BBB Accredited Business since

Bettenhausen Chrysler Jeep

Phone: (708) 460-5337 Fax: (708) 532-5039 15941 S 94th Ave, Orland Park, IL 60462 http://www.bettenhausenchryslerjeep.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bettenhausen Chrysler Jeep meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bettenhausen Chrysler Jeep include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bettenhausen Chrysler Jeep
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 24, 2009 Business started: 01/10/1956 Business started locally: 01/10/1956 Business incorporated 06/03/2011 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Bettenhausen, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Bettenhausen, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Bettenhausen Motor Sales

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bettenhausen Chrysler Jeep has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 15941 S 94th Ave

    Orland Park, IL 60462 (708) 460-5337

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/29/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When purchasing the vehicle from Bettenhausen I was under the impression that I would be trading my 2011 ****** in for another vehicle. This was discussed in detail about the situation was in with how much I owed on the car and the vehicle was looked over by the crew at the dealership and the keys were taken by the salesman I was working with who was *** ***. I was asked for the keys by *** *** and I never saw them again. The transaction was finally done and I transferred my belongings from the ****** to the 200. The vehicle that was brought around to me to purchase was not the one I was looking at but was something that looked like it was in the far corner of the back lot. It was dirty and not clean when they brought it around for me to look at without any prep or detailing. When I asked *** if there was anything else I could look at he told me "that's it ***, theres nothing else". So I believed there was nothing else I could compare it to because it was not what I wanted. I did not even get a chance to test drive the car. After driving away from the lot where the ****** was parked with Bettenhausen in possession of the keys, (which they later claimed they had no recollection of), I believed that everything was taken care of. I was not aware that I had been mislead until the finance company for the ****** called and said that I was late on my payment until they called 2 1/2 weeks later. Caught off guard, it was suggested by Premier Acceptance to call the dealership. I called and spoke with *** *** and his response was "I don't know what you're talking about, I have nothing to do with that, I don't know where the car is, it has nothing to do with me, keys what keys?" He then hung the phone up on me. I called back again and spoke with the GM **** ********. He claimed that it was against the law for him to look into the situation but he would do so. He then said that he would look around the premises to see if he saw my car. He returned my phone call and told me that he saw a grey ****** 2011 but he was unsure if it was the vehicle I was asking about but I already knew it was. He said it had a tow sticker on it, which was false. I decided to go over to the *** ***** parking lot which was adjacent to the dealership which also had other Bettenhausen cars there as well, took pictures of it for my own records. I then knew that I could not leave my vehicle there because I knew that I was still the owner of it. Bettenhausen claimed they did not know what happened to the keys so I had to go all the way back to Indianapolis to get the one spare key which was claimed was lost or could not be found by the employees I spoke with which cost upwards of 300 dollars. I came back up with my mother to return the car to them. Upon arriving, we saw *** ***, **** ********, as well as another gentleman smoking cigarettes in front of the establishment. When we got out of the car *** flicked his cigarette over to the side and quickly walked in as if he didn't want to talk to us. **** says that he "sort of run everything here" and motioned us to follow him to discuss any issues. Upon going to ***'s desk he leaves to go to another room with about 3 other gentlemen including *** where they were seen looking back over to us and then finally **** comes back out. He was handed the keys and immediately says with a smile "oh there are no returns, you can't give this car back and slides the keys back towards me across the desk. I said well we aren't leaving with this car, the paperwork was done faulty. I never saw the finance manager at all during the entire process. He started laughing mocking my mother saying "well I have two car notes and I can pay mine" and saying "oh we'll just tow it back to your house". *** comes back out and angrily shouts "*** I told you your credit wasn't good enough for a vehicle". At this point I look at **** who is still laughing and told him "you have the number, when you get it together, call me" and we left.

Desired Settlement: I really would like to get out of the entire contract all together and get my money back. The entire transaction was done on false pretenses and I was treated like a second class citizen. I am now out of my hard earned money and am now stuck with two cars, two car notes, not to mention that I have not received my keys back to the ****** which makes me nervous because I'm not sure who else is walking around with my keys to my car. This experience has been humiliating as well as expensive and I am looking at the possibility of being stuck with a vehicle I did not want and a messed up credit score as a result of the huge loan because of the car which hinders me from moving on and really getting invested in something I want and not something someone that sells me something that looked like it was just pulled from a cross country off road race. Buying a car shouldn't put anyone through this much stress and problems as it has to me...especially as big of a business Bettenhausen is. I would like to think that they offer better services but from my experience and lack of customer service has me scarred deeply and will never do business with them again and no one I know to do business with them either as they are all about shady dealings from the bottom to the top.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** GSM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *********@bettenhausenauto.com To Whom it may concern; First of let me set the record straight - the only contact that I have had with Mr. ****** is via phone. Mr. ****** purchased a brand new Chrysler 200 from us, Bettenhausen Chrysler Jeep in Orland Park on 3/5/2015 @ 8:05PM. He claims that he had a trade-in, we have no record of this trade - we have an electronic record through our appraisal system of any trade ever appraised. There is also no information anywhere regarding a trade, except for his insurance card. Unfortunately the bank had processed all the paperwork when Mr. ****** called me, which only left the option to trade the vehicles in on one, which Mr. ****** tried to do with his credit union as well. He left his other financed vehicle in the lot next to our dealership. Again the only help that we can extend to Mr. ****** at this time is to trade both his vehicles in on one, but he would need some financial support to do so. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The above information is false, inaccurate and untrue. The information provided by **** ******** is false. There was no contact made via phone for any type of vehicle with anyone. ************ closes at 8pm so that acquisition is asinine. I do not conduct business with a purchase that expensive such as a vehicle via phone. The only time that I've spoken with **** was after 2 failed attempts to reach some type of understanding regarding the situation with *** *** which was unsuccessful which prompted attempting to reach **** who was the GM. This also was unsuccessful as he viewed it as a joke which was evidenced by his smirking and laughing while attempting to talk about the issue. The first time I met with anyone at the dealership was on March 7th at 1:30pm The person who I met with was *** **** I did not leave my vehicle in the lot adjacent to the dealership. My keys were handed from my hand to *** ****** and the new keys were given to me by him as well in the exchange. When I left my car on the lot it was in the same spot where they parked it after they test drove it to appraise it and it was moved by someone from their company to the lot adjacent to theirs by whomever had the key and still has the key for it was not returned and in fact are telling me there is no record of the keys being there however it was moved by someone with their delership which was confirmed by **** himself. **** tried to change his story that he did not know that the vehicle that was the one in question stating that he did not check the vin number, had a tow away sticker on it and was a different model, all of which were false. If the contract were written up as *** *** claimed, **** would've never even been contacted. However it was not and the contract was found to be false. **** and I met face to face when I came to drop off the car from ************ and to get my car back after I got the spare key to retrieve it from the ******** parking lot where they parked it. I have a witness to these events as well. Again, the above account of the issue is totally incorrect, dishonest, and untruthful in all of its entirety from start to finish. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/05/15) */ We are working on a resolution - more to come

5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my vehicle serviced over a year ago because it was not starting when I turned my key. Sometimes it would take 20 trys and sometimes it would start on the first try. I was told I needed a new Cam Sensor. I paid over $100 in parts and labor. Within a year 04/2013 I brought my car back in for the same problem and was told I needed a new Starter. I paid over $400 in parts and labor. Then the problem cam back. I brought my car back in on 3/28/14 and was told I needed a new Skim Module and would cost over $600. I paid all three times. However, after paying for my third visit for the ssame problem I asked to be reimbused for the labor from the previous two visits in the amount of $354.00. I didn't ask for money back on the parts just the labor that was clearly unnecessary.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for a reimbusment in the amount of $354.00 for unnecessary labor charges that occured over two prior visits.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Service Dir Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@bettenhausenauto.com please note: We can definitely empathize w/the consumer. We get that he has spent hard earned money with us and we appreciate it. What he doesn't seem to understand is a car can have a no start concern for 100's of reasons. The previous repairs we did lasted for months (11-1-12:long crank time/4-23-13:no crank-no start/4-3-14:intermittent no crank w/security light on dash...all different) so they obviously made an improvement/fixed the issue that was happening at that time. This last repair had diagnostic trouble codes in the system that were never present at previous visits as well as security/immobilizer warning lights on the dash that were not present during previous visits. That in itself tells you that, although the no start symptom was the same, the failure was different. We replaced the parts at this last visit and the codes & the lights did not come back on so we know it's fixed. Again, we realize everyone works hard for their money and we appreciate the business very much. We are NOT in the business of taking advantage of our customers. We never have and we never will. This was a new issue with new codes, warning lights, etc and we addressed it as such. I hope the consumer can understand this and find a way to know we didn't do anything deceptive or wrongful. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) All three visits state the vehicle had a problem started and took a long time or multiple attempts. I feel the incompetence of the dealership caused the problem to persist and get worse over time. On April 24, 2013 the technician advised me that it was a problem with the starter. Clearly, that was not correct as the problem continued. I paid $484. 80 for that starter and it's labor. On November 2, 2012 the technician said it was a problem with a sensor and I paid $177.74 in parts and labor. I feel the dealership is too quick to diagnose the problem and never took the time to properly inspect the vehicle and find the source of the problem. I feel I should be reimbursed for the unnecessary labor charges in the amount of $350. Incompetence at this level should be made right, I was not offered a credit or gift certificate for future maintenance. Any of these gestures would have made this situation easier to handle. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/02) */ We are sorry the consumer feels slighted in any way but we stand by our diagnosis. while still a "no start" concern, there were new/different codes, warning lights on this time, etc. We don't feel a refund is in order because we replaced the parts and performed the work documented on all visits. If the consumer will accept a complete "ultimate Detail" package ($179.99 value) for any car in his household, we would be happy to extend that offer as a sign of good faith. thank you.

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service