BBB Accredited Business since

Benoy Motor Sales

Phone: (815) 338-5100 Fax: (815) 338-8154 1790 S Eastwood Dr, Woodstock, IL 60098

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Benoy Motor Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Benoy Motor Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Benoy Motor Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1977 Business started: 04/01/1948 Business started locally: 04/01/1948
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dale E. Benoy, President Mr. Timothy A. Benoy, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dale E. Benoy, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Additional Locations

  • 1790 S Eastwood Dr

    Woodstock, IL 60098 (815) 338-5100


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my vehicle in on the morning of 9/8/15 and left it there for the majority of the day for a software update. I picked it up late in the afternoon and drove it home. When I got home, I noticed a large bulge out of the front passenger tire. I contacted the dealership, the man at the service desk told me that there is no way they were responsible because they never drove my car. They did drive my car, because I saw them driving it around Woodstock in the afternoon while I was running errands. 9/9/15, I stopped in to speak to Dale *****, who spoke to the technician who then admitted to driving my vehicle, but will not admit to hitting anything with my vehicle. Mr. ***** stated that there was nothing they would do for me, and that he believes his technician (who had lied about driving my car earlier) over me. They would not look at my vehicle, put the spare tire on it, or otherwise help me with my issue. I was told that it is my problem and not theirs. I had my tire inspected at the local Farm & Fleet, and they reported back to me that someone had indeed hit something very hard with my tire to cause it to bulge. They offered to put my spare on for free. Since ***** and Dodge have both done nothing to ensure that my car will be safe to drive, and haven't taken any responsibility for what has happened, I had to pay out of my pocket for both front tires to be replaced. This has cost me hours of my time, along with $253.89 of my own money to fix. I would like to at least be reimbursed for the cost & labor of having new tires put onto my car. This is a brand new vehicle, and my tires still had plenty of life left in them. This is not an expense I should have to pay, as the technician shouldn't have been 'test driving' my car for a software update in the first place. I brought my car in for a simple service that is covered by my warranty and ended up with a busted tire. ***** has given horrible customer service and has no sense of responsibility for what happened to my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would like at least $253.89 reimbursed back to me for the cost of purchasing new tires and having them mounted onto my vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/22) */ Contact Name and Title: Dale *****, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **** When the vehicle owner called in the morning she was told that we did not hit anything with her car that would cause a tire bulge but bring the vehicle in so we could inspect it and we would sell her a tire at cost and no charge for labor. When she came in that afternoon, I checked with the technician who worked on her car and found that he did test drive it because she stated the air conditioning would cut out while driving and he tried to duplicate the concern and did not hit any curb or pothole while driving. When asked if she had the car with her, she stated no, it was at Farm & Fleet so we never had a chance to inspect the vehicle. A bulge in a tire can take some time to develop after being compromised and we feel it was not our fault and therefore we are not responsible. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all, this is the third time *****'s account of what happened has changed. I did not state that the air conditioning stopped while I was driving, it happened as soon as the car was started. When I had called that morning, I was not offered any kind of inspections or service, but was told that they "could not help me" because nobody even drove my car. This is why I brought my car to Farm & Fleet to have it inspected and have my spare tire put on my car. I received a lot of "I don't know what to tell you" and "it's not our fault/responsibility" from the dealership, but never an offer to even look at my vehicle again. The bulge in the tire was noticed not even 5 minutes after I had left the dealership, and was definitely not there when I'd dropped it off. The technician at Farm & Fleet stated that the bulge was obviously caused by an impact that also scuffed my rim in the same area.

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took it back on 12/2/2013 not even 5 miles of driving it told them the cluster works part number XXXXXXX-AJ but the miles are wrong should be 87K here are the service records, not 80,555 and all my other lights aren't working the nobs where the heater is or my heated seats and none of the led lights for the cup holders. The service manager ***************** told me and my mother we were crazy and they seen nothing wrong but they will look into it. Go back the following day 12/03/13 said they order the part, part number XXXXXXXD cost around 60.00 just a new nob for heated seats which is still wrong all the lights by the and heater went out even the led lights for my windows. I asked for a loaner car they said fine, they brought out a p.o.s dodge neon rust bucket with 154K and a hole in the exhaust sounded like a semi truck and the wipers were bad and missing the hub caps and all the tires were low and the head lights were really bad and had no gas I had to have the guy put gas in it. I talk to the owner *** asked if I could get a different loaner car because it going to snow and have freezing rain along with really bad fog he said he didn't have anything else and I'd be fine there was nothing wrong its just a old car and that's how 4.0 cars sounds. I said no they don't I maybe a young girl but I'm not dumb I know a lot about cars I worked for a few different companies in auto motive parts and service. He got in the dodge neon and started it up and the car started to tick and squeal but according to *** that was normal. Went back into the repair shop and asked for my car keys and left I now have to take it to another shop and have everything looked over and get the mileage to the correct mileage on the car and get my lights working again because they all worked besides the cluster light when I brought the car in on 12/2/13 and not even 5 miles down the road they went out had brought it back 12/2/13 on 12/3/13 they said they order a heat seat part XXXXXXXD nob but that wasn't the only light that went out it was all of it they fixed the cluster light but wrong mileage then all my other lights went out on 12/2/13 after they said they fixed everything and try to put me in a unsafe loaner car on 12/3/13. On 12/2/13 I paid 573.73 in a check, number 6110.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund they didn't fix anything the cluster has the wrong mileage set, my other lights went out for no reason when they worked before now I have to take it to another shop to fix there mistakes and take time off of work. I paid 573.73 in a check and it is not fixed

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/05) */ In response to this complaint #XXXXXXXX We first looked at the vehicle on 05/07/2013 and it had XXXXX miles on it at that time and informed Ms. *****"s father of the need to have the instrument cluster replaced which he declined at that time. Ms. *****'s father returned on 11/25/2013 and had us order the instrument cluster we told him we needed the current mileage to order the cluster the mileage is what Mr. ***** supplied us. On 12/02/2013 we installed the cluster which in turn corrected the intial concern from May of 2013. The customer returned to pick vehicle up and returned stating that HVAC controls and window switch would not illuminate I personally drove vehicle and experienced none of the fore mentioned concerns which the customer had never brought up I did notice that the switch for the driver's heated seat switch did not illuminate which I informed Ms.***** that I would order and replace at no charge to her I explained that the part would be in the following day we offered a courtesy vehicle at no cost to her which she declined to drive and picked her vehicle up and left with it> We do have the switch in stock and my offer to replace it at no charge is still open to Ms.*****. The customer's concern was addressed and repaired. At no time was Ms. ***** or her mother told by myself or any of my staff that they we're crazy. Thank You ******* ********* Service Manager Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2013/12/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I'm tired of this with your lying you asked me and my mom what the mileage was when I dropped of the car I told you 86-87- thousand my mom in return said again she would go out and get exact for you. ******* you told my mom not to worry about it . my mom then asked if you had ordered the part you told her yes. My father never gave you the correct mile he gave you an estimate of 85,ooo or more. Also My mom stopped the payment on check. as you did not fix said problem as half the dash lights are still out and the one that did work are now out. so at this time I will not be bringing my car back to the dealership as the mileage is wrong and dash lights and cooler is still not working. after ******* said would be fixed with this part. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/12/09) */ AS OF TODAY WE HAVE BEEN NOTIFIED THAT MS.***** HAS STOPPED PAYMENT ON HER CHECK.AS I HAVE POINTED OUT HER INTIAL CONCERN WAS REPAIRED BY REPLACEMENT OF THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER,I CAN NOT CHANGE THE FACT HER FATHER SUPPLIED US WITH THE INCORRECT MILEAGE TO START WITH AS I STATED THE SWITCH FOR THE HEATED SEAT I OFFERED TO REPLACE AT NO COST TO MS. ***** AND THE PART IS HERE. I WOULD LIKE TO PUT THIS ISSUSE TO REST A.S.AP. AS WELL AS TO COLLECT OUR MONEY FOR THE REPAIR OF HER VEHICLE.