Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bill Kay Honda

Phone: (815) 937-7900 Fax: (815) 937-5819 View Additional Phone Numbers 1360 Locke Drive, Bourbonnais, IL 60914 http://www.billkayhonda.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bill Kay Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bill Kay Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Bill Kay Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1993 Business started: 03/01/1993 in IL Business started locally: 03/01/1993 Business incorporated 03/29/1993 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Lindner, General Manager Mr. Bill Kay, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Lindner, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
BKHondaParts.com

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bill Kay Honda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1360 Locke Drive

    Bourbonnais, IL 60914

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I called to inquire about the vehicle (I live 90 minutes away), I was told the tires had at least 50% tread left, and the interior was in good condition. However, actually 3 of the 4 tires only had 4/32 tread left, and the light which illuminates the temperature control on the driver's side doesn't work, for which an entire panel would need to be replaced costing over $700. The dealer did require me to sign paperwork that I have no recourse for dealer misrepresentation, but I question whether that is valid because I was required to sign it AFTER they took payment. Also, any paperwork I signed does not remedy the issue that they misrepresented the vehicle. Not knowing the issues with the vehicle, I decided to purchase it, and needed to wait 2 hours at the dealership because they were short-staffed with employees to take my payment and complete the paperwork. The dealer was no help in resolving the issues. I do not recommend shopping at Bill Kay.

Desired Settlement: Partial refund of $1,121 would cover the cost of repairing the panel for temperature control, and represent half the cost of new tires.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/24) */ To Whom it *** Concern: We are very dismayed to learn that our customer is unsatisfied. We try to maintain the highest level of customer satisfaction at Bill Kay *****. In reviewing the accounts of this transaction I discovered that the vehicle involved had over 100,000 miles at the time of sale. We encourage and allow third party inspections of all of our vehicles. It is my understanding that the customer arrived with his father and son and that they were given the opportunity to test drive and inspect the vehicle before purchase. The paperwork involved in the transaction included: A signed Bill-of-Sale (Doc. #1 & #2) with ******* ***** acknowledging that "The vehicle referenced in this contract is sold as equipped at the time of delivery" and "Vehicle sold AS-IS". Federal Buyer's Guide (Doc. #3) signed by ******* ***** which states "AS IS-NO WARRANTY" "YOU WILL PAY ALL COSTS FOR ANY REPAIRS. The dealer assumes no responsibility for any repairs regardless of any oral statements about the vehicle". WE OWE form (*******) signed by ******* ***** which states "nothing owed or promised to client at time of delivery". **** *** ***** was completely upfront in the sale of this 2008 ************y with 105,475 miles to ******* *****. Sincerely, ******* ******* General Manager **** *** *****

12/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I inquired about a Honda Ridgeline ************** It is advertised as MSRP $32,885/ special internet price of $30,142, with 14 miles. Once in the dealership, I note the car has actual MSRP $34,971 and 940 miles! Complete and intentional misrepresentation. Very similar to bait & switch.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see the business issued a fine for false advertising / bait & switch tactics. At a minimum, post this complaint on the BBB site so consumers can be aware of this shady dealer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************@hotmail.com To Whom it May Concern: I have looked into this issue and discovered that Mr. ***** is correct. This vehicle was initially listed in our online advertising as being brand new without any accessories. After the vehicle was listed we had Honda accessories installed and an employee drove the vehicle and the online listing was not changed. Please know that it is not our policy or way of doing business to try and deceive the customer. We would like to extend an apology to Mr. ******* ***** and to let him know that the listing was immediately rectified. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/12/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Bill Kay Honda
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart