Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bill Walsh Ford Lincoln Kia meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bill Walsh Ford Lincoln Kia include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bill Walsh Ford Lincoln Kia
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 23, 1991 Business started: 09/03/1985 Business started locally: 09/03/1985 Business incorporated 10/15/2009 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Shannon ?, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shannon ?, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Accessories Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup Auto Parts & Supplies - Custom Wheels/Rims New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bill Walsh Ford Lincoln Kia has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4001 Columbus St

    Ottawa, IL 61350

  • P.O. Box 1410

    Ottawa, IL 61350

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October of 2014 I purchased a 2010 Chrysler Sebring from bill Walsh automotive and purchased an extended warranty costing $2100. In May of 2015 I cancelled said warranty and paid off the vehicle. The financial manager advised me I am owed the $2100 back in refund since the warranty was paid off and never used. I have made numerous attempts to collect the $2100, and am denied every time. I spoke with Bill Walsh himself, who spun off my request to get me to leave the store. He took my contact information and said he would call me in 30 minutes. I never received a call. Upon trying to call him back, I was denied. Now, 2 months later, and at least 10 visits to the store to collect my money, I am left with no other choice than to report Bill Walsh automotive group for refusal to refund money that I am legally entitled to.

Desired Settlement: $2100

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/07/29) */ Contact Name and Title: Bill ******** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: *****************.com I have been in touch with Mr ******** several times (in person and via text) on July 14, 2015. I explained that we had to contact the original lienholder, ***********, and were awaiting a payoff letter from them. We need the payoff letter to verify that the lien has been satisfied in full with them. Once that has been received, then the warranty company will process the pro-rata amount due on the refund. The refund, I explained, would be send to Mr. ********'s grandfather as he was the primary debtor on the loan. Mr. ******** then texted 'Okay. I thank you for looking further unto this for me as this is more information than I was previously given. I appreciate it.' I explained that we needed to make certain *********** was pain in full as the warranty refund typically has to go to the lienholder and not the warranty policy holder in the case of refunds or cancellations. Once we received an 'all clear' from ***********, then the refund would be (has has been) processed. Mr. ******** then texted 'That sounds good to me. Once again i apologize for coming in with a full head of steam earlier, it's just been a long process and frustrating. Thank you for your help!' Mr. ******** then sent a text on July 25, 'Any word on anything? Seems like when I try to call I keep getting ignored now" No one had received any further communication to or from Mr. ******** since I looked into the matter on July 14. I then texted Mr. ******** "This could easily be 30-60 days by the time the warranty company processes the refund' I have not heard anything more. The refund is in process now that we have received the verification the account was paid off at ***********. The refund will be sent to Mr. ********'s grandfather.

11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Customer number XXXXX XXXX ********* ********* I took auto in because of an idle problem. I was told it needed a new pcm and an o2 sensor . I put a new o2 sensor in the day before taking car to the shop because it was an after market part the service manager wanted to replace it which I agreed to. When I picked the car up I did not get out of the driveway and the problem was the same. They kept the car for another week. They then told me that the problem was a short in a wire from 02 sensor to the PCM . I asked for my old PCM be put back in ,they said it was shorted out. If my old PCM was shorted out then the same thing should have happened to the new PCM because the car was driven with the new PCM while the shorted wire was still in tack. I feel the garage did not want eat the price of the new PCM $996.17. The only repair needed on this car was to replace the shorted wire. After that was done the car ran fine. I feel a refund for price of the PCM is do me. Thank you

Desired Settlement: A refund for the PCM module $996.17 and part of the labor for misdiagnosing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/13) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Jr/General Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX We received the car from Mr. ****** after it had been at an independent repair shop that could not repair the issue. They had installed an aftermarket O2 sensor. The original PCM was defective (shorted out per our technician). After we installed a new PCM sensor the car ran well and our technician then let the car sit and then started it again a second time. At that point the technician found a problem and found that there was a loose connection at the O2 sensor which he repaired and then after starting the vehicle a number of additional times, the vehicle ran fine. Mr. ****** picked up his car once the repair was completed and he experienced a problem immediately. The technican then pulled the vehicle back into the service department and called **** ********* *********** **** *** instructed the technican to overlay a wire from the new PCM to the new O2 sensor and after that operation the car has been running per design. The car needed both a new O2 sensor which we installed as well as a new PCM which we installed and repaired per **** ********* ********** instruction. Mr. ****** did ask for the original PCM to be returned, however, he would have been charged $500 for not allowing us to return the PCM as a core charge from **** ***** Company. He elected not to pay this charge. **** ******* Service Director, asked the technician if the old PCM was indeed still good as Mr. ****** suspected. The technician reported that the original PCM had, in fact, an internal failure and was shorted out.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Bill Walsh Ford Lincoln Kia
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart