Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bredemann Chevrolet

Phone: (847) 698-1234 Fax: (847) 698-0800 1401 W. Dempster St., Park Ridge, IL 60068 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


We sell and service new and pre-owned Chevrolet cars, sport utilities,  trucks and light duty commercial vehicles.  We also sell a nice selection of pre-owned vehicles from other brands.

We have been in business since 1912, and are well known for our family's personal involvement to make sure that every sales and service customer is cared for to the best of our ability.   

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bredemann Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bredemann Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 13, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1912 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1912 Business incorporated 01/01/1912 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. John Bredemann, President Mr. Joseph J. Bredemann Sr., President Mr. Mike Dellas, Service Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Bredemann, President
Principal: Mr. Joseph J. Bredemann Sr., President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Shock Absorbers Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts Engines - Gasoline Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Bredemann Chevrolet sells the following brand(s): New and pre-owned Chevrolet vehicles, as well as pre-owned vehicles from other brands that have passed our rigorous inspection process.

Bredemann Chevrolet offers the following product(s): New and pre-owned Chevrolet vehicles, as well as pre-owned vehicles from other brands that have passed our rigorous inspection process.

Method(s) of Payment
Cash or cash equivalent,  either in the entirety from the customer, or in combination with indirect financing that we helped arrange.  
Refund and Exchange Policy
Due to the complex process of titling and registering vehicle purchases, as well as complying with the terms of the manufacturer warranties,  we are unable to accept the return of any vehicle without the approval of the manufacturer.
Alternate Business Names
First Family Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1401 W. Dempster St.

    Park Ridge, IL 60068


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I agreed to lease a new 2015 Chevy Volt from Bredemann. Part of the agreement was that the dealership was taking back my current lease, a 2012 Volt. My boyfriend and I dealt with ***** ******** and Sales Manager ****** ********* Before I even signed any papers, Mr. ******** went out to get the odometer reading from my 2012 Volt and look it over. He told us everything was good with the lease turn-in. Before signing the financial paperwork for the 2015 model, my boyfriend again point-blank asked Mr. ******** if everything was completed and in good order for the lease turn-in, and that if they had accepted it. Mr. ******** assured us that everything was taken care of and good to go. We then completed the paperwork for the new vehicle. A few days later, I received a bill in the mail for $486 from ****, the company that leased the 2012 Volt. It stated that they had determined there were two dents on the vehicle, and that I needed to pay for them. I was shocked to receive this for several reasons, one of which was that we were absolutely assured by the Bredemann employee, Mr. ********* that the turn-in was complete and nothing more was needed. In addition, I will swear in a court of law that there was no dent on this car when I turned it in. Six months earlier, my boyfriend and I turned in his 2012 Volt to a Chevy dealer and walked away. They examined it just like Mr. ********* We know from prior experiencewith the exact same carthat dealers can sign off on the turn in. This is what we were assured by Mr. ********* After he wouldn't address the issue or offer to pay the fee, I then contacted Mr. ********* who also claims that the dealer isn't responsible for the evaluation. When I told him his employee told us otherwise, he basically repeated his point. I feel deceived, lied to, and am now on the hook for $486 that should be the dealer's responsibility after we were toldmore than onceby their representative, Mr. ************ the lease turn-in was accepted and complete. Product_Or_Service: 2015 Chevrolet Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Bredemann accepted the turn-in of my 2012 car and said we were good to go. They should be responsible for any fees assessed by **** and should pay the $486 bill. Furthermore, the car had no dents on it when it was turned into Bredemann. Since it was out of my sight, and in their possession, I can only assume that any dents happened after it was turned into the dealer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/24) */ On Friday, June 19, 2015, I personally spoke with ********* ******* to try and explain this situation. On May 29, 2012, Ms. ******* signed an **** Financial Lease for her 2012 Chevrolet Volt at **** ******** Chevrolet. According to her lease, Ms. ******* was responsible for any excess wear and tear on the vehicle wherever it was dropped off at the end of the **** lease term. On Tuesday, May 19, 2015, Ms. ******* grounded her leased 2012 Chevrolet Volt at Bredemann Chevrolet, and subsequently, leased a new 2015 Chevrolet Volt from us in a separate transaction. ********* Chevrolet completed all required paperwork related to grounding the 2012 Volt (date, mileage, etc.), and then parked it to await inspection and transport by ****. On Friday, May 22, 2015, an **** representtive came to our dealership and inspected the 2012 Volt. A copy of the inspection report outlining chargeable wear in the amount of $486.00 for a minor dent in the right front door and a minor dent in the right rear door was subsequently sent to Ms. *******. The **** representative also noted $460.00 worth of other scratches and scuffs on the front bumper, rear bumper, right rear door, left rear panel, left front wheel, left rear wheel, right front wheel and right rear wheel, but chose to classify them as non-chargeable wear. Ms. ******* was surprised by the **** charges and reached out to us for an explanation of the***** charges. She referenced a previous lease return by her boyfriend at another dealership where damages had been waived. I explained that the other dealership may have purchased the vehicle from **** when it was grounded, which would have given that dealership the option to waive the repair costs. Our dealership could have purchased her 2012 Volt from **** when it was grounded, but chose not to exercise that option, making it necessary for **** to inspect and take possession of its vehicle. I also explained that Ms. ******* had the opportunity to control her repair costs by have any repair work done before the vehicle was turned in. Any damage estimates resulting from the **** inspection were not negotiable under the terms of her lease. I also mentioned she could have also purchased insurance to cover any potential turn-in damages at the time she signed her original lease. Again, our dealership simply completed all the necessary paperwork for grounding Ms. *******'s 2012 Volt as a courtesy to her and **** Financial. The 2012 Volt was not damaged in the very short time it was in our possession. The terms of the **** lease agreement make it very clear that Ms. ******* is responsible for any wear and tear in this instance. We value Ms. ******* as a customer and hope she finds this explanation satisfactory. Respectfully submitted, BREDEMANN CHEVROLET **** Bredemann Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Although I am upset at having to pay this $486 bill due to Mr. Bredemann's response, the bigger issue pertains to how this situation was handled by the dealership. The employees at Bredemann are clearly not well-trained and this cost me big time. I'm sorry I did not remember every word of a lease I signed three years prior. When I asked Mr. ******** if the turn-in was completed, I would hope he would have advised me the process would be completed by **** instead of telling me everything was completed and good to go. Furthermore, when I called and spoke with the manager, ****** ********* he informed me that he would look into the situation, view the parking-lot video footage, and get back to me. A full two weeks passed with no call from Mr. ********. I only finally got a call back from Mr. Bredemann the morning after my complaints were submitted. Mr. Bredemann had no response as to why his employee was so delinquent. The moral of this story is that the employees and management are unprofessional and poorly trained. It's not everyday that I buy/lease a car, and I had hoped they would have been more helpful in walking me through the process. Instead, they lied to me in order to stick me with a large bill in the end. I would think that the dealership would be able to help me with this $486 bill in turn for my continued business and future purchase of another $30,000+ carbut I guess MY math is wrong. I'll never spend another penny at this dealership and I'll tell as many people as I can about their deceitful business practices and ethics. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/07/03) */ Ms. ******* signed the***** Financial lease for her 2012 Volt at ******** Chevrolet on May 29, 2012. The***** Financial Lease Agreement clearly states that at lease end the Lessee (Ms. *******) owes***** Financial any excess mileage charge, any lease end extension charge and any estimated or actual cost of repairing any excess wear, plus tax. Ms. ******* dropped off the 2012 Volt at ********* Chevrolet on May 22, 2015. A few days later an***** representative physically inspected the 2012 Volt. ***** subsequently sent a report to Ms. ******* detailing $946.00 in damages, but limited the amount considered excess wear to $486.00. Ms. ******* was responsible for paying this amount to***** under the terms of her***** lease. No one at ********* "stuck" Ms. ******* for covering the cost of damages that she was responsible for under the terms of her 2012 Volt lease. We did not sign off on a physical inspection, and had no idea what if any excess wear and tear damage or charges there might be, which was for***** to determine. ********* simply grounded the vehicle and was not involved financially with this transaction in any way. Ms. ******* signed a new unrelated***** Financial lease for a 2015 Volt at ********* Chevrolet on May 22, 2015. There is no mention of the 2012 Volt anywhere in the 2015 Volt lease agreement. Ms. ******* will also be responsible for any excess wear and tear on that vehicle at the end of lease term as determined by***** Financial. The process is consistent and clearly spelled out in the lease agreements. Again, we appreciate Ms. *******'s business and apologize for any misunderstanding regarding the process. Respectfully submitted, ********* CHEVROLET **** *********

3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am not happy with the service I received at this dealership. I bought a truck there for work and two weeks after I bought it I needed a whole new transmission that cost a lot of money and now we are finding out it needs another $3,000 dollars in repairs on top of the transmission when your dealership stated they did a 100 point inspection on the vehicle. If this was done these problems should have been found out and this wouldn't all be happening. I even went back to this dealership and bought another car next day after I bought truck, it's not like I went there for one vehicle. I even called this dealership after I found out all these issues with truck and got the run around and no call back. I feel I was very mislead and this is not right coming from a dealership that is supposed to be reputable. Many more repairs needed like manifold bolts broken off and need to be redone etc.. Product_Or_Service: Chevrolet box truck

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to be refunded for repairs I have done on this vehicle since buying it . If inspected like they said they would know this and should not have sold truck to a customer. I felt scammed and this is used for work and have had nothing but issues with truck.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/23) */ ********* Chevrolet appreciates Mr. *******'s purchase of a used 2004 Chevy Express from the dealership. The vehicle was purchased "as is". ********* Chevrolet does understand Mr. *******'s disappointment in having to deal with a transmission issue shortly after delivery of the truck. Unfortunately, Mr. ******* did not afford the dealership the opportunity to inspect the vehicle at our service department before Mr. ******* authorized repairs at an outside shop. Mr. ********* has offered Mr. ******* a one time only $1000.00 good will payment to offset the cost of the transmission repair even though Mr. ******* purchased the truck "as is". Mr. ********* has asked that the only "pre-condition" for that $1000.00 good will payment would be the removal of all of Mr. *******'s negative posts related to the truck's purchase and subsequent repairs on various social sites such as facebook, Yelp, etc. We are currently in negotiations with Mr. *******. Respectfully submitted, ********* CHEVROLET *** ****** Admin. Asst.

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ********* Chevrolet placed a retainer, a filter, and a module because the truck was not getting any gas. This repair cost $1097.00 on********* 29, 2013. After paying for this repair, I brought the truck home and it was leaking transmission fluid (I have never had this leak in the truck before). I took the truck back to the dealership and the service person named **** told me this leak was unrelated to the work that they did. However, they decided to fix it with me paying for the part. Again, I brought the truck back home and as I was putting gas into the truck, I had a gasoline leak up by the filler tube (it had also never leaked there before). Once again, ********* Chevrolet claimed that this leak was unrelated to the work that they did. However, they could repair this leak with an additional $1000.00. In my opinion, the service person was trying to deny that they created either one of these two leaks and I have taken home a truck that has a leak that it had never had before. If the dealership is an expert on repairs, why has this happened? I am not a mechanic, but I certainly believe that they were giving me the run around and not being responsible and not honoring the work that they did. I would certainly tell any and all of my friends to stay away from this dealership. Payment: Credit card VIN: ************XXXXX

Desired Settlement: My expectation would be that they would repair the gasoline leak that they created, and refund me the money from the first leak while also repairing this leak for free with no new problems arising.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/17) */ I have reviewed Mr. ******' concern and have also met with our staff members who were involved with this transaction. The 2002 ***** ********* stake bed was brought in on ********* Mr. ****** stated that the vehicle would not continue to run and stalling would occur. We performed diagnostics and found the fuel pump was failing due to a lack of fuel pressure. The pump was replaced and the vehicle was returned to the customer. On 11-30-13, Mr. ****** returned and stated that the vehicle developed a transmission leak since the fuel pump was replaced. We inspected his vehicle and verified that there was a leak. We explained that it was necessary to remove the driveshaft in order to access the fuel pump. Upon reassembly, the seal was intact and no leak was evident. Had we found a leak at the time of the fuel pump replacement, we would have replaced the seal at that time. However, as a matter of goodwill, we agreed to replace the seal with no charge for our labor, and Mr. ****** would pay for the seal, approximately $15.00. On 12-11-13, Mr. ****** returned again stating that he noticed a fuel leak only when the gas tank was fully topped off. We again inspected his vehicle and found the leak to be at the fuel filler neck. During our inspection, we noted that there was corrosion at the fuel filler neck creating the fuel leak. On a vehicle that is approaching its 12th year on the road in the Chicagoland area with its severe winters, it is inevitable that there would be corrosion at the fuel filler neck. Such corrosion would not be the responsibility of the dealership. Therefore, we did not offer further assistance to Mr. ****** for the repairs to the fuel filler neck. Respectfully submitted, ********* CHEVROLET **** ******, Service Director

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bredemann Chevrolet
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)