the drive back to my hotel, the steering wheel started shaking when I went above 35mph (the same as during the test drive). They lied to me about fixing that in order to get me to sign the contract that night.

The next morning, 2/20/14, I went to **** **** ******* *** **** **** ******* and ***** **** to get 3 independent inspections. All 3 found that the front tires were dangerous at 3/32nds tread and needed to be replaced in order to drive home safely (Exhibit 1.1, 1.3, 1.5). Car Tech also found that 1 of the tie rods on the front left wheel was damaged, the wheels weren't aligned, and there was body damage indicative of an accident that wasn't properly repaired (Exhibit 1.1, 1.2, 1.4). The dealership did not disclose this accident to us and led us to believe that the van had never been in an accident (Exhibit 2.4, 2.6). Tires Plus additionally found that all 4 front tie rods were damaged. The damaged tie rods caused the alignment issues and caused the front tires to fail. They quoted me $733 to replace the front 4 tie rods, replace the front tires, and align the wheels (Exhibit 2.3). My wife told ******* about the needed repairs and offered that they could do the repairs themselves or reimburse me $733 since they told me they would fix this issue before I signed the contract. He said they wouldn't do either and that the inspection contingency in the contract didn't cover the repairs. He offered to take the van back, but I doubted they would refund all of my money because they lied to me so many times throughout the process.

Desired Settlement
1)The dealership falsely advertised the van's condition, claiming, "EXCELLENT CONDITION INSIDE & OUT; FULLY SERVICED & MAINTAINED; NEEDS NOTHING" (Exhibit 0.0, 2.4). All of our phone, email, and face-to-face conversations with ******* and *** were consistent with the advertised claims that the van was in excellent condition (Exhibit 2.4, 3.1). Therefore, either: (1) the online listing and the salesmen were intentionally lying about the condition of the van; or (2) the service department at the dealership is so incompetent, that even though they spent 2 hours servicing the wheels of the van (that they had already previously inspected and serviced), they didn't catch what 3 other mechanics caught right away: the front tires were dangerous, the front tie rods were damaged, and the wheels weren't aligned, all making for an unsafe van (Exhibit 1.1, 1.3, 1.4, 1.5). They said they would fix the wheel issue while I signed the contract and they didn't. Since they falsely advertised the van's condition and lied to me about fixing the wheel issue that came up during the test drive in order to get me to sign a contract, they should reimburse me for the additional out-of-pocket expenses that I incurred due to their lying. AMOUNT: $733 (Exhibit 2.3)
2)The dealership falsely advertised the van's features, saying in their official listing that the van had a roof rack, traction control, and premium sound (Exhibit 0.0). The van didn't have any of these 3 features. The dealership is responsible for their advertising, even if a 3rd party manages the listing. These features were in the written comments on the official listing. This is effectively the "window sticker" for an out-of-state buyer and is "part of the contract" (Exhibit 2.2). Because these features are contractual, they should refund me the portion of the base price that I over-paid. AMOUNT: $100 (Exhibit 2.4, 2.5: $7106-$7006 = $100)
3)The dealership forced me to buy the *** warranty in order to be able to buy the van, even though I said many times that I did not want it and would never use it being out of state. They falsely claimed it was a mandatory fee, when really it's an optional warranty issued by the dealership. Because they lied to me about the details of the AIP cost at the time of signing in order to trick me into paying for it, I want the money that I paid for the warranty refunded and I want the warranty voided. AMOUNT: $196 (Exhibit 2.2)
4)There was body damage to the right side of the van (indicative of an accident) that was repaired with substandard workmanship (Exhibit 1.1, 1.2). This poorly repaired damage was so obvious to the mechanic that it was the first thing he noticed during the inspection. The dealership intentionally didn't disclose this damage to me so that they could sell me the van at a higher price. They led me to believe that the ****** report they supplied was accurate and that the van was never in an accident (Exhibit 2.6). Some law firms estimate that on average a vehicle is worth 33% less after it has been in an accident (Exhibit 2.7). The mechanic was unsure of the extent of subsurface damage. Because I don't know to what extent the undisclosed accident caused frame or other damage, I should have paid less for the van up-front. All else being repaired and equal, a vehicle that has been in an accident is worth less than one that hasn't. AMOUNT: $383 (5% of $7650 - base cost)
5)The van was serviced by the dealership on 2/13/14 (Exhibit 2.6) and 2/19/14 (while I was there). Excellent condition has, "complete and verifiable service records" (Exhibit 0.0, 2.4). I asked for copies of ALL the paperwork that was involved in the purchase, but they didn't give me copies. RESOLUTION: I WANT COPIES OF ALL PAPERWORK AND AVAILABLE SERVICE RECORDS.
I'm not asking the dealership to sell me the van below fair market value. I'm only asking that they refund me the money that I overpaid due to their intentionally deceptive and unethical practices (Exhibit 2.1)

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******************
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com
Mr. ***** originally went to the AG with this complaint last week. We are currently working on the response to the AG, so this should be resolved through the original complaint.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I worked with ***** ****** from Chicago North Side Toyota. I received the title from the dealership last week. Today I received a check for the total amount that I was asking for in the original sales issues complaint and the title violation addendum. They also sent me copies of the service records that they have on hand, another thing that I asked for as part of the complaint.

These issues have been resolved to my satisfaction. Thank you!

03/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I BOUGHT A **** ****** ****** ** THE VEHICLE WAS SOLD AS IS, THE VEHICLE WAS APPRAISED 3-4-14 AND I FOUND OUT CONSUMER THAT THE CAR IS WORTH 4,500 Paid 14,000 for the car as well as traded my car into the a 2007n pontiac g5,the nissan was appraised by ******* the car was sold at an auction in 2009 with aucton announcements of unibody/frame damage, replaced hoods, doors fenders as wel as paintwork,no reported accidents on the car but seems to have been involved in some sort of undisclosed accident prior to me buying the car. i wat ****** to buy this car back at the same value as they sold it to me as well as compensate me for my losses due to this illegal action of theirs. i am willing to seek legal counsel is all else fails. contacted the dealership and they dismissed.

Desired Settlement
a total refund of this purchase

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** Dev Dir.
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com
We are sorry that Ms. ****** is dissatisfied with her vehicle. While she reports that ****** told her the car may have previously been in an accident, we can assure her that we acquired the car through a trade-in, not the auction, and we had no evidence of any prior accident. The vehicle had a clean ****** at the time of sale to Ms. ******, and continues to have a clean ****** today. Further, we have no way to determine how ****** established the current value of the car to them. When assessing the value of a potential trade in, dealers consider a number of factors, including the car's current physical and mechanical condition. We can assure Ms. ******, however, that our internal inspection of the vehicle, at the time we received it, revealed no frame damage. And, while we do not have access to the documents that ****** reviewed, it is important to note that an auction announcement (which Ms. ****** reports was in **** while we acquired the vehicle in ****** does not specify the extent of any reported damage.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I want to know since the dealership was not aware of this issue of frame damage that is reported under this vehicles vin number, why is it carmax was able to find this report when giving me a accurate appraisal of the car, yet ****** does not have sufficient data resources to find out the extent of damage to the car I purchased in order to sell it to me. This was a shady deal I have documents that says so, many of the parts on this vehicle is not original, I suggest they find a way to reevaluate the condition this car was in prior to me buying it from all available auto reports. This car was in a accident before just not reported.

Final Business Response
The report to which Ms. ****** is referring comes from ********** a competitor of ******* ****** is the industry standard, which is why we choose to use them. As these services have some variance in sources, occasionally an incident is not reported to ******* This is why we also do our own internal inspections of the vehicle. We found nothing to indicate any significant damage to the vehicle.

In the ********* report it mentions "auction announced as unibody damage", but does not define it, indicate severity, and shows no accident history. This is a very broad term used on auction reports, and can cover even the most minor damage to any part of the unibody, such as a dent in the rear quarter panel. It does not automatically mean safety compromising frame damage.

We stand by our previous response.

12/23/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a new car on ********* 2013, and traded my 2012 car. It had an unused warranty for the keys for around $300-$500. I asked for the refund but was never processed. Then at the signing for the new car. I was offered some services/warranties that usually I don't buy. One of them was a repair warranty for around $1400. I was not going to agree, but the salesperson said that this will pay for the deductible for my car in case of "any" problems. I asked like what, and he just said, "Anything, bird poop, dings dents, anything breaks we will fix it with no extra charge, just bring it here." So, I was sold. Unfortunately, only pages 1-2 of that warranty were handed over and I did not really think too much about it. I bought the peace of mind. Then recently I had a minor accident due to road hazards and had some damage to the body and underbody. I was confident and filed a claim with my insurance. Also called the dealership and spoke to the service rep and was asked to have a written estimate and then bring in the car. I did all that, and when I got to the dealership, I was denied service. Embarrassed, I headed home and did some research. Found out that it ONLY covers mechanical damage. I just emailed the company of the warranty and requested a refund and to cancel the agreement, still awaiting response.
PS. I actually informed the dealership many times by email and phone about the desire to cancel all extra stuff that was added into the sale of the car around the end of October. I also informed the customer relations rep, and also Toyota's customer rep about the inadequate/misleading information.

Desired Settlement
Just the refund of the unused key warranty from the previous car that I bought and traded, to the same dealer. Also some help dealing with the current problem in regards to the body damage. If the company that owns the warranty refunds me, then it should be able to pay for the damages. But this kind of business practice is not good. I have been going to this dealers for maintenance and repairs for at least 6 yrs, and I like their service, had no problems.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** Dev Dir.
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com
We have contacted, and subsequently met with, Mr. ******* regarding this matter. We thoroughly reviewed the contract(s) with him in order to clear up any confusion and misunderstandings. This was done to Mr. *******'s satisfaction.

We are in the process of refunding the remainder of the previous key warranty. In addition, as Mr. ******* has been a long term customer of our dealership, we have made a gesture of good will, and agreed to fix the accident damage incurred by Mr. *******.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The people from the dealership met with me and were very professional in regards to handling the issues.

Page 1 of 3
11/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
8/19/13 I had been pre approved for a loan***************************************************icle and bring them back the purchase order. I went to Chicago Northside Toyota Scion to look at the 09 Mitsubishi eclipse. I loved the car and then was walked over to the finance dept. I told ****** ****** that I was going through my credit union he just kept typing and making me loan offers and kept asking why not go through them I told him I preferred to go through my credit union. He aske me if that was the car I wanted I said yes he then said if I signed one part of the offer they had I could take the car but had til the following Thursday to get financing secured which I did. I then after 30 days was trying to get my plates and was unable to obtain any paperwork from the dealership til almost two months to only get a copy of a registration then I received a letter from my credit union requesting the title since it had been over two months I then contacted the dealership and learned that they in fact turned in the other offer and just held on to my credit unions check never cashing it so I currently have two loans out on one vehicle one that I never agreed to and was upfront from the start about who I was going through I have made two payments already to my credit union and now am receiving collection calls from ***** for payment on the fraudulent loan. I have never been put in this situation and cannot have two loans out and risk credit damage. I am very upset with how I have been swindled by this lot and what dealership would just hold a check for XXXXX
** for over two months and not cash it or contact the sender in regards this matter could have been avoided had the dealership been honest but instead they wanted more money hence the larger interest rate loan they turned in without my approval and I have been driving illegally for over a month due to no paperwork and then receive a check two days ago to refund me $237 that the dealership overcharged me for my registration when does it end???? I am a victim and I wonder how many others have been blindsided by this so called dealership.

Desired Settlement
I think I am entitled to some sort of refund from all the hassel and money out and credit out caused by this dealership.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** Dev Dir.
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@blautogroup.com
There was a misunderstanding as to which lending institution would ultimately handle the financing of this purchase. We apologize for the error.

We have reached out to the customer to rectify this situation. The best solution was for her credit union to pay off ****** and then become her lien holder, as the customer wanted. Northside Toyota paid all interest that accrued on the Chase loan. We also cancelled her warranty for her. We sent the checks, made out to ****** to her credit union, so they could send our check with their check to ***** at the same time.

There was no issue with the registration of the customers plates, and that has been communicated to the customer, as well.

Again, we apologize for any misunderstandings, and delays, in rectifying this situation.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I stated earlier I was upfront about being pre approved by my credit union and since the lack of communication as you are calling it my credit score was lowered 48 points by no fault of my own.

Final Business Response
This was in no way, shape or form, a "fraudulent" loan. We had complete signed documents, as we do not let cars leave our possession without approved loans, or full payment. There was clearly a miscommunication after the fact as to who would, ultimately, hold the loan on this vehicle, and for that we apologize.

Once we were made aware of the issue, we made every effort to rectify the situation as quickly as possible. We worked with Ms. ******'s credit union to payoff ****** we paid for any of the interest incurred on the ***** loan, cancelled the extended warranty, and refunded the money for the warranty, as requested.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.