BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/2003

Berman's Auto Group

Find a Location

Phone: (847) 647-1555Fax: (847) 647-1973View Additional Phone Numbers5757 W Touhy Ave, NilesIL 60714-4605 Send email to Berman's Auto GroupView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/2003

BBB has determined that Berman's Auto Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Berman's Auto Group's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Berman's Auto Group

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
04/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 1/8/2015 I submitted information that showed I had sold my 2012 G37 with a loan balance of $0 dollars. After submitting this information to the dealership, I was told it will take 4 weeks to get the refund. After the 6 week I contacted the ****** of ************ to check on the status and was told that they had no feedback at the time. During that time several emails where exchanged with the comptroller with no response or status of the refund. So, after calling my bank to make sure the account did not have a credit - the bank indicated if they received anything after the account was closed they would send the check back to the sender. Which prompted another call to the dealership to advise what the bank stated and to see what could be done to track this refund down. After speaking with the gentleman at the ************ location, calling the comptroller, calling the owner of the dealership and sending another email - I have not heard anything back or the refund. Can you say satisfied customer? Not

Desired Settlement
I am seeking my refund with a hand writing apology from the comptroller and owner for the lack of customer service in responding back timely.

Business Response
Upon becoming aware of the problem Mr. ******* was having with regard to the cancellation of his GAP policy I phoned him to discuss the situation. Unfortunately when a GAP policy is requested to be cancelled we notify the holder of the policy for cancellation. They then forward any refund to the dealership for submission to the customer. In addition, in order to refund the payment to the customer we are required to obtain confirmation that their respective loan was paid in full. Otherwise, per our Dealer Agreement, the lienholder must receive the refund.
Upon receipt of the documentation that the loan was paid in full I refunded Mr. ******* the $397.25 he was entitled to. As of 3/2/15 the check provided was cashed by Mr. *******.
I apologized to Mr. ******* for the failure of the finance department to communicate with him timely. I also provided him with a direct contact to reach me if needed in the future.
Mr. ******* appeared happy with the conversation and explanation of the delay in processing his refund.
Please feel free to contact me if you should need any additional information.
Sincerely,
****** *****

05/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i had purchased my car and asked for a carfax and had them tell me what was wrong with my car. after a couple of days i found numerous problems with the car that was not mentioned to me. after bringing it in the next couple of days and explaining to them what i was seeing they told me i was to wait for a couple weeks so my car was put in the system to be repaired under warranty. as i waited and came back they kept telling me the problems i was finding where not there problem to repair many of them being a saftey concern. for instance wind comes in from the front end of my car. the steering wheels pulls from left to right does not hold a straight line. rear winsheild has multiple holes in it where if a rock were to hit it it would shatter. these are just some of the numerous problems i have found at least to be a major concern. none of them would be adressed or corrected by them instead they just ignore them and send me off. i have no choice this is my only car and i need it for work.

Desired Settlement
i am looking to be put in a safe car one that should not have me hanging on to my life on the highway traveling to work and back.

Business Response

Good morning,
First I would like to apologize for Star Nissan not responding timely to Mr. ******'s complaint. As you can see in our history, we respond to complaints timely and completely. Unfortunately the responsible party failed to respond to this complaint.
Please accept the comments below as our formal response.

Regarding Mr ******'s complaint, Mr. ****** purchased a used 2010 Nissan Maxima on January 9, 2013, approximately 15 months ago.
Mr. ****** was made fully aware of the potential issues one may have when buying a used car as noted in the Buyers Guide signed by Mr. ******. Mr. ****** signed the "As is and Shown" disclosure.
As to the issues Mr. ****** mentions, he has in fact brought the vehicle in to our service department over the past year for services to be performed. He has had certain warranty serviced performed, yet has declined on any customer pay services. In addition we have attempted to please Mr. ****** by performing certain services at no cost to Mr. ******, including the replacement of the windshield.
In reviewing Mr. ******'s service history there were also problems he raised that could not be duplicated.
At this point it is my suggestion that Mr. ****** brings the vehicle in to our service department and he discusses any remaining issues with our service manager. We can then discuss and present any applicable necessary repair options to him.
We will also be more than happy to discuss options available to Mr. ****** in regards to trading his 2010 Maxima in for another vehicle.
We have continued to resolve any issues Mr. ****** has had in the past, yet would be more than happy to speak with him again.

Thank you for your time.
Sincerely,
Berman Auto Group, Inc.
****** *****
CFO



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is all just a cover I just want to state the facts! One I keep coming in to the service department to be told more and more about where the car is not gonna be able to be repaired because of being in accidents! Second they were asked by me several times of the condition that it was in they showed me that a minor damage in front! Minor does not mean the car front to back has been put together! I just want bbb to allow other customers to see that they are not truthful! I had made a mistake trusting them only because I had bought new cars from there before! Please do not make the same mistake! They sold me a car with major accident damages all over and lied to my face!

Final Business Response
We have received Mr. ******'s response. As Mr. ****** stated he came to Star Nissan because he had purchased cars from us previously. He must have had good experiences or he would not have come back. Our intent is to allows provide our customers with the best experience possible.
We again would like to offer Mr. ****** the following two options.
First, bring the car in to our service department for a complete inspection. We will discuss any and all of Mr. ******'s current issues as well. We will work with him to prepare an action plan for any necessary repairs.
Second, have Mr. ****** bring in the vehicle and meet with my General Manager to discuss options available regarding trading the vehicle in for another vehicle.
Please have Mr. ****** contact my Service Director, ***** ***** or my General Manager, ***** ****** for further action. Both can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX.
Thank you,
****** *****

01/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was quoted a purchase price online from the dealer for $31,829 for *********************** stock #XXXXX but dealer refused to honor price when I went to buy the car with my wife. I provided a printout of the quote provided to me online by dealer staff confirming the price, model and even stock number for the car to the salesperson. The dealer staff took a copy of the quote I provided, showed us the car and took for a test drive. After the test drive, we said we wanted to purchase the vehicle for the quoted price but dealer refused to sell the car for the quoted price. I asked for some type of resolution on how the dealer planned to honor the agreement and was told I would receive a phone call the following day. I did not receive a phone call for several days so I called back to follow up and was told again they would not honor the price. I was also told someone would call me back again. To date, I still do not have resolution on the issue.

Desired Settlement
My expected settlement is for the dealer to honor the price originally quoted ($31,829) for the 2014 ****** ********** ******** stock number XXXXX specified in the online quote of which I have a printed record.

Business Response
We have received Mr. ****'s complaint regarding the attempted purchase of a 2014 ****** *********** Apparently Mr. **** had an on line conversation with our third party vendor, ******** ******* ********** via live chat. The vendor was not authorized to quote a purchase price to a prospective customer. We have attempted to contact Mr. **** and work with him to resolve this issue. Unfortunately we are not able to sell Mr. **** a **** ****** ********** for the price requested. We have since terminated our relationship with ******** ******* *********
We would like the opportunity to discuss with Mr. **** the options that are available regarding the purchase of a vehicle from **** *******
If he would like to discuss the situation further we will be happy to reach out to him again or he can contact my General Manager, ***** ******* at XXX-XXX-XXXX.
Thank you,
****** *****

09/03/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
07/29/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
01/31/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Based on the email exchange below with ******* ******, dealership owner, and his attorney, ******* ***** I do not believe that they are negotiating in good faith by making an offer of a $500 goodwill dealership credit and then rescinding that offer indefinitely. Mr. **** apparently believes that the dealership committed no wrong and that Mr. ****** is now dismayed that I did not immediately accept his offer. I was told by ***** ******* general manager, that "I don't think we can do business together" in response to my question regarding the correct sales tax applicable for a Chicago resident purchasing a car in suburban Cook County, IL. When I later inquired about the possibility of applying the Labor Day Bonus Cash promotion to the purchase of my Altima even though I purchased the vehicle on August 19, Mr. ****** replied "The contract has been finalized. If you don't like it call your lawyer and sue us." Such conduct by a general manager to a customer who has just purchased a new vehicle is clearly unprofessional and intimidating.

I was also unhappy with the fact that it took **** in the Finance Department over one week, until August 27, to respond to my request for pricing information on Nissan's prepaid maintenance and extended protection plans. He did not have time to give me any pricing information when he handed me the brochures on August 19. He apparently was unwilling or not able to send me any pricing information in writing, but did tell me on the phone that if I responded by August 31 to the extended protection plan (7years/70,000 miles) that it would cost $999.00 and after that date the cost would be $1,199.00.


From: "******* ****** <*****@gordonkarr.com>
To: <********@juno.com>
Subject: RE: ******* ****** Response - Star Nissan Altima
Date: Fri, 27 Sep 2013 16:50:10

Mr. ****** was extremely dismayed when you did not accept his original offer since the dealership committed no wrong and yet made a gracious concession. At the moment, the offer is no longer open. I have passed on your communications to him and will advise you if there is a change.

******* ****
Gordon & Karr LLP

From: "******* ****** <*****@gordonkarr.com>
To: <********@juno.com>
Subject: RE: ******* ****** Response - Star Nissan Altima
Date: Tue, 17 Sep 2013 10:57:05

******,

Mr. ****** informed you of the dealership's last and best offer. I cannot negotiate further.

******* ****
****** & **** LLP

From: ******* ****** <*******@******.com>
To: "********@juno.com" <********@juno.com>, *****@gordonkarr.com
Subject: Re: Star Nissan Altima
Date: Sat, 14 Sep 2013 08:28:25

******,

I am sorry you have decided not to accept my goodwill offer of $500 that could have been used anywhere in the dealership. Bodywork, warranty or any other service or parts credit.

In your email you used the terms "Claim" "Settlement" and "Reasonable Compensation"

Therefore, it is now turned over to our legal department pending further action.

Sincerely,

******* ******




From: ******* ****** <*******@******.com>
To: ********@juno.com
Subject: Star Nissan Altima
Date: Sat, 7 Sep 2013 14:59:37

******,

I received your voicemail and reviewed your file.

Unfortunately, we have no control over what Nissan's national incentives are, or when they decide to change or modify them. Furthermore, we do not have the ability to change or modify a contract that has been funded.

Nevertheless, from a moral or ethical point of view, it would probably bother me if I purchased car and 10 days later they increased the incentive by $500.

Therefore, while I am unable to alter the contract, I have another idea.

Would you be satisfied if I issued you a $500 credit to be used towards anything at the dealership.

In reviewing your notes, I saw that you were considering an extended warrantee.

That would be an opportunity to correct the situation.

What do you think?

Sincerely,

******* ******

Desired Settlement
Requesting that dealership honor its offer of a $500.00 dealer credit to me in the form of a check due to their failure to negotiate in good faith by rescinding the offer plus the costs of arbitration or other out of pocket expenses to resolve the complaint.

Business Response
Unfortunately most of Me ***** allegations are completely fabricated. Mr ** got in to a car accident with his vehicle. He said it was due to the stress of negotiating with our staff.
That two weeks after he purchased his car , Nissan increased their incentive by an extra $500 as a labor day bonus cash. We have no control over their incentives and when they are adjusted.
In an effort to subdue Mr ******** as absurd as it sounds... we offered him a $500 credit that could be used toward the body work or toward a warrantee that he was considering.
He choose not to accept the goodwill gesture and wanted us to pay for all the repairs on the car that he damaged.
That was our best and final offer, which he chose not to accept.
When he realized that he could not shake us down for any more money, he circled back.
In the meantime, due to nefarious complaints and actions...e withdrew our offer.
We had referred this matter to our attorney. He has also contacted Nissan.
Please review our original email and the thread that followed.
There will be no further action on our part.

Final Consumer Response
I received a response to my rebuttal from Star Nissan this week, which was basically that no further action will be taken on their part to try to resolve the matter. Since no resolution to my complaint has been offered by the dealership, I assume there will be no further involvement by your office to reach a resolution and the conciliation process has reached an end.

I would like to know the cost to both parties of proceeding with binding arbitration in this matter and what the process to initiate binding arbitration involves. Also, please advise if your office offers any other resolution options to me at this point.

Thank you for providing this additional information.

****** **


Final Business Response
Here are the facts and our final response.
Weeks after Mr ** purchased a vehicle Nissan increased the incentive by $500.
He was upset and complained. To resolve the complaint I offered him a $500 credit. He said that was unacceptable and would seek additional remedies.
He had damaged his car and demanded that we fix it as part of a so called "settlement"
As we did not do anything wrong and only tried to placate Mr ** with a goodwill gesture.
He choose not to accept it...demanded more.
We decided that in light of his actions , we would withdraw the offer that he did not accept.
We are finished with this and consider it unfounded and closed.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories , Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Auto Services, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions - Automobile, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Engines - Gasoline, Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Power Steering, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Shock Absorbers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/26/1996Business started: 02/01/1995
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Berman (President)Ms. Elaine Swift (C.F.O./Controller)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories , Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Auto Services, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions - Automobile, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Engines - Gasoline, Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Power Steering, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Shock Absorbers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Star Nissan, Star Auto Group, Bermans Star Nissan
Industry Tips
Contracts
Lemon Law Facts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Berman's Auto Group

5757 W Touhy Ave

Niles, IL 60714-4605

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1224 N Hooker St 

    Chicago, IL 60642-8812

  • 5757 W Touhy Ave 

    Niles, IL 60714-4605

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Berman's Auto Group is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 598-7486
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Contracts
Lemon Law Facts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.