Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


New and Used Car Dealer.  Offering service, sales, parts and body shop for all major car brands.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brian Bemis World Auto meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Brian Bemis World Auto
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 21, 1990 Business started: 08/06/1981 in IL Business started locally: 08/06/1981 Business incorporated 08/06/1981 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Brian Bemis, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Amy Bemis, Director of Business
Principal: Mr. Brian Bemis, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Brian Bemis World Auto sells the following brand(s): Chrysler, Dodge, Ford , Honda, Hyundai, Jeep, Mazda, Mercedes-Benz, Ram, Toyota, Volvo

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, All Major credit cards.
Alternate Business Names
Blue Marlin Imports, Inc. Brian Bemis Auto World, Inc. Brian Bemis Automobile Group Brian Bemis Ford, Hyundai, Mazda Brian Bemis Toyota

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Brian Bemis World Auto has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used vehicle on 12/12/2015 that was a dealer financed purchase. Included in the purchase was Sales tax, Title Fee, License Fee and Current Doc Fee for processing paperwork, etc. I was told I would receive my license plate & registration in a few weeks. It is not 2/22/2016 over 2 months later. I have called and email the dealer several times and no one has returned my call. My vehicle is still not registered with the state and I still have no license plate. When I contacted the DOT to do it myself I was told I would need a copy of the MV11 form the dealer submitted to bring it in and do it myself. So in summary, My vehicle is not registered with the State and I have no license plate for it which the cost was included in my sales contract purchase. I want this resolved asap. I do not believe the dealer ever submitted my registration and the fees associated to the State of Wisconsin or paid the sales tax to the State which I reside. I feel I am being ignored and they are just pocketing the tax, title, license fee. I have checked the VIN number on Illinois website as of today and the vehicle I purchased is still registered in the state of Illinois.

Desired Settlement: I want the dealer to register my vehicle with state of Wisconsin and pay the fees associated with doing so, including my license plates asap. If this cannot happen I want a refund for services I was charged for that were not completed.

Business Response: We assured Mr. ******** that everything had been submitted but unfortunately it was slightly delayed. We let Mr. ******** know that the state of Wisconsin is currently behind in their License and Title departments as well.  We let Mr. ******** know that if he doesn’t have the actual license plates by the time his temp tag expires we can assist him with the local Wisconsin DMV and they will provide him a new temp tag.  We provided Mr. ******** our General Managers direct contact information and told him to reach out to him if he has any questions or concerns. We will also monitor as much as we can as the state does not provide status updates. We will stay in contact with Mr. ******** until this issue is resolved, we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused Mr. ********. 

6/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I to Product_Or_Service: 6/12/15 Order_Number: N/A Account_Number: N/A

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Billing Adjustment I took my car to ***** ***** to have the top fixed and they are asking me to pay almost double what they quoted me. When I talked to *** (service department manager) he actually pointed to a total of $611.11 that was written down as the total, but when I went to pick it up (over two weeks after I dropped it off) he asked me to pay $1,089! When I complained and said that I would search for legal recourse he said that they wouls start charging me a storage fee.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/19) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******* Service Manag Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******** Better Business Bureau Re: **** ******** Complaint - 1999 Mercedes CLK WDBLK65GXXTXXXXXX Repair Order XXXXXX Mr. ******** dropped off his 1999 Mercedes CLK for repairs on 05/26/15, he used the after hours drop box. The nature of the repairs Mr. ******** requested were for the convertible top not retracting and then later diagnosed that a fluid leak from the hydraulic top lock cylinders. Mr. ******** was contacted on 05/27/15 @ 2:41pm (noted on RO) for the estimate given on the convertible top of $449.50 plus tax and then later contacted on 05/30/15 @ 8:55am (noted on RO) given another estimate of $611.00 plus tax for the fluid leak diagnosis. Both estimates were discussed and authorized by Mr. ******** before any repairs were done to the vehicle. Mr. ******** was also advised that the parts needed for the fluid leak needed to be ordered from Germany and would take longer than normal to receive them. On 06/11/15 the repairs were completed and Mr. ******** was notified that his vehicle was ready. The total of the repairs came to $1098.26 tax included. Mr. ******** come in to pick up the vehicle, when discussing the repair order with the service advisor he stated that the price was double what he thought it was going to be and stated that we were attempting to overcharge him for the repairs. Mr. ******** left the dealership without the vehicle. A couple of days later Mr. ******** came in to remove some personal items from the vehicle, I spoke to Mr. ******** about picking up his vehicle and reviewed the paperwork again with Mr. ******** along with both estimates, he still refused to pay and take the vehicle. As a gesture of goodwill, we will apply a 10% discount to the repairs, reducing the total bill to $988.43. We are hoping this satisfies any miscommunication that may have occurred with Mr. ********. Sincerely, *** ******* Service Manager ***** ***** ******** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/06/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Being that there is very little truth in this managers response (which I completely expected) I have no other choice than to pay for this overcharged repairs and move on. I will in fact make sure that everyone on social media knows how this dealership operates and warn as many others as possible. I appreciate your efforts BBB, but you can't get the truth out of everyone. Lesson learned! **** ********

6/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: After buying this vehicle after 2 weeks the alarm system is malfuctioning.I called the dealer back and their response was electrical is not covered under their 30 day warranty.The sales manager flat out lied to my face when I asked him was the entire vehicle covered he said yes.Them after I call him he tells me I should have read the contract better.My error was trusting a car salesman.I did not ask for anything other than what they advertise on their website.Since when is electrical not part of the powertrain of a car.Every new car powertrain includes electrical.

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix the problem to the alarm system.They told me the entire car was covered for 30 days.Thats a lie

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/07) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****** *** ***** Fixed Operations Director, has left three messages for the customer at XXX-XXX-XXXX and XXX-XXX-XXXX. He kindly requests to speak to the customer as he is in need of more detail of the specific issue, in order to work towards a resolution.

10/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 09-27-2014 I went to Brian Bemis World Auto in Sycamore, Il. I test drove a 2013 Dodge Grand Caravan and a 2010 Chrysler Town and Country van. I told them I would like to buy the 2010 Chrysler. I told the Finance Manager that I did not have any money for a down payment. I only had a trade-in. A2008 Saturn Vue. We negotiated a price agreement. I then told the finance mgr. I would use the ******* ******** credit union to finance this vehicle. The Finance Mgr said he could easily beat the credit unions rate. Again I was asked how much I would be putting down and I told them nothing. After trying 7 banks the finance told me his best rate was 10.15 %. I told him my credit union could beat that rate. So he gave me a copy of the signed contract, which I gave to ******* ******** C.U. on Monday 09-29-2014. We closed on the loan at 4:15 pm and picked up the car at 6:00 pm. Then on 10-06-2014 I received a call from the used car mgr. ******** stating that I had either give them a $300.00 down payment or give back their car THAT DAY. On 10-7-2014 I called **** and told he could have his car back. H e got all upset and threatened to file charges against me with the States Attorney. I ended up going back to my credit union and redoing the entire loan so that I could Pay Brian Bemis this $300.00 that I did not agree to in the first place. I guess this is a new way for unscrupulous dealers to make more money by adding a hidden down payment after the customer says no.

Desired Settlement: Give back my $300.00 or my old car and refund credit unions money $17,707.07.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/10/11) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ***** Corporate Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****** Mr. *** ***** COO has left multiple message with Mr. ***** this week to help resolve the issue. We would appreciate his return to call to assist him. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/10/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have called Mr. **** three times over the last four days and left my name and number on his voice mail-No Response. Is this how ***** ***** deals with customer complaints, by ignoring them? Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/10/14) */ *** **** spoke to customer. Offered the customer $300 for the inconvenience and lack of customer service. customer is happy.

7/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
7/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Brian Bemis World Auto
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart