Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bredemann Ford

Phone: (847) 998-4000 Fax: (847) 998-6271 2038 N. Waukegan Road, Glenview, IL 60025 http://www.bredemann.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bredemann Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bredemann Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bredemann Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 22, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1990 Business started locally: 01/01/1990
Business Management
Mr. Joseph J. Bredemann, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph J. Bredemann, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Shock Absorbers Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts Engines - Gasoline Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Fraternal Enterprises Limited Partnership

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bredemann Ford has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2038 N. Waukegan Road

    Glenview, IL 60025

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/31/15 I bought a Ford Transit 2500 for my company from Bredemann Ford in ********* Illinois. Part of the deal we negotiated was 0% financing for 72 months and a $1,000 rebate for upfits. The only condition I was told about to get the rebate was that Ford had to approve the fact that the van was bought for corporate use. A couple of days after the purchase I provided the corporate documentation to Bredemann. I started calling ***** ******* (sales manager and the one with whom I negotiated the purchase) after a few weeks to find out the status of the rebate. He seemed very uncomfortable discussing it and just kept saying that Ford had to approve it and it could take up to 6 months. I called again in early November and Steve told me he just found out Ford denied the rebate because I could not get the 0% financing and the rebate. That was NOT the deal I made and was NEVER told it was one or the other. How could the sales manager not have known that? I think he did. I used **** ********** at Better Auto Buying to suggest a good dealer and help negotiate the deal and he can verify all of this. **** is in agreement with my understanding of the deal and has been discussing this with ***** ******** ******* told **** that he would agree to pay the $1,000 through referral fees over some unknown period of time and **** asked me to call ******* to discuss that. I did so on 11/17 and left a voicemail, but have still not heard back as of 12/1. I also left a voicemail for *** ********* on 11/27 but have not received a call back as of 12/1. I spent more than I otherwise would have ($1,800) on upfits because I was getting $1,000 back. Mine is a small company and $1,000 matters – so does doing what you agreed to. I made this deal and I expect Bredemann and Ford to live up to it. Emailed on Ford.com 11/27/15. Got response in a few minutes and responded back. They said they cannot do anything other than file the complaint.

Desired Settlement: I expect to get the $1,000 check I was promised.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,   we responded to this customer several times, both on the phone as well as by email recently. 

 

Here is the status.  Mr ******** shopped for several weeks with us for a new Transit.  We were unable to finalize a deal with him until Ford announced a special short term Labor Day weekend promotion that changed the incentives in effect prior from 4.9% for 60 months,   plus a $1000 upfit incentive that had been in place for many months,  to a 0% for 72 months special rate.  When the deal was announced in the last few days of August,  Ford did not indicate in the program announcement that the separate $1000 upfit program could not be combined as it had been with this new rate.  It was silent on this issue.  We discussed this additional upfit program with Mr ******** at that time, but he had to do several things, including getting his business registered in the State Of Illinois to be even considered for this additional $1000.  We told him that we would try to help get him approved for this extra $1000, but it was ultimately Ford Motor Company's decision.

 

Just a few days later, but after Mr ******* had taken delivery of his vehicle, but weeks before he submitted all the necessary forms to qualify for this extra $1000, Ford Motor Company sent out a clarification to all its dealers that these two programs could not be combined.  We submitted the incentive request in late September after receiving all the information from Mr ********,  initially received confirmation from Ford that the extra $1000 rebate was approved,  and then waited for payment from Ford.  When the payment was not sent to us,  we followed up with Ford for further clarification as to why they had not paid us.  When we tried to re-submit it, we got a rejection notice, suggesting the 0% for 72 months and the extra $1000 were not compatible. 

 

So here is where it stands now:  We have submitted an appeal on Mr ********'s behalf to Ford Motor Company's national incentive group on two fronts.  First,  the initial program announcement was not clear, and we deliver the vehicle to him prior to the clarification.  Second,  if the vehicle would have come from the factory with the upfit shelves and bins already installed, it would have qualified.  Ford only excluded upfits done after delivery.  The appeal is still in process, and he knows this.  I have spoken to him myself.  Ford will make the ultimate decision as to whether they make an exception.  Since it is their rebate program, not ours, their decision is final. As soon as we hear from Ford we will let Mr ******** know.  If they do approve it, we will send him the check immediately.  Please feel free to call me with any further questions.  *** *********

 

 

 

 

2/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2010 Ford Focus to Bredemann Ford after hearing a clunking noise when traveling at low speeds. I did not have any other issues with the vehicle. Ford kept the vehicle overnight for inspection and called the next day to say that a strut issue (which is covered under my extended warranty) caused the noise but that my brake pads were worn out and my rotors were damaged(which were not covered). This surprised me because I have not had any trouble braking and did not hear any grinding noises usually associated with brake rotor issues. I was unsure whether any repair was necessary but the repair tech told me that the car would not be safe to drive. After thinking about it I decided I would let them make the repairs but only If I could see the old parts afterward to check for damage given there had been zero sign of a brake issue. I called him back and told him the repairs could be made but only if I could get the old rotors back so that I could see the damage he was referring to. I called again later that day and left a voicemail again reminding him to keep the old parts. The next morning I called to check on the status of the repairs and that is when the service associate told me that the tech had thrown the parts away the previous night. He said he remembered that I had asked for the parts. I called back and left a voicemail telling him to go get the parts from the trash. He called me back and said the parts had been picked up. I reminded the service manager that I wanted to keep the parts. He told me he remembered but that there was nothing he could do now that they had already been picked up. After finding him unhelpful I paid the bill. Since that time I have made several attempts to talk with someone in charge at Ford but the calls have gone unreturned. Given that I was already skeptical of the repair being necessary (no braking issue, no noises related to the brakes) the fact my parts were thrown away makes me even more sure that the technician charged me for a completely unnecessary repair.

Desired Settlement: I would like Ford to refund the parts and service cost for replacing the rotors as I believe they made these repairs in order to increase the cost of their services.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/03) */ Dear BBB staff, we have reviewed the facts of this case, spoken with the complainant and her father, and are certain that we acted appropriately and in good faith on this case. Essentially, Ms *******'s complaint is that we did not save the used parts for her. She is from **** and apparently **** has a state law that requires all repair shops to put the used parts in the customer's car for every repair. Illinois has no such law. Whenever a customer asks us to save their parts for them, we are happy to comply. However, in this case, Ms ******* did not ask us to save the used brake rotors until after the repairs had been completed and used parts had been placed in a recycling bin. She also did not call us until after the recycling firm had stopped at our facility to pick up our recycling so we no longer had any of those accumulated parts. Her father is a Service Manager at a **** dealership in Ohio where she is from, and we spoke to him about the likelihood that she needed brakes and new rotors. He agreed that the rotors had already been cut once and the last brake replacement had been 24,000 miles earlier. There is no question that brakes were due to be replaced at this time or the very near future. Like I said, her only real complaint was that we were unable to save her used parts for her. I think she understands now after our discussion the timing of our repair, the pickup of our recyclable parts early the next morning, and then her subsequent call to us requesting we save the used parts for her. We think we acted appropriately and do not believe any refund is justified. Thanks for reaching out to us. *** ********* President ********* Ford in Glenview ************@*********.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/02/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. ********* is not adderessing the complaint and justifying the actions based solely on the insistances that I needed brakes for my ****** That is not what this complaint is regarding. This is regarding the service. He is falseley saying that I did not ask for the parts until late the day after repairs were made which is not true. After being told that my car was unsafe to drive I agreed to repairs but with my parts being returned to me, my car had made no indications that it was in need of brakes prior to me bringing it into the dealership. I requested that they be put in the trunk or back seat. The service associate acknowledge the next that while I had requested the parts prior the Tech threw them out after the repairs were made. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/02/06) */ I am not sure how to respond. Our service advisor dispatched the job to a technician who stayed late to finish the brakes that she had authorized. He did not know that the customer had requested that we save the old parts. By the time the advisor passed ***** the request the next morning, still expecting the job to be started in the morning, the tech had already completed the job and placed the old parts in a recycling bin that was picked up that morning as a twice weekly process. We got the brake job completed sooner than the service advisor had expected because the advisor went home for the night and he did not know the tech was staying later to finish the job that night. Her father is a Ford dealership service manager and confirmed for us that the brakes had last been re-done 24,000 miles earlier. We have won Ford's top customer satisfaction award for 18 years which puts us in the top 5% nationally so we always have our customer's best interests at heart, including Ms *******'s. But we don not agree with her that she should get a refund for the work she needed and authorized. Our tech would gladly have placed her old parts in her car if he had known of her request. We had nothing to gain by not returning them to her and are sorry that we were unable to return them to her as she requested. Thanks.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Bredemann Ford
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart