Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bill Kay's Downers Grove Nissan

Phone: (630) 969-3200 Fax: (630) 829-4647 1601 Ogden Ave, Downers Grove, IL 60515 http://www.downersgrovenissan.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bill Kay's Downers Grove Nissan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Bill Kay's Downers Grove Nissan include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bill Kay's Downers Grove Nissan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 09, 2002 Business started: 08/01/1993 in IL Business started locally: 08/01/1993 Business incorporated 02/03/1995 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lee A. Eisenberg, Vice President/Executive Manager Mr. Justin Delgado, General Manager Mrs. Judith Spellman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lee A. Eisenberg, Vice President/Executive Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bill Kay's Downers Grove Nissan has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1601 Ogden Ave

    Downers Grove, IL 60515

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/25/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a unsafe vehicle from Bill Kay Nissan and I tried to contact them to reconcile the situation and no one cared they just kept pointing fingers. I have two younger kids and I thought this was the best place to go to purchase my first good car and they scammed me. It's very unethical to know that this is okay to do to people. I entrusted in the big car dealer and they stirred me wrong and don't have any regard.

Desired Settlement: I will like them to switch me out on a safer car for me and my children or at least compensate me some how.

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern:

Ms. ****** purchased this vehicle on March 12th, over 5 and one half months ago with over 85,000 miles on the odometer on an "AS IS" basis. If there were any safety concerns with the vehicle they would have been evident prior to now, yet no complaint. We believe she was told about this condition by another dealer, possibly in an attempt to sell her another car.

We are not in the practice of selling unsafe cars and the information provided to me by my management staff is that the entire vehicle history was reviewed with her at the time of purchase and she knew exactly what she was buying. We have no knowledge of how much this car has been driven in the lengthy amount of time since the purchase or under what conditions. If she encountered a problem in that time frame, that would be normal as no one can predict what or when something will go wrong with a car, especially one of that age and mileage.

We will be happy to work with Ms. ****** towards a possible trade in but we will need to know what these alleged conditions are as she has not provided any specific information here. As you know, we are a BBB Accredited Business with an A+ rating so it should be clear that we will work to resolve any reasonable complaint. If you have any additional information about this case, we will be glad to review it.

Sincerely;

Lee A. *********, Executive Manager

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern:

Again, we have not been provided with any specifics as to why this vehicle is deemed unsafe. Please provide complete details of any necessary repairs and we will look further into the matter. We would also like to see the current mileage on the vehicle as the time frame between the purchase and this complaint is quite lengthy.

Lee A. *********, Executive Manager

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau: To whom it may concern

i will be delighted to share with you all the paper work that i have obtained stating that this vehicle was unsafe and should have not been sold. i will love to bring it in to you at your earliest convenience. i don't think the repairs that's need has anything to do with the mileage on the car that's not what my concern is my concern is i was sold a car that needed some work that may have been overlooked but i was told by the adjuster that this was a problem before i purchased the vehicle due to the rust and the missing bolt on the car along with Bill Kay ********* .


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 11664919, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

Latasha ******

8/12/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I TRADED IN MY CAR 7/11/16 THAT WAS FINANCED WITH ****. I PURCHASED A NEW VEHICLE FROM THEM AND FINANCED IT AGAIN THROUGH ****. ABOUT 2 WEEKS LATER ON JULY 25 I STARTED GETTING CALL FROM **** SAYING THE CAR I TRADED IN WAS NOT PAID OFF. MY NEW LOAN THROUGH **** ON THE CAR I PURCHASED WAS ALREADY FUNDED. I CALLED THE DEALER FIRST SPOKE WITH THE LADY THAT DOES PAY OFF AND SHE ASSURED ME THEY SENT THE CHECK. I CHECKED BACK ON JULY 28 AND **** STILL HADN'T RECEIVED THE PAYOFF. CALLED DEALER SHIP AGAIN SPOKE WITH THE OFFICE MANAGER AND SHE OVERNIGHTED THEM A CHECK FOR THE PAYOFF. TODAY 8/3/16 I RECEIVED A CALL FROM **** AGAIN THIS TIME STATING "THIS A ATTEMPT TO COLLECT A DEBIT" THE CHECK THAT WAS SENT TO THEM BY THE DEALERSHIP FOR THE PAYOFF BOUNCED. THERE WAS A "STOP PAYMENT " PUT ON IT. I CALLED THE DEALER SPOKE WITH JUSTIN THE GM. WITH THE RESPONSE OF LET ME LOOK INTO IT THAT ITS **** PROBLEM NOT ARE'S. I TRADED IN THIS CAR ALMOST A MONTH AGO JULY 11. ACCORDING TO NISSAN I'M RESPONSIBLE FOR BOTH LOANS NOW TIL THE OTHER CAR IS PAID OFF AND IT COMING UP ON 30 DAYS WITH OUT A PAYMENT THIS IS GOING TO DAMAGE MY CREDIT THAT I HAVE WORKED SO HARD TO FIX OVER THE PAST TWO YEARS. THIS IS A TOTAL DISREGARD TO THE CUSTOMER. I AND NO ONE I KNOW WILL NOT BE RETURNING TO DOWNERS GROVE NISSAN TO PURCHASE A VEHICLE

Desired Settlement: I WANT THE CAR PAIDED OFF THAT I TRADED IN AND PROOF THAT IT WAS PAID OFF (I.E. A COPY OF THE CANCELLED CHECK). ALSO WANT DOWNERS GROVE NISSAN TO HELP WITH ALL NEGATIVE MARKS THAT HAVE BEEN PUT ON MY CREDIT DUE TO THERE ERROR IN NOT PAYING OFF THE VEHICLE IN A TIMELY MANNER.

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern:

Please be advised that this account was paid to **** on7/13/16 on our check number ***** and sent via regular mail which is our common practice. For whatever reason, the check was either delayed in the mail or mishandled by **** and was not processed. When the customer notified us that he had been contacted by **** informing him that the loan had not been paid, we immediately issued a replacement check, number 46650 and sent it overnight to ****. At that time we placed a stop payment on the original check as a precaution which is a common business practice. That check was processed to the account. It is also very odd because **** will normally not fund a new loan until the old one is paid. Somewhere during this timeframe the original check showed up and was also processed so it was subsequently returned for stop payment. At this point, the loan should be satisfied and we will verify that today.

We are extremely sorry for the confusion but I hope the information provided her will show that this was out of our control and we acted extremely expediently to rectify it once we were made aware of it. Should you have any other questions or need any documentation, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely;

Lee *********

Executive Manager

12/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a very dissatisfied customer. Here is a synopsis: In October, I purchased a brand new 2015 Nissan Frontier from *****l. I have no complaints with *****l...he was great! My complaint is with your service manager, **** ******. He is not very helpful and takes too long to answer emails. I initially emailed him on December 7th requesting that a missing part be ordered. Mind you, I just purchased this brand new vehicle in October....even if the part was not missing initially....it should not fall off by itself 2 months later! If it does, then the part is defective. Especially on a brand new vehicle just purchased in October. His last email to me was to mail the defective part back to him so he can file a warranty claim since initially he told me I would have to pay for the part. Well how can I mail a defective piece back that is missing???!!!?? Does that make any sense whatsoever? Since I was just frustrated with this whole ordeal, I just went to the Thomas Nissan dealership in Joliet. Wow, what a difference! The service manager there didn't give me a hard time at all and ordered the part free of charge!!!! I didn't even purchase the vehicle from them. Free of charge and no questions asked. I will never purchase from you again and will NEVER recommend anyone purchase from your dealership if this is how you treat brand new customers.

Desired Settlement: An apology for the way they treat new customers.

Business Response:

To Whom it may Concern:

I responded to this customer's review yesterday. We are sorry he is dissatisfied with our service or anything else. First of all, Mr. ****** did not respond to his e mail immediately because he was on vacation. Secondly, all we were provided was an e mailed picture of where the missing part was with no description. The picture indicated that the part which we do not even know what it is must have been there because it showed residue of whatever material that secured it. We have never been provided the opportunity to examine the cause of this which is a requirement of our manufactuer for any warranty claim along with other procedures. Had the customer returned to our dealership with the vehicle, this could easily have been taken care of but we have no choice but to follow the policies and procedures our manufacturer sets forth which is what I am sure the other dealer did. It is impossible to satisfy a customer when we are not given the opportunity to do so. Again, we apologize for this incident but the solution was beyond our control.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

First of all, the business says that the service manager, Rick, did not reply because he was on vacation. I believe that is a lie because he did reply to me....just a day later.  Secondly, Bill Kay Nissan is saying all that I emailed was a picture of the missing part and no description.  That is also a lie as I have copies of the email correspondence to both the sales person and the service manager, **** *******  I even forwarded all email correspondence to the general manager and didn't even get a response from him.  

Bill Kay Nissan's response also says they were never provided the opportunity to examine the cause to file a warranty claim.  That is also a lie.  The service manager did reply to me, but he says that he couldn't file a warranty claim without the missing part mailed to him.  Does that make any sense to you?  How can I mail back a missing part when it is missing?????  Bill Kay Nissan also states that it is impossible to satisfy a customer when they were not given an opportunity.  That is a big lie as well.  I gave them all opportunity to reply back to me or even call me and ask me to come in.  Did they?????  No, they just flat out said it was not covered (when i just bought the vehicle 2 months ago brand new) and then said, ok, they will cover it under warranty if I mailed the part back.  Well again, how can I mail a piece back that is missing?  Never did they ask me to come in and they would assist.

So I went to the Thomas Nissan dealership in Joliet and they did NOT ask any questions whatsoever.  Just ordered the part and replaced free of charge!  Now that is great service.  They replied to me and took care of the issue in one request.


Sincerely,

Kenneth Wong

8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/14/15 I traded in my 2010 Grey Nissan Maxima which had a 4year manufacture warranty. I purchased a Silver 2010 Nissan Maxima with upgraded feature. Due to the fact that the Grey Nissan was traded in after 2year, and only 2years of the warranty was used but 4years was purchased. I was told by the finance manager that I would received the remainder of my warranty money back in the amount of $893.23 The check would be made out to me and would received it in 3-4week. I waited for 2months to allow enough time to receive the check. I never got it in the mail. I made numerous attempt after 2month to contact the dealership, I left numerous message for the Finance manager he never returned my calls. I finally decided to drive up to the dealership and speak with him. I spoke with him and he said that there was an issue with their system and the warranty was never canceled, he said he would contact the warranty support and correct the issue. Another 4 weeks go by still no check in the mail. I call again a few times left a few messages still no call back. I decided to drive up there again keeping my cool, I spoke with him and he said he told me the lady who handles the warranty issue leave at 3pm. I said in that case I will give you a call tomorrow to resolve the matter he said ok, to call him in the morning. I called him again I get his voicemail left a message for him to call me back he did not. Finally after numerous calls and messages he called me back 3 weeks later on 6/9/15. He left me a message stating that the error was corrected in the warranty system. He also stated that my warranty was still valid for 3/14/15, the original date of cancelation. He said that I would receive the check in the mail in a few days. I still have not received the check in the mail. I wasted my gas again on 8/1/15, now for the 3rd time to drive to the dealership still keeping my cool to talk to him. He simply said give me your number which by now he should have already had, he would text me in the morning and let me know what is going on. He never did I called and left a voicemail for him today 8/3/15 he never called back. I called again and ask to speak to the salesman who sold me the car. I explain to him that I am tired of the run around, I need to speak to someone in Finance he simply said I am sorry for your frustration I will speak to someone and call you back.I Never got a called back and still no check. To this point I don't want to have anything to do with this dealership. After purchasing 2 cars from them $21,000 and $20,000, I feel like trash and disrespected. They have no business ethics and no respect for their customers. Very said an disappointing. I will probably never purchase a Nissan car ever again just because of this bad experience. I want this issue to be resolved in a timely fashioned and move on with my life. I will never step foot in that dealership again and will void my unlimited free car washes. I would rather pay for a car was then to go back to a place who just wants my money and not value my business. I still have the voicemail saved from 6/9/15 if you require it.

Desired Settlement: I simply want them to cut me my check and cut all ties with me. I am done wasting my time gas and phone calls dealing with this matter. I have a 3month old baby to raise and no time for games.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/06) */ To Whom it may Concern: We are very sorry for the delay in getting this refund processed. We have now received the money from Nissan and a check has been prepared. It will be mailed to the customer today, 8/6/15. We also hope that the customer is willing to acceot our apology. for a variety of reasons this was not handled in an efficient manner. those issues will be dealt with and this should never happen again.

4/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: date: March 12, 2015 time 3:00pm after they washed my car I have noticed a new dent on the rear right door of my car, I immediately pointed this issue to one of the advisors and then called the showroom manager and service manager, they both were claiming that issue will never happen in their dealership and it should be something done to my car in the past. the dent is very new and it only happened during the wash and I think the guy who drove it to the washing area has done something, it took them 45 minutes to inform me the car wash is done and this confirms my worries about that. I had an argument with both managers about this dent and how the paint crack has just happened, because if there were a crack before the car wash then it won't stay as a crack only and the paint will peel off. the only thing the suggested that I have to contact my insurance company. I asked them if they have surveillance camera's to see what happened with the person who was driving the car but one of them confirmed it over the phone and the showroom manager (*****) said they don't have any.

Desired Settlement: there was no settlement discussed with them as they didn't confess it was their mistake yet. they didn't take this issue seriously as they already knew what happened to the car and felt as if they are covering someone.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/03/24) */ Ms. ****: I did in fact respond to this complaint on the day it was received. I apologize that you did not receive it. I will repeat our response to you. After discussing this issue with all of our employees involved and in examining the damage to the vehicle, we were able to determine that the damage to the vehicle is completely inconsistent with any kind of damage our car wash machine could have caused. Our manager even took the customer back to the machine to demonstrate this to him. Our machine is a state of the art top of the line machine and we have never encountered any damage of this type to any vehicles. It should also be noted that we have a long standing policy that in the event any employee causes any damage to a vehicle, it should be reported immediately and no punitive action would be taken. I have been advised that the severity of this damage is not to the extent that it would diminish the value of the vehicle. Contrary to the customer's comments that we have not taken this issue seriously, we take all customer issues seriously as is evidenced by our A+ rating with the BBB but there is simply no evidence here to support his claim. In the event he would like to have this damage repaired, we would certainly be willing to offer a steeply discounted rate for the service. Should you need any other information or would like to discuss the matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me. Sincerely; ****** ********* Executive Manager Bill Kay Nissan Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/03/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never said the washi macine was the cause of damage, I parked the car in the customer parking area and I told the manager that damage might happen when the car was driven to the wash machine then out of the wash machine to the customer parking area again. I requested to view the surveilance cctv cameras and one of the managers confirms they have those cameras but the other manager said no. And after a long argument he said they have cameras but to the other side of parking lot. This what makes me uncertain if they are telling the truth or they dont want me to see what really happened. I also showed the manager some signs on the paint which I removed with swiping my fingers the same area, if it was an old damage then there will not be any removable signs after wash and only by swiping finger over that. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2015/04/13) */ Dear Ms. ****: I apologize for the delay in responding but I was out of the office last week. As promised, we re-evaluated the minor damage to the vehicle. We are anxious to have this matter resolved so as a goodwill gesture with no admission that this damage was caused by us, we will agree to have the vehicle repaired for him. Obviously, we will require a release from him in order to do this. As for his claim of decreased value of the vehicle, this is hardly a valid claim in that the damage sustained can be categorized as minor cosmetic damage. It is in no way major collision damage which we agree could diminish the vehicle value to some extent. As I am sure you are aware, Illinois law even provides that damage to a brand new vehicle must exceed 6% of the original M.S.R.P of the vehicle to require any type of disclosure. This case is not even close to that type of situation and we beleive this is a very fair resolution. The customer can contact Mr. ****** at XXX-XXX-XXXX **** to set an appointment to repair the vehicle. Thank you for your assistance with this file. Sincerely; ****** ********* Executive Manager Bill Kay Nissan Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 19, 2015/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never expected this answer from a professional company like Bill Kay, wether it is a minor damage or a major damage but this will cause to repaint the door and this what will diminish the vehicle value. Bill Kay still claiming that damage wasn't caused by them, my answer to that again and again: show me the footage and prove it then I would cancel the whole complain. it is not only a car repair which will satisfy a customer who wanted to wash his car and then find his car has damage (wether it is minor or major). and if they are talking about Illinois law and about the 6% MSRP of the vehicle value this is a point against Bill Kay and I kept saying from the beginning that my vehicle value decreased by at least $2500 when the 6% is $1300 moreover Bill Kay themselves will never accept to purchase or trade in a car with any kind of accidents or previously painted car, I got this message when I was looking for a used car when the sales person confirmed that no used car in their inventory was involved in any kind of body repair or paint.

4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Quote was given March 4, 2015 - Invoice # XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I just want this type of scam on file so others are not affected and this sort of thing STOPS. Please put them on notice any way you can for attempting to take advantage of the public.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/06) */ Dear Ms. ****: Given that this compaintant did not elaborate we investigated the basis of his complaint from the invoice number provided. We have detailed notes regarding this alleged instance so we will be happy to provide the details as they actually occurred even though a serious allegation has been made here without the presentation of any facts. On March 15,2015, the vehicle was brought into our service department. A repair order was prepared. Line A of the repair order says "Customer states has noise from engine area". Line B requested an oil and filter change. Subsequent lines call for a free battery test and quick alignment check as well as performance of a complimentary multi point inspection.Several reccomendations were made as to the condition of some of the inspected items which the customer declined. Based on feedback we received on a manufacturer survey, we beleive the customer's major concern is the reccomendation made referring to Line A of the repair order, noise from the engine area. Upon inspection by our factory trained journeyman union technician, who incidentally has been employed here for over 10 years, the following was noted in writing by him: "Loud knocking noise when "COLD", dims down when warmed up due to heat expansion. Found noise coming from center 2 piston rods. Slight noise from belt tensioner and wide belt deflection exceeding spec causing loose belt.Head gasket and front cover have minor oil leaks". The technician reccomended a short block, belt tensioner and serpentine belt. This is the Nissan reccomended repair for this condition. It should also be noted that this is not an uncommon condition for this model with 73,000 miles. Unfortunately that makes the vehicle ineligible for any warranty coverage. The service advisor conveyed the reccomended repairs which of course the customer declined and the advisor even told him that he did not want to sell him just the tensioner and belt because he would still get the knock in colder conditions. Again, this is not an uncommon condition. We are sorry that we had to deliver this news to the customer but is was done because we are an honest, reputable and well qualified dealer as evidenced by our A+ rating with the BBB as well as the extensive sales and service history this customer has had with us since at least 2009. We are very sorry that he now feels we have tried to take advantage of him but based on the history of this model vehicle and the qualifications of our technician, we must stand behind our diagnosis. With the facts now presented, I hope you close this file with the confidence that no "scam" has taken place. Sincerely: ****** ********* Executive Manager Bill Kay Nissan

1/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new 2014 Nissan Rogue in June 2014. On January 17th I received my second oil change afterwards I drove my car for a few hours. My car was parked for the remaining of Saturday evening and Sunday. Monday morning I started the vehicle and to my surprise I hear a rattling noise coming from my car. The car proceeded to inform me that there was no oil and to turn off immediately. I checked under the car and there was oil pouring from underneath the vehicle. I immediately called Bill Kay Nissan in Downers Grove. I was given a phone number to call to have my vehicle towed to the dealership. Upon arrival I was greeted by one of the service department employees, the service manager walked out and didn't acknowledge that I was present but intended to ask the employee about the whereabouts of my keys. Being a Manager for the service department and having a customer experience a situation like this he should have came out and introduced himself right away. It was then I proceeded to introduced myself and he followed. I was given a loaner vehicle which was filthy and covered in dog hair and I have a four year old son that had to get in the loaner vehicle with me. I thought this was totally unacceptable! Three hours later I CALLED the service manager in regards to my vehicle. He then stated "the filter was distorted and that was the cause of my problem and me that the filter was faulty and maybe their employees should pay a little more attention. I was not offered any compensation due to missing work. At this point I asked will my next oil change be free and his response was "I guess I can do that for you". I was appalled! IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN OFFERED! I am very concerned of any future problems that this mishap can cause. I feel this situation could have been handled better given the circumstances. I didn't feel that my business was important to this dealership and that's a shame because this is the second vehicle I have purchased with the Bill Kay corporation.

Desired Settlement: Compensation for the inconvenience that was caused due to a faulty oil change. I would like to be assured that if there are any future problems that occur with my vehicle that it will be taken care of.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/26) */ Dear Ms. ****: First of all, I would like to offer our sincere apology for the issue Ms. ******************* experienced. It should be noted that the cause of the issue was a faulty oil filter supplied to us by Nissan North America. All genuine Nissan replacement parts are warranted by Nissan for 12 months or 12,00 miles, whichever comes first. Unfortunately, the failure of the part occurred after the vehicle left our facility and it is my understanding that the impending failure could not be detected at the time the service was completed. I can assure you that because we do hundreds of oil changes per month that this was an isolated incident and was not a situation the technician overlooked. We have forwarded a copy of this complaint to Nissan North America so in the event of any future problems, this will be documented. As for the manner in which Ms. ******************* felt she was treated, I again offer our apologies. Her description of the events that took place are certainly not the way we want to be perceived. We strive to take all of our customer's business seriously and treat them as they would expect. Obviously, I will address this incident with all involved. As was previously agreed, the next oil change will be on us but further, I will issue a store credit for $100 for any additional services that need to be performed at any time. Also, at the time of the next visit, please have the customer feel free to contact me personally and I will be glad to oversee the entire transaction to insure that all expectations are met. Sincerely; ****** ********* V.P. & Executive Manager Bill Kay Nissan

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/04) */ Dear Ms. Drew; Thank you for forwarding this issue to us. We beleive, however, that this complaint is completely without merit and makes allegations that are very unfair to a respectable business, and should be rejected as such not going against our BBB rating. This customer has not given us the opportunity to resolve any of her issues, which we beleive to be very minor. The one point that needs to be considered among the laundry list of issues the customer claims to have is that this transaction took place over the course of three days. Obviously enough time to evaluate her decision and review all the documentation that she was provided with. This is evidenced simply by the fact that she accepted delivery of the vehicle on the 3rd day. Copiies of all signed documents are available for your review if you would like. To be more specific on the details of what the customer outlines in her complaint is that the vehicle she originally looked at simply did not fit into her desired payment range. We offered her an alternative and were able to fit that vehicle into the desired range. The customer found the vehicle, the terms of sale and the financing we were able to arrange acceptable, and voluntarily entered into the agreement signing all of the necessary documents. It should also be noted that at the time of sale, the customer agreed to a down payment of $1000. As she did not have the funds immediately available, she issued us 2 checks for $500 each which we agreed to deposit on 2 agreed upon dates unless replaced with cash prior to those dates. Both checks were deposited only on the agreed upon dates and both were returned as "Payment Stopped". I obviously don't understand her allegation that she has had credit denials because we changed the check numbers so the stop payment would not work. Copies of both returned checks are also available for your review. For the record, we are currently pursuing recovery of this money legally in civil court. As our record with the BBB would indicate, we do not receive many complaints from our customers, but in the event a legitimate concern arises, we make every effort to resolve it in the fairest possible manner. I beleive we have done that in this case and honestly don't know what we may have done wrong or how we could have done anything differently. There are obviously 2 sides to every story and it takes both parties cooperation to resolve any disputes. Unfortunately, we have not been afforded that cooperation. Any input you might have to assist in getting the customer to honor her agreements and allowing us to honor ours would be greatly appreciated. Sincerely; Lee A. Eisenberg Executive Manager Bill Kay Nissan Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dear Ms. **** I have received your correspondence today and was very disappointed but not surprised in the actions/response from Bill Kay and that of *** *********. For Mr. ********* to say my claim is without merit is demining as a manager his sole responsibility should be customer satisfaction. From my very first complaint to Bill Kay, I have given them the opportunity to resolve my issues and concerns instead I was yelled at and belittled. Even after I hung up on him for the manner in which he was treating me he called back again only to yell some more. I have now taken my car to another Nissan dealership and have dealt with two different managers there who both have told me the same thing. From my very first complaint which was less than an hour of pulling off the lot, Mr. ********* should have at least offered to allow me to bring back the vehicle and exchanged it for a more suitable vehicle, but he didn't because he was more worried about the sale. (The vehicle is well over priced) The sale did take place over the course of three days but not enough time to properly evaluate the paperwork. See it was already closing time for Bill Kay meaning it was very late and since I am a single mother with a son with disabilities I cannot just stop and put life on hold to review your paperwork. It was past my son bed time, he needed to take his medication and eat. I had things that needed to be done as a parent that night. Now I don't know about Mr. ********* but Sunday is a religious day in our household which means NO WORK! We have Church and family time. Then came Monday I work 10 hours a day so I was up at 5am and at work at 7am just to be at Bill Kay by 11/12 so I am not sure where Mr. ********* would get three days out of that time frame to properly evaluate the paperwork. Plus I was not given all the paperwork at the time of purchase and when I asked Mr. ********* for a copy of the paperwork his reply to me was and I quote... "Shove it up your *** and call Nissan yourself" I had no information other than Nissan was the lien holder I had to google the contact information and explain the situation to their customer service rep in order to get my account information. I also filed a corporate complaint with their customer service rep about the way Mr. ********* continues to talk to me and treat me throughout this entire process. Mr. ********* states that I never gave him or Bill Kay the opportunity to resolve any of my concerns, which is a false statement. My concerns could have been resolved with the many phone calls I made to Bill Kay but it was, It also could have been resolved when Capitol One called Mr. ********* on a conference call with me trying to find out why they lied to me and didn't allow me to use my pre-approved bank check for $35,000.00 which was more than enough for the initial vehicle I wanted to purchase in the first place. The same vehicle Bill Kay told me they couldn't get me approved for. It also could have been resolved with my two separate cooperate complains to Nissan directly when they followed up with Mr. *********. This wasn't about the opportunity to resolve any of my concerns, because if that was the case they wouldn't have falsified the paperwork at the time of sale which wouldn't have cause me to put a stop payment on the checks that were issues 3days later (not at the time of sale) for them not honoring their half of the deal. I have several letters dated within the last 30days showing Bill Kay is still running my credit lowering my credit score. I have a recorded phone call from my bank showing the check was altered when presented for payment in order to bypass the stop payment I placed and I have several witness to the way Mr. ********* has talked down and treated me. As well as the complaints to cooperate Nissan and the conferenced call from ******* **** Mr. ********* has no clue how this sale took place as he wasn't present and in fact is only worried about protecting his sale not resolving any of my concerns. Also there are several complaints against Bill Kay Nissan which was formally Bill Kay Chevy if the named is google. At this time I am now in the process of looking for a new car as the problems with this car continue. On the below zero days the inside windshield freezes which means there is a broken seal somewhere. Which probably means there is already rust or damage under or around the glass frame, since I have no clue how long this has been going on. The car is still pulling the stee4ring wheel is still vibrating, the engine is making a ticking noise, amongst other things. I am standing firm on my decision if Mr. ********* would like to resolve this then I would like to bring the vehicle back and have it replaced with a more suitable vehicle. Which was my request to bring the vehicle back with in less than an hour of me driving off the lot in the first place. Otherwise I would respectfully ask to continue on with my complaint. Thank you for your time with this matter Respectfully ***** ********* Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/02/12) */ Dear Ms. Drew: I am appealing to your organization to assist me in having this customer stop making false claims and allegations, and attacking me personally. I can assure you that there is not one shred of truth in her latest comments. My involvement in this transaction was ONLY to help her resolve her issues with the vehicle. I asked her several times to give us the opportunity to repair any problems and she refused. For the record, she purchased a Certified Preowned vehicle with only 8,000 miles and under full factory bumper to bumper warranty. If she has in fact been to another Nissan dealer, I see no reason that any necessary repairs (if any) would not be completed. Further, the inappropriate quote that she attributes to me absolutely did not happen. I have been in this business for over 40 years and have never acted in that manner with a customer. I also never was on a conference call with Capital One. I have not spoken to anyone regarding this matter other than the customer and my own employees. As for falsifying paperwork and altering her checks to avoid the stop payment, I challenge her to prove any of that. I have the returned checks, unaltered in any way and, as you well know, the electronic coding at the bottom of the checks include the check number and cannot be altered. I would also challenge her to prove that we continue to run her credit. There would be no reason for us to do that. I would repectfully request that this matter be closed permanantly. Our company has an A+ rating with the BBB which would indicate that the behaviors we are unfairly being accused of do not take place. In the event you cannot close this matter once and for all, I would request that any future correspondence to me include documetation proving each of the allegations she is making, as their absence would only serve to prove that this is all fabricated. As I stated in my previous response, the matter of the stop payment checks has been referred to our attorney for legal action. Sincerely; Lee A. Eisenberg Executive Manager Bill Kay Nissan Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/02/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Good Morning I am writing my second response to my complaint. I have outlined a paper trail for you as there is documentation as to the incidents that are taking place as outlined in my complaint. Capital One Auto Finance Supervisor Lacresha called the Bill Kay Dealership on a conference call with myself on Nov.27th 2013 @ 12:50pm we spoke with Joe Hart who stated he didn't know why they didn't use the preapproved bank check, he didn't know who the loan was with and refused to provide any additional information as documented with Capital One Nissan 1st complaint filed Dec 2, 2013 @ 10:19am Service Request # 1-3916059320 Service Rep Winter noted and documented the poor customer, foul language and the fact that she had to send out copies of all the paperwork to me as the dealership refused to provide them. Nissan 2nd Complaint filed Dec 4, 2013 @ 7:34am Service Request # 1-3922958556 noted and documented per my bank the continued harassment from Bill Kay Nissan and how they altered a check for payment per Chase Bank. Chase Bank Complaint filed Dec 4, 2013 @ 6:40am was advised by Chase that my account was compromised as the dealership altered my check from 1244 to 12443 for the amount of $500.00 screen shot attached. This opened an ongoing corporate complaint with Chase bank and criminal charges pending. I also have witnesses to the sale transaction Michelle Espinosa 630-863-9022 and the several phone calls which took place outlining the horrible customer service and foul language from that of Lee Eisenberg. I have another witness a Walmart employee as I was in the store being helped and Lee was on speaker when he swore at me. I am waiting to speak with the lady to get a contact number for her to testify to what she heard from Lee Eisenberg. I even took a screen shot of my phone to show the ongoing harassment from Bill Kay as late as Jan 17th 2014. Attached I am pulling the paperwork from the credit companies showing that I had to file a complaint on December 12, 2013 Attached I have not received any paperwork from Bill Kays Attorney as they claim they are seeking legal action, but this has gone far enough and I have presented evidence of my claims against Bill Kay Nissan and that of Lee Eisenberg. I am now in the process of filing a complaint with the Attorney General Office and the local media to expose the lies against Bill Kay Nissan and that of Lee Eisenberg, And I am also currently in the process of contacting strangers who have publicly voiced complaints against Bill Kay on social websites to get their feedback and maybe if a group of people voice their concerns together someone will have to listen. I will also start to seek my own legal advice if we cannot bring resolution to this matter, but I will not stop and allow this dealership to get away with the things they are doing to me.

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to tell you of our car buying experience we had this Sat. Oct X XXXX at your Nissan dealer. We had agreed to buy a car and then the salesman told us it would be a few minutes to get into the finance lady. We sat for 1 and a 1/2 hours and we then decided to go across the street to get something to eat. We came back and waited another hour. We watch salesmen and others go into talk with the finance lady and yet no one even said anything to us. The final straw was after watching all of this she gets up out of her office and goes out for a smoke and to start calling or texting someone . When she came back we asked for our paper work back and wanted to leave, The general manager told us" they had bigger deals than ours and he wasn't selling bubble gum here". My wife said just give us our paperwork we were leaving and he started to yell at her. We finally got our papers after 20 minutes of getting yelled at and started to leave in the car when our salesman Rolando and your general manager started to come after us. ******* yelled at us" he wasted 4-5 ******* hours with us and was getting nothing. So get the **** out" Your G.M. also yell to "get the **** off of his lot" .

Desired Settlement: Just the knowledge that we will tell people for the rest of our lives what a horrible car shopping experience my wife and daughter had with me that day.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/10) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ************** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@downersgrovenissan.com Downers Grove Nissan strives to deliver the highest level of customer service to all of it's clientele. We sincerely apologize for anything that could have been interpreted as being an unsatisfactory experience. Occasionally like with all large financial transactions, we sometimes do run into delays and for that we sincerely apologize.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Bill Kay's Downers Grove Nissan
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart