BBB Accredited Business since

Chevrolet Of Homewood

Phone: (708) 799-2000 Fax: (708) 799-4904 18033 Halsted St, Homewood, IL 60430 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chevrolet Of Homewood meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chevrolet Of Homewood include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Chevrolet Of Homewood
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 06, 2003 Business started: 09/01/2002 Business started locally: 09/01/2002
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Steve Phillipos, President Mr. Kirby Clare, Service Director Mr. Robert Cuban, General Manager Ms. Gina Morin, Comptroller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Phillipos, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Shock Absorbers Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts Engines - Gasoline Lubricating Service - Automotive Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Homewood Chevrolet

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Chevrolet Of Homewood has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 18033 Halsted St

    Homewood, IL 60430 (708) 799-2000


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Homewood Chevrolet, XXXXX S. Halsted, Homewood IL XXXXX,The experience I encountered is simple unbelievable. I enter the showroom floor display and was met by salesperson ***** ******* We talked about me maybe getting a used car if I could afford it. I looked at a few cars and there was a 2013 Malibu that caught my attention. We talked about trade-in and financing; I was informed that my trade-in was not necessary and that I could get the Malibu (no money down). I explained my financial situation as I am on disability and have a fixed income; that didn't seem to matter. I was told to take the car and once they got an institute to finance it, someone from the finance company would get in touch and go over the terms and conditions and my salesman told me to be sure to tell them I liked the car. On Friday August 28, 2015 (2days later) after going over my income with my wife and giving the car a complete inspection and after not hearing from anyone I decided to return the car as I could not afford it. This is when the nightmare begins; I found my salesperson and informed him I was returning the car because I found some issues with the car (there was no spare tire or jack, the rear speakers were missing, someone personal clothes and belongings were still in the car and some scratches to the paint) and I could not afford it. He stated to me "that's your car you can't bring it back". After a lengthy back and forth discussion and I saw I was getting nowhere I tried to give him the keys but he would not accept them. I told him I would just leave the car there and he remarked "we will have it towed back to your house", and he left. I took the car backed to my house at this point not knowing what to do (to return a car I don't want and can't afford). On Tuesday September 1, 2015 in a last desperate attempt I took the car back to the dealership and left it. I called back and talked to a manager and explained my situation and told him I left the car on his lot, again I was told they didn't want the car and this time it was the manager who informed me that he would have the car towed back to my house. On September 4, 2015 at approximate 9:30 pm I heard a noise at my door and true to his word I looked outside and there it was the Malibu parked in front of my house, and like a theft in the night (in reverse) the keys were in the mailbox and whoever dropped it off gone. For what it's worth I feel like I've been victimized by this G. M. Dealership 1. I've never made a purchased (other than electronics) and less than 48 hours it could not be returned without being specified at time of purchased. 2. I was told by salesman before financing someone would call and go over terms. 3. In this case no customer's satisfaction (zero) 4. I feel my income was improperly reported to finance company in order to secure loan. 5. I don't believe the car was pre-serviced as claimed (too much personal stuff left inside). 6. Most important even with the salesman and Manager insisting I must keep the car never did either of them ask, was there any problem(s) with the product they just sold me.

Desired Settlement: Honesty, the finance company agreed to repo the car because I can't afford it. Even though this is not good for my credit standing. The company has poor sale tactics.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/21) */ Dear Mr. ****** & The office of the BBB Mr. ****** purchased a 2013 Chevrolet Malibu with approx. 28,000. As Mr. ****** KNEW the vehicle was just traded in, and he was to bring it back for: inspection; detail and light paint touch-up installation of rear speakers. vehicle HAS INFLATABLE CAN SYSTEM AS PER FACTORY SPEC! jack not missing. His income was reported as stated by Mr. ******. It is true, Mr. ****** was told NOT to leave his vehicle in parking lot, for Tow company goes thru lot nitely. It s true Mr. ****** was told he could not unwind the deal,It is specified at purchase and is in his contract. It also is in State of Illinois Statute. however the dealership will stand by EVERYTHING he was told as for as repairs on vehicle. Mr ****** was given ALL terms of his loan BEFORE sighning all documents. We would love to give Mr. ****** the customer service he deserves. PLEASE! give us the opportunity. I believe this will close your file Respectfully ***** ********* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I don't accept their response because it is a lie. No one told me this was a just-traded-in vehicle and that I would have to bring it back for inspection. The items I said were missing are missing and the others items I stated in my compliant is true. As far as me being told about a tow truck going through the lot nightly is also a lie. I was told "if you leave it (the car)here, we will tow it back to your resident". I feel this dealership is full of dishonest people who stretch the truth, no respectable dealership would SELL and FINALIZE a deal on a car without an inspection first. How can they (Homewood Chevrolet) place a VALUE on the vehicle without inspecting it? Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/09/29) */ Dear Office of BBB And Mr. ******. The customer was told ! They knew the vehicle just came in , WE told them the work that needed to be done, and also told them that we would inspect the vehicle,. The value of the car is estimated, based on work we feel its needs. Our goal is to make this customer happy! In addition this vehicle is under FACTORY WARRANY It has only 28,000 miles. We want to make the customer Happy. We will stand behind this vehicle. Please us do it! Thank you Respectfully ***** *********

9/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had tires rotated in Homewood, 4/29/2015. Went on a road trip, heard sound coming from passenger rear tire. Stopped at ********* Chevrolet, *** 8/12/2015, to check tires. They rotated tires and told me "the right rear tire was not seated properly and has bad uneven ware on the tire", which is the noise we were hearing. Homewood Chevy maintains that it is impossible to install the tire wrong and claims it's caused by alignment which they never physically checked but thought it looked fine when tires were rotated, now saying all tires need to be replaced and all wheels need to be aligned.

Desired Settlement: Understanding alignment is normal maintenance, (which Homewood Chevy thought looked good, but never checked) i trusted Homewood Chevy to maintain our car and inform us on what maintenance needed to be done. I understand that because of the alignment all four of our tires have worn wrong, but one tire is really bad, supposedly because Homewood Chevy when rotating the tires, the one tire "was not seated properly" therefore I feel Homewood Chevy should take responsibility for that one tire.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/09) */ While this is true that on 04/13/2015 Mr. ***** brought his vehicle in for a oil change and tire rotation at that time the vehicle had 27,154 miles on it. Mr. ***** then returned to us on 08/19/2015 with 35,790 miles on the vehicle and had a complaint of a noise. We inspected the vehicle and found the tires to be cupped and feathering which is an indication of a wheel alignment issue. We recommended that all four tires be replaced and a wheel alignment be done. Mr. ***** stated that another dealer in ****** advised him the tire was not seated properly. I'am unclear what that means, if he is saying the tire was not on the wheel properly or the wheel was not installed properly. We never removed the tire from the wheel and there is only one way to install the wheel to the hub. That is by install the wheel lug nuts securly to the hub which was done and done properly. The issue we see is an alignment problem and we would be more than willing to assist Mr. ***** with the repair. I would offer Mr. ***** that if he purchased the tires and a wheel alignment we would mount and balance the tires at no charge as a form of goodwill for this customer. Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/09/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Even though we are not happy with replacing four tires on a 2014 vehicle with 36000 miles, Homewood Chevy did work with us. We were given a discount on the tires and mounting and labor costs were waived. Homewood Chevy could not find any cause for the cupping of our tires besides the alignment, therefore we replaced all four tires.

9/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 6,2015 I purchased a 2007 Chrysler Pacifica, I put down a total of $4000.00 and financ the rest I was promised to receive a frontend chrome molding part that would be put on and supplied at no cost to me by my sales agent ****** ********. I was even given an I owe u receipt. I continued to contact my sales person to find out when I could bring the car in for the part and for all of may, June , July and August I was given the run around stating he ordered the wrong part to he had to wait til the financing was approved to he needed his general manager to come back in from vacation. Finally in late August I contacted the general manager myself, he gave me an appointment to come in I get there he sends a sales associate out to handle the issue. Almost two weeks later on September 3,2015 they tell me the part is in I go to have it put on but the clamps they needed to connect it was not in the box. I'm told by sales person ****** ******** to come back the next day because he thinks he find the clamps somewhere in the repair part of the dealership. I receive a call from ****** ******** a couple of hours later saying I would have to pay for the clamps that connects the chrome molding to the car. I feel this is unfair and was not part of the agreement.

Desired Settlement: I would like very much for the dealership to honor what was promised which was the frontend chrome molding part put on at no cost to me. I should have to pay any amount for clamps to hold the part in place.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/15) */ Dear Ms. *********,And BBB, I don't know what happened, but obviously communication was lost somewhere!!!! lets fix this now! No he said she said! The clips are Here, the part will be installed at no charge, the Pacifica will be washed and gassed at no charge to Ms. *********! Mr. *** ***** will call today ( and send e-mail) to set up appointment for installation. ( again there will be no charge!) I believe this will close your file Respectfully ***** ********* Chevrolet of Homewood Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/09/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) In response to Chevrolet,there was no loss of communication,only disrespect, dishonesty and a waist of my time.I was very unhappy with my experience with this dealership but thankfully when this situation was put in the proper hands everything worked out.When I went in to have service done I was given five star treatment,I am very satisfied with the outcome. Thank you ** *********

4/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was Serviced on 10-3-14. Front tie Rod / Alignment, and Oil change completed. I picked up my car the Evening of 10-3-14 and it was driving Ruff as if it wanted to cut off. The next day, Saturday, I started my Car and White Smoke from pipe filled the whole Area. I later checked the Oil stick and discovered the Oil level was far beyond the Full level. I let it sit for a day. Monday morning, 10-6-14, my car was Smoke, running ruff, and the "Service Engine" light came on. I did not have this problem before "Chevrolet of Homewood" changed the Oil. I called them 10-6-14 and told them Excessive Oil was added and the problems it caused. They agreed to look at my car and If they caused the problem, I would not be charged for Diagnostic. 10-10-14 the dealership stated Oil was in Spark Plugs and I could get a "Tuneup" for over $300.00. I declined the "Tuneup" and they said I have to pay for Diagnostic. I am asking a refund of $126.26 for Diagnostic and $31.04 for Oil change. Thank you ****** ******

Desired Settlement: I am asking a refund of $157.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/24) */ RE: Case # ********* ****** ****** Dear Ms. **** Ms. ****** brought her vehicle into our dealership on October 02, 2014 stating her steering wheel was shaking while driving and braking and also requested an oil change. We inspected her vehicle for the mentioned complaints and changed the engine oil as requested. We found the rear brakes to be defective and the brake fluid leaking. We also discovered that the right side tie rod end was worn. We advised Ms. ****** of our findings and she declined to have the brake work done but did authorize us to replace the tie rod end and align the front end. On October 9,2014 Ms. ****** returned stating the service engine soon lamp was on and the vehicle was running rough. She also stated to our service advisor she felt the engine oil level was over full. We inspected the vehicle and found the engine oil level to be at the proper level. We advised Ms. ****** of the diagnosis fee of which she approved at the time. We inspected the service engine soon lamp and found that the engine had a misfire in cylinder number one and that the vehicle appeared to be burning oil. We removed the spark plugs from the engine and found the spark plug for the number one cylinder to be oil fouled. This would indicate an internal engine failure of some sort. We advised Ms. ****** that the spark plugs could be replaced (engine tune-up) and that would make the engine run better in the short term but to cure the issue would require extensive repair work of which she declined to have any work done at this time. This vehicle is approximately 20 years old and has over 180,000 miles on it so I would not recommend the repair as it is not cost effective on this vehicle. The fact does remain that the cause of this issue was not due to us changing the oil as requested and any charges incurred by Ms. ****** were authorized by her prior to any work being done. We would be Happy to give her some figures on trading out of her vehicle. I believe this will close your file Thank you ***** ********* Chevrolet of Homewood Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did not have this problem with my car prior to the excessive Oil added by "Chevrolet of Homewood." Yes, I purchased my NEW Saturn in 1996. I have taken care of it. I know how to read an Oil dip stick. When I called them about the Oil level and new problems it caused, they said, if they caused the problem, I wouldn't be charged for the diagnosis. I assumed that they would simply drain the Oil to correct level. I am asking for a refund for the Oil change and diagnosis. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/06) */ Dear Ms. **** The oil level on the vehicle was fine when it was checked here! ( we are not insinuating that she cannot read oil levels ) The car was running poorly and she " authorized" us to inspect it fully understanding all of the charges. Her vehicle is 20 years old with 180,000. miles. We would love to offer her a solution of Trading out of the vehicle! we will give her full market value and an additional $500.00 for any inconvenience that she may have suffered. I believe this will close your file Thank you ***** ********* Chevy of Homewood Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/11/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am not interested in trading my car and purchasing a vehicle from Chevrolet Homewood.

8/12/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 19, 2014 I purchased a vehicle through Homewood Chevrolet in which I was lied to before even arriving at the dealership, I was lied to while there and lied to upon leaving. I was told that I had been approved for financing. I drove home after putting one thousand dollars down on a Ford Edge 2011, SEL. A few days later I realized I had left the dealership with NO PAPERWORK. I called back in and informed them that I didn't have my paper work and was told to come in. When I arrived they had me re sign paper work telling me that there had been a small error. I re signed but instead of putting the new date that I came in they put the original date May 19 on paper work. I was told that there were no issues I was financed. July 13 came and I noticed the payment of $500 did not come out of account. I called in and said I don't think I've been financed I was told I was. I checked my credit score and saw that my credit had dropped tremendously because they were running my credit almost every week. I had driven the car for two months, went in for car washes, talked to them over the phone and was never told there was an issue. I told one of my sales men that I knew I hadn't been financed so why was he lying. He finally stated I had not been and someone called me back demanding an address for my co signor. They had lied on the paper work and put down a bogus address. I told the guy you know what his address is you drove all the way to ******** to have him sign paper work. He apologized hung up and said he would call me back. A week later *** called asking me to come in with new check stubs and that he got me the car. I told him how when I saw my credit report and you have ruined my credit. The next day he came to my home after a conversation with me and took the car out of my drive way telling me he asked me to come in and I hung up the phone on him. I did not get my refund, my credit score is low and co sig and now am unable to purchase a new vehicle due to Chevy's negligence and lies Product_Or_Service: Ford Edge 2011 Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a refund of my down payment and I would like Chevy to contact credit bureau and inform them that because of their lies on paper work and not contacting me nor my co signor in a timely fashion they ran my credit as well as my co signor's score so low into the ground I am now unable to purchase a car at all. I want my score to go back to where it was and for Chevy to take responsibility for the lies they told and leaving my family stranded with out any explanation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/31) */ Dear Ms.**** It is true Ms. ******* tried to purchase a vehicle from us. She was spot delivered. The condition of her spot delivery was that upon bank approval she would come in with a $1000.00 Deposit. The deal was NOT picked up by a lending institution as structured. We had a difficult time retrieving back OUR vehicle. WE DO NOT HOLD CUSTOMER DEPOSITS! In this particular case we did not receive a deposit from this customer. We did not create her credit situation. I believe this will close this file Thank you ***** ********* Chevrolet of Homewood

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told every car was inspected but my bmw was not and told to me by the service department it was not. The company does not have the tools or equipment to inspect or fix this car. I was lied to and they knowingly sold me a piece of junk. I went back for service with issues 6 times in less than 3 months. If this car was properly inspected, I don't believe they would have purchased it. The warranty they gave me is basically void because they can't fix my car. I was told oh well, we are not going to fix your car and it will be at your expense to take it elsewhere.I feel they did not care about my safety but more about the money. They deceived me by lying to me. I feel I was not given a chance to make the best decision due to their deceitful ways. Certain employees were rude to me on the phone and in person. Product_Or_Service: 2007 BMW 328I

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like my down payment of $2200, the cost of an oil change which was $102 because I was told it was free and then told they meant to tell me only on certain vehicles, $170 for a brand new tire that I had to pay for, when I was told the tires on the car would never go flat because they were made special for BMW. An apology for misleading me would be great but not necessary. In exchange, they can have their car back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/17) */ Dear Ms. ****, ****** ******* did in fact purchase a 2007 BMW 328i from our dealership. I must apologize To Ms. ******* if anyone at this dealership was rude in any way! that is Totally NOT acceptable! The vehicle however was sold AS IS AND SHOWN ! I would love to work with the office of the BBB and Ms. ******* on this matter, but unfortunately I cannot. I received a fax on May 15, 2014 from *********** ********** They informed me that they are representing ****** *******. As we all now are aware I cannot comment due to possible pending litigation. I must speak to Ms. ******* thru her attorney **** ** ********** I truly apologize, and I mean NO disrespect to the office of the BBB or to Ms. ******* Respectfully ***** ********* Chevrolet of Homewood Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will just wait until further instructions. I have no comment right now. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/06/09) */ Dear Ms. ************ In My first response I stated that I could not respond, due to the request from Ms. ******* attorney. Since the last time I responded to you We have come to a resolution as a form of Good Will. I will be happy to share the agreement with you. I would need permission from Ms. ******* attorney. Please let me me know if you want me to get permission to do so. I believe this will close your file Thank You ***** ********* Chevy of Homewood Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2014/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We came to an agreement unfortunately, I am unhappy about having to obtain an attorney. I came to Chevy of Homewood because their service department helped me with a previous vehicle that I purchased elsewhere. This is the reason why I decided to come back to purchase a vehicle from them. When things happened that caused me to put in this complaint, I just decided to never purchase another vehicle from them again. I have nothing further to say but I hope our agreement goes through. After this our business is done. To Chevy of Homewood thanks for our agreement and I wish things could have happened differently. God Bless you all.

5/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In their "WRITTEN" lower price $1000 Guarantee, it states customer will get $1000 in cash if they cannot beat the deal from the other dealer. You get there with the quotes in writing from 3 other dealers, and they flat out refuse to honor their promise. say that the Smart Shopper advantage is worth thousands so it is not a better deal because their price includes these benefits. After a 2 hour negotiation/Fight with some of the rudest individuals, I was offered a discount of $1000 under factory invoice on a Silverado, I'm thinking OK, they are beating the price Webb had by 1000, great. NOT GREAT, after another hour, i go to see the business manager, and low and behold, the price is STILL 1800 Higher than my best quote. When I asked about my $1000 in cash the manager smirked and walked out, only to come back with some disheveled looking little man whom I am sure was not the General Manager, I believe they were at this point making fun of me and the situation they had put me through for 4 hours of my life. I was told there would be no $1000 especially not in cash, because that would not be legal. I asked way it states that in all their online videos then and again was smirked at. At this point I was done. When I got up to leave I never felt more made fun of in my life. I think they were even paging inappropriate things over the loudspeaker as I was leaving. Absolutely pitiful. I can only imagine how many other go through this garbage. Please, watch the videos they have posted online and decide yourself.

Desired Settlement: If the price $1000 cash back is not valid or impossible to get, they should not be able to advertise it, and then waste hours of peoples lives.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/06) */ Dear Ms. ****, We take every customer serious, and EVERY customer is very important to us. If we cannot make a deal with someone, we want them to feel that they were treated fairly and with the utmost respect. I tried to look up Ms. ****** in our computer so that I may question the employees involved, but no one comes up by that name? Can I have some more information? I would love to answer, but cannot based on the Information given ! Is it possible that I have a wrong spelling and address? Thank you ***** ********* Chevrolet of Homewood Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/05/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) There was NO REPECT for me or my time. They will not be getting any more of it. I will no longer let these people WASTE ANY MORE OF MY LIFE. I have already purchased a Chevy Truck elsewhere.

10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ****** took my ****** car in for coolant leak was told I needed a water pump and coolant plate paid 1,695.00 for work picked car up on ******** 3 hrs. later after picking car up the temp. gage and coolant light start to flicker on and off while car not running which it wasn't doing that before service, took it back and they said I needed a coolant reservoir that would fix it. Paid $83.73 for that part and couldn't leave the dept. same problem occurring. I was told to leave the car overnight and it would be fixed, which they said I needed a BCM if it occurred again, which it is still doing it and I have tried to get my car fix after paying 1778, I was told by manager they will not work on my car or honor the work that has been done, I will have to take it to another Chevy dealer. I am 65 years old and it was hard to come up with that kind of money for repairs and my car is in worse shape than it was before the leaking repair was done. Talked with Manager of Service Dept., Serv. Advisor, Manager of COH company Service Director from ******* ****** in ******* ******** no resolution. Also paid for diagnostic check at ********** $63.89 which state that repair should be corrected by dealership, which they are refusing.

Desired Settlement: I wanted them to pay for another Chevy dealership to check it out and see if I need a BCM or when they did the work the did damage to the coolant sensors or shorted out some of the wires when they put the coolant plate and water pump in also, they did not flush the coolant system out when installing the water pump according to the car manual. I want the temp gage and coolant light fix and I don't want to pay an additional $600.00 + labor that's just not right.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/16) */ Dear Ms. **** Ms. ******** did in fact bring her vehicle to our service department on **** 06,2013 complaining of a coolant leak. We inspected her vehicle and gave her an estimate for repairs. Ms. ******** authorized the repairs and on **** 09,2013 she picked up her vehicle. The following day she came back to our dealership stating that the coolant light was coming on and the gage was going into the red zone. We inspected the vehicle's cooling system and found that the coolant reservoir was plugged. It appeared that someone had added a stop leak product to the cooling system and when we asked Ms. ******** she said somebody in fact did add a product to the cooling system. This product was unable to be removed from the coolant reservoir as it had solidified. Ms. ******** was upset that this had happened so we told her if she would purchase the part we would install it at no charge and attempt to flush this product from her cooling system as best we could. Again this was done at no charge. We did not cause this concern but as a form of goodwill to our customer we tried to correct the condition. We replaced the reservoir flushed the cooling system and test drove the vehicle with no sign of any other trouble. Ms. ********* returned again stating the gage and light we acting erratically again. We inspected the vehicle again and found that the cooling system was operating correctly but there was an electrical issue with the vehicle's body control module. We cleaned the electrical connectors checked all the wiring and at that time the gage and light were operating normally. We told Ms. ******** if the condition reoccurred that the body control module would have to be replaced. We gave Ms. ********* an estimate to replace the body control module which she declined to have the repair done. She then took the vehicle to another repair facility that charged her for an inspection and told her to return to a dealership for repair. She then returned to our dealership demanding we pay another dealership to inspect her vehicle. If Ms. ******** would like the opinion of another dealership she is more than welcome to do that but we could not and would not be responsible for any charges incurred for that inspection. We would be more than happy to repair Ms. ********* vehicle but there is a cost associated to this which she has refused on every occasion. I believe this will close your file Thank you ***** ********* Chevrolet of Homewood Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/10/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Because they're response was not accurate and not truthful. I feel my car should be fixed without any additional cost, as the problems that I am having with my car, was a result of something they did. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/02) */ Dear Ms ****. I Read Ms. ******** well written lettr. We did Meet and Spoke in the Showroom. (item 24 states we never spoke) I am saddened that she will not recommend this deakership to others in a positive way. I am more saddened that she will not purchase another general motors vehicle. I understand the frustration of someones vehicle needing repair!!! even though they are UNRELATED problems it is still frustrating. We HAVE NOT! (in the past) or WILL NOT (in the future) lie to Ms. ******** ( as stated in "10" ) We would love to fix her vehicle for her. There is a cost associated with that. I Hope this will close your file Thank You ***** ********* Chevrolet of Homewood

10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car from the Chevy of Homewood, IL based on my own credit and income. I was approved and sold a car but on 09/19/2013 I discovered additional charges included in my bill of sale that was not disclosed to me upon signing the bill of sale. I contacted the dealership and they stated they could assist me so I then contacted the finance company regarding my loan. I was advised that my loan was approved based upon the additional income of a live in boyfriend. I explained to the rep that I only had one source of income and no additional financial support. After that discussion the rep stated my loan was denied and I must return the car to Chevy. Once arriving to the dealership I explained my loan was rejected. The car salesmen took my keys and asked me to leave the premises. I asked for a refund and was again asked to leave. I called the police regarding this matter however they educated me that my issue was civil not criminal. I would like the Better Business Bureau to investigate how a dealership can provided false information to secure a car loan, add terms into a bill of sales not discussed prior to signing, and most importantly how they can keep my down payment since I returned the car.

Desired Settlement: The settlement I am seeking is punitive damages caused by the Chevy of Homewood IL. I spent 2,000 dollars as a down payment for a new car and was rejected by the finance company and had to return the car to chevy. I am seeking the 2,000 dollars spent out of pocket for a down payment for a car I had to retuurn

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/21) */ Dear Ms. Drew, It is true Ms. ***** was in our dealership to purchase an automobile. We do sell vehicles however we are not a bank or finance institution. We do Spot deliver vehicles along with a spot rider signed by customer stating if we cannot obtain financing the vehicle must be returned. The customer may also obtain financing on their own at any time. Customer down payments are NOT kept at chevrolet of homewood if the custome does not buy a vehile. Ms. ***** was refunded $2000.00 I am sorry that Ms ***** felt it was a Police matter that her refund was not ready (after hours) when the general office was closed. I am under the impression that ms. ***** wants to sue us civilly, though unfortunate,the polce department will answer any questions that will be asked of them. I cannot speak for them. I am saddened that ms. ***** is not driving a new vehicle . This Dealership has NONE of her Monies. I believe this will close your file Thank you ***** ********* Chevrolet of Homewood

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/18) */ Dear Ms.****, We Feel Ms ******** pain. We started this process with her on or about ******5, 2013. we have replace ALL 4 tire pressure sensors for her. She is correct the problen is re-occurring. We have also replaced the Tire pressure module. Since this started we have contacted *****************, I believe that they did give her a certificate to purchase another vehicle. (Im sorry that offended her.) We at chevrolet of homewood are on a quest to get this right for her! Afer we get it corrected, we want to sell her MANY vehicles over the years. The vehicle is in our service department NOW! Ms ******** is in one of our rental cars, and we along with general Motors Technical support will go on and above the call of duty to make Ms. ******** a happy customer. I believe in my heart this is going to be a closed file with a happy customer. Regards, ***** ********* Chevrolet Of Homewood

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service