BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/09/1998

Bill Kay Chevrolet

Phone: (630) 968-2900Fax: (630) 829-5994

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues7
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
06/30/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue

Complaint: In July 2009, I traded in my used Chevy Equinox, VIN********XXXXXXXXX, for the new Chevy Malibu that I purchased from Bill Kay. The Equinox was taken with my license plate (XXX XXXX) attached, and I was told it would be destroyed when I agreed to register for a new license plate for the new car with the dealership.

According to the State of Illinois Title and Registration records, the dealership then sold my Equinox in October 2009. The title has not been transferred again since that date.

In January 2012, the owner of my Equinox received a ticket (ticket number XXXXXXXXXX) for operating a vehicle with expired registration under my name, with my expired plates. I only became aware of this ticket in May 2014 by the City of Chicago's collection agency.

I have contacted the dealership numerous times, beginning in May 2014, to confirm or deny through the sales records that they did, in fact, sell my car with my license plates still attached. I received a few return calls from the Title Dept of the dealership requesting additional information, which I provided. Since obtaining the necessary information to review the sales record, I have not heard back from the dealership. I have left messages with both the Title Dept and the Sales Manager, most recently on June 18.

According to the Munipal Code of Chicago, Chapter XLIV - Licenses, it was the dealership's responsibility to transfer the license plate of my Equinox when it took the title. Because the dealership failed to comply with the law, I'm requesting to be reimbursed for the cost of the ticket.

I have tried to contest the ticket with the City of Chicago but have been unsuccessful, and they are now demanding payment.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *********** G.M.
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ******@BillKayChevrolet.com
Hello ********, I apologize for any inconvenience you may have had with this issue. Nonetheless, I did a little digging because this is a huge deal to us and we do take privacy very serious here and the last thing we'd want is for someone to have your plates. Your trade was titled and plated on 9/26/09. With the new plates being issued with that transaction. I've attached a title inquiry document from the secretary of state that shows the owner, the plate and when it was issued. I'm not sure how this happend but I'd love to speak with you more in depth to see if we are liable. But the state shows we did in fact title and issued new plates. If we are without no question we will reimburse you. I'll need the ticket and the timeline to align. In closing, we apologize again for any inconvenience and please call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX or email me ******@Billkaychevrolet.com

*****

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I've requested additional information from the City of Chicago to forward to the dealership, as requested, but that documentation will take a few weeks to receive. Assuming the documentation proves that it was my Equinox with my old plates, and the dealership then reimburses me for the cost of the ticket, I will be satisfied with the response.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: i got it today at 5PM 3/31/2014

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *********** GM
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ******@billkaychevrolet.com
After interviewing my salesperson and management staff we've come to the conclusion we we're not at fault. The car that Mr. ******** purchased was nationally advertised on various third party websites as well as our as a non LS. **** said he never eluded to the fact it was. Nonetheless, it's tough to confirm verbal interactions from both parties. I will tell you we pride ourselves on integrity and quoting accurate information. I did a analysis of the vehicles value and in fact it was purchased hundreds if not over a thousand dollars less than comparable like models. In fact, the cheapest LS i found for sale was $4000 dollars and it had over 100,000 miles on it. In the case of this vehicle it had 68,723 upon delivery. I've been on ****** **** ***** ******** and ****. The prices varie from $3200 dollars all the way up to $4700 dollars when asking for a fair purchase price. I've attached comps for sale as well as the purchase price that Mr. ******** paid. In closing, we sold the vehicle under market as we do many used vehicles because we deal in a high volume sales environment. We strive for customers for life, not "one shot deals." Our 50 year reputation and A+ rating with BBB confirm that. We we're not at fault. But as a good will gesture I'll offer Mr. ******** an oil change and ocmplete vehicle detail that has a retail value of $130 dollars. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX if Mr. ******** would like to discuss this further. He has not contacted myself nor any member of my management team to date. Thank you for your time and let us know if there's anything else we can do to help. Cordially, ***** *********** General Manager.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I was tricked and **** knows what he did was wrong but you are right I have no proof. I did speak with paul at the dealership after realizing the situation and he insisted it was an LS.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/26/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation not consistent with advertisement

Complaint: Could not drive advertised car. Was told to,and did test drive similar car that they would sell for $34,500.. I told them I wanted the ad car for $26,812. They said no, $10,000.00 more. They said the ad was a mistake. I said I spoke with the salesman twice to confirm $26,812. before driving 110 miles to find out that salesman was in a meeting and he made mistake telling me twice that the ad was correct price.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Internet Dir
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@billkaychevrolet.com
Hello, my name is **** Rivera and I'm the Internet Director at Bill Kay Chevrolet. This response is regarding BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX. It is my job to price all vehicles online in accordance with Chevrolet, Dealership and BBB standards. I started here recently and had to re-price over 300 vehicles in a matter of days. During this grueling process I made a mistake or two on pricing. On a 2014 Impala, my intention is to price all inventory $2-4k below MSRP. On this unit, I accidentally marked it down $13000. This is a big error in pricing that could not be accepted as a deal under any circumstances unless the dealership is willing to incur a $10,000 loss. The customer called for driving directions from one of our BDC reps, not a salesperson. The BDC rep confirmed what the internet price was, not knowing that it was a mistake. He does not price vehicles, sell vehicles, or manage either of the aforementioned tasks. When the client arrived, I explained to him that the price was an honest mistake and we could not lose $10,000 to sell him the vehicle. He accused us of using a bait and switch tactic and told me that he worked for the BBB and was related to an arbitration judge. I apologized again and shook his hand before he left. We have no problem sending him a gift card for the gas he used driving here. We are truly sorry that this error occurred and it is by no means an intentional strategy of ours to lure clients into the showroom only to raise the price $10,000. It was clearly an error and we apologized multiple times. Bill Kay has been in business since 1969 because the auto group stays away from shady practices. We do make mistakes now and then, but they are not intentional and we never intentionally lie to any consumers.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/25/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/27/2013Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2
07/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue

Complaint: It was implied that our credit was "not so great" and given an APR of 15%. RIDICULOUS.
We were told I could not be a coowner on the car. They refused to even run my credit at all because i'm a homemaker.


ALl of this was found out to be LIES when we purchased another car at a different dealership. Who managed to give us an APR of 2.9% on a used car. The other dealership had no problem putting my name as the cosigner on the auto loan.


They lied about my trade in. I TOLD THEM it was a stick shift, they told me they could give me 2-3K for it knowing this, and then when it came time to crunch numbers, magically that number had fallen to $1000 because they "didn't know it was a stick shift"

The online price was not honored because we were not USAA members- however we were told by the manager AND our salesman that the online price would be honored. And then it wasn't.

High pressure sales tactics were also used. They attempted to sell us supplementary insurance that our home owners and auto insurance already covers. (Gap insurance for the auto loan) When we declined they kept rebutting and rebutting.

They knew we were exhausted and just kept attempting to sell us more stuff. We repeatedly told them we could only afford a certain monthly payment and they kept attempting to add stuff on- had we added on EVERYTHING they recommended, our monthly payment would have been more than double the payment we could afford.

They tried to sell us supplementary insurance for features that THE CAR DOES NOT HAVE- the car does not have automatic locks/key transponder and they insisted we MUST purchase insurance to replace the keys should they get lost. And they did not take no for an answer, and finally FORCED us to purchase it for "an extra $4 a month".

Initial Business Response
We have no records of ******** **** purchasing a vehicle but I did locate ****** **** at the same address. I'm assuming this is the deal in reference. In reference to to interest rate we offer financing as a convenience to the consumer. I've attached a document reflecting a rate of 9.69% almost 5 points less. I'm assuming this is the deal in question because I have no ******** on file just ******. As far as another dealer getting a better rate, 2.9% offers and 0% rates are special subvented programs that aren't on a Chevrolet Spark. Our online prices do reflect ALL applicable rebates like every Chevy dealership in the North Central region and you do have to qualify for several. Most of the time this is explained before a clients arrival and I apologize if it wasn't. USAA is an qualifying incentive and we do need a copy of your insurance card to redeem the rebate. I apologize if you feel we used "high pressure" tactics in the finance office but it's their responsibility to offer any and all products that are available to purchase. Nobody is required to purchase any and it's strictly voluntary. We have a process that we adhere to every time a guest consumates a purchase. We are compliant with the law and best business practices in our industry. I'm more than happy to offer you 3 free oil changes for your inconvenience but we cannot refinance your loan nor we're you given a rate of 15%. (See attached) Please have ****** **** call at XXX-XXX-XXXX. I'm responding to the BBB as per our agreement and we are not in violation of any privacy laws because we are not dealing with consumer directly this is a third party involved. Thank you and I do aplogize for any inconvenience you may of had. If you like we can also offer a refund on any and all items purchased in the finance office. Have ****** stop by and we'd be more than happy to process that request and give him the service vouchers for any troubles. Thank you, *****

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Fine, i was wrong on the APR. Sorry about that but I was not wrong about the other things:

I flat out asked the manager IN PERSON IN THE DEALERSHIP when we looked at the car if you would "honor the internet price" the answer was a simple "yes of course" not "if you have USAA insurance" "if you are a veteran" etc. I was told by one of the salesmen that that price was to "get people in the door". Which from my understanding is still legal because its not bait and switch technically but its still completely reprehensible.


And of COURSE my name is not on the vehicle, you refused to allow me to purchase it. Or even put me as co-signer on the loan. Claiming it was "illegal" to put me on as a co-signer on the loan because I'm a stay at home mom and have no income.

And if your process involves not taking "no" for an answer, i **** continue to warn my friends to stay away from your dealership. Because you repeatedly refused to take no for an answer, even though we repeatedly said "we are not interested in any other supplemental stuff, lets get on with it" We also told you folks that we could not go above a certain amount on our monthly payments. You all seemed bound and determined to make sure we doubled that.

Offering supplemental stuff for a car is one thing, but we literally had to fight you guys to decline EVERY single thing we were not interested in.


Final Business Response
Ms. ****, I apologize for any inconvenince and If you'd like to discuss this further I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. The deal was consumated on 9/23/2013 and we cancel the Multishield warranty you purchased for $399 dollars. You will get a pro-rated refund that will go directly to the lienholder to reduce your payoff balance. You'll receive a refund but your payment will not lower. Your current payment is $210 dollars a month which is significantly lower than most payments we see. Again, I can't attest to your original budget or what it was, but I can assure you your deal was fear and we can cancel the cosmetic insurance that you did not want. To address the issue as far as price you do have to qualify for certain rebates and USAA is one of them. We adhere to state law and GM's advertising practices. In closing, I'd be more than happy to cancel the "extra" Multishield protection you purchased. We cannot control financing decisions but know most banks if not all the ones we use will not give you a car loan with no income or employment. Nonetheless, we can only offer financing on an initial purchase our agreements with lenders will not let us refinance existing auto loans. Please email me at ******@BillKayChevrolet.com or call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX to discuss the cancelations of the Multishield. ****** will have to call because the only person who can authorize this is the owner of the vehicle. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you may have had but we do our best to make sure everyone is completely satisfied. *****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm only hitting no because i need to get in the last word.

I emailed you personally over a week ago after i complained on your facebook page. I I got absolutely no response. It took filing a BBB report to get ANY response from you. So I doubt that my email would even get a response.


You do NOT follow GM's practices, because I never had this issue with Saturn. lMy father in law purchased a chevy from another certified chevy dealership and did not go through this rigamarole. In fact, he told me yesterday that he wished he would have said something because he knew we were getting taken.

You also never addressed the complaints I had about my trade in. That's NOT GM's practice either. To tell me one thing ($3k-5K) and then give me less than 1/3 of the estimated trade in value of the car.

Furthermore, the implication that i am angry about the fact that you refused to give me a loan because i'm "unemployed' is missing the entire point. BECAUSE you refused to even just put my name on the car, or loan, even as a "co signer", you are now implying by your response that I am not entitled to complain and that my husband must call instead. I cannot even call to make a payment on this car!

Furthermore the claim that our payment would be a lot more at another dealership is false. We purchased a second vehicle less than a month ago that the total loan amount was around 14K- three thousand more than the amount of the loan on the spark and our payment on that car is a mere $20 more than the payment on the spark.

I am not going to accept your offer simply because the scotch guarding was already done to the car and unlike your dealership, I am going to be fair and not request a refund for an item we have already received.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/02/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the service

Complaint: I was told the Dodge Ram1500 I bought had a safety inspection done prior to my purchasing it. The next day as it was at out mechanic the headlights and taillights were not working. I went back to **** Kay and confronted the salesman who said to me "I said there was a safety inspection done, NOT that it had actually passed. The to try and appease me they replaced 1 tail light bulb and said the other was just a simple switch and have it done at out mechanics. Come to find out the part is actually an integrated control module that is going to cost $1200 to replace. I have already had to put %1400 into this vehicle to get it to run right and now due to their convenient non disclosure of the vehicle not passing *** safety inspection I am not out another $1200. I am an 18 year old college kid getting ready to go Marine Corp basic training in January and do not have this type of funds to be spending.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *********** G.M.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@BillKayChevrolet.com
On ****** 20th 2013 ****** and her son ****** came into **** Kay Chevrolet to look at a 2006 Dodge Ram we had for sale with 149 thousand miles on it. The we're working with our sales consultant Frank ** After the finished driving the truck they wanted to make an offer on the unit and we're introduced to **** ***** our Pre Owned vehicle manager. ****** said she liked the truck and it was in their price range, but before she purchased the vehicle they asked if they could take it to a family mechanic friend for an estimate of repairs. We both agreed it'd be a good idea. A few hours later ****** and ****** came back with the truck and said there we're some repairs needed. It needed tires and a few other items. ****** asked if we could do a little better on the price based on perspective repairs, mileage, and the age. We explained that the vehicle's Blue Book average was between 8 and 10 thousand dollars and we'd accommodate the with an even bigger discount so they could fit the vehicle in their budget and make the necessary repairs. We even offered to call our tire supplier for them and even offered our dealer discount to them to help further. We explained at this price, age, and mileage the vehicle was "As Is As Shown" and they agreed to the terms and condition. We felt better knowing they brought it to their mechanic before consummating the transaction. Our policy on AS IS units it do a brake and frame safety inspection only as this was explained to them before they took it through and third party inspection. We have multiple signed documents that state the vehicle is AS IS and no warranties expressed or implied. Everything was fine until the next day with issues with the tail lights and head lights. Free of charge we inspected the truck and came to the conclusion it needed a headlight module and new bulbs for the tail lights. We "good willed" new bulbs for the tail lights and quoted the repair the new module. We asked ****** if her mechanic found these pre existing issues the day before and she didn't answer. We replaced the bulbs and they left no questions asked knowing they had it inspected and purchased the vehicle as is. We did not hear anything from ****** or ****** until about week ago where they filed this complaint. In closing, the consumer was aware of the As Is status of the vehicle and even took it off site to be inspected which we encourage for all As Is units. We accommodated them with wholesale pricing and deeper discounts so they could make any repair necessary. We explained thoroughly that it was AS IS AS SHOWN and there is no warranty on the vehicle. We strive for 100 percent customer satisfaction every time and accommodate everyone within reason the best we can. Our A plus rating from the BBB and multiple third party review sites reflect that customer service is a priority for us. Thank you for your time and we apologize for any inconvenience we caused anyone. We are a full disclosure dealership and can provide any documentation in reference to the AS IS status upon request.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Again I understand that this vehicle is an AS IS sale and that is not under contestation. The fact that you say your dealers are honest is. The fact **** ***** actually said to me, "I said it had a safety inspection, not that it had passed" proves that your people are dishonest in the sale of their used, AS IS, vehicles. You misrepresented this vehicle, regardless of a third part inspection, and that should be addressed. I have read several online "various" third party sites where your reputation is not an A Plus rating and where the manager has only responded as "sorry you had a bad experience". Never once have I seen any of those issues handled with honesty and trying to help the consumer. You company seems to think they can push these things under the carpet and no one **** continue with it. It even took you 3 weeks to respond to the 1st time BBB sent you this complaint. Is that how **** Kay handles issues they don't want to deal with? This show me and the online public that you are a dishonest dealership and it should be and **** be placed out there more prominently so others don't have to deal with **** ***** and other dishonest dealers in your company. I am still not satisfied with how I was treated by your company and that you **** not take ANY responsibility for your actions and hide behind an "AS IS" statement.

Final Business Response
The dispute is not our safety inspection. It's about the fact the bought a vehicle AS IS and are unhappy that THEIR mechanic missed these items on the third party inspection. We offer a GM Certified inspection which is an in depth inspection that adheres to General Motors standards but it's limited to specific makes, years, and mileage. (this vehicle did not qualify due to all three) Our safety inspections include the brakes, frame and seat belts. We do these on all AS IS units that we usually auction and or sell to the public at a discount such as this vehicle. (Thousands of dollars under many like units listed online) The dealers that are dishonest do not encourage a third party inspection nor extended test drives to prospective buyers. Unfortunately, our business has been stereotyped poorly mostly from personnel of dishonest dealers in the 1970's, 80's, and 90's. With the millennial generation and the turn of the century these business practices at most new car franchised dealerships are non existent. The only reason we keep these vehicles for resale is to sell them the right way. Otherwise they're run through the auction and are fixed improperly and sold retail at smaller independent lots that **** quote you inaccurate information and charge full retail price when it doesn't qualify. This doesn't help consumers realize that there is good dealerships and honest salespeople. If we quoted them inaccurate information or tried to hide anything from the ******** we'd be more than happy to contribute to their repairs. But they did take it off the property for an encouraged third party inspection and they also understood the vehicle had no warranty and was sold as is. In conclusion, **** Kay Chevrolet operated with integrity and did nothing wrong. I do apologize if they we're rubbed the wrong way by our salespeople or management staff. But we don't have an A plus rating with the BBB, or are one of the highest rated dealers online (various third party sites)because we operate this without integrity. We **** not pay for any repairs on this unit and the ******** understood this when entering into an AS IS sale. We discounted the selling price to accommodate any repairs that we're to be made to help fit this in their budget. We'd be more than happy to furnish any documents for the BBB reflecting it's AS IS status. Thank you for your time. ***** K General Manager **** Kay Chevrolet

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/08/2011Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.