Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bill Walsh GM Superstore

Phone: (815) 434-2323 1752 E Norris Dr, Ottawa, IL 61350 http://www.billwalsh.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description



Bill Walsh GM Superstore is an auto dealership selling both new and used vehicles from a variety of makes and models, including GMC, Chevrolet, Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, and Ford. Located in Ottawa, IL, this company serves LaSalle County and surrounding areas, including Mendota, Sandwich, Oglesby, Marseilles, Peru, Streator, Henry, Spring Valley, Morris, Coal City, Braidwood, Dwight, Yorkville, Shorewood, Wilmington, Chillicothe, Channahon, Minooka, Crest Hill, Lasalle, Wenona, Minonk, Seneca, Triumph, Sheridan, Earlville, Granville, Lacon, Metamora, Gridley, El Paso, Peoria Heights, Chenoa, Pontiac, Fairbury, Gardner, Princeton, Wyanet, Leland, Grand Ridge, North Utica, Lostant, and Tonica. The company has been in business since 1958 and is family owned and operated, having been in business for four generations. The company services nearly 80,000 cars per year and has nine separate showrooms.

This company sells both new and used cars from a variety of makes and models, including Buick, Cadillac, Chevrolet, Chrysler, Dodge, Ford, GMC, Honda, Jeep, Kia, Lincoln, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Scion, Toyota, Volkswagen, and Ram. Used cars makes include Hummer, Acura, Audi, BMW, Hyundai, Jaguar, MINI, Maserati, Mercury, Nissan, Oldsmobile, Pontiac, and Saturn. Their new cars include trucks, SUV, coupes, sedans, vans, and wagons. Cars range in price from over $50,000 to under $5,000, and vehicles which can average over 30 miles per gallon are available. Used cars range in mileage from over 100,000 to under 10,000, and both manual and automatic transmission cars are available. Financing is available for those who qualify. The company also runs a service department, which can provide scheduled, including tire rotation, fluid refills, and brake adjustments. Customers can schedule service online for added convenience.

Visit the website for Bill Walsh GM Superstore to learn more about the company and the services available, read about the company's history, and browse the company's inventory of new and used vehicles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bill Walsh GM Superstore meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bill Walsh GM Superstore include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bill Walsh GM Superstore
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 07, 2008 Business started: 06/27/1958 Business started locally: 06/27/1958 Business incorporated 06/27/1958 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Walsh, Jr., VP/General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Walsh, Jr., VP/General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Accessories Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup Auto Parts & Supplies - Custom Wheels/Rims New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Bill Walsh Buick GMC, LLC Bill Walsh Chevrolet Cadillac, Inc. River City Motors, LLC (formerly Saturn of Ottawa, LLC)

Additional Locations

  • 1752 E Norris Dr

    Ottawa, IL 61350 (815) 434-2323

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
1/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2013 Cadillac ATS on 10-5-13 from Bill Walsh Motors. The car was used and had 4905 miles on it. I was driving through the lot the on the evening of XX-X-XX and I saw the car and inquired about it. My salesman was Harry Armstrong who I knew from being a resident of Naplate. I drove the car, showed it to my husband, and went back to the dealership. I asked if it had been a local trade, and ***** said yes. The price of the car was close to 29,000 and we negotiated to 28,254. The negotiation was done with ***** ********, and I even recall him saying "if we settle on this price your husband isn't going to come in and try to be the hero"? I told him of course not, and I drove the car home that night. The next morning I went to BW and completed my loan papers- Mike Bannos was the one handling paperwork with me. He had all of the papers ready to be signed and we rushed right thru the signing of the documents as there was someone else coming in right behind me. I had never bought an extended warranty before but ***** and **** assured me it was a good idea with Cadillac. I purchased the extended warranty, tire protection, all together total sale of the vehicle was 32,850.30. My first issue was with a tire in January of 2014- I had a flat and had the car towed to the dealership and to my surprise there was no loaner as promised with being a Cadillac owner from BW, the service department also never would contact me back about my car and they patched/plugged the tire when I was told the tire would be new with the coverage. They told me if it was fixable they did that first. This was the first time I felt very misled by this purchase. This was not the first vehicle I had purchased from BW, as well as my family purchased from BW. On February 19, 2014 I went to ****** Nissan in Joliet as part of a flyer I had got in the mail. They appraised my car and told me that it came back as a manufacturer buyback/lemon and even if I wanted to trade it in I could not do so as it would be hard to re sell. They asked me if I had been told when I bought it, I told them no as I had not been told. I was clearly shocked and I immediately called *** ******* GM at BW. *** told me he would get the file and call me back, which he did in about two hours. He said that the vehicle was bought back from GM for service engine soon light and BW had bought it from auction and I had signed the paperwork that I was aware. I explained no I had not been told of it being a buyback lemon, I was told it was a local trade. I told *** the car was pretty much worthless and he said no it wasn't they sold them all of the time, and BW would take in on trade for a fair price. My husband and I went and saw *** on 2-21-14, and he showed me the paper I had signed. I did not have a copy of the paper with the rest of my records that were given to me. Clearly the paper was in the pile with the loan and other documents and I signed it. That was my error for signing and not distinctly reading every line, but as a local business you would think to trust I could have never imagined such deceit. On 2-21-14 we looked at some cars and *** offered me 24,500 for my car when traded in. We didnt make any decisions that night as I had looked at a Honda prior to ATS purchase. I went to BW Honda the next day and told them what I wanted, they looked at my car and the bald salesman with glasses (do not have name) came back with 29,800 (which was sticker on this 2014 Honda CRV AWD EXL, even though I had the exact same car internet quote from ***** of Joliet as 27,510. BW Honda offered me 24,000 for my car. I said that was crazy Joliet would do better, the guy rudely then said "well do they know your car is a buyback good luck". Again with the deceit. So I can purchase this car from BW all while not being told about it being a LEMON and lied to, but then to trade it in AGAIN taking my responsibility for being naive and not going over papers with a fine tooth comb,I am not given a fair price.

Desired Settlement: I entered that dealership in good faith, I am a hard worker who doesn't make decisions easily. I am surprised the bank even let me take out a loan on a car with a buyback lemon title. I was not told about this car being a buyback/lemon and yes my signature is on the paper but that dealership should have made sure I knew and not told me a local trade. BW has already made their money from the sale, so to turn around after I find this out and obviously I was deeply upset and then to say something like well so they know it was a buyback? I dont expect to get purchase price for this car, I take some responsibility. I also know that **** ***** ** is a well respected community man, and I think if he knew what happened he would think that was shameful. At the time this all happened I had owned the car approx 4 Months. As a sign of good faith and good business I feel that BW should offer me no less than 26,000 on trade in for purchase of new vehicle at a reasonable price not sticker. Upon trade in I would be refunded for the unused balance of the extended warranty. I feel this gesture would be fair to all parties involved.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/13) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** ** / Gen Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@billwalsh.com I spoke to ***** as soon as I received this email and outlined a few different options including either paying for the extended warranty if she wanted to keep the ATS, replacing the tire instead of the prescribed patch and trading her into a different vehilce at her desired trade figure. She will be considering her options and will let me know which option works best for them. Once I get her direction, I'll work out the details myself. ***** has my mobile number and will call me. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/03/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) My husband and I are very satisfied with the actions taken by Bill Walsh Motors to make our situation right. The company responded very quickly and offered solutions to fix the issues. The member of management handling our issue worked quickly and kept his word. We have been previous customers of Bill Walsh Motors, and will continue to purchase our cars and trucks from Bill Walsh Motors as well as recommend our friends and family to Bill Walsh Motors. I truly feel like they cared about having our business, and I am glad we chose to shop locally. Final Consumer Response /* (450, 9, 2014/03/14) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: I feel completely satisfied with the businesses response to my complaint. As I stated in the narrative, I did sign the paper and I take my own responsibility for that action. I feel that the company and I worked together for a fair outcome for both parties involved. Bill Walsh motors is a very large business, and I respect the fact that they even bothered to deal with my compliant. Thank you.

1/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Nov. 1st at approx. 2pm my vehicle was running fine but then started to overheat, I then proceeded to pull my vehicle to the side of the road after approx. 50ft. I then \had my vehicle towed to my regular mech. on Monday they called & gave me a high est. so I called around. got parts at Advanced auto parts for approx.$80 the called around for cheaper est. on labor. **** ***** Superstore gave est. of $115 providing I purchase parts. I agreed & had vehicle towed to **** *****. Had my mother(****** **********) drop off parts. Service tech. proceeded to tell my mother the est. was to low. He then called me due to me being the owner & gave est, of $450+ I was angry so I told them not to touch my car & that I wiil take it elsewhere cause I had est. from repair shop across the street from them for $250. The service said they would match their competitors est. so I agreed so I wouldn't have another tow ****. Then on Nov. 8th the tech. called & informed me my car was all tore apart but they have a problem & they need a tool cause they don't typically service this type of vehicle I asked why they agreed to service it & he said they wanted my business. Angry about this I agreed to order tool off eBay on Nov.8th a week later after still not having my car they call & tell me I need a new pulley. On Nov.15th I ordered that then approx. Nov.18th the tech. called & informed me my vehicle was fixed but wont start & they don't know why cause they don't fix this kind of vehicle. Very angry at this time I told them I **** not pay until it is fixed right. The tech. said the car **** be here for me to have towed where Id like after I pay them for their work.. I then receive an email from the owner **** ********* that me to personally email him & he **** make me satisfied with their service I explained in an email to him my concerns & still no response.. Also lost my job due to not having reliable transportation. Was also told by BMW service tech. in Chicago they most likely messed car up by not being knowledgeabe Product_Or_Service: water pump & serpentine instalation

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Would like my vehicle fixed right

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/27) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Jr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@*********.com The customer had his BMW towed to the Chevrolet dealership in ****** and wanted us to install a belt he had purchased elsewhere. The technician found that the water pump was also in need of repair. Customer brought in a water pump which we installed at his direction. There was a tool that was needed and we accepted the offer to have the customer supply the special tool. The car was obviously not running when it arrived at the dealership and after installing the parts the customer provided it still did not start due to some other mechanical problem. Without specific BMW diagnostic equipment we could not go any further in the repair. We did cut our labor rate by over 50% to charge him only $249.96 when in actuality we paid our Union technician 7.8hours of labor or approximately $780. We did not diagnose the problem, but simply installed the parts which the customer provided us and directed us to do. The car is sitting in our customer service pick up area and the keys and repair order are awaiting payment for the work performed so he may take the car. I did not receive any email or phone call from the customer. I answer all of my own emails, texts and phone calls and am available 24/7 as is known by all of my managers and customers. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) **** ***** Service tech,nor the service manager did not inform me prior to the work,that they do not work on or have knowledge of fixing a BMW until they had already been half way through taking it apart.. I've been told by BMW tech that not having the knowledge to work on such vehicle could be fatal.. The fan blade is NOT to be laid flat,the timining is to be inspected to be sure it has not jumped due to water pump failure prior to being started for the first time after installation of a new water pump there are many delicate parts that require safe storage before being reinstalled.I asked if they needed to inspect the car to make sure that it was in fact the water pump that was the problem & they said there was no need,due to me telling them what had occurred prior to the vehicle needing fix and also getting a diagnosis somewhere else..Also I did in fact personally email/message **** ***** *** & inform him of the situation in hopes of not having to bring this to your attention. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/01/20) */ I feel we have explained our case thoroughly and that reiterating it is not helpful at this point. Please re-read our explanation of the events surrounding the repair. We have made price concessions and have explained our position on this situation. It's very clear as to what steps we took to remedy the situation. The problem with the email, which the customer fortunately spelled out here, is that my email is not ******@*********.com. It is *******@*********.com which is why I did not receive an email from him. We have taken this situation as far as we can. We are a standing BBB member and take customer care as the paramount concern of our daily business in all departments. We, in fact, have the highest Mitsubishi Customer Satisfaction rating in the entire nation, the #6 rating for Toyota in the entire nation and always region leading scores for all of our other franchises. We have done all that can be done at this point (again,as clearly outlined in the previous two responses) and need the car removed from the dealership premises. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/01/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I called **** ***** Superstore 2 or 3 times before I actually had my car towed there to make sure of the labor cost and inform them of the work to be performed,because I was told by a different repair shop the only thing wrong with my car was a serpentine belt and water pump and there was no other damage due to my water pump seizing. The other repair shop advised me right away that they do not have the correct tools to perform the job required.**** ***** Superstore also informed me after they started working on my car that the usual tool they have to take fans off other vehicles would not work because they tried so they needed me to find one so that they would be able to finish the job in which they had already started.They also informed me after they had already started that they don't work on BMW's.If I had known this I would have taken my vehicle somewhere else!Also they continue to say I didn't send **** ***** Jr.an email and I did send **** ***** Jr. an email personally on Monday December 2nd 2013 at 3:15pm at ******@*********.com explaining my concerns about the service performed and how I am unsatisfied with the results.I have already provided a copy the email to Rhonda Drew.I have the email saved for future reference if needed.I have not been contacted by **** ***** Superstore concerning my vehicle until I received a call on January 6th at 9:55am while I was in the shower in which my voice mail answered and the person left a message saying they needed to talk to me about my car.I then called and talked to BBB and asked if I should call **** ***** tech. back or if I should just have BBB deal with it. The BBB advised me that it was my choice.I felt I should contact **** ***** tech to see if they decided to have another tech from one of there other dealerships help them figure out what they did wrong or if they were going to tell me its fixed or if I need to come get it or what they wanted for sure so I then contacted **** ***** Superstore on Jan.9th at 4:37pm and they advised me that they are not making any attempts to fix my car they just want me to come get it asap or they **** start to charge me for storage.I advised him I needed time because I've lost my job,he agreed to let my car be there til the end of January.

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ******** 14,2013 I went to ********** at **** E ****** Dr in ******* IL to purchase a 2013 ***** ******* for $23,895. I told the salesman **** ****** the features I was looking for. So while the business manager **** ****** was "doing the paperwork", some guy named ***** said to go get this other ******* that had less miles a lower price and the features I wanted. So of course I said yes. While I was in a room with **** ****** he gave me a bunch of papers to sign and explained nothing! He told me if I bought the $1800 warranty that it would be "bumper to bumper" for 7 years or 100,000 miles. There is nothing in this pile of papers that says that. I told the salesman **** ****** on Saturday ******** 16th that I was charged the wrong price for the vehicle. He said he would look into it and let me know November 20. Today is ******** 20th. I was told by **** ****** that **** ****** marked the car UP because of my trade-ins. The trade-ins are on a separate line of this sales page. I was also charged for "aftermarkets" $449 and I don't even know what that is!!! As a woman I was totally taken advantage of and was told "sign sign sign". With no explanation!!!

Desired Settlement: I want the cash difference between the two vehicles, something in writing for the $1800 Supposed bumper to bumper warranty or i don't want the warranty and they can give me a cash refund for that too!And the "aftermarket" charge of $449 that I don't even know what it is.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/21) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Jr / Owner Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****@billwalsh.com We have already been in touch with Ms ******, i have met with her as of 6am this morning and have satisfied her concerns and resolved the problem. Final Consumer Response /* (450, 8, 2013/11/21) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bill Walsh GM Superstore
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)