Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bill Kay Buick GMC

Phone: (630) 969-0022 View Additional Phone Numbers 2300 Ogden Ave, Downers Grove, IL 60515 http://www.billkaybuickgmc.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bill Kay Buick GMC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bill Kay Buick GMC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bill Kay Buick GMC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 26, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1970 Business started locally: 01/01/1970 Business incorporated 02/03/1995 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
John Spellman, General Manager Bob Nowak, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: John Spellman, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bill Kay Buick GMC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2300 Ogden Ave

    Downers Grove, IL 60515 (630) 968-8733 (630) 969-0022

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gave down payment towards purchasing a vehicle, dealership backed out of the deal and now will not refund down payment that was paid in cash. Was told two days and is over a week now. No one will return calls and all we get is the answer "It has been sumbitted".

Desired Settlement: Full refund of my down payment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/10/08) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** General Man Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@billkaybuickgmc.com **** Kay has no record of a deposit from Ms. *******. If she can provide some type of documentation supporting her claim, we can look into it further.

7/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: GMC RECALL FOR FAULTY IGNITION SWITCH FOR 2003 SATURN ION. DEALERSHIP HAD PART IN STOCK ON 06-02-14.WHEN I LEFT THE CAR MY BATTERY WAS IN GREAT WORKING ORDER WITH NO PREVIOUS ISSUES. RADIO CD CASSETTE UNIT WAS IN GREAT WORKING ORDER WITH NO PREVIOUS ISSUES. ADVISED THE IGNITION SWITCH HOUSING ALSO HAD TO BE REPLACED AND ON BACK ORDER WITH GM. MIKE MANNING SERVICE CONSULTANT SAID I MUST BUY NEW BATTERY FOR THEM TO CONTINUE REPLACEMENT OF NEW IGNITION SWITCH AND TO FIX FOR THE HOUSING (WHICH WAS STILL ON BACK ORDER BY GM) AS MY BATTERY WAS DEAD AND CAR WOULD NOT START FOR THE COMPLETION OF REPAIR. HE LAUGHED AT ME AND BECAME AGITATED. UNDER EXCESSIVE DURESS AND DESPARATION AND IN ORDER TO RETURN TO WORK SAME DAY, I CHARGED BATTERY TO MY CREDIT CARD IN THE AMOUNT OF $173.42. WHEN CAR WAS BROUGHT TO ME RADIO COME ON, MIKE MANNING SAID THE ELECTRICAL NEEDED DIAGNOSIS AND COULD BE EXTENSIVE ELECTRIC AL REPAIRS AND TO BRING BACKANOTHER TIME. PROVIDED ANOTHER RENT CAR. BANK DISPUTED THE $173.42 CHARGE FOR BATTERY. Product_Or_Service: BATTERY Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX XXVPS

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) NEW BATTERY; NEW RADIO UNIT FROM GM WITHOUT CHARGE TO ME. PROOF NO FURTHER ELECTICAL PROBLEMSEXISTTHE NEW HOUSING WHEN RECEIVED FROM GM TO BE SENT TO ANOTHER DEALER FOR COMPLETION OF REPAIRS.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/07) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@billkaybuickgmc.com The battery in Ms ****** 2003 Saturn was dead and needed to be repaced at the time the repair was made and the dealership was unable to make the repair until the battery was replaced.The dealership will not refund the cost of the battery. Ms ****** radio will be replaced by GM at no charge to her. The vehicle is 11 years old and has 123,000 miles on it therefore the dealership cannot predict what will happen in the future. Ms ****** has notified the dealership that she has now sold the vehicle.

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For two weeks, two in dealership visits, I worked with ****** ***** and management at Bill Kay to arrive at a lease agreement on a 2014 ******* $3,000 down $330/month was the agreement reached after first 2-hour visit. I was in contact numerous times over the two weeks about credit score, deal, etc. to make sure when I returned I would NOT be given the run around. That the deal we discussed the first visit would be what we walked out with. That day my son was at the doctor and diagnosed with flu and pnemonia in the right lung. I emailed Bill Kay several times saying if the deal would not work please tell me so I don't waste time and have to leave my very sick son. No No it'll work was the resolution. My husband and I sat there 2 hours to be pulled into a private room, degradingly talked to by the "new" manager and essentially told there was no way the deal they promised for 2 weeks would work. We lost our temper obviously, and left. I've contacted GM Corporate with documentation and a letter describing the problem and how personal this event has become because of the fact that they took me away from my sick son and did exactly what I begged them not to do, lie to get me in the door only to tell me the deal woulnd't work. GM Corporate spent a week "looking into the incident" only to come back yesterday and tell me because we swore they will do nothing for us. Ignoring all the events leading up to the incident which made my husband and I so angry, letting Bill Kay off the hook for any reprocussion of their horrible business practices, and telling us they will do nothing for us. I'm willing to fight this to the end to stand up for myself and others who are honest and direct to these dealerships that run you around and play these games and get away with it. I begged them via email to not make me come in there and yet they did exactly what they always do. I guess hoping to get us to spend more money than we could because we'd invested so much time. The fact that the dealership has yet to even apologize for what they have done makes it even worse. Instead they saw their opening with us losing our temper as their way to avoid any responsibility in the incident. GM corporate wants to wash their hands of it because that's teh easy out for them as well. And they won't have to lose any money on the incident. I have documentations, emails, the letter I sent, character references, all to show that this incident falls on the dealership to correct. For someone at GM to stand up for the consumer in this horrible situation.

Desired Settlement: I would have accepted an apology originally and the original deal we had discussed. $330/month and $3,000 down. Now that GM corporate and the dealership have essentially washed their hands of us becuase we swore, I would like 2 free Acadias. One for my husband and one for myself. I'll pay the taxes. Oh, and the long overdue apology from Bill Kay. I think at this point that's all I'll accept as any kind of satisfying resolution. They had their first opportunity and took the easy out of "oh well they caused a scene so we're not working with them" instead of admitting to their errors and lies, apologizing, forgiving our outburst which was in DIRECT response to their actions and behavior behing their closed doors, and making it right with the original deal. Now I'm going to be direct with what I want and I'm willing to do whatever it takes to get this done and have them own their behavior and actions they way responsible companies and people for that matter do.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/18) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@billkaybuickgmc.com Ms ****** negotiated with the dealership over several days. ultimately **** Financial declined Ms. ******'s application for a lease. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused her. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/02/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The reason this complaint has been filed is not over the issue of whether or not I was approved for credit. The issue is over the lies and unethical business practices of Bill Kay. My rebuttal and attachment clearly shows that I was told I was approved by ****** ****** He states that the finance manager had to log many hours and call the financing company specially to get me approved. Was that a lie? Admittance of lies is one of the things I want accomplished with this case. Secondly, admittance to unethical business practices. The lies, the waiting and waiting, the degrading tone in which we were spoken to, the countless times I sought an answer before coming into the office with my husband that day, only to be run around and brought in there under false pretenses. We were to come in and sign the form that day. ****** had told us we were approved, sign and done. Admittance to your flaws is the first step we need in this process. We'll start there and see if we can't get past hurdle one to move on to the next issues. 1. admit to lies 2. admit to unethical business practices. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/02/25) */ Ms. ****** was turned down for a lease by **** as indicated in the previously forwarded document. Ms. ****** was in the negotiation process and never consummated an agreement with Bill Kay Buick GMC. If Ms. ****** would still like to purchase a new vehicle we would be happy to attempt to obtain financing for her.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Bill Kay Buick GMC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart